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What is this packet? 
 

The following instructions regarding new marijuana establishment license applications for submission to the Alcohol and Marijuana 
Control Office (AMCO) were created to assist you in completing forms and gathering necessary documents. The AMCO staff has 
worked diligently to make these instructions easy to understand and provide valuable training and resources for all applicants to 
ensure that license applications and supplemental documents are completed accurately. 
 
Applicants should complete the following before proceeding with a new marijuana establishment license application: 
 

• Review Title 17.38 of Alaska Statutes and Chapter 306 of the Alaska Administrative Code 
• Read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) provided on our website at http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco  
• Watch the Training Videos provided on our website 
• Read these Instructions and review the Application Process Flow Chart provided on our website 

 
If you have completed the above bulleted requirements and still have a marijuana licensing question, you may send your question 
in an email to marijuana.licensing@alaska.gov. If you would like to schedule an appointment with one of our licensing staff, please 
review our Appointment Hours and rules below before calling to schedule. If you need to drop off an item for a marijuana 
establishment license application that cannot be scanned and emailed, or if you have one or two quick questions, please review our 
office Window Hours below before coming to the office. Please note that if you call or come to the office with multiple questions, 
you will be required to schedule an appointment. If you have completed the above bulleted requirements and still have a marijuana 
question that does not pertain to licensing, you may send your question in an email to marijuana@alaska.gov.  
 
Please note that if any of our staff receives a question that is clearly answered in any of the above listed resources, you will be 
instructed to review those resources again. 

  
 

 
 

To schedule an appointment: Please call (907)269-0350, Monday – Friday: 9:00am – 4:00pm Alaska Time  
Our office closes: Every day from 12:00pm – 1:00pm for lunch 
 
Window Hours: Tuesday – Thursday: 9:00am – 11:00am and 1:00pm – 3:00pm 
Appointment hours: Tuesday – Thursday: 9:00am – 12:00pm and 1:00pm – 4:00pm 
 
Appointments are scheduled for twenty (20) minute time slots only.  
Please come prepared and on time. If you are late, your appointment will still end at the scheduled time.  
Due to a very small staff, AMCO is unable to schedule more than one appointment per applicant per day in advance at this time.  

Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office Hours 
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The following documents and items must be submitted for all license types before an application will be considered complete: 

 
 

 Online Application 

 Form MJ-00: Application Certifications 

 Form MJ-01: Marijuana Establishment Operating Plan 

 Form MJ-02: Premises Diagram 

 Form MJ-07: Public Notice Posting Affidavit 

 Form MJ-08: Local Government Notice Affidavit 

 Publisher’s Affidavit 

 Form MJ-09: Statement of Financial Interest 

 Proof of Possession for Proposed Premises 

 Entity Documents 

 Fingerprint Cards 

 Fingerprint Fees ($47.00 per person) 

 New Application Fee ($1,000 for each license type) 

 Additional License-Type-Specific Items (See Page 3 for license-type-specific checklists) 
 

There are documents and items that are required for each type of license in addition to the items listed in the checklist on this page. 
Please review the checklists on Page 3 to determine what additional items need to be submitted before your license application will 
be reviewed and processed by a Business Registration Examiner. 

 
  

Checklist for All License Applications 
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Review the corresponding checklist below for the type of license you are applying for to determine what additional documents and 
items must be submitted before your application will be considered complete. 

 

Retail Marijuana Store Applications: 
 

 Form MJ-03: Retail Marijuana Store Operating Plan Supplemental 

 Food Safety Permit 

 License Fee ($5,000) 

 
Standard/Limited Marijuana Cultivation Facility Applications: 
 

 Form MJ-04: Marijuana Cultivation Facility Operating Plan Supplemental 

 License Fee (Limited: $1,000 / Standard: $5,000) 

 
Marijuana Concentrate/Product Manufacturing Facility Applications: 
 

 Form MJ-05: Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility Operating Plan Supplemental 

 Food Safety Permit 

 License Fee (Concentrate Manufacturing: $1,000 / Product Manufacturing: $5,000) 

 
Marijuana Testing Facility Applications: 
 

 Form MJ-06: Marijuana Testing Facility Operating Plan Supplemental 

 License Fee ($1,000) 

 
 

 
 

License-Type-Specific Checklists 
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All applications for marijuana establishment licenses must be initiated online, per 3 AAC 306.020(a).  

