
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

• Your Certified Nurse Aide Certificate Renewal is not complete until your Verification of Employment form is sent from you 
or your employer.  
 

• The completed Renewal and Verification of Employment must be received by the Division by July 23, 2020.  
 

• Mail or drop off your completed form to the contact information above.  Do not email or fax.  
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PART I Payment of Fees 

Renewal Fee: 

  Biennial Certificate Renewal  
$100.00 

 (for certificates first issued on or before March 31, 2019) 
   

   Prorated Certificate Renewal  
$50.00  (for certificates first issued on or after April 1, 2019) 

  
PART II Personal Information 

Alaska Nurse Aide Certificate Number:  

Complete Name: 
Name Change:  

If you have had a legal name change since your last certificate was issued, you must complete a Change of Name form. 

Mailing Address: 
Address change:  

Birthdate:  

Contact Phone:  

 
EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:   
 

 Send my Correspondence by Email 
 

 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and 
will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.  

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY ALASKA of 
 THE STATE 

Nurse Aide Registry 
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 269-8161 
Email: BoardofNursing@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Nursing.Alaska.Gov 

April 1, 2020 — March 31, 2022 
Nurse Aide Certification Renewal 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
  
 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/mylicense
mailto:BoardofNursing@Alaska.Gov
http://nursing.alaska.gov/
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PART III Professional Fitness Questions 
The following professional fitness questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in certificate denial. 
If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions, please explain dates and specific circumstances (locations, type of action, 
organizations or parties involved) on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, and send any supporting documents that are 
applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, certificates of completion, board or license actions, investigative 
notices, etc.).  

When in doubt, disclose and explain. 

1. Since the date your last certificate was issued or renewed: 
 Have you had a professional certificate or license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise 
restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license or certificate, been 
fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing 
authority in connection with a professional certificate or license you have held in any jurisdiction 
including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending? 

Yes 
 

No  

2. Since the date your last certificate was issued or renewed: 
Have you been convicted of a crime? For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, 
felony, or a military offense, including but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving 
while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or 
revoked license. “Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having 
entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended 
imposition of sentence, or a fine. 

Yes 
 

No 

3. Have you ever been placed on a state registry for committing abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of 
property? 

Yes 
 

No 

4. Since the date your last certificate was issued or renewed: 
Have you been or are you currently being treated for, or on medication for any mental or emotional 
illness which may impair or interfere with your ability to practice safely and in a competent and 
professional manner? 

Yes * 
 

No 

5. Since the date your last certificate was issued or renewed: 
Have you participated in a substance abuse and/or alcohol or drug treatment program or been 
diagnosed with a substance abuse disorder which in any way currently affects or limits your ability 
to practice safely and in a competent and professional manner? 

Yes * 
 

No 

6. Do you have a physical disability or physical illness which may impair or interfere with your ability 
to practice safely and in a professional and competent manner? 

Yes * 
 

No 

If you answered “Yes” to questions 4,5, or 6, in addition to your personal statement, you 
must submit a “safe to practice” letter from the appropriate health care provider indicating 
your ability to safely practice as a certified nurse aide. 
 
The board will audit a percentage of the certificate renewals. If your certificate is randomly 
selected for audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit documentation and proof 
that you satisfied the continued competency requirements as you stated on this renewal 
form. Save your documents for at least four years to respond to any audits. 

* 

Random Audit 

     “Yes” Answers 
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PART IV Statement of Compliance 

 

 
 

By checking the appropriate boxes below, you are verifying your compliance with the employment and continuing 
education requirements set forth in regulations 12 AAC 44.815, .825, and .895(4) during the April 1, 2018, through 
March 31, 2020, certification period. 

 

 
EXPERIENCE COMPLIANCE 

Select ONE (1) of the following: 

   
Compliance by Certificate Date   
 

I first received my nurse aide certificate on or after April 1, 2019, so this requirement is not 
applicable to me. 

—  or  —   

   

Compliance by Employment  
 

Between April 1, 2018, and March 31, 2020, I received monetary compensation for at least 
160 hours performing nurse aide duties in a state or territory of the United States or province 
of Canada. A Verification of Employment form confirming such employment can be sent from 
you or your employer. Failure to submit the Verification of Employment form will result in 
nonrenewal of your certificate. 

—  or  — 

   
Compliance by Exam  
 

In accordance with 12 AAC 44.815, I have successfully completed a competency evaluation 
under 12 AAC 44.850 between April 1, 2018, and March 31, 2020. 

 
                                                      - AND -  

   
CONTINUING EDUCATION COMPLIANCE 
 Select ONE (1) of the following: 

   
Compliance by Certificate Date   
 

I first received my nurse aide certificate on or after April 1, 2019, so this requirement is not 
applicable to me. 

—  or  —   

   

Initial certificate issued on or before March 31, 2018:  
 

I affirm my original nurse aide certification was issued on or before March 31, 2018, and 
therefore, in accordance with 12 AAC 44.825 and 12 AAC 44.895(4), I have completed at least 
24 contact hours of continuing education obtained during the period of April 1, 2018, through 
March 31, 2020. 

