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• Online renewal is available at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMaritalFamilyTherapy 
 

• Your marital and family therapy license lapses after December 31, 2016. 
 

• There is no grace period — it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed. 
 

• Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska, or use the attached credit card payment form. 
 

• Plan on a four- to six-week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications. 
 
 

 
 
 
 

                 MFT  

Marital and Family Therapist Biennial License Renewal 

PART I Renewal Information 

Fees Due: 

    License Renewal  $800.00 
 (for licenses first issued on or before December 31, 2015)  

      Prorated License Renewal  $400.00 
 (for licenses first issued on or after January 1, 2016)  

  
I have been approved as a marital and family therapy supervisor in accordance with 12 AAC 19.210. 
 

I must obtain two contact hours of continuing education related to the practice of supervising a marital and 
family therapist. (A supervisor may also include these two contact hours in the total continuing education hours 
required for renewal.) I have completed the approved supervisor section on the attached Form 08-4115a. 

 
Full Legal Name:  AK MFT License #:  

Mailing Address: 
This is an address change: 

 

Phone:  Birthdate:  

 
EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting your license or other business with the Alaska Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing by email, you agree to notify the Division in writing when your email address changes. You 
understand that failure to check your email address or to keep it in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially 
resulting in the inability to obtain or retain licensure. 

Email Address:  
 Send my Correspondence by Email 

 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: As required by state law, please provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered CONFIDENTIAL information and is 
not for public disclosure; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. (AS 08.01.100) SSN: 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Marital and Family Therapy, PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 465-2550  •  Email: license@alaska.gov 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMaritalFamilyTherapy 
 

January 1, 2017 — December 31, 2018                                            

Now Available! 
Renew Online: 

• Fast 
• Easy 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfMaritalFamilyTherapy
mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfMaritalFamilyTherapy
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PART II Professional Fitness 

The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial.  
 

If you answer “Yes”, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, and send 
any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.).  
 

WHEN IN DOUBT, DISCLOSE AND EXPLAIN 

Since the date of your last application for an Alaska marital and family therapy license: 

1. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise 
restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, 
been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a 
settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you 
have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military 
authorities or is any such action pending? 

 Yes No 

2. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a 
crime? For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a 
military offense, including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or 
driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving 
with a suspended or revoked license. “Convicted” includes having been found guilty 
by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no 
contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a 
fine. 

 Yes No 

3. Have you experienced or been treated for bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, 
paranoia, a psychotic disorder, substance abuse, depression (except for situational 
or reactive depression) or any other mental or emotional illness? 

* Yes No 

4. Have you been treated for substance abuse, or have you been addicted to, or 
excessively or illegally used alcohol or a controlled substance which may impair or 
interfere with your ability to practice as a marital and family therapist? 

* Yes No 

 
 

 

* 
If you checked “Yes” to questions 3 or 4, in addition to your personal statement, you must request a “fit to 
practice” letter from the appropriate health care provider indicating your ability to safely practice. 

 
 
 
 

! Explain and document any “Yes” answers 

 
 
 

Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continued competency 
requirements in Article 3 of 12 AAC 19 (see attached regulations). 
 

 
 

The Board will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly 
selected for audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation 
as proof that you satisfied the continued competency requirements as you stated on this 
renewal form. Save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Continuing Competency 

Random Audit 
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Part III Continuing Education Affidavit of Compliance  12 AAC 19.300

ETHICS

Sponsoring Organization: 

Class Location: 

Class Title: 

Dates Attended: Instructor: 

Class Description: 

Publications or Presentations: 

Hours Attended: 

ADDICTIONS
Sponsoring Organization: 

Class Location: 

Class Title: 

Dates Attended: Instructor: 

Class Description: 

Publications or Presentations: 

Hours Attended: 

CROSS-CULTURAL EDUCATION
 Sponsoring Organization: 

Class Location: 

Class Title: 

Dates Attended: Instructor: 

Class Description: 

Publications or Presentations: 

Hours Attended: 
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Sponsoring Organization: 

Class Location: 

Class Title: 

Dates Attended: Instructor: 

Class Description: 

Publications or Presentations: 

Hours Attended: 

OTHER 

Sponsoring Organization: 

Class Location: 

Class Title: 

Dates Attended: Instructor: 

Class Description: 

Publications or Presentations: 

Hours Attended: 

SUPERVISOR       (if Board-approved) 

Sponsoring Organization: 

Class Location: 

Class Title: 

Dates Attended: Instructor: 

Class Description: 

Publications or Presentations: 

Hours Attended: 

Signature:  Date: 
Total Hours: 
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Part III Continuing Education Affidavit of Compliance   12 AAC 19.300 

By checking the appropriate box below, you are verifying your compliance with the continuing competency 
requirements of Article 3 of 12 AAC 19 during the license period from January 1, 2015, through December 31, 2016. 

