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FROM:

THE STATE Department of Commerce, Community,

of AL ASKA and Economic Development

ALCOHOL AND MARIJUANA CONTROL OFFICE
GOVERENOE MICHAEL J. DUMLEAVY 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1600
Anchorage, AK 99501

Main: 907.269.0350

MEMORANDUM

Bob Klein, Chair, and Members of the DATE: February 19, 2019
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

Erika McConnell, Director RE: Regulations Project: Online
Server Education Course; Fee for
Server Education Course

Statutory AS 04.06.100(a): “The board shall adopt regulations governing the manufacture,
Authority: barter, sale, consumption, and possession of alcoholic beverages in the state that are

Status:

consistent with this title and necessary to carry out the purpose of this title in a
manner that will protect the public health, safety, and welfare.”

Public comment period closed February 8, 2019

Proposals: This proposal removes the restriction that only persons who live in rural areas, as
defined in the regulation, may take a server education course on the internet. The proposal would
allow any person to take the server education course on the internet. In addition, the proposal adds
an $800 fee for the initial review of a server education course and for the required three-year review.

e There are multiple public comments that are not in support of this proposed change. Reasons
given include the benefits of being able to ask questions of an instructor, verification of the card
holder actually having taken the test, the benefits of role-playing, and keeping jobs in Alaska. If
the board is disinclined to adopt these changes, I recommend putting the following changes out
for public comment:

Amend 3 AAC 304.465(e) as follows:

Rural premises are those licensed premises not on a statewide road system or further than 50
miles on a road system from a community where a course is held [OFFERED] at least once
every month.

This change would address the issue we hear from licensees of classes being cancelled or
instructors not showing up. In December or early January, AMCO requested information from
CHARR regarding how many classes have been cancelled in the last year or two, but the
information has not yet been provided.

Repealing 3 AAC 304.465(j) should be retained.
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In addition, I recommend the following change that is not included in the current proposal:
Amend 3 AAC 304.465(c)(8) to change “’happy hour’ laws;” to “pricing and marketing.”

The use of the term “happy hour” is a colloquial expression that does not fully encompass
Alaska laws relating to drink pricing, and this has been a source of confusion for licensees.

e One of the public comments objects to the $800 fee and states that six hours of investigator
time comes to $250. In fact, six hours of investigator time for a new investigator paid at the
lowest range is $462. I would find a $500 fee acceptable, for both new classes and the three year
review, as a full review of the entire course must happen every three years.

Board options:
e Vote to adopt.
e Amend and put out for public comment.
e Send back to staff for additional revisions.

Background: AS 04.21.025 requites a licensee and a licensee’s agent/employee who sells or serves
alcoholic beverages to complete an alcohol server education course approved by the board for eight
license types. Each course is required to cover 16 subjects, and the licensee/agent/employee is
required to keep proof of successful completion of the course on the licensed premises during
working hours. A card indicating successful completion of a course is valid for three years. The
board is required to review each server education course at least once every three years.

The statute specifically states that “the board shall consider the needs of both urban and rural
licensees regarding access to an approved alcohol server education course.” This language has been
in statute at least since 1993, before the internet was widely available.

In regulations adopted by the board at 3 AAC 304.465(e), it states:

Rural premises are those licensed premises not on a statewide road system or further than 50
miles on a road system from a community where a course is offered at least once every
month. For the purpose of training for rural premises, course providers may provide video
or audiotapes and written materials to a licensee that cover all topics required under (c) of
this section, and conduct telephonic question and answer sessions for the students. A course
provider may present training for rural premises by means of an Internet-based program. An
Internet-based program must include steps that the course provider takes to verify the
identity of the persons receiving the instruction, testing, and certification of alcohol server
training.

This means that the only individuals permitted to take an internet-based server education course are
those persons who live either off a statewide road system, or further than 50 miles on a road system
from a community where a course is offered at least once a month.

Alcohol server education is required in some states and voluntary in others. According to 2003
information found online, eleven states have mandatory server education. I was able to find
information on nine states, and in each of the nine, required server education is available in person
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and online. (Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah,
Washington, Wisconsin) Although I did not do an exhaustive search, I could find no state other
than Alaska that prohibits or limits online server education.

Close to 20 percent of all NOV:s issued to alcohol licensees are for expired or missing server
education. Allowing for online server education would provide licensees and their agents and
employees with more opportunities to take a server education course at a time that is most
convenient for their lives.

Anecdotally we have heard that people are unable to attend classes that are 50 miles away, or that
scheduled classes are cancelled for lack of enough people signing up. We have requested class
records from CHARR regarding where and when they have offered classes and whether or not the
classes have been held or canceled, but CHARR has not provided the requested information. If the
board does not wish to allow on-line

AS 04.21.025 requires the board to review each server education course at least once every three
years. Sometime in the past, the board delegated the review of new server education courses, and the
three-year review of approved courses, to the enforcement staff. Staff review of courses is time
consuming, often requiring multiple reviews when changes are necessary to conform to the statutes
and regulations. A fee for a new server education course and for the three year review of an
approved server education course would pay for staff’s time.
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3 AAC 304.465 is repealed and readopted to read:

3 AAC 304.465. Alcohol server education course. (a) While selling or serving
alcoholic beverages, a person required under AS 04.21.025 to complete an alcohol server
education course and the person's on-duty supervisor shall carry or have available to show a
current course card or a photocopy of the card certifying completion of an approved alcohol
server education course. The alcohol server education course card is effective for three years
from the date of issuance during which time the person shall complete another approved course
or successfully complete a written test demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects as
required by AS 04.21.025(c). The card must include the name and date of birth of the card
holder, the name of the course, and the date of expiration of the card. If the card does not include
a photograph of the holder, the person shall also carry a valid identification under 3 AAC
304.425(b). The card or a photocopy of the card must be shown upon request of a peace officer
or board representative. If the person cannot show a current card or a copy of it on file on the
premises, or show a date of hire less than 30 days earlier, the person shall immediately cease
selling or serving alcoholic beverages, or checking identification.

(b) State or nationally recognized organizations or associations that address the subject
of responsible alcoholic beverage service may obtain approval of an alcohol server education
course by making written application on forms provided by the board. The application must
include the course information to be provided to students, any video or audio presentations that
will be used, the written test required under (d) of this section, detailed lesson plans, and if

applicable, a description of the qualifications of and training provided to course instructors.
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(c) In addition to written materials and audio and video presentations provided to
students, an instructor shall be available during an alcohol server education course that is not an
Internet-based program to answer questions from students. Subjects covered by alcohol server
education courses must include:

(1) function of Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, licensing procedures, and
types of licenses;
(2) server responsibilities to the employer, patron, and law;
(3) criminal and civil liability, including discussion of criminal negligence
standard;
(4) effects of alcohol consumption, including
(A) effect of food on alcohol consumption;
(B) blood alcohol levels;
(C) identifying a drunken person; and
(D) fetal alcohol syndrome and fetal alcohol effect;
(5) drunken persons and intervention;
(6) underage persons;
(A) checking identification;
(B) identifying valid identification; and
(C) obtaining "statement of proof of age™;
(7) state and local hours of service and cutting off service;
(8) "happy hour" laws;
(9) restaurant designation;

(10) other permits;
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(12) local option provisions;
(12) warning signs;
(13) gambling, drugs, and prostitution;
(14) adulteration;
(15) penalties for licensees and their agents and employees; and
(16) sale by package stores in response to written orders.

