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Your license to practice as a professional counselor in the State of Alaska lapses after October 31, 2015.  If your license 
is expired it is illegal for you to practice as a professional counselor in this state. There is no grace period. To renew 
your license for the period from November 1, 2015, through October 31, 2017, return this completed, signed and 
dated application to the above address with a check or money order payable to the State of Alaska, or use the attached 
credit card payment form.  Faxed or emailed forms will not be accepted. This is the only renewal notice that you 
will receive.  Incomplete applications or insufficient fees will result in your renewal being rejected. 

Processing Time: The processing time for a correct and completed renewal application can be up to four weeks after 
receipt. Plan accordingly to ensure processing by the expiration date of October 31, 2015. 

Mailed Renewal Forms:  Do not duplicate barcoded renewal forms because they are associated with a specific name 
and license number. Uncoded forms are available at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ProfessionalCounselors 

 PCO 

Biennial Professional Counselor License Renewal 

PART I Payment of Fees
License #:  1  –  890 
License #:  891 and above 

Professional Counselor License Fee      
Prorated Professional Counselor License Fee 

$650 
$325 

Make checks payable to: State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form. 

PART II Personal Identification Information

Full Legal Name AK Professional 
Counselor License # 

Mailing Address
Check box if this is an 
address change  

Address 

City   State    ZIP Code  

Daytime Phone Date of Birth 

Email Address

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: As required by state law, please provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered CONFIDENTIAL information and is not 
for public disclosure; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. (AS 08.01.100) 

Social Security Number 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Board of Professional Counselors, PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 465-2550  •  Email: license@alaska.gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ProfessionalCounselors 

November 1, 2015 — October 31, 2017 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/ProfessionalCounselors
mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/ProfessionalCounselors
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The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. If you answer 
“Yes” to any of the questions, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, 
and send any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.). 
Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. 

WHEN IN DOUBT, PLEASE DISCLOSE AND EXPLAIN! 

Since the date of your last application for an Alaska professional counselor license: 

 
 

1. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise 
restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, 
been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a 
settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you 
have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military 
authorities or is any such action pending?

 Yes  No 

2. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a 
crime? For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a 
military offense, including a conviction involving driving under the influence (DUI) or 
driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving 
with a suspended or revoked license. “Convicted” includes having been found guilty 
by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no 
contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a 
fine.

 Yes  No 

3. Have you experienced or been treated for bipolar disorder, schizophrenia,
paranoia, a psychotic disorder, substance abuse, depression (except for
situational or reactive depression) or any other mental or emotional illness?

* Yes  No 

4. Have you been treated for substance abuse, or have you been addicted to or
excessively or illegally used alcohol or a controlled substance which may impair
or interfere with your ability to practice as a professional counselor?

* Yes  No 

5. Have you experience a physical disability which may impair or interfere with your
ability to practice as a professional counselor? * Yes  No 

*  If you answered “Yes” to questions 3,4 or 5 submit a “fit to practice” letter from your primary attending physician.

All information submitted with this application is considered public information unless required by state or federal law 
to remain confidential. If additional information of a confidential nature is required, you will be notified in writing. 
Licensee information, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov under License Search. 

Continuing Education: Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continuing education 
requirements in Article 3 of 12 AAC 62 (see attached regulations). 

Random Audit: The board will audit a percentage of the license renewals.  If your license is randomly selected for 
audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the 
continued competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form.  Save your documents for at least four years 
so you can respond to audits. 

PART III Professional Fitness

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
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PART IV Compliance Statement

By checking the appropriate box below you are verifying your compliance with the continuing 
competency requirements of 12 AAC 62.310-320 during the license period from November 1, 2013 
through October 31, 2015. 

License 1 through 859 – I certify that I have successfully completed the required 40 contact hours which 
included three contact hours in professional ethics. 

License 860 through 890 – I certify that I have successfully completed the required 30 contact hours which 
included three contact hours in professional ethics. 

License 891 and above –  I certify that I have successfully completed the required 20 contact hours which 
included three contact hours in professional ethics. 

