Skip to content
Back to Top

Tourism Development and Marketing

Alaska Tour Guide Training Program

Overview

Alaska Tour Guide Training is a 2 1/2 day workshop that generates economic activity in communities by helping residents get hired as tour guides and helping guides start their own tour businesses. The curriculum explores the elements that make up a successful and compelling tour.

The training provides hands-on practice working with different learning styles of guests and meeting visitor expectations. The art of interpretation and telling a story rests at the core of this training program.

Alaska Tour Guide Training

Photo Credit: Odin Brudie

Current Alaska Tour Guide Trainers

Linda Nicklin (Master Trainer)
Gastineau Guiding
Juneau
907-723-3981
lindawhit@hotmail.com

Odin Brudie (Master Trainer)
Juneau
907-209-4344
odin@gci.net

Joel Probst (Master Trainer)
Northern Safety Operations
Juneau
907-523-9094
joel@northernsafetyoperations.com

Dave Doughty
Seward
907-224-3960
dave@kayakak.com

Janelle Eklund
Wrangell Institute for Science and Environment
Copper Center
907-822-3282
jeklund@cvinternet.net

Dragon London
(907) 220-4411
dragon.london00@gmail.com

Anthony Nakazawa
UAF Cooperative Extension
Anchorage
907-786-6323
atnakazawa@alaska.edu

Eric Oravsky
Adventure Flow
Juneau
907-202-8889
eric@adventureflow.us

Jasmin Smith
Owner/Small Business Development Consultant
Certified Hospitality Department Trainer
The Business Boutique
907-230-4968
www.thebusinessboutique.org

Dan L. Wetzel
Nature Alaska Tours
Fairbanks
907-488-3746
dwetzel@alaska.net

Trainer Materials Class Schedule Contact Us