

THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Marital and Family Therapy

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfMaritalAndFamilyTherapy@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMaritalFamilyTherapy

Authorized Supervisor Certification Application Instructions

In accordance with AS 08.63.120, a person may not supervise an associate marital and family therapist unless approved by the board to be a supervisor.

The following must be received by the division before your application for an Authorized Supervisor Certification can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A completed application, signed and notarized (#08-4252, pages 1-2).

2. VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE

If providing individual supervision: Proof that you have practiced marital and family therapy for at least five continuous years in accordance with AS 08.63.900(5).

- OR -

If providing group supervision: Proof that you have practiced as a licensed professional as listed under AS 08.63.120(b)(2)(A).

3. CONTINUING EDUCATION

Documentation of having completed at least six contact hours of education related to the practice of supervising a marital and family therapist within the last two years.

Alaska Statute

Sec. 08.63.120. Authorized supervisors.

- (a) A person may not supervise a person under this chapter unless approved by the board to be a supervisor.
- (b) A person who supervises a licensee under this section during
 - (1) individual supervision must
 - (A) have practiced marital and family therapy for five years;
 - (B) be licensed under this chapter; and
 - (C) meet the minimum standards established by the board for approved supervisors; or
 - (2) group supervision must be licensed to practice as
 - (A) a professional counselor under AS 08.29;
 - (B) a marital and family therapist under this chapter;
 - (C) a physician under AS 08.64 who is a psychiatrist;
 - (D) an advanced practice registered nurse under AS 08.68 who is certified to provide psychiatric or mental health services by an entity recognized by the Board of Nursing;
 - (E) a psychologist under AS 08.86; or
 - (F) a clinical social worker under AS 08.95.

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the certification may be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

CERTIFICATION TERM:

Certifications are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except certificates issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before certificate expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a certificate holder from the responsibility of renewing a certificate on time.

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:

Be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications. The name appearing on the certificate must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional certificate is issued. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov.*

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

All information on the application will be available as public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov.*

08-4252 (Rev. 03/12/2025) General Information Page 1 of 2

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov.



of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Marital and Family Therapy

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfMaritalAndFamilyTherapy@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMaritalFamilyTherapy

Authorized Supervisor Certification Application

PART I Application Type											
			Initial Application	1			Reinstatement A	Appli	cation		
DADT	Doug		Info								
PART II Personal Information Full Legal Name:											
			d (maiden, nickna of the documentat		-	=		e rec	eived in a p	orior name	e, you must
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s). Not Applicable											
	Other Name	s Used:									
Mailing A	Address:	P.O. Box	or Street			City			State		Zip
Contact Phone:						Date of Birth:					
EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure.											
Email Ad	Email Address:						Select One:		Send my Corr Send my Corr	· ·	· ·
		Note	e: If both boxes are s	elected a	ibove, you	ı will receive	correspondence e	electro	onically.		
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to pro States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential info not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state lice					ormation and will						
PART			nformation								
AK License					Expiration						
Number	:						Date:				
License 1	Гуре(s) Held:										
	Marital and	Family 1	Therapist		Psycho	logist					
	Physician wh	no is a p	sychiatrist		Advanced Practice Registered Nurse who is certified to provide						
	Clinical Socia	al Work	er		psychiatric or mental health services by an entity recognized by the Boal of Nursing.						y the Board
	Professional	Counse	elor								
	I hereby certify I have practiced in the profession(s) indicated above for at least five continuous years in accordance with 12 AAC 19.210(a)(3) or 12 AAC 19.210(b)(3).										
List at least five continuous years of practice:											

PART III Practice I	nformation (cont	tinued)						
Provide a brief description of your practice:								
PART IV Alaska L								
	eviewed, understand a	and will abide by the statute	s and re	gulations relevant	to me as an approved			
Notonio d Cimpton								
Notarized Signature								
I hereby certify I am the pe application, and I know the fu submitted herewith are true	II content thereof. I de			•				
I understand any falsification falsification or misrepresenta disciplining a license, registra	tion of documents to su	upport this application, is suff	icient gr					
I further understand it is a Claunsworn falsification.	ass A misdemeanor un	der Alaska Statute 11.56.210	to falsif	y an application and	d commit the crime of			
A person who makes a false s perjury (AS 11.56.200 & AS 1:		cation may be subject to civil	and crin	ninal penalties, incl	uding prosecution for			
Notary Stamp	Applicant Printed Name:							
	Applicant Signature:							
	Notary Public for State of: Subscribed and Sworn to Before me on this Day:							
li	Notary Signature:			My Commission Expires:				