
Reinstatement of Advanced Practice Registered Nurse License  
Application Instructions  
 

To practice as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN), you must first be licensed as a Registered Nurse (RN) in Alaska, 12 AAC 
44.400(a)(2). 
 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse is defined by statute as, “a registered nurse authorized to practice in the state who, because of 
specialized education and experience, is certified to perform acts of medical diagnosis and the prescription and dispensing of medical, 
therapeutic, or corrective measures under regulations adopted by the board” in accordance with AS 08.68.850(1). An advanced 
practice registered nurse is a licensed independent practitioner who is licensed to practice as a nurse midwife, a clinical nurse 
specialist, a nurse practitioner, or a certified registered nurse anesthetist, or in more than one role. The individual must be licensed to 
practice in the role for which the individual has received specialized education, in accordance with 12 AAC 44.380. 
 

SCOPE OF PRACTICE 
The scope of practice statement published by the national professional organization determines the scope of practice for the Advanced 
Practice Registered Nurse in accordance with 12 AAC 44.430. 
 

Registration with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) is required within 30 days of obtaining controlled substance 
prescriptive authority or a DEA registration number, whichever is later. If you have a DEA registration number, and only legend drug 
prescriptive authority in Alaska then you do not need to register with the PDMP.  For more information, visit PDMP.Alaska.Gov. 
 

The following must be received by the division before your application for Reinstatement of Advanced Practice 
Registered Nurse License can be reviewed:  

 

1. APPLICATION 
A completed application, signed and notarized (#08-4867, pages 1-4). 

 

2. FEES 
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska.” 
Nonrefundable Application Fee (Only if Lapsed Over 1 Year):      $100.00 
APRN License Fee:           $100.00 
Prescriptive Authority Fee – Legend Drugs ONLY:     $100.00* 
Prescriptive Authority Fee – Controlled Substances and Legend Drugs:  $200.00* 
 
 

* Fees required only if prescriptive authority was not previously held. 
 

3. NATIONAL CERTIFICATION  
A copy of current national certification in your role and population focus. This must be received directly from the certifying body. 
We do not accept copies from the applicant. 

 

4. VERIFICATION OF CLINICAL PRACTICE 
A completed Verification of Clinical Practice form (#08-4867b), verifying at least 320 hours of clinical practice as an APRN within 
the two years before the date the application is received by the board. If you cannot document 320 hours of clinical practice in 
the past two years, you must satisfy the preceptorship requirements as stated in 12 AAC 44.475(c-e). 

 

5. ADULT OR FAMILY PSYCHIATRIC MENTAL HEALTH NURSE PRACTITIONERS 
An applicant for an authorization to practice as an adult or family psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner must submit: 

• Certification issued by the American Nurses Credentialing Center before January 1, 2003 certifying the applicant has 
passed the examination administered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center for: 

o psychiatric mental health clinical nurse specialist; or 
o adult or family psychiatric mental health practitioner; or 

• Certification issued by the American Nurses Credentialing Center on or after January 1, 2003 certifying the applicant has 
passed the examination administered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center for adult or family psychiatric mental 
health nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist. 
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TO PRESCRIBE AND DISPENSE FEDERALLY SCHEDULED II - V CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES (12 AAC 44.445 & 12 AAC 44.447) 
You must apply for registration with the Federal Drug Enforcement Agency. Registration applications are available from the DEA at 
400 Second Avenue West, Seattle, WA 98119, (888) 219-1418. Prescriptions must be signed by the prescriber with the initial “APRN,” 
the prescriber’s identification number assigned by the board and the prescriber’s DEA number. 
 

Within 30 days of receiving a DEA registration number, following approval by the board to prescribe and dispense controlled 
substances, you MUST register with the Prescriptive Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). To create an account, go to: 
alaska.pmpaware.net.  For more information, visit PDMP.Alaska.Gov. 
 

Failure to register for the PDMP is considered unprofessional conduct by the Board of Nursing and may result in a licensing action. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

08-4867 (Rev. 03/19/2025)                                         Application Instructions                                                  Page 2 of 2 



General Information  
 

APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been 
received and all fees have been paid, the license may be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. 
Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  
 

LICENSE TERM:  
Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on November 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, 
except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice 
will be sent via email or mail at least 60 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to 
receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time. 
 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or 
local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 
 

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE: 
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name. 
Name and address change notification forms are available on the division’s website. The address of record with the division will be 
used to send renewals and all other official notifications. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. 
 

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:   
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or 
court documents that are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy, you must 
present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy of the original 
document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: 
AS 08.01.060 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued. If you do not 
have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. 
 

PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
All information on the application will be available as public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
 

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received 
from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division 
will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial 
license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no 
refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited. 
 

BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business 
licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov. 
 