—  or  — 

   

Initial certificate issued on or after April 1, 2018:  
 

I affirm my original nurse aide certification was issued on or after April 1, 2018, and before 
April 1, 2019, and therefore, in accordance with 12 AAC 44.825 and 12 AAC 44.895(4), I have 
completed at least 12 contact hours of continuing education obtained during the period of 
April 1, 2018, through March 31, 2020. 
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NUA 

Applicant Name: 
 

PART V Agreement 

 

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete 

application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other 

documents submitted herewith are true and correct. 
 

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, 

or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or 

otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. 
 

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit 

the crime of unsworn falsification. 

Applicant’s Signature:   Date: 
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE 

Nurse Aide Registry 
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 269-8161 
Email: BoardofNursing@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Nursing.Alaska.Gov 

Signature Page 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
  
 

mailto:BoardofNursing@Alaska.Gov
http://nursing.alaska.gov/


      Applicant:  

Complete this top part and then forward it to the employer for completion of the bottom  
portion. Applications will be held in a pending status and will not be processed until our office 
receives this form. 
 

If you are self-employed, a Verification of Employment form must be completed by a client for 
whom you provided services, a client's legal guardian, or by one of your client's health care providers 
(physician, nurse, case manager, etc.). A certified copy of the health care reimbursement document 
that reflects payment for services provided, or other such documentation, may be submitted by you 
and may be considered on a case-bycase basis. 

Legal Name:  

Other Names Used: 
(previous/maiden) 

Certificate Number:  Date of Birth:  

       Employer:  Please complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return to the applicant 
or send the form directly to the Board of Nursing at the email address or mailing address 
above. Do not fax. 

Employer Name:  
Employer 

Title:  

Organization Name:  

Company Address:  

Phone Number:  

I herby cerify the afore mentioned applicant performed CNA duties for monetary 
 compensation for the hours and dates listed below. 

Total Hours of Employment Between April 1, 2018 and March 31, 2020: 
 

Employer Signature:      Date:  
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Nurse Aide Registry 

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 269-8161 

Email: BoardofNursing@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Nursing.Alaska.Gov  

 
 

Verification of Employment 
12 AAC 44.815(c): A nurse aide certification will be renewed if the applicant was employed in a state or territory of the United 
States, or in a province or territory of Canada, performing CNA duties for monetary compensation for 160 hours or more during the 
concluding certification period. 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 
  
  
  
  

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 
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Nurse Aide Registry 

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 269-8161 

Email: BoardofNursing@Alaska.Gov  
Website: Nursing.Alaska.Gov  

 

Name Change Affidavit 
 
If you have had a name change since your last certificate was issued, please complete this form showing your current and former 
name. You can choose to either attest to your name change with a notarized statement, or submit a certified copy of the legal 
document showing the name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, court ruling). 12 AAC 44.930 
 
If you submit this form with your renewal, there is no additional fee for name change. If you request a name change after renewal, 
a $5.00 fee is required. 12 AAC 02.105(3) 

Previous Name:  

Certificate Number:  

Mailing Address:  

 
I have attached a certified copy of the legal document showing the change of name (marriage certificate, divorce 
decree, or court ruling). Notarization not required. 

— or — 

  I certify that I have changed my name to: 

Current Name:  

Effective Date of Change:  

Signature:  

 
Notary Public for State of:  

Subscribed and Sworn to 
Before me on this Day:  

My Commission Expires:  

Notary’s Signature:  

Notary Stamp 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 
  
  
  
  



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT             

       Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________         

       License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________         

       Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):         

         1.           _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________               __________________________ 

    2.          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________                __________________________         

                   TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

  08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 
 
 

 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 
 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:   

2. Expiration Date:   

3. Billing ZIP Code:   

4. Security Code:   
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
  

  

  

  



 

APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 
 
 

 

 
 

 

CERTIFICATE TERM  
Certificates are issued for a two-year period and expire on even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except 
certificates issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be 
mailed at least 60 days before certificate expiration to the last known address of record. Your certified nurse aide certificate will 
lapse on July 23, 2020. THERE IS NO GRACE PERIOD.  

 
EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION FORM 
A nurse aide certification will be renewed if the applicant was employed in a state or territory of the United States or in a province 
of Canada performing certified nurse aide duties for monetary compensation for 160 hours or more during the concluding 
licensing period of April 1, 2018, through March 31, 2020 (12 AAC 44.815(c)). 
 

• APPLICANT 
Complete Section 1; forward to Employer for completion of Section II. Renewal applications will be held in a pending 
status and will not be processed until the Verification of Employment is received. 

 

• SELF- EMPLOYED 
If you are self-employed, a Verification of Employment form must be completed by a client for whom you provided 
services, a client’s legal guardian, or by one of your client’s health care providers (physician, nurse, case manager, etc.). 
A certified copy of the health care reimbursement document that reflects payment for services provided, or other such 
documentation, may be submitted by you and may be considered on a case-by-case basis. 

