

THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Underground Storage Tank Worker Program

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2050

Email: UndergroundStorageTankWorkers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/UndergroundStorageTankWorker

Underground Storage Tank Worker Certification by Reciprocity Application Instructions

Regulation 18 AAC 78.400 requires that a person may not conduct, and an owner or operator may not allow to be conducted, any part of a UST installation, repair, reconfiguration, closure (decommissioning), tank tightness test, or cathodic protection test unless the person is certified by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

Be advised that even though you took an exam in another state, it does not necessarily qualify you for the Alaska certificate. Additionally, all other qualifications under regulations must be met.

The following documents must be submitted to this office before an applicant will be considered for underground storage tank worker certification by reciprocity:

1. APPLICATION

A completed and signed application (#08-4946, pages 1-4).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska."

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$100.00 Reciprocity Certification Fee per Category: \$60.00

3. VERIFICATION OF CERTIFICATION

A completed and signed verification form (#08-4946a).

4. EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS FOR ALASKA CERTIFICATION

You must take and pass the Alaska-specific portion of the examination. Examination is administered by ICC www.iccsafe.org. Contact Pearson VUE to schedule an appointment to take the U0-Alaska Laws and Rules test at pearsonvue.com/icc/cert/. You may also be required to pass the category-specific examinations.

18 AAC 78.415. CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS.

(d) If the application is for inspection, the applicant shall also obtain and maintain certification in UST installation and cathodic protection. An applicant may apply for certification in UST inspection while an application for certification in UST installation or cathodic protection is pending; however, the division will not issue or renew a certification for inspection unless the applicant is certified in UST installation and cathodic protection.

18 AAC 78.425. WORK EXPERIENCE AND EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.

- (b) A person seeking to become a certified inspector shall show proof of completion within two years before the date of application of
 - (1) at least one nationally recognized training course, class, examination, or workshop dealing with UST design, installation, testing, or inspection; and
 - (2) an inspector orientation course provided by the department.

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license may be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

LICENSE TERM:

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions, submit an explanation with the charging and closing court documentation showing final disposition of charge(s) (e.g. court records, fitness letters, etc.).

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:

Be aware that the denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov.*

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

All information on the application will be available as public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov.*

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov. Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Underground Storage Tank Worker Program

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/UndergroundStorageTankWorker

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Underground Storage Tank Worker Certification by Reciprocity Application

PART I Certific	cation Type					
	☐ Inspector					
	Installation (including repairs and	d significant reconfiguration)				
Certification Type(s):	☐ Tank Tightness Tester					
	Cathodic Protection Tester					
	Closure (including removal and c	decommissioning)				
PART II Payme	ent of Fees					
	Non-Refundable Application Fee		\$100.00			
Required Fees:	Certification Fee per Category	\$ 60.00/Catego	ory \$			
PART III Person	nal Information					
Full Legal Name:						
	used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If any opy of the documentation showing proof	y documentation will be received in a prior nai	me, you must			
Not Applicable	1,	3 ()				
Other Names Us	sed:					
Mailing Address: P.O. B	Box or Street C	City State	Zip			
Contact Phone:		Date of Birth:				
and Professional Licensing, I agre	ee to maintain an accurate email address through th	g my license or other business with the Alaska Division of C ne MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to chec	ck my email account or			
Email Address:	ress in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. Select One: Send my Correspondence Electronically Send my Correspondence by Mail					
	Note: If both boxes are selected above, you v	will receive correspondence electronically.				
States Social Security Number. It	6 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United t is considered confidential information and will be used to verify inter-state licensure.					

PART IV Education and Testing

A person who seeks certification shall have satisfactory performan	ice on at least two projects in the category for which certification
is sought during the three years immediately before application.	The division will, in its discretion, accept applicable vocational
training for any or all of the field experience.	

Category				Project Description	
	itness testing certification, your certification mus				
Manufacturer	Test Method	Train	ing Location	Dates Attended	By Exam?
					☐ Yes ☐ No
					☐ Yes ☐ No
					☐ Yes ☐ No

