
  REC/ZSU 
 State of Alaska 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 
Anchorage, AK  99501 
Phone: (907) 269-8162  Fax: (907) 269-8196 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/ 

For Division Use Only 

PRORATED BIENNIAL REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATE BROKER LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION 
(Use this renewal application if your initial license was issued between 02/01/2015 and 11/2/2015) 

February 1, 2016 through January 31, 2018 

IT IS TIME TO RENEW YOUR REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATE BROKER LICENSE 

Your license to practice as a real estate associate broker in the State of Alaska lapses after January 31, 2016. It is illegal 
for you to practice if your license has lapsed.  To renew your license for the period February 1, 2016 through January 31, 
2018 return this signed application to the above address with a check or money order payable to the State of Alaska, or 
use the attached credit card payment form. Incomplete applications or insufficient fees will result in the renewal being 
rejected. 

FOR IMMEDIATE PROCESSING RENEW ONLINE !  
To renew online go at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ, click on Professional Licensing Section, 

 and select Real Estate Commission from the licensed professions drop-down menu. 
ONLINE RENEWAL WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE AFTER JANUARY 31, 2016. 

RENEWAL DUE DATE - The processing time for a correct and completed renewal application can be three to four weeks 
after receipt.  Plan accordingly to ensure processing by the lapse date of January 31, 2016. Renewal applications 
received by mail will be renewed effective as of the postmark on the envelope. There is no grace period; all licenses not 
renewed by January 31, 2016 will lapse.  

Make checks payable to the State of Alaska, or use the attached credit card payment form. 

CHECK 
APPROPRIATE 

LICENSE 
STATUS BOX 

  ACTIVE LICENSE: $192.50 ($162.50 Licensing Fee + $30.00 Recovery Fund Fee) 
      (for information about changing from active to inactive status see page 4 of this form) 

  INACTIVE LICENSE: $162.50 (No recovery fund fee required until activated) 

 
PERSONAL INFORMATION (print legibly): 

Full Legal Name: 
Last                                                First                                         Middle   

AREC  
License 
Number:  

Mailing Address:  
Is this a change  
of address? 

 Yes          No 

Address  

City                                                                                   State                                                          Zip Code 

Daytime Phone:               Date of Birth:  

E-Mail Address:  

Office Name:  

APPLICANT: As required by state law, please provide your United States Social 
Security Number. It is considered CONFIDENTIAL information and is not for public 
disclosure. (per AS 08.01.100) Social Security Number 

Would you like to be placed on the AREC Listserv to receive Commission e-news?   Yes    No 

CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE 
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PROFESSIONAL FITNESS: The following questions must be answered. If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions, 
please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, and send any supporting 
documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.). “Yes” answers may not automatically 
result in license denial. Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete 
and will not be processed. 
                YES    NO 
1. Since the date of your last application, have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged  

with committing a crime? For the purpose of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a  
military offense. “Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered  
a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition  
of sentence (SIS), or a fine.    

2. Since the date of your last application, have you had a real estate license revoked, denied, suspended,  
surrendered, placed on probation, or subject to any restriction, censure, reprimand, consent agreement,  
other disciplinary or license action?    

3. Since the date of your last application, have you had any other professional or occupational license  
 revoked, denied, suspended, surrendered, placed on probation, or under any restriction, censure, reprimand,  
 other disciplinary or license action in the state or in any other jurisdiction?   
4.  Since the date of your last application, have you had a fidelity bond denied or revoked?   

5. Since the date of your last application, have you been the subject of an unresolved complaint or  
 disciplinary action before a real estate regulating authority or a professional real estate association?   

6. Since the date of your last application, have you had a lawsuit filed against you alleging deceit, fraud,  
misrepresentation or conversion of funds?    

7. Have you attached required documentation for any “Yes” answers for questions 1 – 6?    
    (Check “No” if you have not answered yes to any question.) 
 
CONTINUING COMPETENCY: Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continued competency 
requirements in 12 AAC 64.071 “License Renewal,” and 12 AAC 64.500 “Continuing Education Requirements” (see 
enclosed copy of regulations). 

