

THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard

Physician Assistant License Renewal Application

January 1, 2025 – December 31, 2026

- Your license lapses after December 31, 2024. There is no grace period it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.
- Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted.
- Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form.
- Plan on a 4–6-week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications.
- Once the renewal is processed, your license certificate will be available for printing via the MY LICENSE self-service portal.

PART I	Payment of Fees	
Renewal Fees: (Active License	(For licenses first issued on or before December 31, 2023)	\$150.00 \$ 75.00
Renewal Fees: (Inactive Licens	I I Inactive License Renewal	\$175.00

PART II Personal Information

Full Legal Name: Name change:			AK Physician Assistant License Number:			
lf you hav	ve had a legal name change since your last licer	se was issued, you n	must complete a <u>Change of N</u>	<u>ame f</u> orm.		
Mailing Address: Address change:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip		
Contact Phone:			Date of Birth:			
and Professional Licensing,	oosing to receive correspondence on any matter affect I agree to maintain an accurate email address throug n good standing may result in an inability to receive cru	h the MY LICENSE web	page. I understand that failure t	o check my email account or		
Email Address:		S	elect One: _	rrespondence Electronically rrespondence by Mail		
Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically.						
States Social Security Numb	t: AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your United ber. It is considered confidential information and will may be used to verify inter-state licensure.					

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

List all states, territories, provinces, or foreign countries in which you currently are licensed as any health care professional.

State or Jurisdiction	License Number	Issue Date	Expiration Date	License Status (Active, Lapsed)

PART IV National Certification (NCCPA) and Opioid Education

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) Certificate:

Regulation 12 AAC 40.470 requires you maintain current certification by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants and have met the continuing medical education and recertification requirements of the NCCPA, including the recertification examination.

I attest I am currently certified by the NCCPA. I understand, if audited, I will be required to provide a copy of my certification letter.

You may request a copy of your current certification letter from *www.nccpa.net*.

NCCPA ID:

PART V DEA Registration and PDMP Acknowledgment

			ling an active DEA registra tion, completed between				
		ders with a DEA regis u have a DEA Regist	stration number valid to u ration number?	ise in any	state or practice loo	cation must re	gister with the PDMP.
	a.	if I obtain a DEA reg	n active DEA registration n vistration number, I must r with mandatory use and i	egister wi	th the Alaska PDMP	within 30 days	s as required by the
	b.	-	ve DEA registration num PDMP and acknowledge I		•		
		dispensing a fe	I must review a patien derally scheduled II or III c rery 30 days for up to 90 d 90 days.	ontrolled	substance. I underst	and I must also	o review the patient's
		-	DEA registration number Change Form (#08-4763).	or status,	l also understand l i	must promptly	submit the DEA
		If you're unsure of t	the DEA issue date, indica	te Januar	1st of the estimate	ed year.	
		DEA Registration Number:		Issue Date:		Expiration Date:	
		Does this match th	ne DEA in your PDMP acco	ount?		Yes 🗌] No
		dispensing a for patient's histor continues for n If I have a change in	I must review a patient ederally scheduled II or I y once every 30 days for u nore than 90 days. DEA registration number Change Form (#08-4763).	II controll p to 90 da	ed substance. I un ys, and at least once	derstand I mu e every three n	ist also review the nonths if treatment
		If you're unsure of	the DEA issue date, indica	te January	1st of the estimate	ed year.	
		DEA Registration Number:		Issue Date:		Expiration Date:	
		Does this match tl	ne DEA in your PDMP acco	ount?		Yes] No
(1	disper for a p Select a.	nsation(s) daily. Dire patient to fill at a ph ONE (1) of the follow I send all my contro system. I acknowl report da I send some of my	pense a federally schedul cctly dispense means you armacy is <u>NOT</u> direct disp wing: olled substance prescription edge that reporting does a ily per AS 17.30.200 and 1 controlled substance pres	deliver the ensing. ons to be not apply f 2 AAC 52.	e substance directly f illed at or through to me, however if I k 865.	y to the user. V a pharmacy, ir begin directly d	Vriting a prescription Including via a PickPoint lispensing, I must
		patient myself.	edge I must report daily p	er AS 17.3	0.200 and 12 AAC 5	2.865.	
	c.	I personally dispen	se all of my controlled sul	ostance pr	escriptions to my p	atients myself	
			edge I must report daily p	-		-	
	d.	I only administer co	ontrolled substances to pa	atients at	a healthcare facility	or correction	al facility.

