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Alaska Workers’ Compensation Rates to Decrease in 2019 
Division of Insurance reviewing proposed decreases of 14 to 17 percent 

 
OCTOBER 4, 2018 ANCHORAGE – Beginning in January, Alaska businesses will likely see an average decrease of 
17.5 percent for workers’ compensation insurance assigned risk rates, and an average of 14.8 percent decrease 
for workers’ compensation voluntary loss costs.  

“These proposed rate reductions are welcome news for Alaska businesses — lower workers’ compensation costs 
reduce the burden on the small businesses that strengthen our economy,” said Governor Bill Walker. “Thank 
you to the Alaska State Legislature and the Department of Labor and Workforce Development for their work on 
payment reform, contributing to significant rate reductions for 2019.” 

The 2019 rate reductions follow 2018 rates that fell 5.4 percent from 2017. Alaska has reduced rates by 
approximately 25 percent since 2015, thanks to continuing declines in claim frequency and favorable medical 
cost trends. 

"If approved, this would be the biggest year-to-year decrease in workers’ compensation rates in 40 years,” said 
Labor Commissioner Heidi Drygas. “The department worked tirelessly to reform the workers’ compensation 
system to increase efficiency and lower medical costs, both major factors in premiums.” 

The Division of Insurance is responsible for determining whether the reduced rates proposed by the National 
Council on Compensation Insurance (the organization in charge of filing workers’ compensation insurance rates 
in Alaska) are adequate. If approved, the new workers’ compensation rates will go into effect in January.  

The Department of Labor and Workforce Development promotes safe and legal working conditions 
and opportunities for employment in Alaska and enforces labor, safety, and workers’ compensation laws for 
Alaska’s workers. For more information about the Division of Labor Standards & Safety, visit 
labor.alaska.gov/lss. For more information about the Division of Workers’ Compensation, 
visit labor.alaska.gov/wc.  

The Division of Insurance is an agency housed within the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development (DCCED) tasked with regulating the insurance industry to protect consumers in Alaska. 
For additional information about the division, visit commerce.alaska.gov/web/ins. For information about DCCED 
and its other agencies, visit commerce.alaska.gov. 
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