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HEY KIDS OF ALL AGES!   
 
COLOR ME! 
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What is Auto Insurance? 
Auto insurance helps protect you from losses resulting from motor vehicle 
accidents.  An auto policy usually has several types of protections or “coverages.”  
Some coverages are required, while some are optional.   
 
The cost for coverage varies widely among companies doing business in Alaska.  
That’s why it is important to shop around when choosing an insurance company.  
Before you buy, you must decide what coverages best fit your needs.  Your agent 
should work with you to come up with personalized coverage.   
 
It is very important to read your policy thoroughly and familiarize yourself with 
the types of coverage to know what’s covered under your auto policy. 
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Auto Insurance Overview 
The owner or operator of a vehicle registered for use on the road must carry at least the legally 
required minimum amount of liability insurance.  Liability coverage provides you with 
protection from claims by others for damages that might arise out of an accident for which you 
are found to be legally responsible.  This coverage is divided into Bodily Injury Liability and 
Property Damage Liability.   

The Alaska Division of Insurance does not set insurance requirements.  Our office is charged 
with administering the Alaska Insurance Code in Title 21 of the Alaska Statutes.  The authority 
charged with administering Title 28 for the Alaska Uniform Traffic Laws Act is the Department 
of Administration, Division of Motor Vehicles.   

As of the date of this publication, your policy must include minimum liability coverage of: 

Bodily Injury Liability: 
$50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident 

Bodily Injury Liability Information 
Bodily injury liability insurance protects you against the claims of other people 

who are injured in an accident for which you were at fault. Their claims for bodily injury 
may include medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering. 

Property Damage Liability: 
$25,000 per accident 

Property Damage Information 
Property damage liability insurance pays for any damage you cause to the 

property of others. This includes not only damages to other vehicles, but also other 
property such as walls, fences and equipment 
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Alaska Requirements / Proof of Insurance 
Alaska Statute 28.22.019 requires that you must have a copy of your policy, certificate of self-
insurance, insurance identification card or mobile electronic device display of insurance 
verification in your immediate possession when you are driving a motor vehicle.   

Additionally, if you are involved in an accident that results in bodily injury, death, or property 
damage exceeding $501, you will be required to show proof of insurance. 

Failure to have insurance can result in the suspension of your driver’s license.  Before your 
license can be reinstated, proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) must be supplied and 
reinstatement fees paid.  An SR-22 filing may be obtained from your insurance company and 
must be filed with the Division of Motor Vehicles for three years following an accident in which 
the driver was uninsured. 

The Alaska Uniform Traffic Laws Act (Title 28) is administered by the Alaska Department of 
Administration, Division of Motor Vehicles.  The Division of Motor Vehicles can be reached at: 

Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
Anchorage and out of state 

(907) 269-5551
Outside of Anchorage, in Alaska

(855) 269-5551

Mailing Address 
3901 Old Seward Highway 
Suite 101 
Anchorage, AK  99503
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Full Coverage?  Not actually a thing… 
Many think they carry “full coverage" on their car insurance policy; however, there is no such 
thing as full coverage auto insurance.  If you ask for full coverage, you may end up with: State-
required liability, Collision Coverage and Comprehensive Coverage.   

The coverages and amount of protection will vary by the company issuing the policy. 
Consumers should ask about the details, read the fine print carefully, and consider the 
following Optional Coverages. 

Optional Insurance Coverages 

Collision 
Collision coverage provides an option for taking care of damage to your vehicle.  It pays 
for the replacement of your vehicle or the repair of physical damage to your vehicle 
caused by colliding with an object or by overturning.  If the cost of repairs exceeds the 
vehicle’s current value, it may be declared a total loss by your insurance company, and 
you may be paid for its actual cash value or equivalent as determined by Alaska 
insurance law. 

Because collision and comprehensive coverage often work hand-in-hand, your insurance 
company may require that you carry comprehensive coverage when you carry collision.  
Your lienholder may also require that you purchase collision coverage. 

Comprehensive 
Comprehensive coverage, sometimes called “other than collision” coverage, is an 
optional coverage that pays for repairing other types of physical damage to your vehicle.  
If your vehicle is financed, the lienholder may require this coverage.  Damage from fire, 
wind or hail, vandalism, theft, and broken glass are examples of how this coverage may 
be used.  Running into a bear or moose, or any collision with a bird or animal, is included 
in this coverage.  You may carry comprehensive coverage with or without collision, 
although your lienholder may also require that you purchase comprehensive coverage 
with collision. 

Uninsured / Underinsured Motorists 
When you complete an application for auto liability insurance, you must be presented 
with a written offer for this coverage.  Insurers must offer you a variety of coverage 
choices, including limits equal to the Liability coverage which you selected.  You must be 
offered Bodily Injury and Property Damage as separate coverages.  You have the option 
of selecting both at any of the available limits, rejecting both, or selecting one coverage 
and rejecting the other.  If your selection or rejection is not verified by your signature, 
Alaska law requires that the company issue your policy with coverage limits matching 
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your Liability coverage.  If you reject this coverage, the company is not required to make 
another offer at renewal, but you may request that the coverage be added at any time.   