 

Please watch the detailed training video available on the AMCO website for guidance with initiating and completing your online license 
application. It is necessary for this step to be performed first. Before you initiate a license application online, please note that you must 
have a current Alaska business license number, a physical location and global positioning system (GPS) coordinates for your proposed 
licensed premises, personal and contact information for all proposed licensees, and a designated owner. The designated owner must be 
a proposed licensee, and he/she is responsible for receiving and responding to AMCO correspondence.  

 

All proposed licensees must be included in your online application. If an entity is applying for the license, all partners, members, officers, 
and shareholders must be included in your online application. If that entity is owned by a parent entity, all partners, members, officers, 
and shareholders of the parent entity must be included in your online application. All proposed licensees must be 21 years of age or 
older. Any and all persons with a direct or indirect financial interest in the business for which a marijuana establishment license is being 
applied for must be included in your online application, per 3 AAC 306.015. 

 

Once you have submitted your initial online application, the online application system will automatically produce three documents for 
you. One of these documents is your Cover Sheet. 

 

A completed copy of your Cover Sheet must accompany every set of supplemental documents and items that you submit to AMCO’s 
main office. Any item that is received without a completed Cover Sheet will be returned in the manner in which it was received. 

 

 

 
 

This form must be completed and submitted by each proposed licensee (as defined in 3 AAC 306.020(b)(2)) before any license 
application will be considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(e).  

 
Please read each statement carefully and sign your initials in the boxes that follow, indicating that you understand and certify each 
statement. This form is a declaration by each proposed licensee under penalty of unsworn falsification that: 
 

• The application is true, correct, and complete 
• The applicant has read and is familiar with AS 17.38 and 3 AAC 306 
• The applicant will provide all information the board requires in support of the application 
• All licensing requirements are being met and no prohibitions are being violated 

 
This form must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public. 
 
 
 
 
 

Online Application 

Form MJ-00: Application Certifications 
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This form must be completed and submitted with a license application for each license type before any license application will be 
considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(c).  

 
The purpose of the Operating Plan is for applicants to identify how the proposed premises will comply with applicable statutes and 
regulations regarding the following:  
 

• Security 
• Inventory tracking of all marijuana and marijuana product on the premises 
• Employee qualification and training 
• Waste disposal 
• Transportation and delivery of marijuana and marijuana products 
• Signage and advertising 
• Control plan for persons under the age of 21 

 
All fields of this form must be completed with answers to all questions.  
 
The last page of this form is additional space for you to answer any questions. As many copies of the last page, as necessary, may be 
used to complete your operating plan. If your business has a formal operating plan, you may include a copy of that operating plan in 
addition to this completed form.  
 
There are many sections of this form where a written explanation is necessary, and there are other sections where a yes/no-type 
answer is required. Please answer each section as instructed on the form. 
 
This form must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public. 
 
Applicants must also complete the corresponding operating plan supplemental form (Form MJ-03, Form MJ-04, Form MJ-05, or  
Form MJ-06) to meet the additional operating plan requirements for each license type. 

An amended operating plan may be submitted prior to review by the board at one of its regularly scheduled meetings. An amended 
operating plan that is submitted after the board has reviewed the application at one of its regularly scheduled meetings, or that is 
submitted less than two weeks prior to the board meeting for which the application is scheduled, must be accompanied by a $250 fee. 

  

Form MJ-01: Marijuana Establishment Operating Plan 
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This form must be completed and submitted with a license application for each license type before any license application will be 
considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(b)(8).  

 
The purpose of the Premises Diagram is for applicants to identify all entrances and boundaries, walls, partitions, counters, windows, 
areas of ingress and egress, restricted access areas, storage areas, and dimensions of the proposed premises. Blueprints, CAD drawings, 
or other professional diagrams that meet these requirements may be submitted in lieu of the second page only of this form. 
 
Applicants for a marijuana cultivation facility license must also indicate all areas intended to be under cultivation, including dimensions. 
 
Applicants for a marijuana concentrate or product manufacturing facility must also indicate the area where in-house testing will occur. 
 
Initial premises inspections are required for all license applications before a license will be issued. If your physical proposed premises is 
under construction at the time of application, you must communicate any changes from the submitted plan prior to scheduling a site 
visit and premises inspection. The inspection will be AMCO’s verification that the submitted premises diagram actually matches the 
completed construction. Any unapproved deviations could result in a delay of issuance or denial of the license by the board. 
 