(d) A provider of an alcohol server education course shall issue a card as described under
(@) of this section to a student who successfully completes the course. Before issuing the card,
the course provider shall require the student to pass a written test that demonstrates that the
student understands the course subjects.

(e) A course provider may present training by means of an Internet-based program. An
Internet-based program must include steps that the course provider takes to verify the identity of
the persons receiving the instruction, testing, and certification of alcohol server training. The
verification process must be approved by the board and may be reviewed and reevaluated on an
annual basis to determine its validity and effectiveness. The students shall, under the supervision
of the licensee or licensee's manager, take the test required under (d) of this section. The licensee
or licensee's manager, whoever supervises the test, shall certify to the course provider that the
student did not receive outside help in taking the test and that no copies of the test have been
kept.

(F) The board will issue a certificate of approval for each alcohol server education course
the board approves. Certificates of approval may not be transferred.

(9) A course provider shall
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(1) maintain records of each student's participation, and completion of server
training, including rural training;

(2) use, at a minimum, the course approved by the board; and

(3) make its records available to peace officers or board investigators.

(h) An organization or association that has received board approval for an alcohol server
education course shall apply for board reapproval within 33 months of last board approval.
Application must be made on a form provided by the board. If application for reapproval is not
approved by the board within 36 months after last board approval, training must cease. The
application for reapproval must state the following for training provided since the last
application:

(1) the number and names of students trained,;
(2) the locations and dates of training; and
(3) the names of instructors.

(i) The board will, in its discretion, terminate approval of a course if the board
determines that the course is not being presented as approved, that records are not being
maintained as required, that students are being certified who have not successfully completed the
course, or for other reasons in the public interest. The board will, in its discretion, make its
termination of approval effective immediately, if the board determines that immediate
termination is in the public interest.

(1) A provider of an alcohol server education course approved by the board under this
section shall advise the board of the methods used to train and certify the instructors providing

the training.
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(k) The fee for a new server education course or for reapproval of a server education
course is $800. (Eff. 4/1/94, Register 129; am 8/24/2001, Register 159; am 12/13/2009, Register

192; am 9/16/2017, Register 223;am __ /| , Register )

Authority:  AS 04.06.090 AS 04.06.110 AS 04.21.025

AS 04.06.100
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3 AAC 304.465 is amended to read:

3 AAC 304.465. Alcohol server education course. (a) While selling or serving
alcoholic beverages, a person required under AS 04.21.025 to complete an alcohol server
education course and the person's on-duty supervisor shall carry or have available to show a
current course card or a photocopy of the card certifying completion of an approved alcohol
server education course. The alcohol server education course card is effective for three years
from the date of issuance during which time the person shall complete another approved course
or successfully complete a written test demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects as
required by AS 04.21.025(¢c). The card must include the name and date of birth of the card
holder, the name of the course, and the date of expiration of the card. If the card does not include
a photograph of the holder, the person shall also carry a valid identification under 3 AAC
304.425(b). The card or a photocopy of the card must be shown upon request of a peace officer
or board representative. If the person cannot show a current card or a copy of it on file on the
premises, or show a date of hire less than 30 days earlier, the person shall immediately cease
selling or serving alcoholic beverages, or checking identification.

(b) State or nationally recognized organizations or associations that address the subject
of responsible alcoholic beverage service may obtain approval of an alcohol server education
course by making written application on forms provided by the board. The application must
include the course information [BOOK] to be provided to students, any video or audio
presentations that will be used, the written test required under (d) of this section, detailed lesson
plans, and if applicable, a description of the qualifications of and training provided to course
instructors. [THE APPLICATION MUST IDENTIFY THE COMMUNITIES WHERE THE

COURSE WILL BE PRESENTED AND THE FREQUENCY OF THE PRESENTATION. THE
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APPLICANT SHALL EXPLAIN HOW RURAL PREMISES WILL BE SERVED UNDER (E)
OF THIS SECTION.]

(c) In addition to written materials and audio and video presentations provided to
students, an instructor shall be available during an alcohol server education course_that is not an

Internet-based program to answer questions from students. Subjects covered by alcohol server

education courses must include:
(1) function of Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, licensing procedures, and
types of licenses;
(2) server responsibilities to the employer, patron, and law;
(3) criminal and civil liability, including discussion of criminal negligence
standard;
(4) effects of alcohol consumption, including
(A) effect of food on alcohol consumption;
(B) blood alcohol levels;
(C) identifying a drunken person; and
(D) fetal alcohol syndrome and fetal alcohol effect;
(5) drunken persons and intervention;
(6) underage persons;
(A) checking identification;
(B) identifying valid identification; and
(C) obtaining "statement of proof of age";
(7) state and local hours of service and cutting off service;

(8) "happy hour" laws;
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(9) restaurant designation;
(10) other permits;
(11) local option provisions;
(12) warning signs;
(13) gambling, drugs, and prostitution;
(14) adulteration;
(15) penalties for licensees and their agents and employees; and
(16) sale by package stores in response to written orders.

(d) A provider of an alcohol server education course shall issue a card as described under
(a) of this section to a student who successfully completes the course. Before issuing the card,
the course provider shall require the student to pass a written test that demonstrates that the
student understands the course subjects.

(e) [RURAL PREMISES ARE THOSE LICENSED PREMISES NOT ON A
STATEWIDE ROAD SYSTEM OR FURTHER THAN 50 MILES ON A ROAD SYSTEM
FROM A COMMUNITY WHERE A COURSE IS OFFERED AT LEAST ONCE EVERY
MONTH. FOR THE PURPOSE OF TRAINING FOR RURAL PREMISES, COURSE
PROVIDERS MAY PROVIDE VIDEO OR AUDIOTAPES AND WRITTEN MATERIALS TO
A LICENSEE THAT COVER ALL TOPICS REQUIRED UNDER (C) OF THIS SECTION,
AND CONDUCT TELEPHONIC QUESTION AND ANSWER SESSIONS FOR THE
STUDENTS.] A course provider may present training [FOR RURAL PREMISES] by means of
an Internet-based program. An Internet-based program must include steps that the course
provider takes to verify the identity of the persons receiving the instruction, testing, and

certification of alcohol server training. The verification process must be approved by the board
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and may be reviewed and reevaluated on an annual basis to determine its validity and
effectiveness. The students shall, under the supervision of the licensee or licensee's manager,
take the test required under (d) of this section. The licensee or licensee's manager, whoever
supervises the test, shall certify to the course provider that the student did not receive outside
help in taking the test and that no copies of the test have been kept.

(f) The board will issue a certificate of approval for each alcohol server education course
the board approves. Certificates of approval may not be transferred.

