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PROCEDURES FOR OBTAINING CERTIFICATION 
BY CREDENTIALS AS A DIRECT-ENTRY MIDWIFE 

 
This application is to be used only by applicants who hold a current license to practice midwifery in another 
jurisdiction and have performed at least 10 births (5 as the primary midwife) within the last 24 months.  If you do 
not meet the requirements of certification by credentials, you may apply for CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION 
by using Form 08-4215. 

Average processing time for an application is four to eight weeks. Applications are reviewed in order of date of receipt in 
our office. If any of your application documentation requires additional information the review process may take longer.  
Apply far enough in advance to allow processing time.   

In order to be scheduled for review by the board at its next regularly scheduled meeting, a complete application for 
certification and all supporting documents must be received by the division’s Juneau office at least 30 days before the 
date of the next regularly scheduled meeting of the board.  Board meetings are posted on the website, 
http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/Midwives.aspx. 

The following items must be on file before your application will be considered by the board per 12 AAC 14.120: 
 

 1. Complete, notarized application form, including photograph. 

 2. Fees 

  $250.00 Nonrefundable Application Fee. 

   Certification fee of $1750.00.   

 3. Authorization for Release of Records (form 08-4198a). 

 4. Copy of current certification in: 

    Basic Life Support for Health Care Providers (BLS). 

     IV Therapy Group B Strep 

   IV Therapy 

   Neonatal Resuscitation 

 5. Verification of Licensure sent directly from each jurisdiction where you hold or have ever held a license  
         or permit to practice midwifery, one of which must be current and in good standing (form 08-4198b).  
         The Verification of Licensure must be sent directly to the State of Alaska from each jurisdiction. 

 6. Affidavit of Course of Study/Apprenticeship (form 08-4198d). 

 7. Proof of passing the examination prepared and graded by the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM).   
     These results must be mailed directly to the board from NARM. 

 8. Copies of certificates verifying at least 20 hours of continuing education within the preceding 2 years, at least  
         4 of those hours must be in pharmacology and 2 hours must be for completion of the self-study course on 
         Alaska law. (The self-study course and a booklet of Alaska Statutes and Regulations will be mailed to  
         the applicant upon application approval by the board.) 

 9. Affidavit of Clinical Experience (form 08-4198c). 
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SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
 
In accordance with AS 08.01.060, the department is not authorized to issue a license unless the applicant's social security 
number has been provided to the department. If you do not have a social security number, you may download the Request for 
Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form at http://commerce.alaska.gov/cbpl/pl or contact the division. 
 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS  
 
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska 
Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable 
temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education 
office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 
 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
All certificates expire December 31 of even-numbered years regardless of when issued, except new certificates issued 
within 90 days of the expiration date will be issued through the next biennial license period. 
 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION 
 
All information supplied with this application is public information unless required to be kept confidential by state or 
federal law.  Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at 
http://commerce.alaska.gov/cbpl/pl under License Search. 
 
A wall certificate suitable for framing can be obtained by submitting a written request along with the $20.00 fee 
pursuant to 12 AAC 02.105(8). 
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APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION 

BY CREDENTIALS AS A DIRECT-ENTRY MIDWIFE 
 
I hereby apply for Direct-Entry Midwife Certification by Credentials (must be currently licensed in another jurisdiction) 
 
    Nonrefundable Application Fee:       $250.00 

 Certification Fee:      $1750.00 
 Wall Certificate (optional):             $20.00 

 
 
Applicant's Name:    

Last      First   Middle 
 
Mailing Address:    
 
City:            State:       ZIP Code:    
 
Daytime Telephone Number:         Social Security Number:    
 
Email Address:          Gender:   Female     Male   Date of Birth:     
 
Have you taken the North American Registry for Midwives (NARM) examination?         Yes          No 
 
Have you passed the NARM examination?        Yes          No     

If “yes,” provide date when passed:        
 
MIDWIFERY TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE – State in chronological order all professional education and experience 
including college, university, technical or professional school, and practice pertaining to the profession for which you are 
making application. 
 

From 

Mo/Day/Yr 

To 

Mo/Day/Yr 

Name and Location

Where Training Received 

Nature of 

Experience 

Date Graduated or

Completed 

     

     

     

     

 
PREVIOUS REGISTRATION – List all jurisdictions in which you hold or have held professional licenses. 
 

 

Jurisdiction 

 

Profession 

 

License No. 

