
  

 
AUTOMOBILE SERVICE CORPORATIONS 

 
AUTOMOBILE SERVICE CORPORATION NAME:                               Certificate of Authority Number: __________ 
 
 
REQUIRED FILINGS IN THE STATE OF:   ALASKA     Filings Made During the Year 2016 
 
 

 (1) 
Check-

list 

(2) 
Line 

# 

(3) 
 

REQUIRED FILINGS FOR THE ABOVE STATE 
** 

(4) 
NUMBER OF 

COPIES* 

(5) 
 

DUE DATE 

(6) 
FORM 

SOURCE 

(7) 
APPLICABLE 

NOTES 
Domestic Foreig

n 
         
  I.  FINANCIAL STATEMENTS      
 1 Unaudited Financial Statement 1 1 3/1 Company Note K 
 2 Quarterly Financial Statement 1 xxx 5/15, 8/15, 11/15 Company Foreign: File if 

required by director 
        
  I.  AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS      
        
 3 Audited Financial Statement 1 1 6/1 Company Can be filed by 3/1 in 

lieu of  unaudited 
Financial Statement  

        
  II.  STATE REQUIRED FILINGS      
 4 Annual Premium Tax Payment   3/1 State Note D 
 5 Annual Premium Tax Report 1 1 3/1 State  
 6 Bond Continuation Certificate 1 1 Annually when last 

certificate expires 
Other  

 7 Designation of Persons to Contact  1 1 ONLY IF CHANGED State  ONLY IF CHANGED 
 8 Designation of Person to Receive Service of 

Process 
1 1 ONLY IF 

CHANGED 
State  ONLY IF CHANGED 

 9 Filings Checklist (with Column 1 completed) xxx xxx none State For corporation use 
only 

 10 Quarterly Tax Payments   5/31, 8/31, 11/30 State Note L 
 11 Quarterly Tax Reports 1 1 5/31, 8/31, 11/30 State Note L 
 12 State Filing Fees   3/1 State Note C 
        
        

*If  xxx appears in this column, this state does not require this filing, 
 
**  Alaska Administrative Code 3 AAC 21.485 – Filings required for an automobile service corporation.  



 NOTES AND INSTRUCTIONS   
A Required Filings Contact Person: 

 
Rebecca Nesheim, Tax Auditor (907) 465-2584 
rebecca.nesheim@alaska.gov 

B Mailing Address: 
 
 

Corporation Financial Filings:                Chief Financial Examiner 
                                                                Alaska Division of Insurance 
                                                                550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1560 
                                                                Anchorage, AK   99501-3567 
 
Annual Premium Tax Report:                 Tax Auditor 
  Express Mail:                                        Alaska Division of Insurance 
  333 Willoughby Ave. 9th floor              P. O. Box 110805 
  Juneau, AK 99801                                 Juneau, AK   99811-0805  

Optional: OPTins for tax report  
and payment                                                                  

C Mailing Address for Filing Fees: 
 
 

Fees must be paid by the Automated Clearing House payment method.  The 
Annual Premium Tax Report includes the $100 Annual Statement Filing Fee and 
$2,250 Certificate of Authority Continuation Fee.  Optional is to pay via OPTins 
through the NAIC 

D Mailing Address for Premium Tax Payments: 
 

Taxes must be paid by the Automated Clearing House payment method.  The 
Annual Premium Tax Report is to be filed at the address in Note B.  Optional is to 
pay via OPTins through the NAIC 

E Delivery Instructions: 
 

All filings must be postmarked no later than indicated due date.  If due date falls 
on a weekend or holiday, then the deadline is extended to the next business day. 
Optional is to file annual premium tax report and attachments via OPTins through 
the NAIC 

F Late Filings and Payments: 
 
 

Late Financial Statement Filings Penalty:  $100.00 for each day the corporation 
fails to file in the form required and within the time established to the director. 
  
Late Tax Payment Penalty:  $50 per month plus five percent of the tax due per 
month up to a maximum of $250 plus 25 percent of the tax due and interest of one 
percent per month.  If not paid by the Automated Clearing House payment 
method, a penalty of 25 percent of the tax due, with a minimum of $100 and 
maximum of $2,000. 

G Original Signatures: 
 

Two original signatures of officers required on all filings for domestic 
corporations.  Facsimile accepted for foreign corporations. 

H Amended Filings: 
 

Amended filings must be filed within 30 days of completion along with an 
explanation of the amendment and submitted in the same format to the same 
address as the original filing. 

I Exceptions from normal filings: 
 

Letter to Chief Financial Examiner 
               Alaska Division of Insurance 
               550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1560 
               Anchorage, AK   99501-3567 

J Filings new, discontinued or modified 
materially since last year: 

None 

K Unaudited Financial Statement Must have a verification attached to unaudited financial statements due March 1.  
Example: 
I, ____________(printed name), ____________(title), and I, 
____________(printed name), ______________(title), hereby certify that the 
attached Financial Statements have been prepared on a GAAP basis and are true 
and correct statements of the assets and liabilities and of the condition and affairs 
of _____________( Name of Automobile Service 
Corporation) as of December 31, _______. 
                                                                          
/Signed Name/ 
                                                                         
/Signed Name/ 
  

L Quarterly Tax Reports and Estimated Tax 
Payments: 

If the 2015 tax was $10,000 or more, the corporation is required to make 
estimated quarterly tax payments throughout 2016. See Note F for late payments. 

M Division of Insurance Web Site:  www.insurance.alaska.gov 
  

http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/insurance


General Instructions 
For Corporations to Use Checklist 

 
 
Column (1) (Checklist) 
 
Corporations may use the checklist to submit to a state, if requested by the state.  Corporations should copy the checklist and 
place an “x” in this column when mailing information to the state. 
 
Column (2) (Line #) 
 
Line # refers to a standard filing number used for easy reference. This line number may change from year to year. 
 
Column (3) (Required Filings) 
 
Name of item or form to be filed. 
 
Column (4) (Number of Copies) 
 
Indicates the number of copies that each foreign or domestic corporation is required to file for each type of form.  
 
Column (5) (Due Date) 
 
Indicates the date on which the corporation must file the form. 
 
Column (6) (Form Source) 
 
This column contains one of three words:  “State,”  “Company” or “Other.”  If this column contains “State,” the state will 
make the forms available online with the filing instructions.  If this column contains “Company,” the corporation, or its 
representative (e.g., its CPA firm), is expected to provide the form based upon the appropriate state instructions.  If the 
column says “Other” the form must be obtained from other required source. 
 
Column (7) (Applicable Notes) 
 
This column contains references to the Notes and Instructions that apply to each item listed on the checklist. The corporation 
should carefully read these notes before submitting a filing.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 




