STATE OF ALASKA

Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy

State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2550 • Fax: (907) 465-2974

Email: PhysicalAndOccupationalTherapy@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy

Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapy Assistant Jurisprudence Questionnaire

All applicants for licensure must complete the following questionnaire prepared by the Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy. The answers to the questions will be found by reviewing the statute and regulation booklets published *online*. Use the statutes and regulations to determine the correct answers.

- · Principles of Practice
- Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Statutes and Regulations AS 08.84 and 12 AAC 54
- Centralized Licensing Statutes AS 08.01-08-03
- Centralized Licensing Regulations 12 AAC 02
- Step 1 Select the correct answer
- Step 2 Cite the statute or regulation where the answer was found

The questionnaire will not be graded. If you fail to check an answer or cite the law, your application for licensure will be considered incomplete and the questionnaire will be returned to you for completion.

	,
1.	The board may take the following actions singularly or in combination:
	☐ Refuse renewal
	□ Revoke
	☐ Suspend
	☐ All of the above
_	Cite Statute AS 08.84.
2.	According to the Alaska Statutes 08.01.075, disciplinary powers of the board may include:
	☐ Impose a civil fine not to exceed \$1,000
	☐ Impose a civil fine not to exceed \$3,000
	☐ Impose a civil fine not to exceed \$5,000
	☐ Impose a civil fine not to exceed \$10,000
_	→ Cite Statute 08.01.075
3.	The board may refuse to license an applicant, may refuse to renew the license of a person, and may suspend or revoke the license of a person who
	☐ has attempted to obtain a license by material misrepresentation
	☐ has continued to practice physical therapy after becoming unfit due to physical or mental disability
	has failed to refer a patient to another qualified professional when the patient's condition is beyond the training or ability of the person
	 uses drugs or alcohol in any manner that affects the person's ability to practice occupational therapy safely
	☐ all of the above
_	→ Cite Statute AS 08.84

	An individual who practices without the appropriate license or whose license is suspended or revoked or whose license is lapsed is guilty of a
	□ class A misdemeanor
	□ class B misdemeanor
	□ class C misdemeanor
	□ felony
	Cite Statute AS 08.84.
5.	The scope of authorized practice for an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant includes the practice of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or other methods of healing.
	□ False
	□ True
_	Cite Statute AS 08.84.
6.	Records of continuing education must be retained from the date of completion for:
	□ 2 years
	□ 3 years
	□ 5 years
	□ 7 years
	Cite Statute AS 08.84.
7.	It is the responsibility of the to notify the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing when a change in address occurs for a licensee.
	☐ direct supervisor
	□ employer
	□ licensee
	□ all of the above
	Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.
8.	A licensee selected for audit of continuing competency requirements shall submit substantiating documentation
•	within after the date of notification by the division.
0.	
0.	within after the date of notification by the division. □ 30 days □ 60 days
	within after the date of notification by the division. \[\text{30 days} \] \[\text{60 days} \] \[\text{90 days} \]
0.	within after the date of notification by the division. □ 30 days □ 60 days
_	within after the date of notification by the division. \[\text{30 days} \] \[\text{60 days} \] \[\text{90 days} \]
9.	within after the date of notification by the division. 30 days 60 days 90 days 120 days Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54
_	within after the date of notification by the division. 30 days 60 days 90 days 120 days **Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.** The license or permit or a copy of the license or permit must be: kept in the personnel file of the licensee or permit holder
_	within after the date of notification by the division. □ 30 days □ 60 days □ 90 days □ 120 days ■ Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. The license or permit or a copy of the license or permit must be: □ kept in the personnel file of the licensee or permit holder □ kept with the practicing therapist at all times
_	within after the date of notification by the division. \[\] 30 days \[\] 60 days \[\] 90 days \[\] 120 days \[\] * Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 The license or permit or a copy of the license or permit must be: \[\] kept in the personnel file of the licensee or permit holder \[\] kept with the practicing therapist at all times \[\] posted in a conspicuous location in the licensee's primary place of business
_	within after the date of notification by the division. □ 30 days □ 60 days □ 90 days □ 120 days □ The license or permit or a copy of the license or permit must be: □ kept in the personnel file of the licensee or permit holder □ kept with the practicing therapist at all times