PART V Notarized Signature
I certify that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. The Division may deny, 
suspend or revoke the license of a person who has obtained or attempted to obtain a license by fraud or deceit. The 
person may also be subject to criminal charges for perjury or unsworn falsification.  (AS 11.56.210) 

Applicant’s 
Signature: 

Notary 
Public for 
State of: 

Subscribed and 
Sworn to Before 
me on this Day: 

Notary’s 
Signature: 

My Commission 
Expires: 

Notary Stamp 
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BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTATION 
This form must accompany your renewal form.  If this form is not attached, it will result in your renewal being rejected. 

 
  
Name:                      License Number:    

(Please print or type) 
 
NOTE:  Licensees holding license numbers 001 to 859 must document 40 contact hours which include three contact hours of professional ethics. Licensees holding license number 860 – 
890 must document 30 contact hours which include three contact hours of professional ethics.  License numbers 891 and above must document 20 contact hours which include three 
contact hours in professional ethics. 
 

 
DATES OF 

ATTENDANCE 
 

COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTION 
 

SPONSORING 
ORGANIZATION 

 
HOURS 

CLAIMED 

SYNCHRONOUS 
(FACE-TO-FACE) 

Yes/No 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

PROFESSIONAL ETHICS 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 

     

TOTAL of ALL CE Hours 
 
 

 
 
         SIGN HERE 
 

  
 Applicant Signature 

 
NOTE: At least one-half of the total number of continuing education contact hours required for renewal of a license under this section must be earned synchronously. * 

* Synchronous: happening precisely at the same time during which the instruction and attendee are able to communicate in real-time. 
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APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The amount of time it takes to process the application varies, depending on when all complete and correct documents and fees are 
received by the division.  If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of incomplete and/or incorrect documents and fees.  
When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been received, and all fees have been paid, a license will be 
issued and sent to you with an accompanying cover letter with further information about Alaska statutory requirements. If the application is 
not approved for licensure, a written explanation of the basis of that denial and information on how to appeal the decision will be provided. 
 
LICENSE TERM:  
Licenses are issued for a two-year period. However, all professional counselor licenses expire on October 31 of odd-numbered years, 
regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration 
date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record. 
 
“YES” RESPONSES: 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied.  If you have responded “Yes” to any professional fitness 
question in the application be sure to submit an explanation and documentation. 
 
DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or 
local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 
 
ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:  
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or 
name.  Name and address change notification forms are available on the division’s website.  The address of record with the division will be 
used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence.  The name appearing on the license must be your current 
legal name. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued 
or renewed for an individual.  If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social 
Security Number Requirement form located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the division for a copy of the form. 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the initial application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by 
state or federal law.  Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License Search. 
 
ABANDONMENT:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received 
from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send 
notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other 
fees paid, however the application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that time frame, no refund will be 
issued. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on 
Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  
Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve 
payment issues. 
 
BUSINESS LICENSES: 
Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately.  For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or 
online at:  BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 
 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:  
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program is available on the division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov. If you 
are unable to download the statutes and regulations, please contact the division and request a copy by mail. 

 
 

NOTIFICATION OF PROPOSED REGULATION CHANGES 
 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulations changes for your program please send a request in writing with your name, preferred 
contact method (mail or e-mail) and the program you want to be updated on to: 

 
REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

 

! General Information  

http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/Portals/5/pub/adm4372.pdf
http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ProfessionalLicenseSearch.aspx
http://businesslicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
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Section. 

300. License renewal 
310. Continuing education requirement 
320. Approved continuing education activities 
330. Audit of continuing education requirements 
340. Failure to meet continuing education requirements and license reinstatement 

 
 
 

12 AAC 62.300.  LICENSE RENEWAL.   
 
 (a) A licensee applying for renewal of a professional counselor license must 

  
 (1) submit a complete renewal application, on a form provided by the department, including a statement of the 

continuing education contact hours under 12 AAC 62.310 completed by the applicant during the concluding licensing 
period; and 

  
  (2) pay the license renewal fee established in 12 AAC 02.325. 

 
 
12 AAC 62.310.  CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.   

 
(a)  A licensee applying for renewal of a professional counselor license must complete the number of continuing education 
contact hours set out in this section; at least three of the contact hours must be in professional ethics: 

 
   (1) first biennial renewal, if the licensee held the license for less than 12 months during the concluding renewal period, 

20 contact hours; 
   
   (2) first biennial renewal, if the licensee held the license for at least 12 months but less than 18 months during the 

concluding renewal period, 30 contact hours; 
   
   (3) first biennial renewal, if the licensee held the license for 18 months or more during the concluding renewal period, 

40 contact hours; 
   
   (4) second or subsequent biennial renewal, 40 contact hours.  
 