(g) A course provider shall

(1) maintain records of each student's participation, and completion of server
training, including rural training;

(2) use, at a minimum, the course approved by the board; and

(3) make its records available to peace officers or board investigators.

(h) An organization or association that has received board approval for an alcohol server
education course shall apply for board reapproval within 33 months of last board approval.
Application must be made on a form provided by the board. If application for reapproval is not
approved by the board within 36 months after last board approval, training must cease. The
application for reapproval must state the following for training provided since the last
application:

(1) the number and names of students trained;
(2) the locations and dates of training; and
(3) the names of instructors.
(1) The board will, in its discretion, terminate approval of a course if the board

determines that the course is not being presented as approved, that records are not being
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maintained as required, that students are being certified who have not successfully completed the
course, or for other reasons in the public interest. The board will, in its discretion, make its
termination of approval effective immediately, if the board determines that immediate
termination is in the public interest.

(J) Repealed. / / [FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS SECTION AND

AS 04.21.025, A PERSON WHO, BEFORE 4/1/94, SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED:

(1) TECHNIQUES OF ALCOHOL MANAGEMENT (ALASKA CABARET,
HOTEL, RESTAURANT AND RETAILERS ASSOCIATION);

(2) TRAINING IN INTERVENTION PROCEDURES FOR SERVERS
(HEALTH COMMUNICATIONS, INC.);

(3) COME OF AGE (TESORO NORTHSTAR CO.);

(4) SERVE SAFE (ALASKA PROFESSIONAL BARTENDER SCHOOL);

(5) PROVIDING ALCOHOL WITH CARE AND EMPATHY (STUART
ANDERSON CATTLE CO.);

(6) RESPONSIBLE ESTABLISHMENTS ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION
TRAINED SERVERS (BARTENDERS AGAINST DRUNK DRIVING); OR

(7) ALCOHOL SERVERS KNOWLEDGE (ALASKA TRAINING
ACADEMY), HAS COMPLETED AN APPROVED COURSE, BUT SHALL COMPLETE A
COURSE APPROVED UNDER (F) OF THIS SECTION WITHIN 36 MONTHS OF 4/1/93.]

(k) A provider of an alcohol server education course approved by the board under this

section shall advise the board of the methods used to train and certify the instructors providing

the training.



February 6, 2019
AMCO Board
Re: Online Server Education

| am totally opposed to this suggestion to switch to 100% online education courses. In 1984
Alaska CHARR proposed this concept of server education and it was accepted by the State.
Since that time Alaska CHARR has provided this service to the industry while complying with
Alaska State regulations. Alaska also has one of the highest compliance rates in the country.
This does not just happen, but is a direct result of what is learned. Some of this is over time but
a lot occurs because of face-to-face education in the TAP classes. This is the number one
reason why this proposal is just plain BAD!

Let us take a look at why it is positive to have an in-person class setup. Something that has
worked for the last 45 years for the majority of the people that have held TAP cards.

The goal is to provide the highest-quality education to those that are responsible for serving to
the general public as a whole. This proposal would diminish the quality and effectiveness of the
education process, because we all know that learning is much better attained with the
instructor present and the interaction that can take place between them and the other
students. Many of these instructors are highly-experienced industry professionals that can
answer many of the questions and scenarios that are brought forth by the students, thus
everyone learns many more things.

How can you verify who is really taking the test when it occurs online or that the person is not
cheating? We have many individuals that receive training in another language, something that
is currently not offered online. Those that do not speak English might be more likely to have
someone take the class for them.

The realism that a student cannot see and feel a fake ID like they can in class and to learn by
looking at an ID are the little things they need to be aware of.

Students cannot Role Play. We all know this has worked well from grade school on as a
learning tool in the classroom. Some examples would be to how effectively handle a drunken
person by refusing service, how to get an intoxicated person to not drive. Both of these issues
are extremely important and the track record for this can always improve but the existing
classroom format has worked fairly well for the last 45 years.

We would be taking away jobs from Alaskans and exporting them to outside companies that do
not even step foot into our establishments.
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What is to insure that the online material is updated regularly so that the education is always
up to date? Alaska CHARR developed their own Education course after utilizing TAM materials
for many, many years. We worked with the State and this Department to make this happen so
that the Instructors could provide the best possible education to our members while following
the State Statutes and Regulations.

The outcome of one of the highest Compliance Rates in the Country then speaks for itself. Why
dramatically change something that is working so well!!

It has also been proposed to utilize Indian ID cards. This suggestion is just wrought with danger
to itself and is just exposing the Industry and the State to additional major problems of
compliance, fraud, abuse, etc.

As always | appreciate your time and commitment to the industry and | can be contacted at any
time to answer further questions.

George H. Tipton

Multiple License owner and 60+ year resident
P.O. Box 5762

Ketchikan, Alaska 99901

Cell 907 617 3372

ghtipton@kpunet.net
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Alaska Cabaret, Hotel, keNGTH THROUSH UNITY Anchorage, AK 99503

Restaurant and Retailers Association (907) 274-8133 @ Fax (907) 274-8640
Toll Free In Alaska (800) 478-2427

February 8, 2019

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
amco.regs@alaska.gov

Re: Proposed Regulatory Changes Regarding Alcohol Server Education Courses
Dear members of the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board:

| will divide my comments regarding the proposed changes to the alcohol server education course
regulations into two categories:

Server Education Course Review Fee

While | agree that there should be a fee to cover the administrative costs of the Alcohol & Marijuana
Control Office (AMCO) staff review of a proposed server education course, the fee should be
appropriate and proportionate.

The ABC Board recently increased alcohol license application fees to $500 per new/transfer
application and $300 per renewal application. From my 7.5 years of experience reviewing and
processing alcohol license applications and working closely with the AMCO enforcement team, | can
say with certainty that the administrative costs of reviewing and processing a license application far
exceed those of reviewing an alcohol server education course.

| would recommend that the Board consider a $250 fee (~6 hours of investigator pay) for a new
alcohol server education course, since there is a relatively large amount of material that needs to be
reviewed. $800 is exorbitantly high — there is no logical reason why it would take a staff member 20+
hours to determine whether a proposed course meets requirements.

The reapproval fee should be minimal — maybe S50 — as staff-review time should be insignificant. As
far as | can tell, an application form for Board reapproval of an existing course (contemplated under 3
AAC 304.465(h)) does not exist. The regulatory requirements for reapproval state only minimal
information (number and names of students trained, locations and dates of training, and names of
instructors) must be provided on the application.

Online Server Education

In Ms. McConnell’s December 17, 2018 memo to the Board regarding her proposal for this project, the
two reasons provided for wanting to allow online server education statewide were that “no state
other than Alaska prohibits or limits online server education”, and that “close to 20 percent of all
NOVs (notices of violation) issued to alcohol licensees are for expired or missing server education”.

This document has been sent from the Alaska CHARR Headquarters Building, Office of the President & CEO
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| have done the exhaustive research, and there are actually nine states that require in-person alcohol
server training, including Colorado which allows a modified version via livestreaming.

