Skip to content
Back to Top

Minerals Development

Alaska Minerals Commission Members


Eleven members who have at least five years experience in the various aspects of the state's mineral industries: 5 members appointed by the governor (1 of whom must reside in a rural community); 3 members appointed by the president of the senate; 3 members appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives.


The commission shall make recommendations to the governor and to the legislature on ways to mitigate the constraints, including governmental constraints, on development of minerals, including coal, in the state.

Details Roster

Alaska Minerals Commission

  • Dr. Lance Miller (Chair)
  • Anna Atchison
  • Greg Beischer
  • Jerome Birch
  • Jocelyn Fenton
  • James Fueg
  • Charles Heath
  • Bronk Jorgensen
  • Jeff Keener
  • Rob Retherford
  • Fred Wallis
Annual Report Staff Contacts