  (b) Except as provided in (c) of this section, the board will consider one continuing education “contact hour” as a minimum of 

50 minutes of classroom instruction between instructor and participant.  The board will accept academic credit converted to 
contact hours as follows: 

 
   (1) one semester academic credit equals 15 contact hours; 
   (2) one quarter academic credit equals 10 contact hours. 
 
  (c) For a course, seminar, or workshop offered or approved by an organization listed in 12 AAC 62.320(b)(2), if the 

organization has designated the number of continuing education units to be awarded for that course, seminar, or workshop, 
the board will accept contact hours equal to the designated number of continuing education units. 

 
  (d) No more than one-half of the total number of continuing education contact hours required for renewal of a license under 

this section may be earned by completion of a correspondence, videotape, audiocassette, or other individual study program. 
 
 (e) Only hours of actual attendance during instruction will be accepted as continuing education contact hours earned from 

an academic course audited by the licensee. The total number of contact hours earned may not exceed the number of 
academic credit hours offered for that course. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

! Continuing Education Information 
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12 AAC 62.320.  APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION.   
 
(a) To be accepted by the board, continuing education must contribute directly to the professional competency of a professional 
counselor and must be directly related to the skills and knowledge required to implement professional counseling principles and 
methods. 

 
 (b) The following continuing education will be accepted by the board if related to professional counseling as 

provided in (a) of this section:  
 
(1) postgraduate courses, seminars, and workshops offered or approved by a regionally or nationally 
accredited institution of higher education, either audited by the licensee or taken for academic credit; 
(2) courses, seminars, and workshops offered or approved by the 

(A) American Counseling Association; 
(B) Alaska Counseling Association; 
(C) American Psychological Association; 
(D) American Association of State Social Work Boards; 
(E) National Association of Social Workers; 
(F) American Association for Marital and Family Therapy; 
(G) National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC); 
(H) Alaska Commission for Behavioral Health Certification; 
(I) Alaska Psychological Association; 
(J) Alaska School Counselor Association; 
(K) Alaska Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers; 
(L) American School Counselor Association; 
(M) Alaska Department of Health and Social Services; 
(N) Co-Occurring Disorders Institute, Inc.; 
(O) Alaska Rural Behavioral Health Training Academy; 
(P) National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors; 
(Q) Regional Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor Training Program; 

 
(3) cross-disciplinary courses, seminars, or workshops in the fields of medicine, law, behavioral sciences, ethics, or other 
disciplines; 
 
(4) first-time preparation and presentation of a professional counseling course, seminar, or workshop; the board will accept 
up to a maximum of 10 contact hours allocated among all professional counselors involved in the preparation and 
presentation; 
 
(5) first-time preparation or publication of an article or book chapter related to the practice of professional 
counseling that was presented at a state or national association meeting or published by a publisher accepted by the board 
as recognized by the profession; the board will accept up to a maximum of 10 contact hours allocated among all professional 
counselors involved in the preparation or publication; 
 
(6) completion of a correspondence, video tape, audio cassette, or other individual study program; a program under this 
paragraph is acceptable only if 

(A) the program requires registration and provides evidence of successful completion; or 
(B) the licensee submits a signed statement from an approved counselor supervisor who supervised the study 
program verifying that the licensee has successfully completed the program; 

 
(7) up to 15 contact hours of continuing education in other courses, seminars, workshops, and in service 
training not covered under (1) - (6) of this subsection that are not specifically preapproved by the board, but meet the 
standards contained in (a) of this section. 

 
(c) Time spent in job orientation may not be accepted as continuing education contact hours. 
 
12 AAC 62.330.  AUDIT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.  
 
(a)  After each biennial renewal period the board will, in its discretion, audit renewal applications to monitor compliance with 
the continuing education requirements of this chapter. 
(b) A licensee selected for audit must, within 30 days from the date of receipt of notification, submit verification of 
completion of the continuing education contact hours required under 12 AAC 62.310. 
(c) A licensee must maintain adequate detailed records of all continuing education contact hours claimed, and must submit 
the records to the board upon request.  The licensee must retain the records for at least three years after the date the 
continuing education contact hours were earned and included on the statement submitted under 12 AAC 62.300. 
 