Additionally, | reviewed every NOV brought before the Board over the past year and found that there
were notices regarding alcohol server education issued for 40 people. Here is the breakdown of those:
e 8 were for people who actually had current cards — they were just not on the licensed
premises;
e 17 were for people in locations that already qualify for online training, either because they
meet the “rural” definition, or because a regular course is not offered within 50 miles, yet they
did not take it for whatever reason; and
e 15 were for people in areas where in-person training is required.

Of those 15 people who required in-person training:
e 6 either don’t speak English or are ESL, and they needed to take the Korean or Spanish classes
(which CHARR trainers provide but are not available online in any state); and
e 8 were chefs, administrative, or other staff who do not check IDs or serve alcohol and did not
realize that they needed the training.

While the above figures are sufficient to justify closing this project without action, there are far more
important reasons why the proposed language should not be adopted. One of the key elements of the
existing alcohol server training in Alaska is the face-to-face attention an instructor offers. Examples of
altered or false identification cards are passed around so that students can feel the difference. This is
critical now that the new Real IDs are mandatory in our state. Questions from students on nuances of
the law can be answered on the spot by highly-experienced trainers, which would no longer be
available under the proposed changes.

Instructors are currently able to verify who is attending training sessions, that the students are
actually going through the course materials, and that there isn’t cheating while test taking. Last night, |
spent about 25 minutes taking one of the online courses linked from AMCOQO’s website (review
Attachment A for the certificate of completion). More specifically, | quickly flipped through the course
materials without reading much of anything, selecting random answers to the test questions, and
pretending to be my husband (who was across town). | entered his name and an Anchorage address
(which should require in-person training), and the only student identification verification was when |
was asked three questions at the beginning of the test, none of which | answered correctly
(Attachment B). Neither my husband nor | learned a single thing from the course because we were
never forced to review the material.

While flipping quickly through the course, one of the information boxes did catch my eye (review
Attachment C — black and yellow box on the right). The text in the box states that one of the
mandatory warning signs a licensee is required to post on the premises must read “A person under 21
years of age who enters these premises in violation of law could, under AS 04.16.049(e), be civilly
liable for damages of $1,000.” The civil penalty had been increased to $1,500 in 2010 with SB 194
(Attachment D), yet the information provided in this particular course has not been updated in the
respective nine years.

Removing the requirement for in-person training for most servers would allow out-of-state large
corporations to create subpar courses that meet the absolute minimum requirements set forth in
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3 AAC 304.465. That would that take away jobs from dozens of Alaskans and funnel Alaskan money
outside of the state. More importantly, those out-of-state providers do not pay close attention to the
frequently-changing Alaskan laws and regulations, much less update their course material to comply
with the changes. This sets business owners and their employees up for failure and puts Alaskans at
risk.

Numerous studies on alcohol server training have been conducted by public health organizations and
universities around the world (Swedish National Institute of Public Health; Prevention Research Center
of Berkeley, California; Georgia Institute of Technology; National Drug Research Institute of Perth,
Australia). Those studies have revealed the most important reason for requiring in-person alcohol
server training — learning skills through role playing. Their findings all included statements similar to
this one from a peer-reviewed scientific publication written by five professors from the University of
Minnesota’s Division of Epidemiology, School of Public Health:

Managers and servers need to increase their skills and confidence in refusing service to
underage and intoxicated patrons even in emotional situations such as when a patron is
belligerent or when the underage customer is close to the server’s own age. Breaking
down the desired behavior into smaller components and having the servers repeat and
practice those components — for example, through role playing — leads to greater skill
development and self-efficacy.

While online courses are arguably more convenient than those provided in person, convenience and
NOV statistics cannot be the only factors used to determine whether this proposal is in the best
interests of the public — which it clearly is not. It is imperative to the welfare of Alaskans that you not
adopt these proposed changes. The real goal is to provide the highest-quality education possible to
those who are responsible for serving this highly-regulated substance to the public —in order to
increase public health and safety — not just to improve compliance statistics.

Alaska CHARR staff members have had multiple discussions with AMCO staff over the years about
ways in which alcohol server training can be administered online to students without sacrificing
quality and integrity (eg: requiring ~30 minutes of roleplaying via livestream/video conference, etc.),
but the draft before you does not capture any of those recommendations. If the Board is interested in
pursuing more online training opportunities for servers, it should send this project entirely back to the
drawing board to ensure that it be done responsibly and with high standards. | would be happy to
work with AMCO staff on future drafts.

Thank you for your consideration and interest in continuing to adequately educate and protect
Alaskans.

Respectfully,

o

Sarah D. Oates
President & CEO
Alaska CHARR
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This Certificate of Completion of
eTIPS On Premise 3.0 - Alaska

provided by Health Communications, Inc.
is hereby granted to:

Wesley Canfield

For coursework completed on February 08, 2019

Certification documents to be sent to:
1503 W 31st Ave Ste 202, Anchorage, AK 99503-3682
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Please answer the following questions for Alaska

1. What color is your

vehicle? Purple
2. What is your eye

color? Y Y Brown
3. How many brothers

and/or sisters do you 2

have?

SAVE AND CONTINUE
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Warning Signs

Licensed establishments authorized to sell alcohol for consumption must post within the establishments the three warning signs as shown below.
Warning signs posted at your establishment must meet the following criteria:

= Size of the sign must be at least 11 inches by 14 inches, with lettering at least one-half inch high and in contrasting colors.

= Signs must be available upon request from the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office.

= Signs must be posted wherever alcohol is served, including any special events. A peace officer may issue a citation for a violation if this
requirement is not met.

Select each warning sign for more information. You must select each image and view the information before you can proceed to the next screen.
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Drinking alcoholic beverages such A person who provides alcoholic

as beer, wine, wine coolers, and beverages to a person under 21 years I enters these pramiti i ol atiaror
distilled spirits; or smoking of age, if convicted under AS 04.16.051, . P
cigarettes during pregnancy can could be imprisoned for up to five years law could, under AS 04.16.049(e), be

Beiae Bt dofeer J and fined up to $50,000. J Lciuilly liable for damages of 51,000.—1
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LAWS OF ALASKA

2010

Source Chapter No.
HCS CSSB 194(JUD) am H

AN ACT

Relating to penalties and civil damages for certain alcohol violations relating to minors and
persons under 21 years of age and relating to expiration of identification cards issued to
persons under 21 years of age.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

THE ACT FOLLOWSON PAGE 1
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AN ACT

Relating to penalties and civil damages for certain alcohol violations relating to minors and
persons under 21 years of age and relating to expiration of identification cards issued to

persons under 21 years of age.

* Section 1. AS 04.16.049(e) is amended to read:

(e) A licensee may bring a civil action against a person who violates this
section if the violation occurs on the premises of that licensee. If judgment is entered
in favor of the licensee, the court shall award civil damages in the amount of $1,500
[$1,000] and award reasonable costs and reasonable attorney fees allowed under the
Alaska Rules of Civil Procedure.