AFFIDAVIT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION 
BY CHECKING THE BOXES BELOW YOU ARE VERIFYING YOUR COMPLIANCE WITH THE CONTINUING COMPETENCY 

REQUIREMENTS OF ARTICLE 8 OF 12 AAC 64 DURING THE LICENSE PERIOD OF FEBRUARY 1, 2014 THROUGH JANUARY 
31, 2016, AND THAT YOU HAVE DOCUMENTATION OF ATTENDANCE OF COURSES AS DESCRIBED IN 12 AAC 64.071, 

WHICH YOU WILL FURNISH TO THE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION IF REQUIRED TO DO SO. 

Continuing Education (CE) includes:  8 hours of Designated topics (DCE) and 12 hours of Elective topics (ECE) for 20 
total hours of CE.  

Designated Continuing Education (DCE): 8 hours completed between February 1, 2014 and January 31, 2016 
ü Check the boxes to confirm your designated continuing education: 

  Landlord Tenant Act – Basics for all licensees (topic 1, 2, 6, 15, 20) - 2 hours  
  Current Alaska Real Estate Legal and Ethical Issues (topic 4, 9, 18, 25, 30, 33, 35) – 2 hours 
  Contracts & Real Estate License Law (topic 2, 6, 15, 25, 33) – 2 hours 
  Consumer Protection (topic 2, 4, 6, 9, 18, 24, 25, 30, 41) – 2 hours 

Elective Continuing Education (ECE): 12 hours completed between February 1, 2014 and January 31, 2016 
ü Check the box to confirm your elective continuing education: 

  In addition to completing the above mandatory 8 hours, I confirm that I completed at least 12 hours of elective topics 
 between February 1, 2014 and January 31, 2016. 

WARNING: Per 12 AAC 64.160, making false or fraudulent representation or material misstatement on an application for 
a license, renewal, or examination is grounds for revocation, suspension or denial of a license. The person may also be 
subject to criminal charges for perjury or unsworn falsification (AS 11.56.210 and AS 11.56.230). 

I certify under penalty of unsworn falsification that the information in this application is true and correct. 
 
     SIGN HERE         
        Signature of Applicant     

Date:        
 

08-0019 (Rev. 10/26/15)           Page 2 of 6 



  

 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

 
 
RENEWAL DUE DATE - The processing time for correct and completed renewal applications is three to four weeks after 
receipt if you renew by mail.  If you renew online, licenses will be mailed within 3-4 days from your completed transaction 
date. 
 
NAME CHANGE - If you have had a legal name change since your last license was issued, please enclose a completed 
Change of Name, available on the division’s website www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ, form and a copy of the legal 
document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.) for proof of your name change.   
 
LAPSED LICENSE - If you choose to not renew your license by January 31, 2016, it will lapse.  You may reinstate a 
lapsed license after satisfying the requirements in AS 08.88.241, 12 AAC 64.071 and pay a $250 REINSTATEMENT FEE 
per 12 AAC 64.360(11). If a license has been lapsed for more than two years, it cannot be reinstated. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS - Under AS 08.01.100(e) a license may not be renewed if the licensee’s United States 
Social Security Number is not on file.  If you do not have a social security number, you must complete the form Request for 
Exception from Social Security Number Requirement located on the division’s web site at: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ  
or contact the Commission for the form. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS - If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has 
determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education has 
determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact 
Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to 
resolve payment issues. 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION - Please be aware that all information on this renewal form will be available to the public, unless 
required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.  Information about current licensees, including mailing address, is 
available on the division’s web site at: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ under License Search. 
 
BUSINESS LICENSES - Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately.  For more information about 
business licenses, call (907) 269-8160 or visit the Business Licensing Section at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ.  
 
RANDOM AUDIT - The division will audit a percentage of license renewals.  If your license is randomly selected for audit, 
you will be mailed a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof you have satisfied the continued 
competency requirements as stated on your renewal form.  Save your documents for at least four years so you can 
respond to audits.  (AS 08.88.091(d) and 12 AAC 02.960).      
 
ALASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION LISTSERV - Subscribe to the Alaska Real Estate Commission electronic 
mailing list and receive:  meeting agendas, meeting minutes, REC updates, position statements, and notice of regulation 
changes.  Visit the Commission web site at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ to sign-up. You may cancel your subscription 
at any time by unsubscribing. 
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PLEASE NOTE 
 If your license lapses and you wish to reinstate, you may do so, however, you must pay the license fee and recovery  

 fee for the license period 02/01/2016 through 01/31/2018, as well as a $250 reinstatement fee.  You must also submit  
 copies of your certificates for the required 20 hours of continuing education (CE) completed during the licensing period 

02/01/2014 through 01/31/2016. If applicable, submit proof of completion of Post Licensing Education (PLE). 

 
 



  

 
Biennial License Renewal:  Real Estate 
 
Instructions 

• Complete, sign, and submit your renewal application to the Alaska Real Estate Commission, the address is listed on page 1, to 
renew your license for the period from February 1, 2016 through January 31, 2018. 

• Include a check or money order for the fees appropriate to your renewal; Make payable to the STATE OF ALASKA (SOA). 

• Complete, sign and attach the “AFFIDAVIT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION” form with your renewal application. 
 
Clarifications 

• Your license to practice real estate in the State of Alaska lapses after January 31, 2016.  It is illegal for you to practice real estate if 
your license has lapsed. 

• THERE IS NO GRACE PERIOD. 

• Incomplete, unsigned applications or insufficient fees will result in your renewal being rejected. 

 If you want to change from Active to Inactive status or transfer to a different office, a separate form and a separate fee are required.  
Real Estate forms are available on request at (907) 269-8162 in Anchorage or online at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ. 

 
To Renew and Remain an Active Licensee 

STEP 1: Complete, sign, and submit a renewal application form. 

STEP 2: Confirm that you are in compliance with all continuing competency requirements.  DO NOT SEND CE certificates or copies 
of your CE certificates. 

STEP 3: Enclose a check or money order, payable to the State of Alaska (SOA), in the amount of $355.00 ($325.00 for the 
licensing fee and $30.00 for the recovery fee). 

 
To Renew and Remain an Inactive Licensee 

STEP 1: Complete, sign, and submit a renewal application form to renew inactive. 

STEP 2: Confirm that you are in compliance with all continuing competency requirements.  DO NOT SEND CE certificates or copies 
of your CE certificates. 

STEP 3: Enclose a check or money order, payable to the State of Alaska (SOA), in the amount of $325.00 for the licensing fee only 
(no recovery fee is required in an inactive status). 

  
To Change from Active to Inactive Status and Renew Inactive 

STEP 1: Complete, sign and submit an “Application to Change License Status” to change your status from Active to Inactive. (This 
form is available on the AREC web site at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ)  

STEP 2: Complete, sign and submit a renewal form. 

STEP 3: Confirm that you are in compliance with all continuing competency requirements.  DO NOT SEND CE certificates or copies 
of your CE certificates. 

STEP 4: Enclose a check or money order, payable to the State of Alaska (SOA) in the amount of $450.00 ($125.00 inactivation fee 
and $325.00 for the licensing fee, no recovery fee is required to renew in an inactive status).  

 
Non-renewal leads to lapsed license 

• If you choose not to renew by January 31, 2016, your license will go into a lapsed status.  YOU CANNOT PRACTICE REAL 
ESTATE IF YOUR LICENSE IS LAPSED. 

• Unless you reinstate your license, it will remain in a lapsed status until the next renewal date, January 31, 2018, at which time it will 
expire and a new license will be required to practice real estate. 