STALE DOCUMENTS: 
Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division 
will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division 
or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing 
jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915) 
 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues. 
 

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM:  
Registration with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) is required within 30 days of obtaining controlled substance 
prescriptive authority or a DEA registration number, whichever is later. If you have a DEA registration number and only legend drug 
prescriptive authority in Alaska, then you do not need to register with the PDMP. Practitioners must use the PDMP to review a patient’s 
prescription history each time before prescribing, administering, or dispensing a federally scheduled II or III controlled substance. For 
more information, visit PDMP.Alaska.Gov. 
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STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: 
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred 
contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: 
RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov. 
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Reinstatement of Advanced Practice Registered Nurse License Application 

PART I Payment of Fees 

Required Fees: 
Nonrefundable Application Fee (Only if Lapsed Over 1 Year)  $100.00 

Initial License Fee  $100.00 

Optional 
Prescriptive 
Authority Fees: 

Legend Drugs ONLY  $100.00* 

- OR -

Controlled Substances and Legend Drugs  $200.00* 

*Fees required only if prescriptive authority was not previously held.

PART II Personal Information 

Full Legal Name: 

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases).  If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must 
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s). 

 Not Applicable 
 Other Names Used: 

 
Mailing Address: 

P.O. Box or Street    City     State      Zip  

Alaska RN 
License Number: 

RN Reinstatement 
Application in Process 

Alaska APRN 
License Number: 

Contact Phone: Date of Birth: 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address: Select One: Send my Correspondence Electronically 
Send my Correspondence by Mail 

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will  
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 
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PART III Educational Program 
Name of Nursing 
School:  

Date Entered: 
YYYY 

Date Completed: 
YYYY 

Name of 
Certifying Body: 

For which role are 
you applying? NP CNM CNS CRNA 

What National Certification(s) do you hold?  Check all that apply: 

Acute Care/Emergency  Family Pediatric 

Adult  Family/Individual Across Lifespan Psychiatric/Mental Health 

Adult/Gerontology  Geriatric Women’s Health 

Adult Psychiatric/Mental Health Neonatal Women’s Health/Gender  

PART IV Prescriptive and Dispensing Authority 
If prescriptive authority was not previously held, you must submit copies of the certificates of attendance for 15 contact hours of 
advanced education obtained during the past two years. If the course was not specifically a pharmacology course include an 
outline of the course which identifies the section relevant to pharmacology. Practitioners who are recent graduates may use a 
copy of their transcript, which shows a pharmacology course in the last two years. 

Note: you must hold legend drug authority in order to hold controlled substance authority. 

Do you want prescriptive and/or dispensing authority for legend drugs?  Yes No 

 If yes, do you also want prescriptive authority for controlled substances? Yes No 
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PART V DEA Registration and PDMP Acknowledgment 
1. Providers applying for legend drug prescriptive authority only do not need to register or comply with PDMP 

requirements (Skip to Part VI).  Providers applying for controlled substance prescriptive authority are required to register 
with the PDMP. Providers with a DEA registration number valid to use in any state or practice location and controlled 
substance prescriptive authority must register with the PDMP. Do you have a DEA Registration number? 

 NO, I do not have a DEA registration number. I understand if I obtain a DEA registration number, I must register with 
the Alaska PDMP within 30 days as required by the board. I will comply with mandatory use and refer to all applicable 
authorizing statutes and regulations. (Skip to Part VI) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 YES, I have a DEA registration number. I understand I must register with the Alaska PDMP within 30 days, as required 
by the board, and will comply with mandatory use as required by AS 17.30.200 and 12 AAC 40.967. 

 

 I acknowledge I must review a patient's prescription history prior to prescribing, administering, or 
dispensing a federally scheduled II or III controlled substance.   

 

 I understand I must submit proof of completion for 2 hours in pain management and opioid use and 
addiction completed in the two-year period immediately before the date of application as required by 12 
AAC 44.445(i)(1). A course description may be needed if the course does not specify pain management and 
opioid use and addiction. 

If I have a change in DEA registration number or status, I also understand I must promptly submit the DEA 
Registration Status Change Form (#08-4763). 

If you’re unsure of the DEA issue date, indicate January 1st of the estimated year.    

 DEA Registration 
Number: 

 Issue 
Date: 

 Expiration 
Date: 

  

 
2. Providers who directly dispense a federally scheduled II - IV controlled substance are required to report daily. Do you 

plan to directly dispense?  Directly dispense means you deliver the substance directly to the user. Writing a prescription 
for a patient to fill at a pharmacy is NOT direct dispensing. 

Reporting does not apply to you if you directly dispense an outpatient supply of 24-hours or less in practice locations 
exempt under AS 17.30.200(t). Exempted facilities include health care facilities (defined in AS 18.07.111 or AS 
18.20.499), correctional facilities, inpatient pharmacies, and emergency departments. 
 

