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September 28, 2021 o,
Via email to: amco.regs@alaska.gov

Subject: Public comment on 3 AAC 306.840 proposes to insert language to adopt by
reference the Marijuana Control Board fine schedule date March 23, 2021.
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Dear Honorable Marijuana Control Board Members,

The Marijuana Control Board proposes to adopt regulation changes in 3 AAC 306.840

We support this regulation change as written.

We believe the outcome of this fine schedule vs the first Fine Schedule that the Marijuana Control Board
introduced is a good step forward for both the Board and the industry alike. In large part, the success of this
fine schedule transpired because the Marijuana Control Board invited in industry owners and even some
advocates to address the robustness and complexities of a fine schedule in the cannabis industry.

Through the course of multiple work sessions and a survey, the cannabis industry and Marijuana Control Board
imagined real-life scenarios, invested a lot of volunteer time and forethought, and gathered industry
comments and suggestions. Which then manifested into the final fine schedule product we see being proposed
to be implemented now.

The Alaska Marijuana Industry Association sincerely enjoyed our solution-oriented collaborations that further
move our industry and the State forward in an optimal direction. We enjoyed working with James Hoelscher
and his enforcement team, Director Glen Klinkhart, and the Marijuana Control Board members that weighed
in during the duration of work session meetings and emails.

Lastly we would like to thank the AMCO staff for their hard work and dedication to the Alaskan Cannabis
Industry.

Respectfully,

Alaska Marijuana Industry Association
Board of Directors & Governance Committee

The Alaska Marijuana Industry Association is Alaska's only statewide cannabis industry trade group.
Our mission is to promote and advocate for a vibrant and reasonably reqgulated Alaska-based marijuana industry. The AMIA serves to
strengthen and enhance a network of connected, independent, informed, regionally and community-directed Alaska marijuana
organizations.

www.alaskamia.org
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(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND

BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

3 AAC 306.840 is amended to read as follows:

3 AAC 306.840. Civil Fines. (a) The board may, in addition to any other penalties

imposed under this chapter, impose a civil fine in accordance with the Marijuana Control

Board fine schedule dated March 23, 2021, and adopted by reference, on a marijuana

establishment, licensee, or person that the board determines has violated a provision of AS 17.38
or this chapter.
(b) In a proceeding under 3 AAC 306.810 - 3 AAC 306.830, the board may impose a

civil fine, not to exceed the greater of
(1) an amount that is three times the monetary gain realized by the marijuana
establishment, licensee, or person as a result of the violation, as determined by the board;
(2) the amount imposed in the fine schedule identified in paragraph (a);
(3) if applicable because of the seriousness of the conduct and the related facts:
(A) $10,000 for the first violation;
(B) $30,000 for the second violation; or

(C) $50,000 for the third or subsequent violation. (Eff. 2/21/2016, Register

217; am / / , Register )

Authority:  AS 17.38.010 AS 17.38.131 AS 17.38.200
AS 17.38.070 AS 17.38.150 AS 17.38.900
AS 17.38.121 AS 17.38.190
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Editor’s note: Copies of the Marijuana Control Board fine schedule dated March 23,
2021, adopted by reference in 3 AAC 306.840, are available for inspection at the Alcohol and
Marijuana Control Office in Anchorage. The Marijuana Control Board fine schedule dated
March 23, 2021, is also available on AMCO’s website

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco/
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Department of Commerce, Community,

Tl}h STATE and Economic Development
0

[ ‘ L [ & SKA Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office

GOVERNOR MIKE DUNLEAVY 550 West 7t Avenue, Suite 1600

Anchorage, AK 99501
Main: 907.269.0350

MEMORANDUM
TO: Marijuana Control Board DATE: October 23, 2020
FROM: Glen Klinkhart, Director RE:  Regulations Project — Fine
Jane P. Sawyer, Regulations Specialist Schedule

At the special board meeting in May 2021, the board sent out the fine schedule dated March
23, 2021, out for public comment. The fine schedule was out for about 61 days. Comments
were received and they are attached.

Options for the board: to be discussed at meeting






From: Ryan Tunseth

To: CED AMCO REGS (CED sponsored)
Subject: Fine and Fee Schedule Comments
Date: Thursday, August 19, 2021 10:48:29 AM

About the fine and fee schedule & working group.

During the most recent Marijuana Control Board meeting on May 5th, 2021, the Board voted to send
the newly created fine and fee schedule out for public comment. This fine and fee schedule has
been an industry wide effort that has been in development since early 2019. During the early part of
2019 the director at the time had proposed a fine schedule that went out for public comment
drawing severe opposition from the industry. The schedule proposed by then Director Erica
McConnell was extremely punitive and did nothing to encourage industry compliance. In fact, it left
us feeling scared and vulnerable. That version of the fine and fee schedule was abandoned and the
Board decided that the formation of a working group would be a better solution to the development
of a fine and fee schedule. The working group was tasked with creating a schedule that had industry
buy-in, encouraged compliance, and provided enforcement staff and licensees a reasonable level of
expectation and equity.