You must also complete the attached continuing education documentation (Form 08-4115a). 

Check one of these three boxes if your renewal application is postmarked on or before Dec 31, 2016: 

Renewal for licenses issued on or before June 30, 2015 
I certify that I have successfully completed the required 45 contact hours which 
included two contact hours in each; professional ethics, addictions, cross-cultural 
education and domestic violence. 

—  or  — 
Renewal for licenses issued between December 31, 2015 and June 29, 2015 
I certify that I have successfully completed the required 30 contact hours which 
included two contact hours in each; professional ethics, addictions, cross-cultural 
education and domestic violence.  

—  or  — 
Renewal for licenses issued on or after December 30, 2015 
I certify that I have successfully completed the required 23 contact hours which 
included two contact hours in each; professional ethics, addictions, cross-cultural 
education and domestic violence. 

If your renewal is postmarked after December 31, 2016, complete this section:

I certify that I have successfully completed some or all of my hours of continuing 
education after December 31, 2016. These hours were earned in accordance with 
Article 3 of 12 AAC 68.  

I have attached copies of certificates documenting completion of continuing 
education. Per 12 AAC 02.965, I understand that the hours I earned after December 
31, 2016, may not be used for the subsequent renewal period (January 1, 2017 – 
December 31, 2018). 

PART IV Signature

Yes Do you certify that you are in compliance with the requirement to furnish clients with a disclosure 
statement that meets the requirements of AS 08.63.230? No 

I certify that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that all credentials 
supplied by me to support my application are true and correct.  

WARNING: The Division may deny, suspend or revoke the license or registration of a person who has obtained or 
attempted to obtain a license or registration by fraud or deceit. The person may also be subject to criminal charges 
for unsworn falsification.  (AS 11.56.210) 

Applicant’s Signature:   Date: 
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APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average time to process a paper application varies by program, but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office, complete with all 
correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of the incomplete and/or 
incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and correct and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid 
the license will be issued and sent to you with a cover letter about Alaska statutory requirements. If the application is not approved for licensure, a written 
explanation of the basis of that denial and information on how to appeal the decision will be provided. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for 
processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  
 
LICENSE TERM:  
There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of 
even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial 
expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record. If your program offers 
temporary licenses, they are issued for either 30 consecutive days or until the end of the calendar year, whichever period is shorter. 
 
“YES” RESPONSES: 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to any professional fitness questions in the 
application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and closing court documentation. 
 
DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local 
governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 
 
RANDOM AUDIT: 
If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals.  If your license is randomly selected for audit, 
you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as you stated 
on this renewal form.  Please note that licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program 
chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. 
 
ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:  
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and 
address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the Division will be used to send renewals and all 
other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. 
 
CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:   
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that 
are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an 
individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form 
located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the Division for a copy of the form. 
 
SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS FOR EXAMINATION: 
Programs under the jurisdiction of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing are administered in accordance with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. If you require a special accommodation when taking the licensing examination, you must submit an Application for Examination 
Accommodations for Candidates with Disabilities form (08-4214). 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the Division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License 
Search. 
 
ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of 
the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the Division will send notification to the last known 
address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be 
refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued and all fees will be forfeited. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary 
Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at 
(907) 269-6900, or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or (800) 441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 
 
BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed 
separately. For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or online at:  BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 
 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:  
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the Division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 
 
If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact 
method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to: 
 

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 110806  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

 
 

! General Information  

http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4372.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4214.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4214.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ProfessionalLicenseSearch.aspx
http://businesslicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
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ARTICLE 3. 
LICENSE RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION 

Section. 
300. License renewal 
310. Continuing education requirement 
320. Approved continuing education activities 
330. Audit of continuing education requirements 
340. Failure to meet continuing education requirements and license reinstatement 

 
12 AAC 19.300.  LICENSE RENEWAL.  (a) An license to practice marital and family therapy expires on December 31 of even-

numbered years. 
(b)  A marital and family therapist applying for license renewal shall 

(1)  complete a renewal application on a form provided by the department; 
(2)  pay the license renewal fee established in 12 AAC 02.242; and 
(3)  submit a sworn statement of the continuing education contact hours completed during the concluding license period; the 

statement must include the following information, when applicable, for each course, seminar, or workshop: 
(A)  the name of the sponsoring organization; 
(B)  the location of the course, seminar, or workshop; 
(C)  the title or a brief description of the course, seminar, or workshop; 
(D)  the principal instructor; 
(E)  the dates of attendance; 
(F)  the titles, issues, and dates of publications or presentations; and 
(G)  the number of continuing education contact hours claimed. 

