
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

• Your registration lapses after September 30, 2020. There is no grace period - it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.  
• You must submit an Out-of-State Pharmacy Self-Inspection Report with this renewal application. 
• Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska, or use the attached credit card payment form. 
• Plan on a 4-6 week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications. 
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PHA 

Out-of-State Pharmacy Registration Renewal 

PART I Payment of Fees 

   Renewal Type: 

  Biennial Registration Renewal  
$600.00 

 (for registrations first issued on or before June 30, 2019) 
   

   Prorated Registration Renewal  
$300.00  (for registrations first issued on or after July 1, 2019) 

  

PART II Pharmacy Information 

Alaska Pharmacy Registration Number:  

Owner Name: 
If this is a different owner than currently reflected on your license, you must apply for a new license 

Pharmacy Name (DBA):  

Mailing Address: 
Address change:  

Physical Address: 
Address change: 

If this is an address change, you must also apply for a new Registration by submitting an initial application 

Federal EIN:  

Contact Phone:  

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:   
 

 Send my Correspondence by Email 
 

 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

October 1, 2020— June 30, 2022                                            

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 
Board of Pharmacy 
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Pharmacy.Alaska.Gov 
 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/mylicense
mailto:BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfPharmacy
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfPharmacy
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PART III Professional Fitness Questions 

The following question must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial.  
 

If you answer “Yes” please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, and send any 
supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.).  
 

Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. 
 

All disciplinary decisions or convictions must be reported to the board within thirty days in accordance with 12 AAC 52.991. 

When in doubt, disclose and explain. 

Since the date your last registration was issued or renewed, has the owner or any 
partner, corporate officer, the pharmacist-in-charge, or any employee: 

1. had a professional license or registration denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, 
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on 
probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in 
connection with a professional license or registration you have held in any jurisdiction including 
Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending? 

 

Yes 
 

No  

2. been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes of 
this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including, but not 
limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a 
license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. “Convicted” includes having 
been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or 
no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine. 

 

Yes 
 

No 

3. violated a federal, state, or local law relating to the practice of pharmacy, drug samples, wholesale 
or retail drug or device distribution, or distribution of controlled substances? 

 

Yes 
 

No 

4. furnished false or fraudulent material in an application made in connection with drug or device 
manufacturing or distribution? 

 

Yes 
 

No 

5. had a suspension or revocation by federal, state, or local government of a license or registration 
currently or previously held for the manufacture or distribution of drugs or devices, including 
controlled substances? 

 

Yes 
 

No 

6. obtained remuneration by fraud, misrepresentation, or deception? 
 

Yes 
 

No 

7. dealt with drugs or devices that are known or should have been known to be stolen drugs or 
devices? 

 

Yes 
 

No 

8. dispensed or distributed drugs or devices directly to patients by a wholesale drug distributor other 
than a pharmacy? 

 

Yes 
 

No 
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PART IV Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC) and PDMP Responsibilities 
Registration: Pharmacists, including a pharmacist-in-charge (PIC), not licensed in Alaska and employed by an out-of-state 
pharmacy are not required to register with Alaska’s Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP); however, you may do so by 
submitting an application (without payment) along with a copy of your valid pharmacist license in another jurisdiction. Please 
visit pdmp.alaska.gov for more information. 
 
Reporting: The PIC is responsible for reporting all federally scheduled II-IV controlled substances distributed to Alaska. If the 
PIC is unavailable, any pharmacist may report. 

PIC’s Name:  

License Number:  

Phone:  

Email Address:  

Dispensing and Distributing Status 
 

The Certification of No Controlled Substances Dispensed form and the Data Reporting Survey are no longer in use following the 
mandatory reporting requirement change effective July 2017. Dispensing status will be collected on the renewal application for 
even-years and on the Annual Information Update (form #08-4484) for odd years. Please select only one of the following to 
indicate the pharmacy’s dispensing status: 

  

 

Pharmacy does NOT distribute or dispense federally scheduled II-IV controlled substances into/in Alaska. 
 