The currently proposed fine and fee schedule is the work product of this working group. The group
met on multiple occasions in 2021 via zoom with attendance often over 30 participants. The work
group was able to successfully break up each section of regulation into survey questions that went
out to the industry asking them specifically; What fine amounts should be levied for specific
violations and how those amounts should escalate with repeated violations. Two separate surveys
were sent out to industry members with nearly 150 participants responding. The work group was
able to evaluate the results and propose a representation of the data that we believed achieved the
mission of our working group.

It should be noted that throughout this survey and working group process there were several
comments that rose to the surface and should be highlighted: First, the fine and fee schedule is a
framework that can be used and is in no way intended to take decision making out of the hands of
enforcement staff. There should always be a place for progressive discipline and industry certainly
felt that in minor first-time infractions, a warning may be the most appropriate action.

Secondly, when there are egregious and repetitive infractions of the worst severity, this fine and fee
schedule may not go far enough. Again, an understanding that the intent of this is not to ever take
away the ultimate responsibility that the Board has in issuing judgement.

| believe that this version of the fine and fee schedule is worthy of your support. | believe that it
provides our industry with fair and reasonable enforcement expectations. As AMCO staff continues
to develop the process and procedures for regulation infractions, we can expect to see a playing
field that ensures we are compliant while protecting our business reputations from unnecessary and
often shameful Notices of Violation.

| cannot enough thank all of the members of the Fine and Fee work group. | was very fortunate to be
able to participate with such a wide ranging and talented group. | would start naming folks here but
it was a long list and | don’t want to miss anyone. You know who you are - Thank you! Finally, specific



mailto:ryan@east-rip.com

mailto:amco.regs@alaska.gov



thanks are needed for the participation of the MCB Board Members, Director Klinkhart, and the
Enforcement Staff, who kept us focused and on task.

Ryan Tunseth
Owner, East Rip






Violation Code

Description

Title 17 Statute

Sec. 17.38.030

Sec. 17.38.040

Chapter 38. The Regulation of
Marijuana - Title 17. Food and Drugs
Restrictions on personal cultivation,

penalty

Public consumption banned, penalty

Sec. 17.38.050

False identification, penalty

Sec. 17.38.070

retail - displaying products in a
manner visible to the general public

Article 1

3 AAC 306.005

right of way

Licensing; Fees

License required

3 AAC 306.035

Application for renewal of license

3 AAC 306.040

Ownership change

3 AAC 306.045

3 AAC 306.047

Application for transfer of a license to
another person

License conversion

3 AAC 306.050

3 AAC 306.055
Article 2

3 AAC 306.240

Article 3

Relocation of licensed premises not
allowed

Criminal justice information and
records

Local Options
Prohibition of importation or purchase

after election

Retail Marijuana Stores

Marijuana Control Board Fine Schedule, March 23, 2021

Type

violation

violation

violation

Administrative
Violation
Administrative
Violation
Administrative
Violation
Administrative
Violation
Administrative
Violation
Administrative
Violation
Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

1st Violation 2nd Violation

Not to exceed Not to exceed

$10,000 $30,000
In Statute

$750

$100

$400

$4,000 $10,000
$200 $500
$250 $500
$100 $500
$220 $585
$220 $585
$220 $585
$106 $298