* Sec. 2. AS 04.16.065(a) is amended to read:

(@) A person who has attained 18 years of age, or an emancipated minor, who

violates AS 04.16.060 is, in addition to any criminal penalty provided by law, liablein

acivil action to the licensee for a penalty of $1,500 [$1,000] plus costs and reasonable

-1- Enrolled SB 194
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attorney fees.
* Sec. 3. AS 04.16.180 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

(e) In addition to other penalties provided in this chapter, the court may
require a person convicted of an offense under this chapter who was less than 21 years
of age at the time the person committed the offense to pay for and enroll in ajuvenile
alcohol safety action program if oneis available.

* Sec. 4. AS 04.21.080 is amended by adding a new paragraph to read:
(18) "juvenile alcohol safety action program™ means

(A) a juvenile alcohol safety action program developed and
implemented or approved by the Department of Health and Social Services
under AS 47.37,

(B) any other alcohol education or treatment program approved
by the Department of Health and Social Services under AS 47.37 if a program
described in (A) of this paragraph is not available in the community in which
the person resides; or

(C) aprogram or counseling approved by the court if a program
or treatment described in (A) of this paragraph is not avalable in the
community where the person resides.

* Sec. 5. AS 18.65.310 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

(K) Anidentification card issued to a person under 21 years of age expires 90

days after the person reaches 21 years of age.
* Sec. 6. AS 28.15.183(g) is amended to read:

(g) Except as provided under (h) of this section, the department may not issue
a new license or reissue a license to a person whose driver's license, permit, or
privilege to drive has been revoked under this section unless the person, if required to
participate in a juvenile alcohol safety action program, as defined in AS 04.21.080
[AS 04.16.050], has successfully completed any education or treatment recommended.

* Sec. 7. AS 28.15.211(g) is amended to read:

(g) Except as provided under AS 28.15.183(h), the department may not issue a
new license or reissue a license to a person whose driver's license has been revoked
under AS04.16.050, AS28.15.183, or 28.15.185 unless the person, if required to

Enrolled SB 194 -2-
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participate in ajuvenile alcohol safety action program, has successfully completed any
education or treatment recommended. In this subsection, "juvenile alcohol safety
action program” has the meaning given in AS 04.21.080 [AS 04.16.050].

* Sec. 8. AS04.16.050(1)(2) is reped ed.
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February 6, 2019

My name is Silvia Villamides, executive director of the Alaska Hospitality Retailers representing over 450
members in the state of Alaska under “one voice”. This writing coveys our reasons as to why we
support alcohol online training.

Currently, we offer our classroom alcohol training through TIPS. Since 1983, TIPS (Training for
Intervention ProcedureS) has been the global leader in education and training for the responsible
service, sale, and consumption of alcohol. Programs focus on preventing underage drinking, intoxication,
drunk driving, and the general misuse of alcohol. Specifically, TIPS training provides the skills and
confidence for servers and sellers to intervene in order to avert alcohol-related tragedies. TIPS is trained
in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and sixty other countries worldwide. In Alaska alone, there
are 16 active certified TIPS trainers, and more than 25,000 TIPS-trained servers and sellers. TIPS is one of
three approved AMCO alcohol server education providers. TIPS offer both online (rural areas) and
classroom training throughout the state, meaning TIPS has a program in place now.

Online training will allow servers and sellers of alcohol to take the course when it is convenient for
them. The flexibility of online training makes it an ideal solution for alcohol servers not only in rural
areas, but also for those with busy schedules who may not be able to attend an in-person class at the
time it is offered in the vicinity.

Currently, AMCO Marijuana board offers online training, and the Department of Health offers online
training for employee food handlers as for the managers food certification.

Our association, makes no money from the training, we as a responsible association, simply would like
to see our staff trained as it is the responsible thing to do by making all training needs convenient and
accessible.

In your proposed changes to the alcohol server education course, we would like to point out two (2)
items for your consideration.

1. Section (e) requires the licensee or licensee’s manager, whoever supervises the test, shall
certify to the course provider that the student did not receive outside help in taking the test
and that no copies of the test have been kept. This provision is calling for a proctored exam
which defeats the purpose of internet-based training. TIPS can have the student certify via an
affidavit that they didn’t “receive outside help in taking the test and that no copies of the test
have been kept,”. We would be opposed to requiring third-party proctoring as it isn’t necessary
and there is no other state that requires this added step.

2. We encourage the ABC board to consider requiring that Internet-based providers also be
required to offer an approved classroom version of the program. This proposed revision would
prevent outside IT companies that have little to no expertise in the field of alcohol server
training from entering the market.

On behalf of the Alaska Hospitality Retailers Board of Directors, we thank you for your consideration.

Respectfully,
Silvia Villamides



February 8, 2019

RE: Online Server Education
Members of the AMCO Board:

I am writing today to inform you of my opposition to the suggestion that server education in Alaska be
moved to an online format.

| am a life-long Alaska resident and heavily involved in the Southeast Alaska business community as a
Board member for Southeast Conference, the Greater Ketchikan Chamber of Commerce, and Ketchikan
CHARR. | work full-time as an Account Manager for Alaska Marine Lines, but | also enjoy working as a
part-time bartender at the Sourdough Bar here in Ketchikan. Needless to say, | am a pro-business
advocate and a fan of the hospitality industries.

What | have learned over time is that the public is supportive of industries that are regulated well and
regulated efficiently—whether the industry be hospitality or fishing or oil and gas. Industries that self-
regulate well and cooperate with government are seen even more favorably. As someone that supports
business, entrepreneurship, and growth in the Alaskan economy, it seems to me that we should be
supportive of procedures that encourage this sort of behavior from businesses and reduce negative
externalities associated with a particular industry—whether they be real or merely public perception.

Alaska CHARR, which represents the hospitality industry, has provided server education to both
members and non-members alike for many, many years; this has made the Alaskan hospitality industry,
in my opinion, a shining example of the sort of self-regulation and cooperation with Alaska law that |
referenced above.

Given this, it seems extremely unwise to make the switch from Alaska CHARR’s hands-on,
comprehensive server education classes to an online course format. | hold a TAP card, and | can tell you
that without the ability to ask questions of my instructor, interact with other students in my class, touch
and feel real IDs, and understand in a classroom format the gravity of my responsibilities as a bartender,
| would not be able to represent the industry as well as | do when | am behind the bar. Additionally, |
don’t believe that an online course can be properly monitored to ensure that cheating does not occur.
While online education may work for some curricula, an industry that is heavily regulated and which
places individuals in a position of liability for the behavior of themselves, their customers, and their
employer requires more serious treatment.



| believe that the move to online server education will degrade the quality of training provided to
servers and bartenders in our state and, in turn, be the cause of mistakes and misunderstandings that
will degrade public trust in the industry and tarnish public perception of food and beverage
establishments.

As a pro-business advocate, believer in a diversified Alaskan economy, and cheerleader for an enjoyable
quality of life for all Alaskans, | cannot support a move that would put the hospitality industry at risk in
this way. It is a bad move and that would be bad for business and bad for the people of Alaska who are
our customers. Period.

