
First Class Mail (including Registered and Certified) Express Delivery Only

Alaska Division of Insurance Alaska Division of Insurance

P.O. Box 110805 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor

Juneau, AK 99811-0805 Juneau, AK 99801

A.

B.

C.

1) Certificate of Compliance, with original embossed or stamped state seal.  

2) Certificate of Deposit, showing deposits of at least $300,000, with original embossed or stamped state seal.  

3) Certificate of Valuation, if any outstanding life policies or annuity contracts, with original embossed or stamped state seal.

A. Tax Payment.

B. Certificate of Authority continuation fee of $2,250.

C. Annual Statement filing fee of $100.

Other Important Notes:

1

2
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4
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If you have any questions contact Rebecca Nesheim at (907) 465-2584 or rebecca.nesheim@alaska.gov

The Premium Tax Report Form 08-201H, the Alaska state page and Schedule T, and the following must be mailed to the 

above address and postmarked on or before March 1, 2016 or may be filed through OPTins.  If the certificates are not 

available at time of mailing, they can be sent separately from tax report.

The Premium Tax and Fees payment must be received on or before March 1, 2016, and be paid by the Automated 

Clearing House (ACH) debit or credit payment method or through OPTins in order to avoid a penalty or the possible 

suspension of the Certificate of Authority per AS 21.09.210(g).  This applies to:

NOTE: Report written premium for the insurance of property or risks resident or located in Alaska as required by 

Alaska statute 21.09.210.  When a policy or contract covers property, subjects, or risks located or resident in more 

than one state, allocate premium and report that portion that covers Alaska property, subjects, or risks

The penalty for paying the tax late is $50 per month plus five percent of the tax due per month up to a maximum of $250 

plus 25 percent of the tax due, and interest of one percent per month until tax is paid.

If payment is not received by the Automated Clearing House (ACH) payment method, a penalty of 25 percent of the tax due 

will be assessed, with a minimum of $100 and maximum of $2,000.

Effective 7/1/13, a film production tax credit certificated under AS 43.98 may be claimed against your tax liability.  In order 

to claim the credit, you must have acquired a credit certificate issued by the Film Office, Alaska Department of Revenue.  

Any unused credit may be carried forward but must be claimed before the expiration date on the certificate (six years from 

the date of issuance).  For more information about this credit, refer to AS 43.98.030 or contact the Film Office at 907-269-

6620.

Compliance with the required due dates for payments is determined by the date the ACH payment is received in the State 

of Alaska’s bank account.  Instructions are available at:  https://www.commerce.state.ak.us/ins/apps/ach/AchStart.cfm 

The payment will be rejected by the receiving bank if the submission contains inaccurate information and the 

payer will be subject to a penalty if the subsequent payment is received after the due date.

If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the report and payment are due the next business day.

Retaliatory:  Fees and taxes which would be imposed upon Alaska insurers under the laws of another state or foreign 

country are subject to retaliation in the aggregate.  Failure to pay retaliatory may result in suspension or revocation of the 

insurer’s Certificate of Authority.  Do not include producer licensing fees in the retaliatory calculation.  Do not include 

personal income taxes, ad valorem taxes on real or personal property, or special purpose obligations or assessments 

imposed by another state in connection with particular kinds of insurance other than property insurance.

Premium tax refunds must be requested by letter and include supporting documentation.

If the 2015 premium tax is $10,000 or more, the company is required to pay quarterly estimated premium tax during 2016.  

The amount to be paid is 25% of the 2015 premium tax on or before May 31, August 31, and November 30.

The official premium tax/fees contact name, address, phone, fax, & email will change to the information on the report.

ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING ANNUAL STATEMENT AND PREMIUM TAX REPORT

The Annual Statement must be filed electronically with the NAIC by March 1, 2016, or per Alaska Statute (AS) 21.09.200(e) 

the insurer shall pay to the Division of Insurance $100 for each day the insurer fails to file and may be suspended from 

entering into new obligations or issuing new policies of insurance in Alaska. 

All supplements, exhibits, and schedules required by the NAIC must also be filed.

HEALTH INSURANCE COMPANY
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Domicile State NAIC #

Alaska C of A #

Email:
* Changing official record - see instructions

TAXES AND FEES
ACH TAX 

TYPE

ACH AMT 

TYPE

1. Premium Tax

(Schedule A) a. Net Premium 07130 "T" x 2.7% =

(Schedule A) b. Net Premium 07130 "T" x .1% =

2. Premium Tax Credit Carryover from 2014

3. Premium Tax Credit (Schedule B)

(Education, Film Production, and CHIA)

4. Retaliatory Fee (page 3, line 8) 07138 "F"

(only if greater than zero)

5. Net Tax (line 1 - 2 - 3 + 4)

6. Less amounts already paid in Alaska (quarterly tax payments, credits, etc.)

7. Net Tax Payable (if overpayment, please send written request for refund or

credit for tax year 2016 and do not include in line 10).