 
12 AAC 19.310.  CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.  (a)  An applicant for renewal of a marital and family therapy 

license who has been licensed 18 months or more of the concluding license period shall document completion of 45 contact hours of 
continuing education acceptable to the board that was earned during the concluding license period.  At least two of the contact hours 
must be in professional ethics. 

(b)  An applicant for renewal of a marital and family therapy license who has been licensed at least 12 months but less than 18 
months of the concluding license period shall document completion of 30 contact hours of continuing education acceptable to the board 
that was earned during the concluding license period.  At least two of the contact hours must be in professional ethics. 

(c)  An applicant for renewal of a marital and family therapy license who has been licensed less than 12 months of the concluding 
period shall document completion of 23 contact hours of continuing education acceptable to the board that was earned during the 
concluding license period.  At least two of the contact hours must be in professional ethics. 

(d)  For the purposes of this section, 
(1)  one “contact hour” equals a minimum of 50 minutes of classroom instruction between instructor and participant; 
(2)  one academic semester credit equals 15 contact hours; and 
(3)  one academic quarter credit equals 10 contact hours. 

(e)  Only hours of actual attendance during which instruction was given will be accepted as continuing education contact hours 
earned from an academic course that is audited by the licensee, and the total number of contact hours earned may not exceed the 
academic credit hours offered for that course. 
 

12 AAC 19.320.  APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES.  (a)  To be accepted by the board, continuing education 
must contribute directly to the professional competency of a marital and family therapist and must be directly related to the skills and 
knowledge required to implement marital and family therapy principles and methods. 

(b)  The following continuing education activities are acceptable if they are related to marital and family therapy in accordance with 
(a) of this section: 

(1)  postgraduate courses given by a regionally accredited academic institution, either audited or for credit; 
(2)  courses offered by the American Association for Marital and Family Therapy; 
(3)  courses offered by the Alaska Association for Marital and Family Therapy; 
(4)  seminars, workshops, or mini-courses offered by professional organizations; 
(5)  cross-disciplinary courses, seminars, or workshops in the fields of medicine, law, behavioral sciences, ethics, or other 

disciplines; 
(6)  courses, seminars, or workshops in substance abuse, domestic violence, cross-cultural issues, gender issues, or child 

abuse; 
(7)  other courses not covered under (1)--(6) of this subsection that are specifically preapproved by the board, up to a 

maximum of 15 contact hours; 
(8)  first-time preparation and presentation of a marital and family therapy course, seminar, or workshop, up to a maximum of 

10 contact hours allocated among all marital and family therapists and other professionals involved. 
(9)  first-time presentation or publication of an article or book chapter related to the practice of marital and family therapy that 

was presented at a state or national association meeting or published by a publisher recognized by the profession, up to a maximum of 
10 contact hours allocated among all marital and family therapists and other professionals involved; and 

(10)  completion of a formal correspondence program, video tape program, audio cassette program, or other individual study 
program; the number of hours of continuing education credit awarded will be determined by the board using the contact hour standards 
described in 12 AAC 19.310(d)(1), not to exceed one-half of the total contact hours of continuing education required for license renewal 
under 12 AAC 19.310; a program under this paragraph is acceptable only if 

(A)  the program requires registration and provides evidence of successful completion; or 
(B)  the licensee submits a signed statement verifying that the licensee has successfully completed the program from a 

licensee who is a supervisor approved under 12 AAC 19.210 and has supervised the licensee’s study program under this paragraph. 
(c)  Hours spent in job orientation will not be accepted as continuing education contact hours. 
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12 AAC 19.330.  AUDIT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.  (a)  After each renewal period the board will, in its 
discretion, audit renewal applications to monitor compliance with the continuing education requirements of this chapter. 

(b)  A licensee selected for audit shall, within 30 days from the date of notification, submit documentation to verify completion of the 
contact hours claimed under 1 AAC 19.300. 

(c)  An applicant for renewal is responsible for maintaining adequate and detailed records of all continuing education hours claimed 
and shall make them available to the board upon request under this section.  Records must be retained for three years after the date 
the continuing education hours were earned. 
 