 

First Issue Date 

 

Expiration Date 

How Licensed 

(exam, reciprocal, 
other) 
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PROFESSIONAL FITNESS (Alaska Statute 08.65.050(3), AS 08.65.110 and 12 AAC 14.140) 
If any of the following questions are answered "yes," full details must be furnished on a separate piece of paper  
and attached to this application. 
            YES NO 
1. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned,  
 or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded,  
 disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license  
 you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any  
 such action pending?   

2. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes  
 of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including but not limited to,  
 A conviction involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without  
 a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.  “Convicted” includes having  
 been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest,  
 or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine.   

3. Within the last five years, have you experienced or been treated for bipolar disorder, schizophrenia,  
 paranoia, depression (except for situational or reactive depression), psychotic disorder, or other mental  
 or physical disability?   

4.   Within the last five years, have you been treated for substance abuse, or have you been addicted to,  
 or excessively or illegally used alcohol or a controlled substance which may impair or interfere with your  
 ability to practice midwifery?   

5. List below any malpractice actions that have been filed against you, including the nature of the case, date,  
 and address of court where it is filed, and case status. 
  
                 
 
                 
 

 I certify I have reviewed AS 08.65.050(3) and AS 08.65.110 and attest that I have not engaged in conduct that is a ground 
 for imposing disciplinary sanctions as referenced under AS 08.65.110.           
OR 

 I certify I have also reviewed AS 08.65.050(3) and AS 08.65.110 and attest I DO NOT MEET AS 08.65.110 and I have 
 included the applicable documentation.                
AND 

 I certify per 12 AAC 14.140 the information provided on this application and all forms accompanying it are true and correct.  
        
If you answered “Yes” to any questions or statements, please submit a signed and dated detailed statement of explanation and a copy 
of the legal documentation, if applicable.  All information supplied with the application is considered public information, except 
information considered to be private by state or federal law.  Licensee information, including mailing addresses, is available on the 
division’s website at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ under License Search. 
 
 

         
    Signature of Applicant 

 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this               day of  , 20 . 
 
 

         
   Notary Public 

 
Notary Public for          

 
My Commission Expires:         

 
WARNING: 
Alaska Statute 11.56.210 states that any person who knowingly, or 
intentionally, furnishes false or fraudulent information in an application 
has committed a class A misdemeanor.  Any false or misleading 
information may result in failure to obtain registration or subsequent 

       revocation of registration. 
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ATTACH RECENT 

PHOTOGRAPH HERE 
 
 

Passport size taken 
within one year of 

application SEAL 
Notary seal 
must cover 
portion of 
photograph 



     
 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2580 

E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 
 

AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS 
 
 
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: 
 
 
I,         , residing at   
 
        , authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine my medical, employment, education records, and records 
pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records pertaining to me and 
discuss them with persons having possession of them.  I also expressly permit and authorize the release of all such 
records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing and its investigators. 
 
I authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations which are considered appropriate by the 
division in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or organizations 
deemed appropriate by the division. 
 
This release also applies to any documents or records which contain information pertaining to psychiatric, drug or alcohol 
evaluation, diagnosis or treatment received by me and which were prepared or made in conjunction with, or under the 
authority or guidance of any local, state, or federal law which relates to psychiatric, drug or alcohol evaluation, diagnosis, 
or treatment. 
 
I request that upon presentation of this release, or a Certified True Copy, that you provide copies of those records to the 
division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska. 
 
This authorization is given expressly in connection with my application for a permit to practice as a direct-entry midwife. 
 
 
Home  Work 
Telephone:    Telephone:    
 
 
 
Signature:    Date:    
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ALASKA STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED DIRECT-ENTRY MIDWIVES 

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 
 
This form is essential to the application you are filing with this board.  The information requested below must be officially verified by the 
licensing boards/agencies in all states of licensure.  Please complete the information requested and forward it to the state(s) in which 
you hold or have held a license to practice.  You are advised to check with that state before forwarding this form to determine if 
there are additional requirements to be met before the information will be released, i.e., verification fee.  (Copy this form as 
needed) 
 
PART I 
 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT (Please type or print legibly): 
 
  
Last Name    First Name   Middle Name   Maiden Name 
 
  
Mailing Address 
 
  
City      State      ZIP Code 
 
Date of Birth            License No.   
 
I hereby request and authorize the State of       to provide any and all pertinent information requested 
in this form to the Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives in the State of Alaska to complete an application filed with that agency. 
 
    

Signature       Date Signed 
 

 
PART II – NOT TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT 
 
The above applicant is applying for licensure in Alaska.  Please complete the following and return directly to the Alaska State Board 
of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives. 
 

