

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

ALCOHOL AND MARIJUANA CONTROL OFFICE 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1600 Anchorage, AK 99501 Main: 907.269.0350

NEW OR TRANSFER LIQUOR LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

The following instructions regarding new and transfer liquor license applications for submission to the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office (AMCO) were created to assist you in completing forms and gathering necessary documents.

Applicants should complete the following before proceeding with a new or transfer liquor license application:

- Review Title 04 of Alaska Statutes and Chapter 304 of the Alaska Administrative Code
- Read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) provided on our website at http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco
- Read these Instructions

If you have completed the above bulleted requirements and still have a liquor licensing question, you may send your question in an email to alcohol.licensing@alaska.gov.

Before you submit an application <u>OF ANY KIND</u> to the Alcohol and Marijuana Control office, you must publish and post your application as listed in Form AB-07 & Advertising Format. These items MUST be completed within the 60 days before submitting the application to AMCO. Applications with publications or postings that are more than 60 days old on the day the application is submitted to AMCO will be returned without review.

When you are ready to submit, please scan and email all required application documents, except fingerprint cards and payment, to alaska.gov. If you need to drop off an item for a liquor license application that cannot be scanned and emailed, please review our **Office Hours** below before coming to the office.

If you would like to schedule an appointment with one of our licensing staff, please call ahead to schedule. Please note that if you come to the office with questions without a scheduled appointment, there may not be an examiner available to meet with you.

If you have a question regarding enforcement, please send it to amco.enforcement@alaska.gov.

Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office Hours

Office Hours: Monday – Friday: 9:00am – 4:00pm Our office closes: Every day from 12:00pm – 1:00pm

Checklist for New License Applications The following documents and items must be submitted for all license types before a new

be tollowing documents and items must be submitted for all license types before a new application be reviewed for completeness:
 Form AB-00: New License Application Sections 3 and 4 are mutually exclusive; only include information in ONE of these sections. If you fill out section 4, please make sure that the CBPL (Corporations, Business and Professiona Licensing) information matches what is listed on your application. https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/cbp/main/search/entities
 Form AB-02: Premises Diagram Please review the diagram requirements carefully, any diagram that does not meet all requirements will be returned for correction.
 Form AB-07: Public Notice Posting Affidavit Posting should occur at the premises and another conspicuous location in the area Common Carrier-Vessels should post in their home port (or main port of call in Alaska) at the Harbor Master's office and another conspicuous location.
 Publisher's Affidavit This affidavit should be signed and notarized by an associate of the publisher or radio in which the advertisement was published; most publishers have their own affidavit format. Use the Advertising Format under New License Forms to create your radio or newspaper advertisement.
 Background Check Documents This should be done for all individuals requiring background checks. (See sections 3 & 4 of form AB-00) Form AB-08a: Authorization of Records Release Fingerprint Cards (less than one year old) Background Check Fee (See "Fingerprint Fee" on the Alcohol License Application Homepage)
Form AB-09: Statement of Financial Interest
 Proof of Right, Title, or Interest in the premises (property where the license will be located). The Licensee, as listed on Page 1 Section 1 of the AB-00 form, must be the entity or individual that the lease or deed lists as the lessee or owner. All documents must be signed by the appropriate parties. Any sublease or assignment of lease must also provide the master lease/original lease. The "Premises Address" as listed on Page 1 Section 1 of the AB-00 form should be listed in the lease or deed. (If it is not listed, a legal linking document between what IS listed in the lease and the premises address will be required.)
 Entity Documents Limited Liability Companies – Articles of Organization, Certificate of Organization and Operating agreement Corporations – Certificate of Incorporation

New or Transfer License Application Instructions Page 3
New Application Filing Fee (\$500 for each license)
License Fee (See "Alcohol License Fees" on the Alcohol License Application Homepage)
☐ Additional License-Type-Specific Items (See Pages 5 & 6 for license-type-specific checklists)
There may be documents and items that are required for specific types of applications <u>in addition</u> to the items listed in the checklist on this page. Please review the checklists on Pages 5 & 6 to determine what, if any, additional items need to be submitted before your license application will be reviewed and processed by an examiner.

