STATE OF ALASKA
Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: (907) 465-2550 . Fax: (907) 465-2974
Email: PhysicalAndOccupational Therapy@Alaska.Gov
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy

Physical Therapist and Physical Therapy Assistant Jurisprudence Questionnaire

All applicants for licensure must complete the following questionnaire prepared by the Board of Physical Therapy and
Occupational Therapy. The answers to the questions will be found by reviewing the statute and regulation booklets
published online. Use the statutes and regulations to determine the correct answers.

* Principles of Practice

* Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Statutes and Regulations AS 08.84 and 12 AAC 54

° Centralized Licensing Statutes AS 08.01-08-03

° Centralized Licensing Regulations 12 AAC 02

Step 1 Select the correct answer
Step 2 Cite the statute or regulation where the answer was found

The questionnaire will not be graded. If you fail to check an answer or cite the law, your application for licensure will be
considered incomplete and the questionnaire will be returned to you for completion.

1. The board may take the following actions singularly or in combination:

[] Refuse renewal
[] Revoke

] Suspend

] All of the above

—> (Cite Statute AS 08.84.

2. According to the Alaska Statutes 08.01.075, disciplinary powers of the board may include:

] impose a civil fine not to exceed $1,000
] Impose a civil fine not to exceed $3,000
[] impose a civil fine not to exceed $5,000
] impose a civil fine not to exceed $10,000

—> (ite Statute 08.01.075.

3. The board may refuse to license an applicant, may refuse to renew the license of a person, and may suspend or
revoke the license of a person who
[] has attempted to obtain a license by material misrepresentation
[] has continued to practice physical therapy after becoming unfit due to physical or mental disability

] has failed to refer a patient to another qualified professional when the patient's condition is beyond the
training or ability of the person

] uses drugs or alcohol in any manner that affects the person’s ability to practice physical therapy safely
[] all of the above

—> (Cite Statute AS 08.84.
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4. Anindividual who practices without the appropriate license (including practicing with a lapsed license) is guilty of a

[] class A misdemeanor
|:| class B misdemeanor
] class C misdemeanor

[ felony

—> (Cite Statute AS 08.84.

5. A physical therapist or physical therapy assistant applicant by examination who holds a temporary permit must
practice under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist.

[] False
[] True

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.

6. A physical therapist or physical therapy assistant who has been licensed 12 months or more of the concluding
licensing period shall have completed during that period contact hours of continuing education?

[]1e6
[ 20
] 24
28

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.

7. A physical therapist may concurrently supervise a maximum of how many physical therapy assistants, physical
therapy aides, foreign-trained candidates, students, permittees or any combination thereof?

3
a
(s
s

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.

8. An applicant for renewal of a physical therapist or physical therapy assistant license shall document having
provided physical therapy services for at least hours during the concluding licensing period?

[]30
[ e0
[ 120
[ 150

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.

9. Records of continuing education must be retained from the date of completion for:

[] 2 years
[] 3 years
[] 5 years
[ 7 years

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.
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10. Itis the responsibility of the to notify the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
when a change in address occurs for a licensee?

] Employer

[ Direct supervisor

[] Licensee

[J All of the above
—> C(Cite Regulation 12 AAC54.

11. Alicensee selected for audit of continuing competency requirements shall submit substantiating documentation
within days after the date of notification by the Division?

[ 30 days
[] 60 days
[] 90 days
1120 days

—> C(Cite Regulation 12 AAC54.

If an applicant for renewal is uncertain whether a particular continuing education opportunity will meet the

standards for renewal, the applicant may request board approval before claiming those hours

[] The applicant may request board approval after submitting the application for license renewal

[] The applicant may request board approval at the same time as submitting the application for license renewal

] The applicant may request board approval before submitting the application for license renewal

[] The applicant should not submit that particular continuing education opportunity when submitting the
application for license renewal

12.

—> C(Cite Regulation 12 AAC54.

13. Per the Alaska Board of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Principles of Practice, a physical therapist
and physical therapy assistant must adhere to the National Professional Core Values and Ethical Standards.

[] False
[] True

—> C(Cite Regulation 12 AAC54.

14. For continuing education activities to meet the standards of renewal, at least one half must be recognized by:

[] American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
[] other state physical therapy associations or other physical therapy licensing boards

[C] Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT)
O Any of the above

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.

15. Continual on-site supervision means that the physical therapist or physical therapy assistant

[] is immediately available
[] is present in the department or facility where services are being provided

] maintains continual oversight of patient-related duties
L] all of the above

—> C(Cite Regulation 12 AAC54.
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16.

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.

The license or permit or a copy of the license or permit must be

] kept in the personnel file of the licensee or permit holder

[] kept with the practicing therapist at all times
[] posted in a conspicuous location in the licensee’s primary place of business

O posted somewhere in the place of business

17.

A physical therapist applicant who has been issued a temporary permit prior to taking the national examination
may continue to practice under that temporary permit even if the physical therapist applicant fails to take the

examination.

[ False
[] True

—> (ite Statute AS08.84.

18.

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 54.

If the licensed physical therapist agrees to supervise a physical therapy assistant, the supervising physical

therapist shall

] fully document the supervision provided

[ include a record of all consultations provided in each patient’s file

[ 1 maintain records of supervision at the physical therapy assistant’s place of employment

] countersign the patient treatment record each time the supervising physical therapist is physically present and
directly supervises the treatment of a patient by the physical therapy assistant being supervised

[] all of the above

19. Documentation to verify completion of continuing competency must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 02.

verification of satisfactory completion; which must include:
[ Description of the continuing competency activity and the dates of actual participation or successful completion

] Name, mailing address, and signature of the instructor, sponsor or other verifier
[] Name of the licensee and the amount of continuing competency credit awarded

] All of the above

20. To be accepted by the Board, a continuing education course or activity must contribute directly to the professional

competency of a physical therapist or physical therapy assistant AND must be directly related to the skills and
knowledge required to implement the principles and methods of physical therapy.

[] False
[] True

—> C(Cite Regulation 12 AAC54.

21. A business which provides telemedicine services must register with the state telemedicine business registry.

[] False
[] True

—> Cite Regulation 12 AAC 02.
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