In order to receive a permit to use the "Made in Alaska" emblem on a product or handicraft, a completed application must be submitted to a "Made in Alaska" agent or the Division of Economic Development.
A separate permit is required for each of the applicant's handicrafts or product lines. The annual permit fee for the "Made in Alaska" permit is $25.00 per product line or a maximum of $75.00 per permit holder.
For example: Beverages, candles, jewelry, and woodcrafts are considered separate product lines.
The department or a "Made in Alaska" agent will review the application to verify information concerning the applicant's products through either a site inspection of the manufacturing facilities or other verification procedure.
Based on the verification report, the commissioner, or a "Made in Alaska" agent will make the determination if the handicraft, product, or product line meets the "Made in Alaska" program requirements.
Within 30 days after receiving notification of denial of an application or renewal for authorization to use the "Made in Alaska" emblem. If the applicant wishes to appeal, the applicant's exclusive recourse shall be as follows:
The applicant may request reconsideration by the Commissioner. The request for reconsideration must specify grounds that would support reversal of the denial. Within 30 days after receipt of a completed request for reconsideration, the Commissioner will issue a written decision. The Commissioner's decision on reconsideration constitutes final administrative action by the department.
Certification Requirements Back to Top
3 AAC 58.040
(a) The "Made in Alaska" program is designed to promote products made or manufactured in the state and handicrafts produced by both Native and non-Native craftspersons.
(b) The official emblem for the "Made in Alaska" program depicts a mother bear and her cub in a rectangular format with the words "Made in Alaska" underneath. The "Made in Alaska" emblem has no established colors.
(c) Except as provided in (i) of this section, a person who makes or manufactures a product or produces a handicraft in the state may apply to the commissioner or a "Made in Alaska" agent for a permit to use the "Made in Alaska" emblem on the product.
(d) A separate permit is required for each handicraft type or product line of the applicant.
(e) A permit to use the "Made in Alaska" emblem will be issued to an applicant who:
(1) locates and maintains the handicraft or product making or manufacturing operation within the state;
(2) produces a handicraft in the state or a product in which the value-added processes were accomplished in the state;
(3) uses Alaska resources and materials in the manufacturing or production of the product or handicraft, or provides documentation that the raw resources and materials do not exist with the state either in the form, quality, or quantity required for the production of the product or the handicraft;
(4) has a current Alaska business license if required by AS 43.70;
(5) submits a completed application and the required annual fees;
(6) permits the inspection of the production or manufacturing site by the commissioner or a "Made in Alaska" agent; and
(7) complies with the requirements of AS 45.65.010 - 45.65.070 and 3 AAC 58.005 - .900 to determine the eligibility of the product.
(f) A finished product that is only partially manufactured within the state may be authorized to use the "Made in Alaska" emblem if:
(1) the producer demonstrates that no manufacturing facility exists in the state with the capacity or expertise to do the work being accomplished outside the state; the commissioner or "Made in Alaska" agent will not consider cost alone as a valid justification for using out-of-state manufacturing facilities; and
(2) the majority of the value-added processes are accomplished in the state.
(g) A permit to use the "Made in Alaska" emblem is valid for one year from the date the permit is issued. A permit may be renewed by:
(1) submitting a complete permit renewal application; and
(2) paying the required fee
(h) The commissioner or a "Made in Alaska" agent must approved or disapprove an application or renewal application to use "Made in Alaska" emblems within 30 days of the date of receipt of a completed application.
(i) The printing industry is not eligible for a permit to use the Made in Alaska emblem for routine printing projects that involve printing or duplication or items or writings not created by the printer.
Utilizing the "Made in Alaska" Emblem Back to Top
The permit holder may obtain "Made in Alaska" emblems from authorized sources that conform to the requirements of AS 45.65.010 - 45.65.070 and 3 AAC 58.005 - .900. The representation of the emblem may be in the form of tags, stickers, rubber-stamps, etc.
A permit holder may use a representation of that emblem on labels, letterheads, business cards, in-store and other advertising , and for other similar purposes.
The "Made in Alasa" emblem or a representation of that emblem may not be sold as art or as a dominant feature of a product logo or label unless approved by the commissioner in writing.
Penalties for Misuse of the "Made in Alaska" Emblem Back to Top
Penalties for misuse of the "Made in Alaska" emblem are as follows:
AS 08.45.65.060 PENALTIES (c) A person who knowingly or will fully alters, changes, or counterfeits and identification seal or emblem is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. (d) A person who knowingly or willfully sells, or offers to sell and article that is not made in the state but bears the "Made in Alaska" emblem is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. (e) A person who knowingly or willfully uses the emblem for an article that is not made in the state is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. (g) A person who has been issued a permit under AS 45.65.045 to issue permits to use the emblem is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor if the person knowingly or willfully issues a permit for an article that is not made in the state.
3 AAC 58.075. REVOCATION AND DEBARMENT (a) The permit of a person authorized to use the silver hand seal or the "Made in Alaska" emblem, or to act as an agent for either the silver hand or the "Made in Alaska" program who is convicted of an offense under AS 45.65.060 is automatically revoked as of the date of the conviction. (b) Any person who is convicted of an offense under AS 45.65.060 is barred from any further participation in either the silver hand or the "Made in Alaska" program. (c) After notice and opportunity for hearing, the commissioner will, in the commissioner's discretion, revoke a permit for failure to comply with the requirements of AS 45.65.010 - 45.65.070 including the payment of fees, and this chapter.
3 AAC 58.900
For More Information
If you are interested in obtaining a copy of the "Made in Alaska" regulations or if you would like additional information on the "Made in Alaska" program, please contact:
Made in Alaska, Program Manager, Division of Economic Development, 550 W 7th Avenue, Suite 1770, Anchorage, AK 99501 Phone: 907-269-8150 or Fax: 907-269-5666 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
You can download an application packet from the following link: MIA Initial Certification Packet
Your name and contact information and any information that you provide regarding the MIA Program, including any alleged misuse of the logo, may be disclosed in response to a request under the Alaska Public Records Act.
Toll Free Hotline 1-800-478-5626 within Alaska