An amended diagram of the proposed licensed premises may be submitted prior to review by the board at one of its regularly scheduled 
meetings. An amended diagram of the proposed licensed premises that is submitted after the board has reviewed the application at one 
of its regularly scheduled meetings, or that is submitted less than two weeks prior to the board meeting for which the application is 
scheduled, must be accompanied by a $250 fee. 
 
 
 

 
 

This form must be completed and submitted with a license application for each license type before any license application will be 
considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(b)(10).  

 
As soon as practical after initiating a new marijuana establishment license application online, an applicant must give notice of the 
application to the public by posting a copy of the application for ten (10) full days at two locations: 
 

• The location of the proposed licensed premises 
• One other conspicuous location in the area of the proposed premises (City Hall, Post Office, grocery store bulletin, etc.) 

 
The application form that needs to be posted is automatically produced by the online application system after your initiated application 
has been submitted. Please print two copies of this form to simultaneously post at the required locations above. 
 
After the ten-day posting period is over, please complete this form. If this form was signed and notarized prior to the last day of posting, 
you will be required to complete and submit another copy of this form. 
 
This form must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public. 
 
 

Form MJ-02: Premises Diagram 

Form MJ-07: Public Notice Posting Affidavit 
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This form must be completed and submitted with a license application for each license type before any license application will be 
considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.025(b)(3).  

 
As soon as practical after initiating a new marijuana establishment license application online, an applicant must give notice of the 
application to the local government by submitting a copy of the application to:  
 

• The local government  
• To any community council in the area of the proposed licensed premises 

 
The application form that needs to be submitted is automatically produced by the online application system after your initiated 
application has been submitted (this is the same form that you post on your proposed premises). Please contact your local government 
to determine the appropriate person and method of notification.  
 
For proposed establishments within the Municipality of Anchorage or the Matanuska-Susitna Borough (outside of city limits): you must 
also send a copy of this application to any community council in the area of the proposed premises. To determine which community 
council(s) is in the area of the proposed premises, please contact your local government. 
 
After you have sent the notification(s), please complete this form. If this form was signed and notarized prior to the day the notice was 
submitted, you will be required to complete and submit another copy of this form. 
 
This form must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public. 
 

 

 
 

This document must be submitted with a license application for each license type before any license application will be considered 
complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(b)(10).  

 
As soon as practical after initiating a new marijuana establishment license application online, an applicant must give notice of the 
application to public by publishing an announcement once a week for three consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in 
the area. The language for the announcement is automatically produced by the online application system after your initiated application 
has been submitted. Please provide a copy of this language to your newspaper to ensure that the exact necessary language is published. 
 
In an area where no newspaper circulates, this requirement may be met by broadcasting an announcement on a radio station serving 
the local area where the proposed licensee seeks to operate, twice a week for three consecutive weeks during triple A advertising time. 
 
The document that needs to be submitted to our office is not a form that is provided by AMCO. After the three week announcement 
period is complete, the newspaper or radio station will provide, upon request, an affidavit that includes: 
 

•  A copy of the newspaper announcement or of the radio announcement language 
• The dates (including times, for radio announcements) of the announcements 
• The name of the newspaper or radio station that completed the announcement 

Form MJ-08: Local Government Notice Affidavit 

Publisher’s Affidavit 
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This form must be completed and submitted by each proposed licensee (as defined in 3 AAC 306.020(b)(2)) and affiliate (as defined in 
3 AAC 306.990(a)(1)) before any license application will be considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(b)(4).  

 
This form is a sworn statement by each proposed licensee and affiliate that:  
 

• No person, other than a proposed licensee listed on the marijuana establishment license application, has a direct or indirect 
financial interest (as defined in 3 AAC 306.015(e)(1)) in the business listed on the application 

• Any ownership change shall be reported to the board as required under 3 AAC 306.040 
 
This form must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public. 
 

 

 
 

This document must be submitted with a license application for each license type before any license application will be considered 
complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(b)(9). 

 
An applicant must have right to possession of the proposed licensed premises before any license application will be considered 
complete. A current and valid title/deed, lease, or other documentation showing proof of the applicant’s right to possession of the 
proposed premises must be submitted. The document that needs to be submitted to our office is not a form that is provided by AMCO.  
 
