

# THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

#### **Board of Professional Counselors**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: ProfessionalCounselors@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ProfessionalCounselors

### **Professional Counselor License by Examination Application Instructions**

This application contains all the documents you will need to apply for a permanent license to practice as a professional counselor in Alaska. Read these instructions and the Board of Professional Counselors Statutes and Regulations before you complete the application.

A person may apply for licensure to practice professional counseling in the State of Alaska under the provisions of AS 08.29. Applicants may qualify for licensure by credentials or by examination.

#### Note the following:

- An incomplete application or any unusual circumstances noted in the application may require additional processing time.
- The application review process is defined by the requirements set forth in state law. The board and its staff must comply with those laws in processing applications.
- If you received this application from a source other than directly from the division or its official website, the application may be outdated or not an official version. Ensure you have the current version as outdated versions will not be accepted.

The following must be received by the division before your application for Professional Counselor License by Examination can be reviewed:

#### 1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4910, pages 1-4).

#### FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$200.00
Initial License Fee: \$250.00

Total Fees Due: \$450.00

#### 3. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS

Certified transcripts of a master's degree or doctorate degree in counseling or related field as defined in 12 AAC 62.990(b) and regionally or nationally accredited from an institution matching the requirements listed in 12 AAC 62.120(a). Contact your school to obtain the official transcript and have them send the document directly to our division. The transcript must show a minimum of 60 graduate semester hours in counseling.

#### 4. EDUCATIONAL COURSEWORK CHECK SHEET

If your graduate degree is in a related field, you must complete the Educational Coursework Check Sheet (form #08-4910a). "Related field" includes psychology, marital and family therapy, social work, and applied behavioral science as defined in 12 AAC 62.990(b).

#### 5. EXAMINATION

Submit verification of successfully having passed the National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) or the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE), administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors Inc. (NBCC). The exam scores must be sent directly to the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing from the NBCC. An applicant who has not been issued an initial license within three years of passing the examination must retake the examination. Candidates wishing to sit for this examination will need to contact the NBCC directly to schedule the examination. To obtain information regarding the examination, contact:

National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. 3 Terrace Way, Suite D Greensboro, North Carolina 27403-3660 (336)547-0607 https://www.nbcc.org

#### 6. VERIFICATION OF POST-DOCTORAL OR POST-MASTER'S EXPERIENCE

Verification of having completed at least 3,000 hours of supervised experience in the practice of professional counseling performed **over a period of at least two years** under the supervision of a supervisor approved by the board (form #08-4910c). This experience must be completed after having received your degree. You must verify you have had at least 1,000 hours of direct counseling with individuals, couples, families, or groups and at least 100 hours of direct supervision.

Your supervisor must be approved by the board, in accordance with 12 AAC 62.200, before supervision begins. This supervision must come from a licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, licensed marital and family therapist, licensed psychologist, licensed psychological associate, licensed physician, licensed psychiatrist, or licensed advanced nurse practitioner who is certified to provide psychiatric or mental health services that holds a board approved supervisor credential granted by the Alaska Board of Professional Counselors.

Supervision hours only count after you earned a doctoral or master's degree, in accordance with AS 08.29.110.(6).

#### 7. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

Verification of Licensure must be sent directly to the department from each jurisdiction where the applicant holds or has ever held a license to practice professional counseling, psychology, marital and family therapy or social work. Each verification must include an explanation of any disciplinary action taken against the licensee. Check with each of the state boards you are or have been licensed in for their verification request process. If a state offers primary source verification on their website, that can be accepted as long as the website clearly confirms that it's a primary source verification.

#### 8. CRIMINAL JUSTICE REPORT

Each applicant is required to submit a complete report of criminal justice information for Alaska under AS 12.62.005 – AS 12.62.200 to our division. The Alaska report can be obtained by contacting the Department of Public Safety, Alaska State Troopers. The report must be issued no earlier than 90 days prior to the date of this application.

