

# THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

#### **Board of Veterinary Examiners**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense. Alaska. Gov/BoardOfVeterinary Examiners

## **Veterinary License by Credentials Application Instructions**

Please read the application and instructions carefully. It is your responsibility to be aware of licensing requirements and provide all necessary documentation.

Under Alaska Statute 08.98.120 a person may not practice veterinary medicine, surgery, or dentistry in the state unless the person is licensed as a veterinarian under AS 08.98 or has a temporary permit issued under AS 08.98.186.

Emailed applications will not be accepted.

The following must be received by the division before your application for Veterinary License by Credentials can be reviewed:

#### 1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4925, pages 1-5).

#### 2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska" in accordance with 12 AAC 02.350.

Nonrefundable Application Fee: \$ 200.00 License Fee: \$ 600.00 Alaska Jurisprudence Exam Fee \$ 200.00 Total Fees Due: \$1,000.00

#### 3. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS

Official college transcripts showing graduation from an accredited veterinary school, or official records showing successful completion of the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) or Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE) certification process.

#### 4. PROFESSIONAL REFERENCES

Four professional reference forms (#08-4925b), completed by the veterinarians listed on the applicant's application. Reference must be sent directly to the division from the person completing the reference form.

#### 5. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

Verification of Licensure must be sent directly to the department from each jurisdiction where the applicant holds or has ever held a license to practice veterinary medicine. Each verification must include an explanation of any disciplinary action taken against the licensee. Check with each of the state boards you are or have been licensed in for their verification request process. If a state offers primary source verification on their website, that can be accepted as long as the website clearly confirms that it's a primary source verification.

#### 6. VIVA SCORE

A completed Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA) score reporting form sent directly from the American Association of Veterinary State Boards.

#### 7. VERIFICATION OF ACTIVE PRACTICE

Verification of active practice of veterinary medicine for at least five of the seven years before the date of application. Active Practice means at least 1,000 hours of practicing veterinary medicine, surgery, or dentistry during a calendar year. An Affidavit of Active Practice Form (#08-4925c) must be completed by an individual who has direct personal knowledge of the applicant's practice of veterinary medicine and be submitted directly to the Division from the person completing the form.

#### 8. DEA INFORMATION

If you hold a DEA number, you must submit a copy of the valid DEA registration.

### **VET Information**

#### LICENSE TERM:

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time.

#### **CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS:**

Licensees shall complete 30 contact hours of continuing education acceptable to the board for the concluding two-year licensing period.

#### FEDERAL HEALTH CERTIFICATES:

A veterinarian who does not hold a current permanent license in this state is prohibited from issuing federal health certificates needed for interstate travel. Temporary licenses and temporary permits are NOT permanent licenses.

#### STATE VETERINARY JURISPRUDENCE:

The examination is required for applicants applying by examination or credentials. Electronic materials and answer sheet will be sent directly to the applicant at their request after the application and fees have been received. 12 AAC 68.015.

#### **NAVLE EXAMINATION:**

Applicants who have not yet passed a national examination may be scheduled for the next available NAVLE examination. Examination applications must be received by the department at least 120 days before the first day of the NAVLE administration's testing window. The NAVLE is held in April and November of each year. Examination dates, candidate bulletin and other information may be obtained from www.icva.net.

#### **VETERINARY INFORMATION VERIFYING AGENCY (VIVA):**

12101 W 110th St., Suite 300 Overland Park, KS 66210 Phone: (877) 698-VIVA Email: aavsb@aavsb.org

## **General Information**

#### **APPLICATION PROCESSING:**

Website: www.aavsb.org

The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license may be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

#### **PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:**

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions, submit an explanation with the charging and closing court documentation (e.g. court records, fitness letters, etc.).

#### **DENIAL OF APPLICATION:**

Be aware that the denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

#### ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

#### **CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:**

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

#### **SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:**

AS 08.01.060 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov.* 

#### **PUBLIC INFORMATION:**

All information on the application form will be available as a public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

#### **ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:**

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

#### **BUSINESS LICENSES:**

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov*.