► If your license lapses and you wish to reinstate, you may do so, however, you must pay the license fee and recovery  
fee for the license period February 1, 2016 through January 31, 2018, as well as a $250 reinstatement fee.  You must also 
submit copies of your certificates of completion for the required 20 hours of continuing education (CE) completed during the 
licensing period February 1, 2014 through January 31, 2016. If applicable, submit proof of completion of Post Licensing Education 
(PLE). 
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Biennial License Renewal: Real Estate 
 
Alaska Administrative Code: Title 12, Chapter 64: Real Estate Commission 
   
 
Title 12, Chapter 64, Article 02: Licensing 
12 AAC 64.071. LICENSE RENEWAL.  
(a)    Except as provided in (g) of this section, all licenses lapse January 31 of every even-numbered year unless renewed under this section and in   
        accordance with AS 08.88.091, 08.88.171, and 08.88.251.  A renewal reminder document will be provided to each licensee with a current expiration  
        date at least 60 days before the renewal date. 
 (b)  An applicant for renewal of an active license shall submit to the department, by the date the license lapses, 

(1)  a completed renewal application on the form provided by the department; 
(2)  the license renewal fee established in 12 AAC 02.360; 
(3)  the recovery fund fee established in 12 AAC 64.073; and 
(4)  certification that the applicant has satisfied the continuing education requirements of AS 08.88.091(d) and 12 AAC 64.500. 

(c)  An applicant for renewal of an inactive license shall submit to the department, on or before the date the 
 license lapses, 

(1)  a completed renewal application on the form provided by the department; 
(2)  the license renewal fee established in 12 AAC 02.360; and 
(3)  certification that the applicant has satisfied the continuing education requirements of AS 08.88.091(d) and 12 AAC 64.500. 

(d)  A license lapses if an application for renewal either has not been received by the department or is not 
 complete by the date the license is to lapse. 
(e)  A lapsed license will be reinstated only as an active license according to the provisions of this section. 
(f)  A licensee may be inactive for an entire licensing period and reactivate without paying the recovery fund fee 
 established in 12 AAC 64.073 if the licensee's inactive license dates coincide exactly with the dates of a biennial 
 licensing period. 
(g)  Except for an initially-issued license that has lapsed under (a) of this section, an initially-issued license 
 lapses 395 days after issuance unless the real estate licensee meets the requirements of 12 AAC 64.064. 

 
 
 

Title 12, Chapter 64, Article 08: Continuing Education Requirements 
12 AAC 64.500: Continuing Education Requirements 
(a) For the purposes of AS 08.88.091(d), the commission will accept only those continuing education courses that meet the Real Estate  

education standards of 12 AAC 64.400 – 12 AAC 64.470, including courses in the following subject areas: 
 

(1) agency relationships; 
(2) closing transactions; 
(3) common interest ownership and resale certificates required under AS 

34.08.590; 
(4) communications, negotiations, and real estate counseling skills; 
(5) repealed 6/28/97; 
(6) contracts; 
(7) energy conservation; 
(8) health, safety, and environmental issues, and compliance with 42 

U.S. C. 12101 – 12213 (Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990); 
(9) fair housing and equal opportunity laws; 
(10) financing real estate; 
(11) foreclosure, judgments, and bankruptcy; 
(12) international real estate transactions; 
(13) land use, planning, zoning, and building codes; 
(14) legal descriptions; 
(15) listing responsibilities; 
(16) marketing property; 
(17) new construction; 
(18) prohibited conduct; 
(19) property disclosure and inspections; 
(20) residential property management 
(21) property valuation; 
 
 
 

(22) real estate brokerage management; 
(23) real estate investment analysis; 
(24) real estate property law; 
(25) real estate license law; 
(26) securities; 
(27) title insurance and lien law; 
(28) trust account management; 
(29) trusts, estates, and probate; 
(30) ethical decision-making in real estate transactions; 
(31) community association management; 
(32) community association documents; 
(33) risk management; 
(34) Alaska landlord tenant law; 
(35) customer client service; 
(36) commercial property management; and 
(37) tax law and exchanges; 
(38) broker disclosure responsibility; and 
(39) broker supervision; 
(40) broker trust account responsibility; and 
(41) organizing and managing real estate office. 
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Biennial License Renewal: Real Estate 
 
CONTINUED: Alaska Administrative Code: Title 12, Chapter 64.500 Real Estate Commission 
 