3rd violation 4th Violation

Not to exceed
$50,000

Not to exceed
$50,000

$20,000
$1,000
$1,000
$850
$1,108
$1,108

$1,108

$523

Verbal/Written
Warning
Options

Self Reporting
Variance





3 AAC 306.300

Retail marijuana store license required

3 AAC 306.305

Retail marijuana store privileges

3 AAC 306.310

3 AAC 306.315

3 AAC 306.320

Acts prohibited at retail marijuana
store

Application for retail marijuana store
license

Marijuana handler permit required

3 AAC 306.325

3 AAC 306.330

Access restricted at retail marijuana
store

Marijuana inventory tracking system

3 AAC 306.335

Health and safety requirements

3 AAC 306.340

3 AAC 306.345

Testing required for marijuana and
marijuana products

Packaging and labeling

3 AAC 306.350

3 AAC 306.350
3 AAC 306.350
3 AAC 306.355

Identification requirement to prevent
sale to person under 21

Identification requirement to prevent
sale to person under 21

Limit on quantity sold

3 AAC 306.365

3 AAC 306.370

Required consumer notices for retail
marijuana stores

Onsite consumption endorsement for
retail marijuana stores

Marijuana Control Board Fine Schedule, March 23, 2021

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation

$4,000

% % %k

$250

NOV in front
of board

$213
$100

$100
$100
$100
$100
$1,000

$100

$250

NOV in front
of board
$500

$100
$100

$100

$10,000

%k %k %k

S500 plus
suspension for
30 days

500 NOV in
front of board

$563
$250

$250
$225
$225
$250
$2,000
$500
S500 plus

suspension for
30 days

500 NOV in
front of board
$1,000

$500
$200

$275

$20,000
*kk

$1000
permanent
revocation of
license

$1,000

$1,056
$500

$500
$500
$500
$500
$4,500

$850

$1000
permanent
revocation of
license

$1,000
$2,000
$1,000

$500

$500





Article 4

3 AAC 306.400

3 AAC 306.405

3 AAC306.410

3 AAC 306.420

3 AAC 306.425

Marijuana Cultivation Facilities
Marijuana cultivation facility license

required

Standard marijuana cultivation facility:

privileges and prohibited acts

Limited marijuana cultivation facility:
privileges and prohibited acts

Application for marijuana cultivation
facility license

Marijuana handler permit required

3 AAC 306.430

Restricted access area (odor)

3 AAC 306.435

Marijuana inventory tracking system

3 AAC 306.440

Health and safety requirements

3 AAC 306.445

3 AAC 306.450

3 AAC 306.455

Standards for cultivation and

preparation
Production of marijuana concentrate

prohibited

Required laboratory testing

3 AAC 306.460

Samples

3 AAC 306.465

Random sampling

3 AAC 306.470

Packaging of marijuana

3 AAC 306.475

Labeling of marijuana

Marijuana Control Board Fine Schedule, March 23, 2021

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

$4,000

$175

$113

$220

$100

written
warning - 12
months

$50

0-50

$100
$100

$250
$4,000
$1,000
$300
$300
$100

$100

$10,000

$625

$375

$585

$250

$150
$100
0-$100

$225
$250

$500
$10,000
$2,000
$625
$625
$500

$300

$20,000

$750

$750

$1,108

$500

S500 Yes
$200
$250 Yes

$500
$500

$750
$20,000
$4,500
$2,250
$2,250
$700

$500

50% or more
reduction if
self reported





3 AAC 306.480

Marijunan Taxes to be paid

Article 5

3 AAC 306.500
3 AAC 306.505
3 AAC 306.510
3 AAC 306.515
3 AAC 306.520
3 AAC 306.525
3 AAC 306.530

3 AAC 306.535

Marijuana Product Manufacturing
Facilities

Marijuana product manufacturing
facility license required

Marijuana product manufacturing
facility privileges

Acts prohibited at marijuana product
manufacturing facility

Marijuana concentrate manufacturing

facility license
Application for marijuana product

manufacturing facility license
Approval of concentrates and
marijuana products

Marijuana handler permit and food
safety worker training

Restricted access and storage areas

3 AAC 306.540

Marijuana inventory tracking system

Marijuana Control Board Fine Schedule, March 23, 2021

Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Administrative
Violation

Taxes are in
Default

Minimum of
10% of taxes
owed up to
10K;

$125

$4,000
*kk
$175
$220
$220
$125
$100
$100

$100

Taxes are still in Taxes are still in

default

request for the
suspention of
license and/or
fine up to
$30,000

$563

$10,000
*kk
$500
$585
$585
$500
$250
$500

$225

default

request for
license
revocation
and/or fine up
to $50,000

$1,000

$20,000
K%k
$1,000
$1,108
$1,108
$1,000
$500
$1,000

$500

Taxes are
delinquent & a
payment plan
is in place

(1) no new
licenses (2) no
new
endorsements;
(3) no
conversion
(limited to
standard); (4)
no transfers;
(5) no MJ14
expansions of
cultivation