10. An occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant licensee applicant for renewal, who has been licensed 12 months or more, shall have completed contact hours of continuing education during the previous
licensing period.
Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.
11. An occupational therapy assistant shall be supervised by an occupational therapist. The minimum times per month the supervising therapist must be physically present while the assistant implements a treatment plan with a patient is:
□ once per month
☐ two times per month
☐ three times per month
☐ four times per month
Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.
12. To maintain current licensure in this state, licensees shall document having provided occupational therapy services for at least hours during the concluding licensing period.
□ 30
□ 60
□ 120
□ 150
Cita Degulation 12 AAC 54
Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54
13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board.
13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a
13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board.
 13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board. □ All □ Five □ One-half
 13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board. All Five
 13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board. □ All □ Five □ One-half
13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board. □ All □ Five □ One-half □ Some
13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board. □ All □ Five □ One-half □ Some → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 14. To be accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional competency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and knowledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. □ False
13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board. □ All □ Five □ One-half □ Some → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 14. To be accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional competency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and knowledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. □ False □ True → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 15. Per the Alaska Board of Physical Therapy and Occuaptional Therapy Principles of Practice, an occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant must adhere to the National Professional Core Values and Ethical Standards. □ False
13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board. □ All □ Five □ One-half □ Some → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 14. To be accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional competency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and knowledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. □ False □ True → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 15. Per the Alaska Board of Physical Therapy and Occuaptional Therapy Principles of Practice, an occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant must adhere to the National Professional Core Values and Ethical Standards.
13. An applicant for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant license renewal must complete of the required contact hours in courses or programs offered by an accredited academic institution or a professional organization approved by the board. □ All □ Five □ One-half □ Some → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 14. To be accepted by the board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional competency of an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant and must be directly related to the skills and knowledge required to implement the principles and methods of occupational therapy. □ False □ True → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54 15. Per the Alaska Board of Physical Therapy and Occuaptional Therapy Principles of Practice, an occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant must adhere to the National Professional Core Values and Ethical Standards. □ False

16. Continual on-site supervision means that the occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant
☐ is immediately available
☐ is present in the department or facility where services are being provided
☐ maintains continual oversight fo patient-related duties
☐ all of the above
Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.
17. Refusal to cooperate with a continuing education audit will be considered an admission of an attempt to obtain a license by material misrepresentation.
□ False
☐ True
→ Cite Statute AS 08.84.
— and —
Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.
18. In order for an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant to obtain licensure, they must provide proof of initial certification with:
□ AOTA
□ AKOTA
□ NBCOT
□ WFOT
Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.
19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination.□ False
19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination.
19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination.□ False
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. □ False □ True
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. □ False □ True → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. ☐ False ☐ True Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion; which must include:
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination.
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. False True Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion; which must include: Description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion Name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor of other verifier
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. False True Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion; which must include: Description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion Name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor of other verifier Name of the licensee and the amount of continuing competency credit awarded
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. □ False □ True Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion; which must include: □ Description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion □ Name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor of other verifier □ Name of the licensee and the amount of continuing competency credit awarded □ All of the above Cite Regulation 12 AAC 02.
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. False True Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion; which must include: Description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion Name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor of other verifier Name of the licensee and the amount of continuing competency credit awarded All of the above Cite Regulation 12 AAC 02. 21. A business which provides telemedicine services must register with the state telemedicine business registry.
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. □ False □ True → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion; which must include: □ Description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion □ Name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor of other verifier □ Name of the licensee and the amount of continuing competency credit awarded □ All of the above → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 02. 21. A business which provides telemedicine services must register with the state telemedicine business registry. □ False
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. False True Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion; which must include: Description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion Name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor of other verifier Name of the licensee and the amount of continuing competency credit awarded All of the above Cite Regulation 12 AAC 02. 21. A business which provides telemedicine services must register with the state telemedicine business registry.
 19. An occupational therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the occupational therapist applicant fails to take the examination. □ False □ True → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54. 20. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion; which must include: □ Description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion □ Name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor of other verifier □ Name of the licensee and the amount of continuing competency credit awarded □ All of the above → Cite Regulation 12 AAC 02. 21. A business which provides telemedicine services must register with the state telemedicine business registry. □ False