State	Certification Date	By Ex	ram?
			Yes
			No
			Yes
			No
			Yes
			No
			Yes
			No
e following questions must be answ each "yes" response to any ques m (#08-4752) appended to this app d specific circumstances. A separat cumentation includes copies of cou	vered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in lation, you must provide an explanation and docume lication; include full details, dates, locations, type of active letter of explanation form must be provided for eart orders, charging documents, board, or license active	entation. Use the ction, organization each "yes" answer ons, etc.	s or parties involv documented belo
e following questions must be answ r each "yes" response to any ques rm (#08-4752) appended to this app d specific circumstances. A separate ocumentation includes copies of cou e contents of licensing files are gen	vered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in lation, you must provide an explanation and docume lication; include full details, dates, locations, type of a letter of explanation form must be provided for e	entation. Use the ction, organization each "yes" answer ons, etc.	s or parties involv documented belo
e following questions must be answ r each "yes" response to any quest m (#08-4752) appended to this app d specific circumstances. A separat cumentation includes copies of cou e contents of licensing files are gen v.	vered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in lation, you must provide an explanation and docume lication; include full details, dates, locations, type of active letter of explanation form must be provided for eart orders, charging documents, board, or license active	entation. Use the ction, organization each "yes" answer ons, etc. be kept confidenti	s or parties involv documented belo
re following questions must be answer each "yes" response to any questrm (#08-4752) appended to this appended specific circumstances. A separatocumentation includes copies of course contents of licensing files are genw.	vered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in lettion, you must provide an explanation and docume lication; include full details, dates, locations, type of active letter of explanation form must be provided for earl orders, charging documents, board, or license active erally considered public records, unless required to be	entation. Use the ction, organization each "yes" answer ons, etc. be kept confidenti	s or parties involv documented belo
the following questions must be answer each "yes" response to any question must be any question must be any question must be any question (#08-4752) appended to this appended specific circumstances. A separate occumentation includes copies of course contents of licensing files are general. We since the date your last A have you had a professional certificator limited or have you surrendered disciplined, or entered into a settlen	vered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in lettion, you must provide an explanation and docume lication; include full details, dates, locations, type of a seletter of explanation form must be provided for earl orders, charging documents, board, or license action erally considered public records, unless required to letter in doubt, disclose and explain	entation. Use the ction, organization each "yes" answer ons, etc. be kept confidenti in. ewed: cted, conditioned, ion, reprimanded, rofessional license	s or parties involved documented belong all by state or federal extensions.

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Underground Storage Tank Worker Program

PO Box 110806, Juneau, A Website: <i>ProfessionalLice</i>	AK 99811 nse.Alaska.Gov/UndergroundStorageTankWorker	
Signature Page		
Applicant Name:		
Alaska License Number (if known):		Application in Process
PART VIII Agreem	ent	
	person herein named and subscribing to this application. I further full content thereof. I declare all of the information contained herein, ue and correct.	 ·
falsification or misrepreser	tion or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application at the state of Alaska	•

I further understand it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of

Date Signed:

unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:



of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Underground Storage Tank Worker Program

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2050

Email: UndergroundStorageTankWorkers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/UndergroundStorageTankWorker

Verification of Certification

→ A	pplicar		ne identifying info	ormation below and ertificate.	forward a	copy of t	his form t	to the state
Full Legal Name:								
Mailing Address:								
Daytime Phone:				Date of Birth	n:			
Licensing Board: Complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form direct the Underground Storage Tank Worker Program at the letterhead address.					n directly to			
Licensure by:		☐ Endors	sement	Examin	nation			
Is the Certificate Current?	□ Y	′es 🔲 No	Issue Date:		Expirat	ion Date:		
Exam Category	•	Testing A	Agency	Score			Date	
Installation								
Closure								
Tank Tightness Tes								
Cathodic Protection	Testing							
Inspector								
Is the applicant the subject of an unresolved complaint or ongoing disciplinary action? Yes*] No				
Has the applicant's lice placed on probation, o			ked, voluntarily surre	endered,		Yes* [] No	
		*If yes, provid	le a copy of the d	isciplinary action docu	ument.			
Comments (if any):								
Board Seal	Signat	ure:			Date Sign	ned:		
	Printe	d Name:			Title:			
	Board	Agency:			Phone:			



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- **Documentation** includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- Disciplinary actions may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.						
Location of Inci	dent:				Date of Inciden	t:
Explanation of When in doub and explain. Make copies as	t, disclose					
Did you attach	all applicable	e documents associated wit	th this incid	dent?		
Court Ord	ers 🗀	Consent Agreements		Disciplinary Actions	Chargin	g Documents
Court Rec	ords	Fitness to Practice	□ A	All Other Documentat	ion Related to Th	is Incident
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.						
Full Name:					Program:	
Signature:					Date Signed:	

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Name of Applicant or Licensee:

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. I	nclude this credit card payment
form with your application.	

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):	License Number (if app	olicable):
I wish to make payment by credit card	for the following (check all that apply):	AMOUNT
Application Fee:		
License or Renewal Fee:		
Other (fine, exam, etc.):		
1.		
2.		
	TOTAL:	
Name (as shown on credit card):		
Mailing Address:		
Phone Number:	Email (Optional):	
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		
08-4438 (Rev. 11/21/2024)	Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)	Page 1 of 1
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your	payment cannot be processed unless all	fields are completed.
1. Credit Card Number:	All	3 fields MUST be completed.
2. Expiration Date:		ction will be destroyed after the
3. Security Code:		payment is processed.