#### **STALE DOCUMENTS:**

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

#### **PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:**

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

#### STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov. Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

### **Board of Veterinary Examiners**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers

# **Veterinary License by Credentials Application**

PART I Par	yment of Fees				
PANII Pa	-				
Required Fees:	Application, License, and AK Jurisprudence Exam Fee (\$200 is Non-Refundable) \$1000.00				
PART II Pe	rsonal Information				
Full Legal Name:					
	ames used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If any d tion showing proof of legal name change(s).	locumentation will be rece	eived in a prior nar	ne, you must	
☐ Not Applic	able				
Other Nan	nes Used:				
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street City		State	Zip	
Contact Phone:		Date of Birth:			
and Professional Licensin	hoosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting m g, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the N in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial int	MY LICENSE web page. I understa	and that failure to chec	k my email account or	
Email Address:	,	Select One:		ndence Electronically	
	Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will	l receive correspondence ele	ctronically.		
States Social Security Nur	ER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United mber. It is considered confidential information and will it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.				
PART III Ex	amination Information				
	be sent directly to this office from the Veterinal merican Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE	· ·			
Date Exam Passed:					

PART IV Educa	ation Information			
Name of Veterinary				
School:				
Address:	P.O. Box or Street	City	State	Zip
Date Attended From:		Date Attended To:		
Degree Awarded:		Date Awarded:		

# PART V Work History

List all positions held during the seven years preceding the date of application.						
Name of Employer	Employer Address	Position Held	Date(s) Employed	Hours per Year		

## PART VI Professional License(s)

List all states, territories, provinces, or foreign countries in which you currently hold or have ever held a license or permit to practice veterinary medicine.

State or Jurisdiction	License Number	License Category	Issue Date	Expiration Date

PAK	Professional i	References					
List fou	ur professional references.						
	Reference Name			Reference Address			
1.							
2.							
3.							
4.							
PART	VIII Drug Enforcen	nent Administra	etion (DEA) R	egistration			
			ition (DLA) i	egistration			
Do you	ı have a current DEA Registra _						
	<b>a. NO</b> , I do not have a c	urrent DEA Registration	on number.				
	<b>b.</b> YES, I have a current	DEA Registration num	ber.				
	If you're unsure of th	e DEA issue date, ind	icate January 1st	of the estimated year.			_
	DEA Registration Number:		Issue Date:	Expiration Date:			
	Number.		Date.	Date.			
	Alaska Law	d, understand and will	abide by the stat	utes and regulations applicable	e to my pro	ofession	
	AS 08.98 and 12 AAC 68).	,	,				
PAR	T X Professional Fi	tness Question	S				
The fol	lowing questions must be ans	wered. "Yes" answers	may not automa	tically result in license denial.			
(#08-47 specific	752) appended to this applica	tion; include full detai letter of explanatior	ls, dates, location form must be	and documentation. Use the less, type of action, organizations or ordided for each "yes" answer, or license actions, etc.	or parties	involve	d, and
The co law.	ntents of licensing files are go	enerally considered pu	ublic records, unle	ess required to be kept confide	ential by st	ate or f	ederal
	,	When in doub	t, disclose	and explain.			
1.	Have you had a profession conditioned, or limited or h probation, reprimanded, disconnection with a profession including that of any militar	ave you surrendered a sciplined, or entered in mal license you have l	a professional lice nto a settlement w neld in any jurisdi	nse, been fined, placed on ith a licensing authority in ction including Alaska and	☐ Y€	es 🔲	No
2.	Have you ever been denie Veterinary board?	d a certificate, or the	e privilege of taki	ng an exam by any state	□ Ye	es 🔲	No

#### **PART X Professional Fitness Questions** (continued) 3. Are you currently under investigation by another veterinary licensing authority concerning a violation or alleged violation of any state regulations, statutes, or law, or any violation or Yes No alleged violation of the Veterinary Practice Act, or unprofessional or unethical conduct? 4. Have you ever surrendered or had a federal controlled substance registration revoked, Yes No suspended, restricted, denied, or placed on probation? 5. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes of this question, "crime" includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. "Convicted" includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine. Yes No **6.** Do you have any pending criminal charges? 7. Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgment or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice veterinary medicine in a Yes No competent, ethical and professional manner? **8.** Do you use drugs or alcohol in any manner that impairs your ability to practice veterinary Yes No medicine competently and safely?

"Yes" Answers

If you answered "yes" to questions 7 or 8, in addition to your personal statement, you must submit a statement from your health care provider indicating your ability to safely practice veterinary medicine. Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed.