State of   

Name of Licensee   

License No.            Original Issue Date   

Type of License:    Midwife   Other:   
 
 
 

   By reciprocity/endorsement/credentials    By examination: State Board Examination 
NARM Examination 

 
 YES        NO 

 
          
          

 
License is current       Lapsed       

Expiration Date      Expiration Date 
 
Is the applicant the subject of any unresolved complaints or any unresolved disciplinary action?       Yes      No 

If the applicant's license has lapsed or expired, please explain why (e.g., failure to pay licensing renewal fees, etc.) 

               

               

 CLINICAL EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT 
 

1. Did this licensee complete a course of study and supervised clinical experience of at last one year duration? 
      Yes      No      Information not available 
 

2. Did the supervised clinical experience include:  YES     NO 

a.  at least 100 prenatal visits?   ....................................................................................................................  
b.  at least 10 labor and delivery observations (preceding any primary responsibility)?   ..............................  
c.  at least 20 assisted labor managements (preceding any primary responsibility)?   ..................................  
d.  primary responsibility for at least 30 labor and deliveries of newborn and placenta?………………………  
e.  at least 30 newborn examinations? ..........................................................................................................  
f.  at least 30 postpartum examinations of mother? .......................................................................................  
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Has the applicant's license ever been suspended or revoked?       No         Yes   
 
If yes, for what reason?               
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
 
Has the applicant been subject to any other disciplinary action(s) (e.g., letter of warning, stipulation)?      No        Yes   
 
If yes, please describe:               
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
 
Please provide any information you believe relevant to the applicant's qualifications and fitness to practice midwifery: 
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
  
 
 
 
 

Signed:    
 

Printed Name:    
 

Title:    
SEAL 

State Board:    
 

Date:    
Please return this form directly to: 
 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Alaska Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
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Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives 
P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

(907) 465-2580 
E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 

 
AFFIDAVIT OF CLINICAL EXPERIENCE 
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Births Attended: 
Location 

 
Date of Birth, 

Weight and Sex 
in Chronological Order 

S – Supervising Licensee (MD-CNM-CDM) 
P – Primarily Responsible for Labor &     
 Delivery 
A – Assisted with Labor Management 
O – Observations 
 

 Number 

1 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   
 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 

 
 

 
 

 Number 

2 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   
 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 

 
 

 
 

 Number 

3 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   
 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 

 
 

 
 

 Number 

4 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   
 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 Number 

5 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   
 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 Number 

6 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   

 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

          

   Print Name of Applicant 
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Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives 
P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

(907) 465-2580 
E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 

 
AFFIDAVIT OF CLINICAL EXPERIENCE 
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Births Attended: 
Location 

 
Date of Birth, 

Weight and Sex 
in Chronological Order 

S – Supervising Licensee (MD-CNM-CDM) 
P – Primarily Responsible for Labor &     
 Delivery 
A – Assisted with Labor Management 
O – Observations 
 

 Number 

7 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   
 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 Number 

8 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   
 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 Number 

9 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   

 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 Number 

10 
 

 
DOB   
 
Weight   
 
Sex   

 
S:   
P:   
A:   
O:   

 

 
YES 

 
 

NO 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
I,  , certify that I was the primary or assisting 
 (Applicant Name) 

midwife for at least 10 births, five of which I was the primary midwife, within the 24 months previous to submitting my application for  
certification in Alaska.  The 10 births are listed above as required by 12 AAC 14.120. 
 
 
   
 Signature of Applicant 
 
 Date:   
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this   day of  , 20 . 
 
   
 Notary Public 
 SEAL 
 My Commission Expires:   
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Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2580 

E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 
 

AFFIDAVIT OF COURSE OF STUDY / APPRENTICESHIP 
 
 
Alaska Statute 08.65.070 requires that an applicant for certification by credentials meet AS 08.65.050(1)–(4) which 
includes completion of a course of study and supervised clinical experience of at least one year’s duration. 
 
 
 
I,  , certify that I have completed a midwifery 
 (Name of Applicant) 
 
course of study with  ,   and supervised  
 (Name of Education Program) (Date Completed) 
 
clinical experience of at least one year’s duration. 
 
Date Apprenticeship Started:   
 
Date Apprenticeship Completed:   
 
 
 
   
 Signature of Applicant 
 
 Date:   
 
 
 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this   day of  , 20 . 
 
 
 
   
 Notary Public 
 SEAL 
 My Commission Expires:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
08-4198d (Rev. 10/29/14) 