Reporting prescription information is not required, and this in-state pharmacy will not be added to the 
Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). There is no waiver process to obtain an exemption. If this 
pharmacy does not distribute, the reporting mandate does not apply.    

   
   

 

Pharmacy DOES distribute or dispense federally scheduled II-IV controlled substances into Alaska.    
Reporting prescription information is required, and this in-state pharmacy will be added to the Prescription Drug 
Monitoring Program (PDMP). The pharmacy DEA registration number is required to track compliance with data 
submission requirements set out in AS 17.30.200(b). To report dispensation data, register with NABP’s 
ClearingHouse and select Alaska as a reporting state.    
  

 DEA Registration Number:  Expiration Date:   

   
 Is this a change of dispensing status since the previous renewal?                 Yes                No 

 
 

  

 

By my signature below, I attest: 
 

• That I have correctly indicated whether this pharmacy is dispensing controlled substances in Alaska. I acknowledge 
that if this pharmacy is required to report to the PDMP, I am responsible for submitting data due to my position as 
the pharmacist-in-charge as specified in AS 17.30.200(b). If I am not available, I understand reporting will be 
delegated to another pharmacist. 

 

• That reporting is required daily under 12 AAC 52.865. 
 

• That if this pharmacy doesn’t currently dispense federally-scheduled II-IV controlled substances but begins to do so 
at any time after submitting this renewal application, that it will begin reporting through PMP Clearinghouse or 
directly through AWARxE. 

 

• That the above information provided is true and correct. I understand that information supplied with this 
application is considered public unless required to kept confidential pursuant to state or federal law. 

 

  PIC’s Signature: 
 

       Date: 
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PART V Pharmacy Information 
 

1. OWNERSHIP 

 Sole Proprietorship  Partnership  Corporation  LLC 
 

Names of Owners, Partners, and/or Officers Title 

  

  

  

  

 
2. PHARMACISTS                                                                                                                       List all employed licensed pharmacists 

Name License Number 

  

  

  

  

 
3. REGISTERED AGENT 

An out-of-state pharmacy is required to appoint a registered agent in Alaska to accept, on behalf of the pharmacy, 
process, notice, and demand required or permitted by law to be served upon the pharmacy. 

 Name of Registered Agent:  

 A registered agent cannot be named because the registered agent cannot be found at the registered office.  
The registered agent will default to the department. 

! 

I HAVE ALSO INCLUDED: 
 
 

A self-inspection report completed within the last two years. You may submit an inspection report using 
your own state’s form or you may use the form included in this packet and found at pharmacy.alaska.gov. 
 
A certified true copy of the pharmacy license from the home jurisdiction. For this document, make a 
photocopy of the facility license and indicate in writing on the document a statement to the effect of, “I 
certify this to be a true copy of the original document.” then have it signed and notarized. 
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      PHA 

Applicant Name: 
 

PART VI Agreement 

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete 
application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or 
other documents submitted herewith are true and correct. 
 

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment 
hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, 
revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. 
 

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit 
the crime of unsworn falsification.  
 
I further attest to the following (refer to AS 08.80.158): 
 
• That the pharmacy complies with all lawful directions and requests for information from the regulatory or licensing 

authority of the jurisdiction where the pharmacy is licensed. 
 

• That during regular hours of operation, a toll-free telephone service is provided to facilitate communication between 
a person in Alaska and a pharmacist at the pharmacy who has access to records concerning the dispensing of 
prescription drugs to persons in Alaska. The toll-free number and the hours that the service is available is disclosed 
on a label affixed to each container of drugs dispensed to persons in Alaska. The telephone service is available at 
least 40 hours a week and at least six days a week. 

 
• That the pharmacy will maintain its records of prescription drugs dispensed to persons in the state so that records 

are readily retrievable from the records of prescription drugs dispensed by the pharmacy. 