PART VI AWA	NRxE						
ACCOUNT							
Before proceeding with	h this application, login to your PDMP account at alaska.pm	<i>paware.net</i> and ind	icate the following:				
I have logged	d into my account.						
I have verifie	ed my healthcare specialty is accurately listed and appropria	ate to my profession					
I have verifie	ed my contact information is correct.						
🔲 I have verifie	ed my DEA number is accurate.						
DELEGATES							
Please review and veri	fy the delegates listed on your account. Select only one (1)	of the options below	<i>N</i> :				
🔲 I have verifie	ed no delegates exist in my account.						
-OR-							
🗖 Thave verifie	ed that all delegates listed on my account are accurate.						
	e delegate(s) name and license number(s). Be sure to inclu	de alpha-characters,	if applicable.				
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					
Delegate Name:		License Number:					

PART VII Verification of Collaborative Plan

ACTIVE - I attest I have one or more active collaborative plan(s) with a physician licensed in Alaska. I understand all existing
active collaborative plans on my license record will be renewed unless a specific request to terminate a plan is submitted. I
understand, if audited, I will be required to provide proof of an active collaborative plan by submitting an Active Collaborative
Plan Reporting form (#08-4942).

NO COLLABORATIVE PLAN - My license status is currently "Not Authorized to Practice - No Collaborative Plan." I am not practicing under any current/active collaborative plans.

REMOVE EXISTING COLLABORATIVE PLAN - My license status is "active" with one or more current collaborative plans on record. However, I am not practicing under any current/active collaborative plans. Please remove all collaborative plan relationships from my license record. I understand my license will be renewed as "Not Authorized to Practice - No Collaborative Plan." I understand I may not practice until I file a new collaborative plan with the division.

PART VIII Professional Fitness Questions – Disciplinary History

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an <u>explanation</u> and <u>documentation</u>. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

When in doubt, disclose and explain.

Since the date your last Alaska license was issued or renewed:

1.	Has your professional license been denied, revoked, suspended, surrendered, fined, stipulated, placed on probation, reprimanded, or been otherwise restricted or disciplined in any jurisdiction (including Alaska), including military authorities, or is any such action pending?	☐ Yes ☐ No
2.	Have you voluntarily or involuntarily surrendered or restricted your professional license in any jurisdiction (including Alaska) for any reason or is any such action pending?	Yes No
3.	Have your staff privileges been denied, reduced, restricted, removed, or otherwise disciplined by any hospital, clinic, or other health care organization (for other than late medical records), or is any such action pending?	☐ Yes ☐ No
4.	Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes of this question, "crime" includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. "Convicted" includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine.	☐ Yes ☐ No
5.	Have you been the subject of an investigation by any licensing jurisdiction (including Alaska) or are you currently under investigation by any licensing jurisdiction (including Alaska) or is any such action pending?	Yes No
6.	Have you withdrawn an application for a license from a state licensing agency or for privileges from a hospital while under inquiry or investigation?	Yes No

PART IX Professional Fitness Questions – Disciplinary History (continued)

7.	Have you been notified of any complaint or allegations involving you filed with or by any licensing authority, including Alaska, which complaint or allegations remain open as of the date of this application?	☐ Yes ☐ No
8.	Have you been investigated or disciplined by the Drug Enforcement Administration or have you surrendered your federal or any state-controlled substance registration for any reason or is any such action pending?	Yes No
9.	Has a medical malpractice claim been resolved or a civil action been terminated in which damages have been paid or are to be paid by you or on your behalf to a claimant or plaintiff, whether by judgment or under settlement?	☐ Yes ☐ No
10.	If you responded "yes" to question 9, has such settlement already been reported to the Board?	☐ Yes ☐ No ☐ N/A

PART X Professional Fitness Question – Personal History

The following question must be answered. **A "Yes" response requires an explanation and documentation.** Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates of onset, duration, prognosis, treatment.