 

EXPIRED CERTIFICATES 
There is no “inactive” certificate status. If you choose not to renew your certificate before it expires, you may renew the 
certificate at a later date only after satisfying the requirements of 12 AAC 44.815(c), which may include retesting. 
 
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS: 
An applicant for renewal as a nurse aide must have successfully completed 24 contact hours of continuing education during the 
concluding renewal period (applies to applicants who have held their certification for two years or more). 
 

An applicant who is a first-time renewal applicant, who has held their certification for less than 24 months, but more than 12 
months, must complete 12 contact hours. 
 

An applicant who is a first-time renewal applicant and who has held their certification for less than 12 months is not required to 
complete continuing education requirements for the initial renewal only. 

 

 

 
 

APPLICATION PROCESSING:  
The average time to process an application is 4-6 weeks from the date it is received in this office, complete with all correct forms 
and supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of the 
incomplete and/or incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and correct and all supporting documents have 
been received and all fees have been paid a certificate will be issued and sent to you. If the application is not approved for 
certification, a status letter will be sent to you. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications 
are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  
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NUA Information  

General Information  



 

 
 “YES” RESPONSES 

A “Yes” response in the application does not automatically mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to 
any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and 
closing court documentation. 
 
DENIAL OF APPLICATION 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, 
federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

 
RANDOM AUDIT 
If your program requires continuing education, the division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is 
randomly selected for audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied 
the continuing competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form.  Please note that licensees are randomly selected 
by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at 
least four years so you can respond to audits. 
 
ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE 
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of 
address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division’s website. The address of record 
with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on 
the license must be your current legal name. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS 
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license 
is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for 
Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the division for 
a copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number. 

 
 PUBLIC INFORMATION 

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential 
by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License Search. 
 
ABANDONED APPLICATIONS  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last 
received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, 
the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a 
refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within 
that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited. 

 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT: 
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues. 
 
BUSINESS LICENSES 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for 
business licenses are mailed separately. For more information contact: (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov. 
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STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 
 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with 
your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the address below. 
 
REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 

US MAIL: P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
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Continuing Competency 
 
 
 
12 AAC 44.815. ISSUANCE AND RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION. 
 

(a) An initial nurse aide certification is valid for the remainder of the current biennial certification period. A nurse aide 
certification must be renewed biennially on or before March 31 of even-numbered years. A certification that is not renewed 
lapses.  
 

 (b) To renew a nurse aide certification, a certified nurse aide must submit 
 

  (1) a completed application for renewal on a form provided by the department  
 

   (2) the certification renewal fee established in 12 AAC 02.282; and  
 

   (3) verification that the applicant has met the continuing education requirements of 12 AAC 44.825 and the  
        requirements of (c) or (d) of this section. 
 

(c) A nurse aide certification will be renewed if the applicant was employed in a state or territory of the United States, or in 
a province of Canada performing CNA duties for monetary compensation for 160 hours or more during the concluding 
certification period.  
 

(d) An applicant who was employed as a certified nurse aide for monetary compensation for less than 160 hours during the 
concluding certification period may not obtain the required experience after the applicant’s nurse aide certificate has 
lapsed and must successfully complete a competency evaluation under 12 AAC 44.850 before the certification will be 
renewed. 
 

(e) A certified nurse aide who is issued an initial nurse aide certification less than 12 months before the next renewal period 
is not required to satisfy the requirements of (c) and (d) of this section. 
 

 (f) A nurse aide certification that has been lapsed for 12 months or less may be renewed under this section. 
 

(g) An applicant who was not employed as a certified nurse aide for monetary compensation during the concluding 
certification period and whose certified nurse aide training program was successfully completed more than two years ago, 
must complete another certified nurse aide training program approved under 12 AAC 44.835, or equivalent in content to 
the requirements of 12 AAC 44.835(c). 

 
12 AAC 44.825. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.   
 

 (a) Except as provided in (b) of this section, an applicant for renewal of a nurse aide certification must have successfully 
 completed 24 contact hours of continuing education during the concluding certification period. 
 

 (b) An applicant for renewal of a nurse aide certification for the first time 
(1) must have successfully completed 12 contact hours of continuing education during the concluding certification 
period, if the applicant has been certified for at least one year during that period; and   
 

  (2) is not required to complete continuing education requirements for the concluding certification period, if the  
  applicant has been certified for less than one year during that period.   
 

 (c) Repealed 12/23/2009. 
 

 (d) An applicant for renewal or reinstatement of a nurse aide certification may not submit credit for the same course more    
than once to meet the continuing education requirements for a certification period. 

 
12 AAC 44.895(4).  “Continuing education” means a systematic educational experience that contributes directly to the skills and 
knowledge needed to satisfactorily perform the duties of a certified nurse aide, and that is obtained in a program that offers 
academic credit or contact hours beyond the basic nurse aide training program. 
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