12 AAC 19.340.  FAILURE TO MEET CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS AND LICENSE REINSTATEMENT.  (a)  
The board will reinstate a license that was not renewed because of the licensee’s failure to meet the continuing education requirements 
in 12 AAC 19.300 - 12 AAC 19.330 if the licensee submits to the board proof of completion of all required continuing education credit 
hours and meets all other requirements for license renewal. 

(b)  A licensee who is unable to obtain the continuing education hours required for license renewal due to reasonable cause or 
excusable neglect may submit a written request to the board for an exception.  The request for an exemption must include an 
explanation of the reasonable cause or excusable neglect that resulted in the licensee’s failure to meet the continuing education 
requirements.  If the board grants the exemption, the board will, in its discretion, prescribe an alternative method of compliance with the 
continuing education requirements as the board considers appropriate to the individual situation. 

(c)  In this section, “reasonable cause or excusable neglect” includes 
(1)  chronic illness; 
(2)  retirement; 
(3)  military service; 
(4)  leave of absence from active practice during the concluding licensing period; and 
(5)  hardships recognized by the board. 
 

 
 ARTICLE 2. 
 SUPERVISED PRACTICE 
 
Section. 

210. Approved Supervisors 
 
12 AAC 19.210. APPROVED SUPERVISORS. (a) The board will approve a person to be an approved supervisor under this chapter if 
the applicant submits. 

(1) a complete, notarized application on a form provided by the department;  
(2) verification of a current license under AS 08.63.100 to practice marital and family therapy;  
(3) documentation of having practiced marital and family therapy for five years; and  
(4) documentation of having completed at least six contact hours of education related to the practice of  

supervising a marital and family therapist within the last two years.  
(b) To maintain approval under AS 08.63.120 and this section, a supervisor shall document at the time of license renewal that 

during the concluding license period the supervisor completed at least two contact hours of continuing education related to the practice 
of supervising a marital and family therapist. A supervisor may also include those two contact hours of continuing education in the total 
continuing education contact hours required for license renewal in 12 AAC 19.310.  

(c) If a person does not maintain approval as an approved supervisor under AS 08.63.120 and this section because of 
noncompliance with the continuing education requirements of (b) of this section, the person may apply to the board for reinstatement of 
the approval. The board will reinstate the approval if the applicant  

(1) submits  
(A) a complete, notarized application on a form provided by the department; and  
(B) documentation of compliance with the continuing education requirements of (b) of this section; and  

(2) complies with the requirements of AS 08.63.120 and (a)(2) and (3) of this section.  
 

 
ARTICLE 3. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

Section. 
230. Disclosure Statement 

 
Sec. 08.63.230.  Disclosure statement.  Before the performance of services, a licensed marital and family therapist shall ensure 

that the client was furnished a copy of a professional disclosure statement that contained 
(1) the name, title, business address, and business telephone number of the marital and family therapist; 
(2) a description of the formal professional education of the marital and family therapist, including the institutions attended 

and the degrees received from the institutions; 
(3) the marital and family therapist's areas of specialization and the services available; 
(4) the marital and family therapist's fee schedule listed by type of service or hourly rate; 
(5) a description of the exception to confidentiality contained in AS 08.63.200(a)(6); and 
(6) at the bottom of the first page of the statement, the following sentence: "This information is required by the Board of 

Marital and Family Therapy, which regulates all licensed marital and family therapists," followed by the name, address, and telephone 
number of the board's office. 



 08-4438     Rev. 4/6/16    Credit Card Payment Form 

For security purposes please do not email credit card information. Mail this credit card payment 
form to the Division. Completion of this form is not proof of payment until the Division processes the 
information. If any information on this form is illegible, the form will be rejected. 

Name of Applicant or Licensee:  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Type of License:  _____________________________________________________ License Number (if applicable):    ____________________________________ 

 I wish t o mak
 

e payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):   Amount

Application Fee:  __________________________________________________________________ _______________________

License or Renewal Fee:  __________________________________________________________________ _______________________

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):  

1. __________________________________________________________________ _______________________ 

2. __________________________________________________________________ _______________________

Total:  _______________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:  ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone:  ______________________________________________          Email (optional):       ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

Credit Card Type:                     VISA              — or —                         Mastercard 

   Signature of Credit Card Holder: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________

VISA or Mastercard Number: __________________________________________________________       Expiration Date: ______________________________ 

This section below the dotted line will be destroyed upon processing of the payment. 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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