Per AS 11.71.900(8) “dispense” means to deliver a controlled substance to an ultimate user or research subject by or 
under the lawful order of a practitioner, including the prescribing, administering, packaging, labeling, or compounding 
necessary to prepare the substance for that delivery; “dispenser” means a practitioner who dispenses. 

 YES, I plan to directly dispense and acknowledge I must report daily per AS 17.30.200 and 12 AAC 52.865. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

NO, I do not plan to directly dispense and acknowledge if I begin directly dispensing, I must report daily.   
(If you are not directly dispensing, the reporting criteria do not apply to you.) 
 

 

PART VI Clinical Practice as an APRN 
 
 
 

 
I attest to having worked at least 320 hours of clinical practice as an APRN within the two years before the date of 
this application. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 I have NOT worked at least 320 hours of clinical practice as an APRN within the two years before the date of this 
application.  I understand I must satisfy the preceptorship requirements as stated in 12 AAC 44.475(c-e). 

 

PART VII Alaska Law 

 
I hereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession  
(AS 08.68 and 12 AAC 44). 
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Notary Signature Page  
 

Applicant Name:   
Alaska License Number 
(if known):  

 

PART VIII Notarized Signature 

I hereby certify I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application. I further certify I have read the complete 
application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other 
documents submitted herewith are true and correct.   
 

I understand any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, 
or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, 
or otherwise disciplining a license, registration, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. 
 

I further understand it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the 
crime of unsworn falsification.   
 

A person who makes a false statement on this application may be subject to civil and criminal penalties, including 
prosecution for perjury (AS 11.56.200 & AS 11.56.230). 

 Applicant Printed 
Name:  

Applicant 
Signature:  

Notary Public for 
State of:  Subscribed and Sworn to 

Before me on this Day:  

Notary Signature:  My Commission 
Expires:  
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Verification of Clinical Practice as an APRN 

Applicant: 
Complete the top portion of this form and submit to an employer who is able to verify at least 320 
hours of clinical practice as an APRN within the last 2 years.  After the employer completes the bottom 
portion, have the employer email or mail the form directly to the Board of Nursing at the letterhead 
address. 

Applicant Full Legal Name: Date of Birth: 

Employer: 
Complete this form and submit it directly to the Alaska Board of Nursing via email or mail (either from 
your official work email or mailed from your work address).  DO NOT return it to the applicant.  This 
form must be signed and dated. 

Did the employee complete at least 320 hours of clinical practice as an APRN within the 
immediate past two (2) years? Yes No 

Company Name or Agency: 

Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box or Street    City     State      Zip  

Employer Printed Name: Title: 

Employer Signature: Date: 

Employer-Issued Email 
Address: Phone: 
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Approved Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Certification Programs 
 

1. National Board on Certification & Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) 

• Initial and renewal certifications for nurse anesthetists 
 

2. National Certification Corporation for the Obstetric, Gynecologic, and Neonatal Nursing Specialties (NCC) 

• Woman’s Health Care Nurse Practitioner (formerly OB/GYN Nurse Practitioner) 
• Neonatal Nurse Practitioner 

 

3. The Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB) Formerly National Certification Board of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners & 
Nurses (NCBPNP/N) 

• Pediatric Nurse Practitioner 
 

4. American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) 

• Nurse Midwives 
 

5. American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) 

• Family/Individual across the lifespan 
• Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner 
• Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner 
• Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Across the Lifespan) 
• Child and Adolescent Psychiatric and Mental Health Clinical Nurse Specialist 
• Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist  
• Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner  

 

If licensed as of January 1, 2024, may continue to practice if that certification is maintained: 
• Adult Health  
• Family Health  
• Gerontological Nurse Practitioner 
• Acute Care / Emergency Nurse Practitioner 
• Adult Psychiatric/Mental Health  
• Family Psychiatric/Mental Health  
• Women’s Health 

 

6. American Academy of Nursing Practitioners (AANP) 

• Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner 
• Emergency Nurse Practitioner 
• Family Nurse Practitioner 

 

If certified or licensed as of January 1, 2024, may continue to practice if that certification is maintained: 

• Gerontological Nurse Practitioner 
 

7. American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) 
 

• Acute Care Nurse Practitioner 
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Credit Card Payment Form 

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this credit card payment 
form with your application. 

Name of Applicant or Licensee: 

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture): License Number (if applicable): 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): AMOUNT 

Application Fee: 

License or Renewal Fee: 

Other (fine, exam, etc.): 

1. 

2. 

TOTAL: 

Name (as shown on credit card): 

Mailing Address: 

Phone Number: Email (Optional): 

Signature of Credit Card Holder: 
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CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed. 

1. Credit Card Number:
All 3 fields MUST be completed. 

This section will be destroyed after the 
payment is processed. 

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:
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