Signature:   Date: 
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY ALASKA of 
 THE STATE 

Board of Pharmacy 
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
(907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Pharmacy.Alaska.Gov 
 

Signature Page 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 
  
 

mailto:BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfPharmacy
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfPharmacy


 

 
 
                          
 
 

 
 
 
 

Out-of-State Pharmacy Self-Inspection Report 
 
  

 
Official Name: 
 

 
 

 
 

 
Check Where Applicable 

 
DBA Name: 

 
 

 
 ☐  Initial Application    

☐  Renewal  
☐  Change in Ownership    
☐  Change in Location    
☐  Re-Inspection    

 
Address: 

 
 

 
 

 
Telephone Number:  Fax Number:  

 
 

 
Hours of Operation: 

 
 

 
 

Pharmacy License Number:  Expiration:  
 
 

 
 

DEA Number and Expiration: 
 
 

 
 

 
Check Where Applicable 

 
Pharmacist-in-Charge Name:  License Number:  

 
 

 

☐  Retail    
☐  Institutional  
☐  Sterile RX Compounding    
☐  Non-sterile Compounding   

Attach a copy of the current pharmacy license/registration from the jurisdiction where the facility is  
located to this Out-of-State Pharmacy Self-Inspection Report. 

 
 

 
Other Pharmacists:  License Number:  

 
 

  
12 AAC 52.200(b)(1)  
Pharmacist-in-charge 
The responsibilities of the pharmacist-
in-charge include compliance with all 
laws and regulations governing the 
operation of the pharmacy. 
The responsibility of the pharmacist-
in-charge include compliance with all 
laws and regulations governing the 
operation of the pharmacy. 

 
Other Pharmacists:  License Number:  

 
 

 
Other Pharmacists:  License Number:  

 

 
Other Pharmacists:  License Number:  

 

 
Other Pharmacists:  License Number:  

 

 
Other Pharmacists:  License Number:  
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Board of Pharmacy 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

(907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov 

Website: Pharmacy.Alaska.Gov 
 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 
  
  
  
  

mailto:BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofPharmacy.aspx


  
 

 

 
AUTHORITY 

 
ITEM 

 
YES 

 
NO 

 
COMMENTS 

  
PHARMACY PERSONNEL (GENERAL) 

   
 

 
AS 08.80.330 
12 AAC 52.200 

 
1) The pharmacy has designated a licensed pharmacist who practices in this location as 
the pharmacist-in-charge. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.210 
12 AAC 52.220 

 
2) Only the pharmacist or intern, under direct supervision of the pharmacist 
receives oral prescription drug orders or refill approvals that include any change to the 
original Rx or drug order. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
3) Only the pharmacist or intern, under direct supervision of the pharmacist 
interprets the prescription drug order and determines the product required. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
4) Only the pharmacist does the final check on all aspects of the completed prescription. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
AS 08.80.480 
12 AAC 52.220 

5) ALL interns, graduate or undergraduate, paid or unpaid, are currently licensed by the 
Alaska Board of Pharmacy.  

   

 
6) Interns do not represent themselves to be pharmacists. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
7) Interns perform the duties of a pharmacist only under the direct supervision of a 
licensed pharmacist. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
8) Interns do not solely sign or initial any document required to be done by the 
pharmacist. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.230 

 
9) Interns do not dispense prescriptions before a final check is made by the supervising 
pharmacist. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

AS 08.80.030 
AS 08.80.480 
12 AAC 52.140 

 
10) ALL pharmacy technicians are currently licensed by the Alaska Board of Pharmacy. 
 