8. Certificate of Authority Continuation Fee 07130 "F" $2,250

9. Annual Statement Filing Fee 07130 "A" $100

10. Total Tax and Fees payable with report.  Minimum payable is $2,350.00

(lines 7 + 8 + 9)

Yes No

  Certificate of Compliance attached?

  Certificate of Deposit attached?

I, , certify that I am the 

(Company Official)

of the above-named insurance company and that the premium tax report is a complete, true and correct statement of all

premiums and fees on business written by said company during the year ending December 31, 2015, on insurance of

property or risks resident or located in Alaska.

For official use only:

COC____  COD____

Signature

(Title)

Must be Postmarked on or before March 1, 2016

Company Name

ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE

2015 PREMIUM TAX REPORT AND CONTINUATION  OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY

Contact Name and Address, if different than above * Phone: Fax:

HEALTH INSURANCE COMPANY

Mailing Address                                                                                City, State, Zip Code
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SCHEDULE A. HEALTH INSURERS (AS 21.09.210)

a.

1. Total Direct Life Premiums (exclude premium amount exceeding $100,000

for an individual life policy) 

2. Total Accident & Health Premiums 

3. Total Property & Casualty Premiums

4. Premiums paid by application of dividends 

5. Other Considerations (excluding annuities which are not taxable)

(explain on separate sheet)

TOTAL DIRECT PREMIUMS FOR RISKS RESIDENT OR LOCATED IN ALASKA

DEDUCTIONS:

6. Policy Dividends 

7. Medicare Premiums not subject to state tax

8. Federal Employees Health Benefits Program Premium

9. Premiums that are exempt from premium tax per 21.09.210(i):

a. Name of Governmental Agency:

         Life Premiums:

         Health Premiums:

b. Name of Governmental Agency:

         Life Premiums:

         Health Premiums:

Total premiums paid by Governmental Agencies:

TOTAL DEDUCTIONS

a. NET PREMIUMS

b.

insurance where the policy year premium for each life policy exceeds

$100,000) (First $100,000 of policy premium must be included in line a.1.)

b. NET PREMIUMS

* To receive lower rate, report must include a list of each individual life policy with a policy year premium exceeding

$100,000.  Include the policy number, policyholder name, insured name, effective date, premium amount, and date premium 

payments received.

GROSS WRITTEN PREMIUM:

* Individual Life Premiums over $100,000 (for policies of individual life 

NOTE: Report written premium for the insurance of property or risks resident or located in Alaska as required by 

Alaska statute 21.09.210.  When a policy or contract covers property, subjects, or risks located or resident in more 

than one state, allocate premium and report that portion that covers Alaska property, subjects, or risks
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SCHEDULE B. HEALTH INSURERS PREMIUM TAX CREDIT CALCULATION

The total credits claimed cannot be more than the tax liability

a. Cash Contribution to Educational Institutions (AS 21.96.070)

1. Total Amount of Contribution

2. 50 Percent of first $100,000 of Contributions

3. 100 Percent of next $200,000 of Contributions

4. 50 Percent of the contributions exceeding $300,000

5. Education Premium Tax Credit  up to $5,000,000 (lines 2 + 3 + 4)

6. Tax Liability (lines 1a & 1b, on page 1)

7. Educational Premium Tax Credit

NOTE: Include copy of check or other Limited to the lower of $5,000,000 or tax liability 

verification of contribution.

b. Comprehensive Health Insurance Association (CHIA) Assessment (AS 21.55.220)

8. 2014 Assessment Amount

9. 50 Percent of the Assessment

10. Tax Liability (lines 1a & 1b, on page 1)

11. CHIA Premium Tax Credit 

(lesser of line 9 or 10)

c. Film Production Tax Credit (AS 43.98)

12. Amount of Film Production Tax Credit 

13. Tax Liability (lines 1a & 1b, on page 1)

14. Film ProductionTax Credit

NOTE: Provide original film production tax 
(lesser of lines 12 or 13)

credit certificate TOTAL PREMIUM TAX CREDITS ALLOWED

(lines 7 + 11 + 14, limited to the tax liability)

NET PREMIUMS SUBJECT TO TAX: Alaska
State of 

Domicile

1. Life & Accident and Health & Property Net Premiums *

a. Premium Tax Rate 2.70%

b. Premium Tax (line 1 x line 1a)

2. Annuity Net Premiums NOT TAXED 

a. Premium Tax Rate N/A

b. Premium Tax (line 3 x line 3a) N/A

3. Premium Tax Credit (Schedule B, lines a.7 + c.14 only)

4. Annual Statement Filing Fee $100

5. Certificate of Authority Continuation Fee $2,250

6. Other Taxes and Fees:  Explanation: N/A
Attach explanation, if additional space needed

7. Total Taxes and Fees (lines 1b + 2b -3 + 4 + 5 + 6)

8.

(Do not include on page 1 if negative amount)

* Exclude premium amount exceeding $100,000 for an individual life policy

Retaliatory Fee (line 7 State of Domicile minus Alaska)

RETALIATORY SCHEDULE
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