The Department of Public Safety, Criminal Records and Identification (R&I) Bureau maintains Alaska criminal justice information. An application for an Alaska report of criminal justice can be obtained online or in person. Check with the law enforcement office regarding what will be required to obtain the report.

In addition to the Alaska report, if a state other than Alaska is your primary state of residence you must submit an equivalent report from your state of residency. Non-resident applicants will need to contact your state law enforcement office to obtain a complete report of criminal justice information.

**Note:** The report of state criminal justice information must come from a law enforcement agency. Internet self-searches will not be accepted. The report must include previous and middle names.

### **General Information**

#### **APPLICATION PROCESSING:**

The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been received, all fees have been paid and the board has reviewed and approved the application packet, the license may be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walkin customers should not expect immediate review.

#### LICENSE TERM:

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on October 31 of odd-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time.

#### **PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:**

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions, submit an explanation with the charging and closing court documentation showing final disposition of charge(s) (e.g. court records, fitness letters, etc.).

#### **DENIAL OF APPLICATION:**

The denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

#### CHANGES TO LEGAL NAMES, EMAIL ADDRESSES AND/OR MAILING ADDRESSES:

It is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division of any changes to legal names, email addresses and/or mailing addresses. The email or mailing address of record will be used to send all official notifications. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. The name change notification form is available on the division's website. Changes to email and/or mailing addresses can be submitted through MY LICENSE. (12 AAC 02.900)

#### **CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:**

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

#### **SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:**

A U.S. Social Security Number must be on file with the division before a professional license is issued. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at ProfessionalLicense. Alaska. Gov, and include required supporting documents as noted on the form. (AS 08.01.060)

#### **PUBLIC INFORMATION:**

All information on the application will be available as public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

#### **ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:**

An application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known email or mailing address of the applicant, who then has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid, if applicable. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for a refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited. (12 AAC 02.910)

#### **STALE DOCUMENTS:**

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

#### **BUSINESS LICENSES:**

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. A professional license does not bypass the need for a business license; if a business license is required, it must be obtained after an initial professional license is issued. For more information about business licenses, visit BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov.

#### **PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:**

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

08-4910 (Rev. 07/01/2025) **General Information** Page 1 of 2

#### **STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:**

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov*. Centralized statutes and regulations also apply to all professional licenses; those are also available on the division's website. To receive notifications of proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, email, and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: *RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov*. Courtesy notifications of proposed program regulations changes will also be sent to the email address on record.

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

#### **Board of Professional Counselors**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ProfessionalCounselors

# **Professional Counselor License by Examination Application**

PART I Pa	yment of Fees				
Required Fees:	Application and License Fee (\$200 is Non-Refundable	<u> </u>	\$450.00		
PART II Personal Information					
Full Legal Name:					
provide a certified t	names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If any documenta true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name cable mes Used:		d in a prior name, you must		
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street City	State	Zip		
Primary State of Residence:					
Contact Phone:	Da	te of Birth:			
you do not receive a co	oviding an email address authorizes the division to send you a web authorization by the code you received has expired, contact the division. Once regist unt can be accessed at any time.	-	-		
Email Address:					
States Social Security Nur	mber. It is considered confidential information and will; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.				
PART III Ed	ducation				
Either a master's <b>c</b> counseling, is requi	<b>OR</b> a doctorate degree in counseling or a related field, and ired.	a minimum of 60	graduate semester hours in		
Name of School:					
Degree Awarded:		Date Awarded:			
Degree Type:	☐ Master's ☐ Doctorate				
Have you complete	ed 60 graduate semester hours in counseling?	Yes	□ No		