   

 
 

 
11) All pharmacy technicians are under direct supervision of the pharmacist. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52 400 

 
 FACILITY STANDARDS (GENERAL) 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52.400 

 
1) The pharmacy department has a sink with hot and cold running water and is 
maintained in a sanitary condition. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52.400 

 
2) The temperature of the pharmacy is maintained within a range compatible with the 
proper storage of drugs. 
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AS 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52.400 

 
3) The pharmacy has refrigeration facilities with a thermometer and the temperature is 
maintained within 36 to 46 degrees Fahrenheit. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52.410 

 
4) The pharmacy has the equipment, supplies, and reference materials necessary to 
compound, dispense, label, administer, and distribute drugs and devices. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52.420 

 
5) All drugs and devices that have exceeded their expiration date are removed from stock, 
and quarantined until properly disposed of. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52.420 

 
6) All drug, devices, and poisons restricted to sale by a pharmacist are kept in the 
prescription department. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
12 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52.420 

 
7) The pharmacy department is always locked when the pharmacist is not on site. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.157 
12 AAC 52.420 

 
8) The pharmacy has a separate telephone number if its hours differ from the remainder 
of the store. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
9) Filled prescriptions are stored in the prescription department only and are not 
removed unless a pharmacist is present. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.450 

 
PRACTICE STANDARDS 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.450 

 
1) The pharmacy maintains original drug orders in numerical order. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.470 

 
2) The pharmacy maintains its prescriptions in legible form for the required two year 
period. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.470 

 
3) No prescriptions are refilled after one year from the date of issue. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.480 

 
4) All refills are recorded electronically or on the back of the prescription drug order. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.480 

 
5) All schedule II - V controlled substances dispensed have the label "Caution:  Federal 
Law prohibits the transfer of this drug to any person other than the patient for whom it 
was prescribed." 
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AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.490 

 
6) All Prescriptions are labeled with the name, address, and telephone number of 
pharmacy, Rx number, date and pharmacist’s initials. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.490 

 
7) All Prescriptions are labeled with patient name, prescribing practitioner, patient 
instructions, appropriate cautions, name, strength, and quantity of drug. 

   

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.500 

 
8) Electronically transmitted prescriptions are only being received directly from the 
prescribing practitioner or the prescribing practitioner's agent. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.500 

 
9) All transferred prescriptions for controlled substances in Schedule III, IV, and V are 
transferred only once from the pharmacy which has the original prescription drug order. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.500 

 
10) Unless the two pharmacies share a common database, transfers of all prescriptions 
are communicated directly between two licensed pharmacists. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.500 

 
11) All transfer information is recorded on the reverse side of the transferred 
prescriptions, unless an automated data processing system is able to do so. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.510 

 
12) Prescription orders transferred to another pharmacy are no longer refilled by the 
original pharmacy. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.520 
 

 
13) When dispensing an equivalent drug product instead of the prescribed drug, the 
pharmacist notes on the prescription drug order either the manufacturer, distributor, 
NDC #, short name code, or trade name. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.530 

 
14) If customized patient medication packages (med-paks) are prepared by the pharmacy, 
records are made and filed for each med-pak. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.520 

 
15) Except in the case of a pharmacy serving an institutional facility, drugs are not 
accepted for return or exchange after the drugs have been taken from the premises.  

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.580 

 
16) Patient records are reviewed for over or under utilization, therapeutic duplication, 
drug-disease, drug-food, and drug-drug interactions, reasonable dose, known allergies, 
and adverse drug reactions. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.580 

 
17) When a data processing system is used it is capable of producing an audit trail 
printout for all dispensing. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.585 

 
18) When a data processing system is used it has adequate safeguards to prevent loss of 
data and reasonable security. 
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AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.585 

 
19) The pharmacist verbally provides counseling to the patient or the patients agent with 
each new prescription 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.390 
12 AAC 52.700 

 
INSTITUTIONAL PHARMACY STANDARDS (IF APPLICABLE) 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.710 

 
1) The institutional pharmacy is managed by a licensed pharmacist, designated to be the 
pharmacist-in-charge. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.710 

 
2) When the institutional pharmacy is closed, no access is permitted unless a person 
licensed to handle drugs is designated by the pharmacist-in-charge to enter the 
institutional pharmacy. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.720 

 
3) When the institutional pharmacy is closed, the designated person licensed to handle 
drugs records the removal of any drug. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.720 