Sincerely,

Chelsea Goucher
Employee, Sourdough Bar
(907) 220-2133



1/29/2019
Dear Alcoholic Beverage Control Board members,

I am writing in response to the proposed regulation change to 04.21.025 Alcohol Server Education,
which would allow on line server education from anywhere in the state.

I have been teaching the TAP class in Juneau, Alaska for the past year and a half. Also, prior to working in
the alcohol industry, | was an educator in the Juneau School district for 17 years. In my experience, |
have found that the most valuable instruction and learning takes place when there Is a classroom setting
with instructor and student interaction. { have structured the TAP class to include opportunities for
students to share common experiences in pairs, small groups, and the large class setting, In addition,
students are able to ask questions that arise as a result of these discussions and during the presentation
of the curriculum. Typically my classes are a mixture of students who are just entering the industry, with
others who have several years of experience. The classroom setting allows for the novice to learn from
not only my instruction, but the expertise of their peers who have been in the industry for 3 years or
more. There are many difficult situations that can arise while serving alcohol in any capacity. The
classroom setting allows students to role play and practice such things as: proper techniques for
checking 1D’s, how to identify and handle fake ID’s, how to identify drunkenness, how to refuse service
to a drunken person in a way that is not discriminatory, other reasons to cut off a customer, and many
other common difficult situations. Furthermore, allowing the online course to be taken from anyone
anywhere in the State would have a negative impact on my business as TAP instructor for the Juneau
area. | have worked hard to accommodate the individuals and businesses in Juneau to offer courses on a
consistent basis and frequently enough to ensure all can participate.

in my opinion, where a classroom setting TAP class is available, students should still be required to
utilize that course.

Sincerely,

John Wahl

Juneau TAP Instructor
807-321-8006
ak_cache_2@hotmail.com
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February 7, 2019
Re: Proposal for on-line alcohol education training
ABC Board:

The Landing Hotel and Restaurant would like to see the alcohol server education stay as an in-
person training process rather than an on-line training process proposed. We feel this is important for
the reasons listed below:

e ltisimpossible to verify who is actually taking the test, and whether or not that person is
cheating.

e Students cannot touch and examine actual fake identification cards like they can in a class.

e Students do not get to role play — a very important component of teaching servers how to
effectively refuse service to a drunken person, or how to try to dissuade an intoxicated person
from operating a motor vehicle. Both of these issues are extremely important in this state,
particularly when there are many powerful/influential people who may need to be cut off in an
establishment. Studies show that particularly for alcohol server education, in-person training
and role playing is vital to effective training on this subject matter.

e Students cannot ask questions from highly-experienced industry members/instructors like they
can in class.

e Providers of strictly online courses do not ensure that the material being taught is updated with
often-changing statutes and regulations.

¢ We have several individuals who do not understand the English language and need some
assistance to understand fully what the trainer is discussing, which if on-line they are unable to
do and which is done now by the in-person trainer.

e This would be taking away many jobs from Alaskans and exporting them outside Alaska —
benefitting corporations.

e The primary goal here is to provide the highest-quality education to those who are responsible
for serving a highly-regulated substance to the public. This proposal would decrease the quality
and effectiveness of education provided to those who are in charge of making sure that alcohol
is being distributed to the public in a responsible manner. This is a huge public health and safety
issue.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Linda Peters
General Manager
KTN CHARR Board Member

3434 Tongass Avenue
Ketchikan, AK 99901
907-225-5166 Fax: 907-225-6900
landinghotel.com email: info@landinghotel.com



From: Donna Luther

To: CED AMCO REGS (CED sponsored)

Cc: STEVEN KANTOR; George Tipton; lindapeters@landinghotel.com; airport.lounge@me.com; Carrie M. Hm;
Chelsea Goucher

Subject: Online Server Education

Date: Friday, February 08, 2019 2:01:15 PM

February 8, 2019

AMCO Board

Re: Online Server Education

Having been in the liquor industry for 46 years, | am a current TAPs card holder & attend the TAPs
class on my renewal year.

| require all staff members to attend the 3 hour class on their renewal dates as well. Rather than
simply retest. Why? Because each class offers more insight, knowledge & updates on how to
responsibly serve the drinking public.

Each class, brings together in one room the experienced and unexperienced alcohol servers.

Each class, includes all current legal updates to the industry.

Each class, offers an assist to those who do not have English as their primary language. Or speak
little English and can read & comprehend even less.

Each class, insures that the server training subject matter is covered in a manner that actually
educates and offers a guarantee that the server / bartender can honestly pass the test required.
What | have seen over time in each class, is the positive interaction between the experienced and
inexperienced servers. Questions asked and clarified in a positive informative environment. An
environment that stresses, along with your hospitality skills you have a responsibility to understand
the Legalities & Liabilities to your position as a server/bartender.

While online training may work for some industries | believe it is a bad move to make the TAPS
training course an online course, considering the legalities & liabilities to such a heavily regulated
industry.

| believe the licensee deserves to have continued confidence in the education & testing process of
the employees so valuable to the success or failure of his business & safety of his customers.

| believe that attending a classroom TAP class is far more beneficial to the server/bartender & better
serves the licensee. The personal interaction of attending a class offers a platform for discussion and
clarification of many questions that online training simply cannot.

In 1984 Alaska CHARR, stepped up and recommended that alcohol server training be mandatory.
Since that time Alaska CHARR which represents the hospitality industry, has succeeded in having the
Highest Compliance Rates for the alcohol industry in the country. That is success of the highest
rating.

The program is not broken, SO WHY CHANGE IT NOW.

Let that success speak for itself, do not implement online server training.

Donna Luther ....Manager,

Sourdough Bar & Liquor

301 Front Street

Ketchikan, Alaska

907-225-2217

sourdoughbar@hotmail.com
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From: Thomas Manning

To: CED AMCO REGS (CED sponsored)
Subject: Server Education Program
Date: Friday, February 08, 2019 2:36:21 PM

I am writing to speak against the proposed regulation change to allow on-line server education programs.

The TAP program developed by CHARR in cooperation with AMCO staff offers both a clear interactive manual
explaining Alaska alcohol server regulations and law and a training opportunity that emphasizes communication
with experienced alcohol professionals. Each time I have taken the training program I have benefited from the real
world experiences offered from the TAP trainers and the professionals that are taking the training for recertification.
An on-line training program eliminates that interaction with alcohol professionals which I believe is the most
valuable part of the training program and certification process. Why weaken an important training program that
stresses responsible alcohol server practices by allowing an on-line class that really just offers convenience instead
of comprehensive training?

I encourage AMCO staff and Board members to support the TAP program and not allow regulation changes that
would replace it with an on-line training program.

Thank you for your consideration,

Tom Manning

Duck Creek Market

Juneau, Ak.
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February 7, 2019

Dear ABC Board,

I have some concerns with the pro
server education. Specifically, online exan
important subject.