PART IV Prof	essionai License(s	5)			
List all states or jurisdictions in which you currently are or have ever been licensed to practice professional counseling, psychology, marital and family therapy or social work.					
☐ Check her	e if none.				
State or Jurisdiction	License Number	Issue Date	Expiration Date	Li	cense Type
				Psycho  Marital Social \ Profess Psycho Marital Social \ Profess Psycho Marital Social \ Profess Psycho Marital Social \ Profess Psycho Marital Social \ Profess Psycho Marital Profess Psycho Marital Social \ Profess Psycho	and Family Therapist  Norker  Sional Counselor  logist  and Family Therapist
	nination(s)				
List any state(s) where you passed a professional counseling examination.					
	State		Exam Da	ate	Exam Type
					□ NCE □ NCMHCE □ NCE
					□ NCMHCE

### PART VI Professional Fitness Questions

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an <u>explanation</u> and <u>documentation</u>. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

	When in doubt, disclose and explain.						
1.	Have you ever been disciplined by any state board for any violations of the Professional Counselor Practice Act or unethical conduct?		Yes		No		
2.	Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?		Yes		No		
3.	Have you ever had any malpractice settlements or judgements paid on your behalf? (AS 08.29.400)		Yes		No		
4.	<b>4.</b> Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes of this question, "crime" includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including a conviction involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. "Convicted" includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence or a fine.						
5.	Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgment or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice professional counseling in a competent, ethical and professional manner?		Yes		No		
6.	Do you use drugs or alcohol in any manner that impairs your ability to practice professional counseling competently and safely?		Yes		No		
	"Yes" Answers  "Yes" Answers  If you answered "yes" to questions 5 or 6, in addition to your person submit a statement from your health care provider indicating your as a professional counselor. Applications submitted without the apwill be considered incomplete and will not be processed.	bility	to safe	ly pra	actice		
PART	VII Alaska Law						
	ereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable S 08.29 and 12 AAC 62).	to my	profes	sion			

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

ALASKA	sion of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing		
Board of Professional PO Box 110806, Junea Website: <i>Professional</i>			
Signature Page			
Applicant Name:			
Alaska License Number (if known):			Application in Process
PART VIII Agree	ment		
•	he person herein named and subscribing to this application. I furthe the full content thereof. I declare all of the information contained herei e true and correct.	-	•
falsification or misrepre	ication or misrepresentation of any item or response in this applica esentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient ground egistration, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.	-	
I further understand it unsworn falsification.	is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an a	pplication	n and commit the crime o
Applicant Signature:	Date	Signed:	



# THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

#### **Board of Professional Counselors**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: ProfessionalCounselors@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ProfessionalCounselors

### **Education Coursework Check Sheet**

You must complete this form if your graduate degree is from a related field. (Related fields include psychology, marital and family therapy, social work and applied behavior science.)

To assist the board in its review of your course work, complete the following form and return it with your application.

Have your transcript(s) forwarded to the division directly from your school(s). Per 12 AAC 62.120(a), to meet the requirements of AS 08.29.110(a)(5), an applicant's degree must be from an institution of higher education in the United States that is accredited by a regional or national accrediting agency and the degree must have included course work in at least 8 of the following subject areas.

Applicant Name:				
Name of College or University Attended:				
Type of Degree:			Date Awarded:	
o establish equivalency, instruction must have been received in eight of the ten subjects.  1. Helping relationships, including counseling theory and practice.  Pes Po				
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Date	cs Credit Hours
2. Human growth and	d development.		,	·
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Date	cs Credit Hours

3. Lifestyle and career de	evelopment.			
Yes	No			
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
4. Group dynamics, proc	esses, counselling, and	consulting.		1
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
5. Assessment, appraisa	l, and testing of individ	uals.		
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
6. Social and cultural fou	indation, including mul	lticultural issues.		1
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours

behavior.				
Yes	No			
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
8. Marriage and family co	ounseling and therapy.			·
☐ Yes ☐	No			
Lucatita de la co	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
Institution	Course Number	ruii Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
9. Research and evaluation				
Yes	No			
Institution				
institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
Institution	Course Number	Full Course Title	Dates	Credit Hours
10. Professional counseling			Dates	Credit Hours
			Dates	Credit Hours
10. Professional counseling	g orientation and ethic		Dates	Credit Hours  Credit Hours
10. Professional counseling	g orientation and ethic	rs.		
10. Professional counseling	g orientation and ethic	rs.		
10. Professional counseling	g orientation and ethic	rs.		