You must also have your treating physician submit a letter directly to the Board; the letter must include the following information:

- Summary of your condition (including explanation, dates of onset and significant events, and frequency of contact with you)
- Medication history
- Impact on your ability to practice safely and competently

When in doubt about your response, disclose and provide the required explanation and documents. Applications submitted without the required attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

For the purposes of the question in this section:

"Medical Condition" includes physiological, mental, or psychological conditions or disorders such as, but not limited to, orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes, mental retardation, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease, tuberculosis, drug addiction, and alcoholism.

"Currently" does not mean on the day of, or even in the weeks or months preceding the completion of this application; rather, "currently" means recently enough so that the event, condition, behavior, impairment, limitation, etc., may have an ongoing impact on the applicant's ability to practice medicine in a competent manner.

Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgement or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice medicine in a competent, ethical and professional manner?

🗌 Yes 🔲 No

"Yes" Answer

If you answered "yes" to the above question, in addition to your personal statement, you must have your treating physician submit a statement indicating your ability to safely practice medicine. Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed.

PART XI Alaska Law

I hereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession (AS 08.64 and 12 AAC 40).





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Alaska State Medical Board

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/StateMedicalBoard*

Signature Page

Applicant Name:

PART XII Agreement

I hereby certify I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and I have read the complete application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents submitted herewith are true and correct.

I agree to inform the Alaska State Medical Board within 30 days of any change in my credentialing or privilege status in any hospital or other health care facility; any disciplinary actions or restrictions, or investigation of a complaint or accusation regarding my practice (except for late medical records); or any criminal charge or conviction.

I understand any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

I further understand it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:

Date Signed:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued and sent to you. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

LICENSE TERM:

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement.

RANDOM AUDIT:

This program requires continuing education. The division will audit a percentage of license renewals. If selected for audit, you will be sent a letter with instructions for documenting proof of meeting the continuing competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. Licensees unable to comply with the audit are subject to disciplinary license action.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.100 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is renewed. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov.*

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available as a public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM:

All actively licensed practitioners with a DEA registration number valid to use in any state or practice location must register with the Alaska Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) within 30 days of initial licensure and use the PDMP to review a patient's prescription history each time before prescribing, administering, or dispensing a federally scheduled II or III controlled substance. Providers must also review the patient's history once every 30 days for up to 90 days, and at least once every three months if treatment continues for more than 90 days. For more information, please visit *PDMP.Alaska.Gov.*

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov.* To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: *RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov.*

THE STATE



ASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your
 professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.),
 and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the
 questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.							
Location of Inc	ident:				Date of Inciden	ıt:	
Explanation of Incident: When in doubt, disclose and explain. Make copies as necessary.							
Did you attach	all applicable o	documents associated with	this in	cident?			
Court Ord	lers	Consent Agreements		Disciplinary Actions	Chargin	g Documents	
Court Rec	ords	Fitness to Practice		All Other Documentat	ion Related to Th	nis Incident	
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.							
Full Name: Program:							
Signature:					Date Signed:		





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit card information. Include this credit card payment form with your application.

Name of Applicant or Licensee:						
Profession Typ	e (e.g., Acupuncture):		License Num	ıber <i>(if applic</i>	able):	
I wish to make payment by credit card		for the following (check all that apply):			AMOUNT	
Арр	lication Fee:					
License or Renewal Fee:						
Other (fine, exam, etc.):						
1.						
2.						
				TOTAL:		
Name (as show	n on credit card):					

Name (as shown on credit card):		
Mailing Address:		
Phone Number:	Email (Optional):	
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		

08-4438 (Rev. 09/21/2024)

Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)

Page 1 of 1

CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed. 1. Credit Card Number: All 3 fields MUST be completed. 2. Expiration Date: All 3 fields MUST be completed. 3. Security Code: This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.