(b) An applicant for renewal of a broker, associate broker, or salesperson license must complete the following continuing education contact hours 

during the concluding licensing period: 
(1) an eight-hour continuing education core curriculum, identified by the commission, that stresses current trends in real estate practices and 

changes in state, federal, and case law in the areas of real estate sales, property management, community association management, or 
commercial sales; and 

 (2) 12 contact hours of continuing education in elective topics that meet the requirements in (a) of this section. 
(c) At least 120 days before the beginning of each licensing period, the commission will identify topics in which all licensees will be required to obtain 

eight contact hours of continuing education credit under (b)(1) of this section during the next licensing period. 
(d) By October 1 of each odd-numbered year, the commission will, or the division staff at the commission’s direction shall notify course sponsors of the 

topics that satisfy the requirements in (b)(1) of this section during the next renewal period. 
(e) While useful to the practice of real estate, the following types of training do not meet the continuing education standards of the commission: 

(1) mechanical office or business skills, including typing, speed-reading, or use of a calculator or computer, unless related to one of the subject 
areas listed in (a) of this section; 

(2) office sales meetings; 
(3) orientation courses by professional organizations; 
(4) instructor development courses; 
(5) prospecting; 
(6) repealed 2/12/99. 

(f) No more than 12 contact hours of credit from any one course content area may be accrued toward license renewal in a single licensing period. 
(g) An applicant for license renewal who creates a new course that is approved for credit under 12 AAC 64.410 may earn continuing education credit 

equal to the number of hours approved for the course. 
(h) An applicant for renewal may not accrue continuing education contact hours for taking the same or substantively identical course more than once 

during a licensing period. 
(i) An applicant for renewal may not earn real estate continuing education contact hours for courses taken before the applicant was originally licensed. 
(j) An applicant for renewal who, at the time the license is due to lapse, will have been licensed 

(1) more than 90 days must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education consisting of the eight designated contact hours in topics identified 
by the commission under (b)(1) of this section; 

(2) 90 days or less is not required to meet continuing education requirements. 
(k) Repealed 7/16/94. 
(l) Repealed 7/16/94. 
(m) For the purposes of this section and AS 08.88.091 

(1) one contact hour equals a minimum of 50 minutes of instruction; 
(2) one academic semester credit hour equals 15 contact hours; 
(3) one academic quarter credit hour equals 10 contact hours. 

(n)   Notwithstanding the provisions of 12 AAC 64.420 – 12 AAC 64.450, a licensee who has taken a course offered outside of this state by a nationally 
        recognized real estate education provider during a licensing period that has not otherwise been certified under 12 AAC 64.410 and 12 AAC 64.420  
        may apply to the commission under this subsection for continuing education credit under this section for the licensee’s attendance at that course.  
        To be considered for approval by the commission, within 60 days after completing the course and at least 60 days before the end of the licensing  
        period, the licensee must submit to the department 

(1) an application on a form provided by the department; 
(2) all materials provided as part of the class, including 

(A) materials promoting or describing the class; 
(B) evidence that the real estate education provider is nationally recognized; and 
(C) proof of attendance including time of instruction. 
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State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 
Anchorage, AK  99501 
Phone:  (907) 269-8160 
 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

 

RENEWAL CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 
Do not email or fax credit card information.  Mail this form with the completed renewal to the Division. 
Completion of this form is not proof of payment until the division processes the information contained herein. If 
any information on this form is illegible, the form will be rejected.  Please print. 
 

Name of Applicant or Licensee:             
                                                       Corporate or Individual (first, middle, last) 

License Number (if applicable):      

Type of License:      

  
I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): 
              Amount 
 
          Application fee            

          License (or renewal) fee             

          Fine             

         Other (specify):      
          
              Total:   
                                                                                         
Print Name on Credit Card:        
 
Complete Mailing Address:       

        

Telephone Number:          
 
Email Address (optional):             
 
Credit Card Type (check one):                      VISA   MASTERCARD 

 Signature of Credit Card Holder:           

 

Card Number: ____________________________________   Expiration Date: _____________ 
 
 

The bottom section of this form will be destroyed upon processing of the payment. 
 

Form 08-4438RA (Rev. 03/21/12) 
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