Checklist for Transfer License Applications The following documents and items must be submitted for all license types before a transfer

application will be reviewed for completeness:		
	 Form AB-01: Transfer License Application Sections 4 and 5 are mutually exclusive; only include information in ONE of these sections. If you fill out section 5, please make sure that the CBPL (Corporations, Business and Professiona Licensing) information matches what is listed on your application. https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/cbp/main/search/entities 	
	 Form AB-02: Premises Diagram Please review the diagram requirements carefully, any diagram that does not meet all requirements will be returned for correction. 	
	 Form AB-07: Public Notice Posting Affidavit Posting should occur at the premises and another conspicuous location in the area Common Carrier-Vessels should post in their home port (or main port of call in Alaska) at the Harbor Master's office and another conspicuous location. 	
	 Publisher's Affidavit This affidavit should be signed and notarized by an associate of the publisher or radio in which the advertisement was published; most publishers have their own affidavit format. Use the Advertising Format under Transfer License Forms OR the Advertising Format (Stock Transfer) under Miscellaneous Forms to create your radio or newspaper advertisement. 	
	 Background Check Documents This should be done for all individuals requiring background checks. (See sections 4 & 5 of form AB-01) Form AB-08a: Authorization of Records Release Fingerprint Cards (less than one year old) Background Check Fee (See "Alcohol Licensing Fees" on the Alcohol License Application Homepage) 	
	Form AB-09: Statement of Financial Interest This form should be completed by the transferee (new ownership).	
	 Form AB-11: Creditors Affidavit (As applicable) This form should be completed by the transferor (current ownership), when a transfer of ownership occurs. This form is not required when the transfer is only for change of location. 	
	 Proof of Right, Title, or Interest in the Premises (property where the license will be located). If the transfer is a transfer of ownership and NOT location, it is imperative that the transferor (current licensee) maintain right/title and interest in the premises until the transfer is effectuated. Most commonly, the submitted documents have either an effective date of "upon license transfer" or there is a lease-back agreement that is in effect until the transfer is effectuated. 	

New or Transfer License Application Instructions Page 5

- The Transferee (new owner), as listed on Page 2 Section 2 of the AB-01 form, must be the entity or individual that the lease or deed lists as the lessee or owner.
- All documents must be signed by the appropriate parties.
- Any sublease or assignment of lease must also provide the master lease/original lease.
- The "Premises Address" as listed on Page 2 Section 2 of the AB-01 form should be listed in the lease or deed. (If it is not listed, a legal linking document between what IS listed in the lease/deed and the premises address will be required.)

	 Entity Documents Limited Liability Companies – Articles of Organization, Certificate of Organization and Operating agreement Corporations – Certificate of Incorporation
	Transfer Application Filing Fee (\$500 for each license)
П	Additional License-Type-Specific Items (See Pages 5 & 6 for license-type-specific checklists)

There may be documents and items that are required for specific types of applications <u>in addition</u> to the items listed in the checklist on this page. Please review the checklists on Pages 5 & 6 to determine what, if any, additional items need to be submitted before your license application will be reviewed and processed by an examiner.

New or Transfer License Application Instructions Page 6

License-Type-Specific Checklists

Review the checklists below to determine if the type of license you are applying for will require additional documentation. All items must be submitted before your application will be reviewed for completeness.

Restaurant or Eating Place Licenses OR Any qualifying licenses that wish to function under a Restaurant
Designation:
 Form AB-03: Restaurant Designation Permit Application ■ Menu ■ Restaurant Designation Permit Fee (\$50)
 DEC Kitchen Permit OR DEC Plan Review Approval OR DEC Kitchen Permit Application date stamped Received by DEC (A final permit will be required before finalization.) In the Municipality of Anchorage, corresponding Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) documentation is required. Please follow this link to the DEC Food Safety Website: http://dec.alaska.gov/eh/fss/food/ Please follow this link to the Municipality Food Safety Website: http://www.muni.org/Departments/health/Admin/environment/FSS/Pages/fssfood.aspx
Wholesale-Malt Beverage and Wine or Wholesale-General Licenses:
TTB Permit
☐ AB-25: Suppliers Certifications
Supplier Fees (See form "Wholesale Supplier Fee Schedule" under Miscellaneous Forms on the Alcohol License Application Homepage)
Brewery/Winery/Distillery/Brewpub:
☐ TTB Permit
Beverage Dispensary-Tourism or Restaurant or Eating Place-Tourism:
Tourism Statement (Use "Tourism Statement Guidelines" under Miscellaneous Forms on the Alcohol License Application Homepage)
AB-19: Guest Room Stock (If applicable)
AB-03 (See above, Restaurant Designation)
Public Convenience Applications OR other applications required to submit petitions (see form AB-12):
AB-12 Petition form (under Miscellaneous Forms)
Map of Radius for Signatures

New or Transfer License Application Instructions Page 7
Narrative for Population and Signatures obtained (MUST include a verifiable basis for population determination such as Census data)
Recreational Site
Recreational Site Statement (Use "Recreational Site Statement Guidelines" under Miscellaneous Forms)
Outdoor Recreational Lodge
Outdoor Recreational Lodge Statement (Contact AMCO Staff for statement guidelines)
License Transfers with Security Interest
☐ UCC Financing Statement
Other Security Interest Documents
Common Carrier
Airplane - FAA Standard Airworthiness Certificate