 
4) All E.R. outpatient prepackaged medications bear a label with the name, address, and 
telephone number of hospital; name, strength, quantity, lot number, and expiration of 
drug; appropriate cautions; and initials of pharmacist 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
5) Only one prepackaged container of a drug is delivered to emergency room patients 
unless more than one is required to sustain the patient until a retail pharmacy is open in 
the community. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
STERILE PHARMACEUTICALS (IF APPLICABLE) 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
1) A policy and procedure manual is present for the compounding, dispensing, and 
delivery of sterile pharmaceuticals. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
2) The pharmacy has a functionally separate area used only for the preparation of sterile 
pharmaceuticals. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
3) The pharmacy has appropriate environmental control devices capable of maintaining at 
least a Class 100 environment condition for preparing sterile pharmaceuticals. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
4) Cytotoxic sterile pharmaceuticals are prepared in appropriate biological safety 
cabinets. 
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AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
5) The pharmacy uses temperature controlled delivery containers, if appropriate, for 
delivery of sterile pharmaceuticals to the patient. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
6) The pharmacy has its laminar airflow hoods or clean rooms re-certified at least every 
six months. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
7) The pharmacy has its laminar flow hood or clean room pre-filters replaced and 
documented on a regular basis. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
8) The pharmacy has current copy of reference material related to sterile pharmaceutical 
preparation in the pharmacy. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
9) All personnel participating in the preparation of sterile pharmaceuticals are trained in 
this specialized function. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
10) The pharmacy has a licensed pharmacist accessible 24 hours a day if providing 
parenteral pharmaceuticals to nonhospitalized patients. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
11) All sterile pharmaceuticals dispensed bear the expiration date of the preparation. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
12) All cytotoxic waste is disposed of in compliance with all applicable local, state, and 
federal requirements. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
AS 08.80.030 
12 AAC 52.430 

 
13) A licensed pharmacist is involved in patient training that relates to sterile 
pharmaceuticals. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
14) The pharmacy has a quality control and quality assurance program that is utilized for 
sterile pharmaceutical preparation and dispensing. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
Controlled 
Substances Act of 
1970 

 
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
Controlled 
Substances Act of 
1970 

 
1) A Schedule V record bound book is maintained which contains name and address of 
purchaser, name and quantity of drug, date, and initials of pharmacist.  Record book is 
maintained two years from date of last transaction. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
Controlled 
Substances Act of 
1970 

 
2) Prescriptions are not used to supply office stock or "medical bag" for physicians. 
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Controlled 
Substances Act of 
1970 

 
3) All prescriptions for controlled substances are dated, contain the full name and address 
of the patient, and the name, address, and DEA number of the physician. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
Controlled 
Substances Act of 
1970 

 
4) Schedule II prescriptions are manually signed by the physician, and Schedule II 
prescriptions are not refilled. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
Controlled 
Substances Act of 
1970 

 
5) Schedule III, IV and V prescriptions are refilled only if authorized.  Refills are not 
dispensed more than six months after the issue date or refilled more than five times after 
the issue date. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
6) Controlled substances are securely locked or dispersed throughout the non-controlled 
inventory. 
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Out-of-State Pharmacy Self-Inspection Report Signature Page 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
NOTE: If any areas on the self-inspection report were checked off as not non-compliant, you must still send in the report.  You then have 90 days to 
bring those areas into compliance.  A new report will be sent to you to fill out. 
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Attestation 
 
I, the pharmacist-in-charge, state that all the statements herein contained are each and all strictly true in every respect. 
 

I understand that false or forged statements made in connection with this self-inspection report may be grounds for denial or revocation of the 
drug room license. 

 

Pharmacist-in-Charge Printed Name:  

Pharmacist-in-Charge Signature:  

Notary Public for State of:  Subscribed and Sworn to 
Before me on this Day:  

Notary’s Signature:  My Commission Expires:  

Board of Pharmacy 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

(907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov 

Website: Pharmacy.Alaska.Gov 
 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 
  
  
  
  

Notary Stamp 
 

mailto:BoardofPharmacy@Alaska.Gov
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofPharmacy.aspx


 

APPLICATION INFORMATION 
 

 
 
 

 LICENSE TERM 
There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and 
expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the 
expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license 
expiration to the last known address of record. If your program offers temporary licenses, they are issued for either 30 
consecutive days or until the end of the calendar year, whichever period is shorter. 
 