Please note that the proposed premises address listed on the online application must be identical to that listed on the title/deed or 
lease. Because most titles/deeds provide the legal description of the property and do not always include the physical address, additional 
documentation provided by the applicant may be required to connect the address listed on the application to that listed on the proof of 
right to possession. 
 
Please also note that the proposed licensee listed on the online application must be identical to that listed as the individual or entity 
listed on the title/deed or lease. If an entity is applying for the license, then the entity must be listed as the property owner or lessee. A 
lease or sublease of the proposed premises may be necessary to meet this requirement. 
 

  

Form MJ-09: Statement of Financial Interest 

Proof of Possession for Proposed Premises 
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These documents must be submitted with a license application for each license type by any applicant that is not an individual before 
any license application will be considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(b)(3). 
 
Any entity that is applying for a marijuana establishment license must be in good standing with the Division of Corporations at the time 
of application and must remain in good standing at all times that a marijuana establishment license is held or being applied for. Although 
the Division of Corporations only requires that shareholders with 5% or more be listed on their forms, 3 AAC 306.020(b)(3) requires that 
all partners, members, corporate officers, and shareholders, regardless of percentage of shares owned, must be listed on the forms 
submitted. 

 
• For a partnership, including a limited partnership, a copy of the partnership agreement must be submitted with your license 

application, along with a copy of any forms you have submitted to the Division of Corporations.  
• For a limited liability company, a copy of the limited liability company agreement must be submitted with your license 

application, along with a copy of any forms you have submitted to the Division of Corporations.  
• For a corporation, a copy of the certificate of incorporation must be submitted with your license application, along with a copy 

of any forms you have submitted to the Division of Corporations.  
• For a local government, a resolution of the governing body approving the application and designating an official responsible for 

the proposed marijuana establishment must be submitted with your license application. 
 

The documents that need to be submitted to our office are not forms that are provided by AMCO. 
 

 

 
 
Each proposed licensee (as defined in 3 AAC 306.020(b)(2)) must submit his/her fingerprints and fingerprint fees before any license 
application will be considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.055(a). 
 
Most approved fingerprinters have blank copies of the required cards, but blank cards may be provided by AMCO at the request of the 
applicant. AMCO cannot recommend any approved fingerprinters for you to use, so please use an internet search engine to find one 
near you. 
 
At least one (1) completed fingerprint card along with a non-refundable $47.00 fee must be submitted for each proposed licensee. This 
fee is subject to change at any time. Fingerprint cards and fees are submitted by our office to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to 
obtain a report of criminal justice information under AS 12.62. Please do not bring or send your completed card(s) and fees directly to 
DPS yourself. 
 
Fingerprint fees may be paid by cashier’s check or money order. 
 
 
 
 

  

Entity Documents 

Fingerprint Cards and Fees 
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The non-refundable $1,000 application fee for a new marijuana establishment license must be received before any license application 
will be considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.100(a). 
 
 
New application fees may be paid by check, cashier’s check, or money order. 
 

 

 
 

The corresponding form must be completed and submitted with a license application for each license type before any license 
application will be considered complete, per 3 AAC 306.020(b)(11).  

 
These forms are Operating Plan Supplemental forms that are required for applicants to identify how the proposed premises will comply 
with applicable statutes and regulations regarding the specific license types for which they are applying. Please review the following list 
to determine which supplemental form needs to be completed and submitted in addition to Form MJ-01: 
 

• Form MJ-03: Retail Marijuana Store Operating Plan Supplemental 
• Form MJ-04: Marijuana Cultivation Facility Operating Plan Supplemental 
• Form MJ-05: Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility Operating Plan Supplemental 
• Form MJ-06: Marijuana Testing Facility Operating Plan Supplemental 

 

 

 
 

A person seeking a retail marijuana store license or a marijuana product manufacturing facility license must submit a copy of the food 
safety permit required under 18 AAC 31.020(a). Please contact the Department of Environmental Conservation or your local food 
safety department for assistance in obtaining this permit. 
 

 

 
 
The annual license fee for a new marijuana establishment license must be received before any license application will be considered 
complete, per 3 AAC 306.100(d). Please see the License-Type-Specific Checklists on Page 3 to determine the amount of your license 
fee. 
 
 
New application fees may be paid check, cashier’s check,  or money order. 
 

New Application Fee 

Form MJ-03 – MJ-06: Operating Plan Supplemental Forms 

Food Safety Permit 

License Fee 
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