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

## **Board of Veterinary Examiners**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers

## **Signature Page**

Applicant Name:			
Alaska License Number (if known):			Application in Process
PART XI Agreen	nent		
	e person herein named and subscribing to this application. I furtl be full content thereof. I declare all of the information contained her rue and correct.		·
falsification or misreprese	ation or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application of documents to support this application, is sufficient groun stration, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.		· ·
I further understand it is unsworn falsification.	a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an	application	n and commit the crime of
Applicant Signature:	Dar	te Signed:	



# THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

### **Board of Veterinary Examiners**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense. Alaska. Gov/BoardOfVeterinary Examiners

## **Affidavit of Professional Reference**

This affidavit must be completed by a professional reference and returned directly to the Alaska State Board of Veterinary Examiners at the address listed above.

> Applica	nt:	Complete the identifying information bel individuals. Duplicate this form as needed.		a copy of this	form to the a	appropriate
Full Legal Name:						
Applicant Signature:				Date Signed		
> Referen	ce:	Complete this bottom part for the application Alaska State Board of Veterinary Examine			the form dire	ectly to the
Reference Name:						
Reference Address:		P.O. Box or Street	City		State	Zip
Reference Phone:		1	Reference Email:			
Associated with Applicant from Date:			Associated with Applicant to Date	:		
Personal Statement:				·		
Signature						
I certify I am/was professionally associated with the above-named applicant during the time frame above. In addition, I recommend the applicant as being professionally capable, reliable, worthy of confidence, and having clinical skills, in accordance with 12 AAC 68.048(a)(9). I certify the above information is true and correct.						
Reference Printed Name:				Credentials: (DVM, Etc.)		
Reference Signature:				Date Signed:		



**Applicant Name:** 

# THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

#### **Board of Veterinary Examiners**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers

## **Affidavit of Active Practice**

This document must be completed and submitted by an individual who has direct personal knowledge of the applicant's practice of veterinary medicine.

Applicants applying for a license by credentials must document active practice of veterinary medicine for at least five of the seven years before the date of application. Active Practice means at least 1,000 hours of practicing veterinary medicine, surgery, or dentistry during a calendar year.

→ Sponsorir	ng vererinarian.	m part and return this form to of Veterinary Examiners at the	the applicant or directly to the letterhead address.
Sponsor Name:			
Relationship to Applicant:			
Date Associated From:		Date Associated To:	
Sponsor License Number:		Sponsor Phone Number:	
Sponsor Address:	.O. Box or Street Cit	y	tate Zip
Signature			
	certify the above-named applicant has been e 1,000 hours per calendar year in accordance		
Sponsoring Veterinarian Printed Name:	1	Credentia (DVM, Etc	
Sponsoring Veterinarian Signature:	1	Date Signo	ed:
		·	·



# THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

#### **Professional Licensing**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

## Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- **Documentation** includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.						
Location of Inc	ident:			Date o	of Incident:	
Explanation of When in doub and explain. Make copies as	ot, disclose					
Did you attach	all applicable	e documents associated with	this incident?			
Court Ord	ders [	Consent Agreements	☐ Disciplinary A	ctions	Charging I	Documents
Court Rec	cords	Fitness to Practice	All Other Doc	umentation Rela	ited to This	Incident
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.						
Full Name:				Progra	ım:	
Signature:				Date S	igned:	

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

# **Credit Card Payment Form**

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes,	do not email credit card in	formation. Include th	nis credit card payment
form with your application.			

form with your application.				
Name of Applicant or Licensee:				
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):	L	icense Number <i>(if</i>	applicable):	
I wish to make payment by credit card	d for the following (check all that ap	oply):		AMOUNT
Application Fee:				
License or Renewal Fee:				
Other (fine, exam, etc.):				
1.				
2.				
,		тота	AL:	
Name (as shown on credit card):				
Mailing Address:				
Phone Number:	Email	(Optional):		
Signature of Credit Card Holder:				
08-4438 (Rev. 09/21/2024)	Credit Card Payment Form (all r	major cards accept	ed)	Page 1 of 1
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your	payment cannot be proc	essed unless	all fields a	e completed.
1. Credit Card Number:			All 3 fields MU	ST be completed.