ALASKA PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING 
Mandatory reporting began on August 1, 2011. The bulletin and contact information for the Alaska PDMP is available on the 
Board of Pharmacy homepage at Pharmacy.Alaska.Gov. 
 
DISCIPLINARY DECISION OR CONVICTION REPORTING REQUIREMENT 
A licensee shall report in writing to the board any disciplinary decision or conviction, including conviction of a felony or conviction 
of another crime that affects the applicant’s or licensee’s ability to practice competently and safely, issued against the licensee 
in another jurisdiction not later than 30 days of the date of the disciplinary decision or conviction. 12 AAC 52.991  

 

 

 
APPLICATION PROCESSING 
The average time to process a paper application varies by program, but can take several weeks from the date it is received in 
this office, complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, 
the applicant will be notified of the incomplete and/or incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and 
correct, and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid the license will be issued and sent to you. 
Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, 
and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  
 
“YES” RESPONSES 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to any 
professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document 
and judgement. 

 
DENIAL OF APPLICATION 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, 
federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

 
ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE 
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of 
address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record 
with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on 
the license must be your current legal name. 
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PHA Information   

General Information  



 
 

 CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES  
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license 
and/or court documents that are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy, 
you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy 
of the original document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize 
your signature. 

 
 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS 

In accordance with AS 08.01.060, the department is not authorized to issue a license to a natural person, unless the applicant’s 
Social Security Number has been provided to the department. If you are a foreign citizen unable to obtain a United States Social 
Security Number, please contact the division for further instructions or obtain the Exception from SSN Requirement (Form #08-
4372), from the division web site at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/.  
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION 
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential 
by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License Search. 

 
ABANDONED APPLICATIONS  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last 
received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, 
the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a 
refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within 
that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT: 
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues. 

 
BUSINESS LICENSES 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for 
business licenses are mailed separately. For more information contact: (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov. 
 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 
 
If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with 
your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below. 
 
Regulations Specialist 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 
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 P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99501
 Phone: (907) 465-2550

 Email: License@Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness “Yes” Answer 
Use this form only to explain and document any Professional Fitness “Yes” answers. A "Yes" answer is not necessarily 
disqualifying, but concealing one may be. 

Each “Yes” answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Do not assume that the division has 
documentation that you have already provided. Submit all relevant documentation with this form. 

 Explanations include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific 
circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.

 Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, satisfaction of consent 
agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement 
from your provider that you are safe to practice).

 Disciplinary actions may include but not be limited to; suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic 
probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, 
concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple “Yes” answers or multiple incidents for any Professional Fitness question, you must use a separate copy 
of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident. 

The contents of licensing files are public records. If you believe that the additional information you are attaching to explain a 
“Yes” answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality may or may not 
be granted.  

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering “Yes” to in the box. 

Location of Incident: Date of Incident: 

Explanation of Incident: 

When in doubt, 
disclose and explain. 

Make copies as necessary. 

Did you attach all applicable documents associated with this incident? 

License actions Charging documents Court orders   Consent agreements 

Court records   Fitness to practice All other documentation related to this incident 

I have additional incidents for this “Yes” answer, or “Yes” answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have 
attached a separate copy of this form for each incident. 

Full Name: 

Signature: Date: 

THE STATE

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

PL Code:

mailto:license@alaska.gov
mailto:license@alaska.gov


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT             

       Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________         

       License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________         

       Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):         

         1.           _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________               __________________________ 

    2.          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________                __________________________         

                   TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 
 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:   

2. Expiration Date:   

3. Billing ZIP Code:   

4. Security Code:   
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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