Any type of online exam makes it r
has already taken the exam. Not to mentic
intended test-taker? It seems like it would
it out.

| believe Alaska does a good job of
exams change often enough to keep curre
issues, but how do we verify that out-of-st:z

current laws or not. With the system currer
recertified employees have taken a class z
A non-Alaskan organization does not ensu

Finally, how is a test-taker suppose
class? A picture or an explanation of a fake
would be easier to spot a fake-ID if you've
situation?”, in-person classes allow test tak

employee to freeze up when trying to refus

scenarios provide necessary experience a
online simply can't replicate.

I trust the board will reconsider the
don't see this proposed regulation benefitti

Thank You,

Marty Metiva
Director of Alaska Operations
Coming Atjractions Theatres
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ns don’t seem like the best way to test someone’s knowledge on this
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updating laws? The last thing any employe
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ind test instructed by people who know the current regulations well.
re that their tests keep with Alaska Law, which puts everyone at risk.
d to handle a fake-ID or roleplay real-life scenarios in an online

2-1D is not the same as seeing it with your own eyes. It seems like it
seen one before. And while a test might say “What you do in this
ters to get a chance to roleplay the scenario. No employer wants an
e a drink or urging someone to take a cab. Roleplaying these

nd training in handling these situations that answering a question

idea of allowing statewide server education to be taken online. |
ng Alaskans in any way.
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CHARR

@
PO Box 3910 Palmer, Ak 99645 907-830-1858 matsucharr.com matsucharr@gmail.com

Dear Alcoholic Beverage Control Board members,

| am writing in response to the proposed regulation change to 04.21.025 Alcohol Server Education,
which would allow on line server education from anywhere in the state.

Through classroom training, the alcohol industry in Alaska has made great strides in the prevention of
sales of alcohol to anyone underage by learning proper techniques for checking identification, how to
recognize fake ID’s and how to determine when someone is using someone else’s ID. Instilling
responsible alcohol service through classroom training has been taken to the next level by teaching
alcohol sellers in package store how to prevent third party sales attempts of alcohol from underage
persons who may be waiting in the parking lot for someone of age to purchase for them. Classroom
training is proven to be best method for learning how to recognize the signs of drunkenness and how to
deal with a drunken person who enters the premises through role playing and real life examples. Many
inexperienced alcohol servers & sellers are often times nervous and unsure how to deal with someone
who is attempting to purchase alcohol illegally. In a classroom setting, students are given an
opportunity to share with their industry peers experiences and proven methods for dealing with what
can sometimes be a difficult situation.

Best Regards,

Michele Shapiro
Executive Director
Mat-Su CHARR
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CHARR

®
PO Box 3910 Palmer, Ak 99645 907-830-1858 matsucharr.com matsucharr@gmail.com

Dear Alcoholic Beverage Control Board members,

| am writing in response to the proposed regulation change to 04.21.025 Alcohol Server Education,
which would allow on line server education from anywhere in the state.

Through classroom training, the alcohol industry in Alaska has made great strides in the prevention of
sales of alcohol to anyone underage by learning proper techniques for checking identification, how to
recognize fake ID’s and how to determine when someone is using someone else’s ID. Instilling
responsible alcohol service through classroom training has been taken to the next level by teaching
alcohol sellers in package store how to prevent third party sales attempts of alcohol from underage
persons who may be waiting in the parking lot for someone of age to purchase for them. Classroom
training is proven to be best method for learning how to recognize the signs of drunkenness and how to
deal with a drunken person who enters the premises through role playing and real life examples. Many
inexperienced alcohol servers & sellers are often times nervous and unsure how to deal with someone
who is attempting to purchase alcohol illegally. In a classroom setting, students are given an
opportunity to share with their industry peers experiences and proven methods for dealing with what
can sometimes be a difficult situation.

Through my 15 years of experience training industry members all over the state the importance of
responsible alcohol sales and service, | understand that servers and sellers of alcohol benefit greatly
from the highly experienced instructors who engage their students in the classroom setting.

Michele Shapiro
Executive Director
Mat-Su CHARR



February 7, 2019

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
550 W 7th Ave #1600
Anchorage, AK 99501

RE: Statewide Online Alcohol Server Education

| understand the board seeks to allow alcohol server education to be taken online. While | appreciate the
board trying to improve accessibility, I'm in a unique position as having taught thousands of students in
the TAP course and now in sales work with many of the Anchorage licensees on a daily basis. I'd like to
share some of the main points from industry members that may not have the time to write a public
comment regarding the proposed regulation:

1.

Employers can'’t afford to hire someone so green that they don’t know how to refuse service to
someone clearly too intoxicated or how to urge someone not to drive home. In person TAP
classes covers these type of scenarios with roleplaying, but online classes put everyone at risk by
not adequately covering these situations. In person classes shows the gravitas of decision
making in the moment for each server. | cannot tell you how many people to this day come up to
me to tell me how my personal stories from working behind the bar had impacted their decisions
while serving alcohol for the better.

Students won't be able to ask experienced industry members any questions if they are in an
online class. New servers will instead ask industry members at their work, forcing employers to
train new servers on subjects that should have been covered in class. Not having an experienced
industry members help train students in classes shifts the burden of education solely to the
employer.

Students won’t be able to handle a fake identification card in an online class. Having people
holding fake IDs and having a discussion about what to look for is one of the most valuable tools
for an in person class. It also shows them the resources that are available to them and how to
use it, i.e. the ID resource guide.

Educators and trainers are worried that they might lose their job to non-Alaskan corporations that
offer an easier, “fast-track” education that teaches less.

Employers are worried that there is no way to guarantee that future employees didn’t have
someone else take the online class for them or that they didn’t cheat on the test. In person
courses are extremely valuable for ESL trainees- it allows the trainer to take more time to express
in detail the importance of serving alcohol properly and consequences for not doing so.
Employers are also worried that if these online courses don’t update with the often updated
regulations in Alaska, that their future employees will be trained on old and incorrect regulations,
putting everyone at risk.

Is the ease of access to training worth the decrease in quality and/or effectiveness of the training? | hope
you take the time to review these public comments and reach out to members of the industry for their
serious concerns regarding this regulation.

Regards,

SMW"&/’“
Sarah Mulligan
Bargreen Ellingson Restaurant Supply & Design









K&T Investments LLC, 49’er Bar & Liquor Store

PO Box 23663
Ketchikan, AK. 99901
(907)617-8419
usspirits.ktn@gmail.com

February 2019

AMCO Staff

Dept. of Commerce and Economic Development | AMCO the
Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office

550 W. 7" Ave. Ste. 1600 Anchorage, AK 995011 907.269.0350

Dear Board,

As a licensee of both on and off premise licenses | strongly disagree with the idea of removing the
requirement for in person alcohol server education. As a certified Alaska CHARR TAP Instructor, | can
tell you without reservation students are better prepared with in person classes. One of the most
misunderstood aspects our hospitality industry is comprehending criminal & civil liability that comes with
serving alcohol. Whenever | teach a class to new or even seasoned professionals the most interactive &
lively discussions arrive from Section 04.21.020 Civil liability of persons providing alcoholic
beverages.