12 AAC 62.340.  LICENSE REINSTATEMENT.  
The board will reinstate a license that has been lapsed less than five years if the applicant submits proof of completion of all 
continuing education contact hours that would have been required to keep the applicant’s license current, and the applicant 
meets all other requirements under AS 08.29 and this chapter for license renewal. 
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For security purposes please do not email credit card information.  Mail this form with the completed 
renewal to the Division. Completion of this form is not proof of payment until the Division processes the 
information. If any information on this form is illegible the form will be rejected. 

Name of Applicant or Licensee: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Type of License: _____________________________________________________ License Number (if applicable): _______________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                Amount             

        Application Fee           _______________________         

        License (or renewal) Fee           _______________________         

        Fine                 _______________________         

       Other (specify): ________________________________________________________           _______________________          

                               Total:   _______________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card): _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone: ____________________________________________________ Email (optional): ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

Credit Card Type:                    VISA             — or —                      Mastercard 
 

       Signature of Credit Card Holder: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

VISA or Mastercard Number: ____________________________________________________________  Expiration Date: ______________________________ 

This section below the dotted line will be destroyed upon processing of the payment. 

 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
  

  

  

  


	Biennial Professional Counselor License Renewal

	Full Legal Name: 
	AK Professional Counselor License: 
	City State ZIP CodeDaytime Phone: 
	Date of Birth: 
	Email Address: 
	Social Security Number: 
	Name: 
	License Number: 
	DATES OF ATTENDANCERow1: 
	COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTIONRow1: 
	SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONRow1: 
	HOURS CLAIMEDRow1: 
	SYNCHRONOUS FACETOFACE YesNoRow1: 
	DATES OF ATTENDANCERow2: 
	COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTIONRow2: 
	SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONRow2: 
	HOURS CLAIMEDRow2: 
	SYNCHRONOUS FACETOFACE YesNoRow2: 
	DATES OF ATTENDANCERow3: 
	COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTIONRow3: 
	SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONRow3: 
	HOURS CLAIMEDRow3: 
	SYNCHRONOUS FACETOFACE YesNoRow3: 
	DATES OF ATTENDANCERow4: 
	COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTIONRow4: 
	SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONRow4: 
	HOURS CLAIMEDRow4: 
	SYNCHRONOUS FACETOFACE YesNoRow4: 
	DATES OF ATTENDANCERow5: 
	COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTIONRow5: 
	SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONRow5: 
	HOURS CLAIMEDRow5: 
	SYNCHRONOUS FACETOFACE YesNoRow5: 
	DATES OF ATTENDANCERow6: 
	COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTIONRow6: 
	SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONRow6: 
	HOURS CLAIMEDRow6: 
	SYNCHRONOUS FACETOFACE YesNoRow6: 
	DATES OF ATTENDANCERow7: 
	COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTIONRow7: 
	SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONRow7: 
	HOURS CLAIMEDRow7: 
	SYNCHRONOUS FACETOFACE YesNoRow7: 
	DATES OF ATTENDANCERow8: 
	COURSE TITLE AND DESCRIPTIONRow8: 
	SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONRow8: 
	HOURS CLAIMEDRow8: 
	SYNCHRONOUS FACETOFACE YesNoRow8: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow1: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow1_2: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow1_3: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow1_4: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow1_5: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow2: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow2_2: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow2_3: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow2_4: 
	PROFESSIONAL ETHICSRow2_5: 
	TOTAL of ALL CE Hours: 
	Name of Applicant or Licensee: 
	Type of License: 
	License Number if applicable: 
	Application Fee: Off
	License or renewal Fee: Off
	Fine: Off
	Other specify: Off
	undefined: 
	Amount 1: 
	Amount 2: 
	Amount 3: 
	Amount 4: 
	Total: 0
	Name as shown on credit card: 
	Mailing Address: 
	Phone: 
	Email optional: 
	VISA or Mastercard Number: 
	Expiration Date: 
	Address: 
	Address2: 
	Check Box1: Off
	Group3: Off
	Group4: Off
	Group5: Off
	Group6: Off
	Group7: Off
	Group8: Off
	Group9: Off