Applicant:

# THE STATE

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

#### **Board of Professional Counselors**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: ProfessionalCounselors@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ProfessionalCounselors

## Verification of Post-Doctoral or Post-Master's Experience

I must document I have been supervised in the practice of professional counseling performed over a period of at least two years under the supervision of an approved supervisor under 12 AAC 62.200, in accordance with AS 08.29.110(a)(6). The supervision must include 3,000 hours of supervised experience, with at least 1,000 hours of direct counseling with individuals, couples, families, or groups and at least 100 hours of direct supervision by a supervisor approved in accordance with 12 AAC 62.200 and in accordance with supervised experience under 12 AAC 62.220. This experience must be completed after having received my degree.

Supervision must be provided by a person who has been approved and certified by the board in accordance with 12 AAC 62.200. Supervision must be provided by a person who is a licensed professional counselor, a licensed clinical social worker, licensed marital and family therapist, licensed psychologist, or licensed psychological associate, licensed physician, or licensed advanced nurse practitioner who is certified to provide psychiatric or mental health services.

Complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to the appropriate

Applicant:	individuals. <i>Make ad</i>	dditional copies of this j	form, as needed	f.		
Applicant Printed Name:						
→ Supervisor:		ation requested below f ka State Board of Profe				n
Supervisor Name:						
<b>Board Approved Supervisor Certification Number:</b>				Date Certified:		
License Type:				License Number:		
State or Jurisdiction:						
Name of Institution or Clinic:						
Address of Institution or Clinic:	Street		City	Stat	e Zip	
Email Address:				Phone Number:		
Supervision Start Date:			Supervision	End Date:		
Total Hours of Supervised Ex	perience:		Total Month Experience:	ns of Supervised		
Total Hours of Direct Supervision Between Applicant and Supervisor:			Total Hours of Direct Counseling Experience:			
☐ I confirm the hours veri	fied on this page wer	re only accrued under n	ny supervision a	nd do not overlap wi	th another superviso	r.
☐ I confirm supervision wa	as conducted in acco	ordance with the requir	ements set out	in 12 AAC 62.220.		

Signature			
I hereby certify the ab	ove information is true and complete to the best of my knowledg	je.	
Supervisor Name:			
Supervisor Signature:		Date Signed:	



# THE STATE OF ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

#### **Professional Licensing**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

## Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- **Documentation** includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.						
Location of Incident:  Date of Incident:						
Explanation of When in double and explain. Make copies as	ot, disclose					
Did you attach	all applicable	e documents associated with	this incident?			
Court Ord	lers [	Consent Agreements	☐ Disciplinary Actions	Charging	g Documents	
Court Rec	cords	Fitness to Practice	All Other Documenta	tion Related to Thi	is Incident	
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.						
Full Name:				Program:		
Signature:				Date Signed:		

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

## **Credit Card Payment Form**

All major crodit carde a	are acconted For cocurity nurneces	s do not email credit card information	Include this credit card naumon

form with your application.			
Name of Applicant or Licensee:			
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):	License Num	ber (if applicable):	
I wish to make payment by credit car	d for the following (check all that apply):		AMOUNT
Application Fee:			
License or Renewal Fee:			
Other (fine, exam, etc.):			
1.			
2.			
		TOTAL:	
Name (as shown on credit card):			
Mailing Address:			
Phone Number:	Email (Optional):		
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		·	
08-4438 (Rev. 11/21/2024)	Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards	accepted)	Page 1 of 1
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your	payment cannot be processed un	less all fields a	re completed.
1. Credit Card Number:		All 3 fields MU	IST be completed.