No online course can drive home the aspects of criminal liability than shared experiences from veteran
servers & license holders alike. There is no oversight in cyberspace. No one to interact with. In Ketchikan
we have a concentrated population of foreign and seasonal workers that come from communities that
may have no concept of “Civil Liability” these laws become even more important to break down in person.

We at CHARR have spent decades educating Alaskan servers, Legislators and consumers in responsible
serving techniques. Removing the opportunity to receive this irreplaceable instruction from industry
leaders is nothing short of working backwards. Ensuring a knowledgeable and responsible workforce is
the best solution in the protection of our employees & licenses.

Sincerely,

Steven M. Kantor
Owner, 49’er Bar & Liquor store
President Ketchikan CHARR

Alaska CHARR Certified TAP instructor.



January 27", 2019
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
550 W 7" Avenue, Suite 1600
Anchorage, AK 99501

Re: Proposed Regulation Change to Allow Statewide Online Alcohol Server Education

To Whom It May Concern,

I am writing to let you know that | oppose the proposed regulation project that would allow for online alcohol
server education to be taken by workers statewide. There are many reasons why this proposed regulation
project would be detrimental for the state, but | will focus on highlights from a training perspective. While online
classes work for some subjects, alcohol server education is not one of those subjects. Filling out answers in a
digital format does not provide the same experience as an in-person class.

For example, when taught by in a classroom setting, students have an opportunity to handle fake identification
cards and compare them to real identification cards. While images may show some of the differences, being
able to physically handle and examine fake and real identification cards clearly demonstrates the difference in
size and thickness, as well as the holographic and other security features implemented in Alaska IDs or the
tactile text in the new Real IDs. As fake identification cards become more advanced, it is important for students
to have the opportunity to inspect these cards as to give them more insight into what they are searching for
when trying to determine if an ID is real or not.

Another important aspect of in-person training is the ability to practice scenarios that reflect real situations.
While an online test might ask the test taker how they would approach or handle a situation, the training is
significantly less-effective than roll playing with other students as if experiencing the situation firsthand. Taking
a class in person can provide the student with the opportunity to simulate a variety of scenarios in class. Being
able to practice refusing service to an intoxicated person or convincing someone that they are not sober
enough to drive will give the student invaluable experience to better handle those types of inevitable
circumstances that occur in the industry.

Additionally, there are some aspects of serving alcohol that probably will not appear on any test. The benefit
from an in-person class is that an experienced industry member will be there to help fill in the gaps. Not only
are instructors there to deliver personal knowledge that tests simply aren’t able to cover, but they also provide
students opportunities to ask the instructor questions. Someone taking an online test who either wants more
information/clarification on a subject would have almost no recourse, while students in a class taught by
someone who has the relevant experience would be able to ask their questions and benefit from the discourse.
Group learning also occurs this way: if one student asks a question that other students wouldn’t have
considered, the result is that all of the students learn from the answer.

Furthermore, online testing would undoubtedly cause many instructors to lose their jobs as potential servers-in-
training flock towards the easier option: online exams. This would take money out of the pockets of Alaskans
and place it into the hands of non-Alaskan corporations, as they take advantage of the ability to simply provide
a simple online course.

In conclusion, if the goal is to provide the highest-quality training possible to those responsible for serving and
distributing alcohol to the public in a safe and responsible manner, this regulation project is not the way to go.

Thank you for your consideration,
Suzanne McCarthy

PO Box 672415
Chugiak, AK 99567



From: Leeann Thomas

To: CED AMCO REGS (CED sponsored)
Subject: Alcohol server Education program
Date: Thursday, February 07, 2019 5:06:48 PM

Dear Alcohol Beverage Control Board,

| would like to provide comments on proposed changes of the Alcohol Server Education Courses. |
feel very strongly the board should keep the state law which requires in-person training of alcohol
serving classes. | understand the need for online education opportunities in the rural setting, but | do
not agree with online classes in larger towns on the road system.

The State of Alaska wants all the alcohol servers in the state to have the best chance of learning our
complicated laws about alcohol. One class which is less than a % day, every three years is not a lot of
time to educate people in the first place. In-person classes allow time to cover the approved basic
class, also time for servers to ask questions, and a time for discussion of what is happening locally. |
have attended many classes were servers talk about the fake IDs that are going around town. This is
very helpful for everyone attending the class. These discussions add to the quality of the class.

Online classes will decrease the opportunity for servers to learn. Online classes do not allow
guestions and answer time. They defiantly do NOT allow the chance for servers to help educated
other servers about current issues in their own town. | feel online classes will increase the amount of
people taking tests for others. It would be easy for a person to register any name and take the online
test for the person.

We need to protect our current server education system, not decrease the quality of training our
servers receive. Please keep the current in-person training of TAP class wherever possible.

Thank You,
Leeann Thomas

251 Front Street
Juneau, AK 99801


mailto:triangleclubbar@hotmail.com
mailto:amco.regs@alaska.gov

February 5, 2019

Alaska Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office
550 West 71" Avenue, Suite 1600
Anchorage AK 99501

To the Alaska Alcoholic Beverage Control Board:

Health Communications, Inc., providers of the Training for Intervention
Procedures (TIPS) alcohol server training program, would like to submit the
following comments for the record in regards to the recently proposed regulation
changes in 3 AAC 304.465 of the Alaska Administrative Code dealing with
alcohol server education courses.

TIPS is the global leader in education and training for the responsible service,
sale, and consumption of alcohol. Proven effective by third-party studies, TIPS is
a skills-based training program designed to prevent intoxication, underage
drinking, and drunk driving. Over the past 35 years, TIPS has certified more than
5 million participants. TIPS is trained in all 50 states, U.S. territories, the District
of Columbia, and over 50 countries. TIPS offers unique programs for a variety of
venues where alcohol is served, sold, or consumed. In Alaska alone, TIPS has
certified more than 25,000 servers and sellers of alcoholic beverages and 18
TIPS Trainers.

TIPS is recommending that the following provisions of the proposed regulations
be modified:

1) Section (e) requires the licensee or licensee’s manager, whoever
supervises the test, shall certify to the course provider that the student did
not receive outside help in taking the test and that no copies of the test
have been kept. This provision is calling for a proctored exam which defeats the
purpose of internet-based training. TIPS can have the student certify via an
affidavit that they didn’t “receive outside help in taking the test and that no copies
of the test have been kept,” but we would be opposed to requiring third-party
proctoring. It isn’t necessary and there is no other state that requires this added
step.

2) We encourage the ABC board to consider requiring that Internet-based
providers also be required to offer an approved classroom version of the
program. This proposed revision would prevent outside IT companies that have
little to no expertise in the field of alcohol server training from entering the
market. The last thing Alaska wants is poorly designed, poorly supported
certification courses being offered in their state.



TIPS looks forward to working with the Board in bringing accessible online
training to all of Alaska. We would like the Board to consider our knowledge,
experience, and expertise in this field. When doing so, please consider our
proposed solutions. We would be happy to expand on our concerns and, more
importantly, continue to offer concrete solutions.

Sincerely,

Nicole M. Blossé
Government Relations Manager, TIPS
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