3 AAC 306.545

Health and safety standards

3 AAC 306.550

Required laboratory testing

3 AAC 306.555

Production of marijuana concentrate

3 AAC 306.557

Quality control sampling

3 AAC 306.560

Potency limits per serving and
transaction for edible marijuana

3 AAC 306.565

products

Packaging of marijuana products

3 AAC 306.570

Labeling of marijuana products

Article 6

3 AAC 306.605
3 AAC 306.610
3 AAC 306.615

3 AAC 306.620

Marijuana Testing Facilities
Marijuana testing facility license
required

Marijuana testing facilities: privileges
and prohibitions

Application for marijuana testing

facility license

Approval of testing facility

3 AAC 306.622

Marijuana handler permit required

3 AAC 306.625

Proficiency testing program

3 AAC 306.630

Scientific director

3 AAC 306.635

Testing methodologies

3 AAC 306.640

Standard operating procedure manual

3 AAC 306.645

3 AAC 306.650

Laboratory testing of marijuana and
marijuana products

Chain of custody

Marijuana Control Board Fine Schedule, March 23, 2021

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation

$100
$1,000
$363

$100

$500

$125

$250

$500
$500
$500
$500
$500
$500
$500
$500
$500
$500

$500

$250
$2,000
$750

$250

$1,000

$500

$500

$1,000
$1,000
$1,000
$1,000
$1,000
$1,000
$1,000
$1,000
$1,000
$1,000

$1,000

$500
$4,500
$1,500

$500

$2,000

$700

$1,000

$2,500
$2,500
$2,500
$2,500
$2,500
$2,500
$2,500
$2,500
$2,500
$2,500

$2,500





3 AAC 306.655

Marijuana inventory tracking system

3 AAC 306.660

Failed materials; retests

3 AAC 306.665

3 AAC 306.670

Supplemental marijuana quality
testing

Reporting; verification

3 AAC 306.675

Records retention

Article 7

3 AAC 306.700

Operating Requirements for All
Marijuana Establishments

Marijuana handler permit

3 AAC 306.703

Operations

3 AAC 306.705

Licensed premises; alteration

3 AAC 306.710

Restricted access areas

3 AAC 306.715

3 AAC 306.720

Security alarm systems and lock
standards

Video surveillance

3 AAC 306.725

Inspection of licensed premises

3 AAC 306.730

Marijuana inventory tracking system

3 AAC 306.735

Health and safety standards

3 AAC 306.740

Waste disposal

Marijuana Control Board Fine Schedule, March 23, 2021

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation

Administrative
Violation

Public Health/Safety
Violation
Public Health/Safety
Violation

$500
$500
$500
$500

$500

$100
$100
$100
$100
$100
$200

$500

$25

$100

$100

$100

$1,000
$1,000
$1,000
$1,000

$1,000

$250
$250
$300
$250
$250
$500

$1,000

S50

$225

$250

$250

$2,500
$2,500
$2,500
$2,500

$2,500

$500
$500
$500
$500
$1,000
$1,000

$2,000

$100

$500

$500

$500

Yes, self
reported -
officer
descretion





Marijuana Control Board Fine Schedule, March 23, 2021

Public Health/Safety

3 AAC 306.745 Standardized scales o $100 $250 $S500
Violation
Public Health/Safet

3 AAC306.750 Transportation ublic Health/Safety ¢, $200 $300
Violation
Administrati

3 AAC306.755 Business records aministrative $150 $500 $900
Violation
Administrative

3 AAC306.760 Trade Shows L $100 $500 $500
Violation

3 AAC 306.770 Signs, merchandise, advertisements, A.dmir?istrative $100 $250 $500

— _  andpromotions Violation

Article 8 Enforcement; Civil Penalties

Article 9 General Provisions
Public Health/Safet

3 AAC306.915 Exercise of authority ublic Health/Safety ), $585 $1,108

Violation










From: Anchorage Bowl LLC. General Account

To: CED AMCO REGS (CED sponsored)
Subject: October Fines and fee Public Comments
Date: Friday, September 17, 2021 4:35:47 PM
Attachments: fine and fee letter.pdf

Hi guys just wanted to follow thru with an idea that has been heavy on my mind I look
forward to furthering the discussion

Sincerely
Shelton Landon

Anchorage Bowl

4000 Spenard Road. Anchorage, AK 99517
(907)770-2690

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Weedmaps




mailto:anchoragebowl420@gmail.com

mailto:amco.regs@alaska.gov
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Hello to all whom this may concern:

| am Shelton Landon, owner of Anchorage Bowl, and | am writing this because |

have chosen to be an active voice in the building-up of our industry. The proposed fine
schedule that is soon to be voted on by the AMCO board leaves out one of the most
important tools for industry growth, and that is EDUCATION.

| have been collaborating with Dara Cameron and Chris Giddings, owners of Chiral
Consultants, LLC, a consultant company specializing in logistics, manufacturing, and
branding, to develop an idea that could properly fill that gap in the new fine table
proposal. Our suggestion is to provide access to training and education courses to
license holders who have received an NOV, in exchange for a lowered fine, or simply a
warning, on the first offense of any particular citation.

The best example of education like this being built into a fine and fee table structure of a
government department, is the way that state-approved Driving Instruction courses
(both online and in-person) can be taken by a citizen with a driving citation in order to
lower the amount of points attributed to their license. We would like to provide in-depth
documentation to the MCB at the upcoming meeting of possible ways to structure a
system such as this within the current Alaska cannabis industry.

This could allow industry-members who have been cited a violation a real opportunity
to learn how to improve, while also generating state-approved cannabis education.

Respectfully submitted,

&\l—lls&k\f O 17-ZpZ/

Shelton Landon Date

Anchorage Bowl

04/1#/z]

Dara Cameron Date

Chiral Consultants
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