If you are in an accident and the other party is found to be responsible but does not 
have insurance or does not have enough insurance to meet your expenses, this 
coverage is designed to take care of your injuries and damage to your property.  This 
coverage also applies to hit-and-run situations or when your vehicle is hit while parked 
and you are unable to determine the identity of the other party.  This coverage also 
applies if you are hit by a vehicle as a pedestrian or on a bicycle.  

Medical Payments 
Medical Payments is an optional coverage that pays hospital, medical, and funeral 
expenses for you or others who are injured or killed while in your vehicle. Unlike Bodily 
Injury Liability coverage, payment under this coverage can be made without a 
determination of negligence.   

Medical Payments Coverage also applies to you, your family members, or others insured 
on your policy when they are in another vehicle or when they are injured by a vehicle as 
a pedestrian.   

You may want to consider carrying this coverage even if you have health insurance that 
covers you and your family.  If an accident occurs, medical treatment for your friends, 
carpool partners, or your child’s soccer team that you take to practice could all be 
immediately covered without waiting for fault to be assigned at the end of a lengthy 
claims process or lawsuit.  If you have health insurance, you may want to check with 
your health insurance company to learn how it might share payment or coordinate 
benefits with this coverage. 

Rental Reimbursement Coverage 
Rental Reimbursement coverage (sometimes called “loss of use” or “transportation 
expenses”) repays you for the cost of a rental car only when your vehicle is disabled 
after a covered loss or in the event of theft of your auto.  Reimbursement may be 
limited to a specific amount per day and for a limited number of days.  Because you may 
be presented with a number of options for the daily reimbursement rate when you are 
shopping for insurance, you will want to be aware of rental costs in your community so 
that you will be sure that you are purchasing adequate coverage. 

Towing and Labor Coverage 
Towing and Labor Coverage, sometimes call Roadside Assistance or Emergency Services, 
reimburses you or pays for towing your vehicle to a repair shop.  One way that towing 
costs are often covered is by providing up to a specific amount per use.  However, there 
may be a limit indicated in your policy on the number of times this coverage may be 
used. 
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This coverage may also provide payment or reimbursement for other types of assistance 
provided by a mobile service unit.  Examples of the types of services that may be 
covered are a locksmith, delivery of a part such as a fan belt, the cost to change a tire or 
jump start your vehicle.  Check with your agent or insurance company for a description 
of what services are covered and the limits of coverage. 

Electronic, Audio, and Visual Equipment Coverage
If you have added audio, visual, or other electronic equipment to your vehicle, you may 
want to check with your agent or insurance company to see if you need this additional 
coverage.  Most policies may only cover the theft of electronic equipment that was 
installed in your vehicle by the factory or that is permanently installed in the dashboard.  

Theft of CDs or other media may be included in this coverage or added as a separate 
coverage.  Most policies place a limit, such as $100, $250, or $500, on recovery under 
this coverage. 

If you have added custom equipment to your vehicle, you may want to check with your 
agent or insurance company to see whether you need additional coverage.  There may 
be limits to the amount of coverage that would be indicated in your policy 
endorsements. 

Miscellaneous Coverage 
These may include loan/lease gap coverage (pays the difference between the value of 
the damaged auto and any outstanding loan or lease balance, if greater), 
death/disability benefits, pet coverage, loss of earnings benefits, personal property 
coverage, and more. 

Deductibles 
A deductible, the portion of the loss that you have agreed to pay, may apply to certain 
coverages.  In the event of a loss, the insurance company will pay for any covered loss 
less the deductible amount.  If you have a $500 deductible and suffer a $1,500 covered 
loss, the company will pay $1,000 and you will be responsible for the remaining $500.  
Although selecting a higher deductible will lower your premium, you should be realistic 
about the amount you can afford to pay in the event of a loss.  Your deductible can vary 
throughout the types of optional coverages. 

Insuring Other Types of Vehicles 

Motorcycle 
The minimum liability limits required by state law for motorcycle insurance are the same 
as for automobile insurance; however, there is no requirement that the company make 
an offer of higher limits for Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Coverage. 
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The market for motorcycle insurance in Alaska is relatively limited.  Of the companies 
that offer coverage, some may require that you insure another vehicle or property with 
their company. 

 
Motor Home/Recreational Vehicle 
Coverage for your motor home or recreational vehicle may also be available through the 
company that provides your automobile insurance.  You may also find coverage through 
an association for recreational vehicle users. 
 

Rental Car Insurance  
Car rental companies offer several different insurance options that your existing policy might 
already cover.  If you rent a vehicle, you may want to check with your auto insurer to determine 
what supplemental coverages you may need in addition to your current auto policy.  Car rental 
companies typically offer the following products at the counter: 
 

Collision Damage Waiver 
Collision Damage Waiver is also referred to as a Loss Damage Waiver (LDW).  If you have 
comprehensive and collision coverage on your own car, you will likely not need this 
additional protection.  (As explained on page 6 in this guide, comprehensive insurance 
covers vehicular damages caused by accidents such as fire, theft, wind, hail, or a run-in 
with a deer, vandalism, or theft.  Collision insurance covers the cost of repairs or the 
actual cash value of the vehicle, if damaged in a crash or rollover.)   

 
Liability Insurance 
Liability insurance covers medical expenses and damages to another person’s property 
as a result of a car accident caused by the insured’s negligence.  If you are adequately 
insured on your own car, you may consider forgoing this additional liability protection. 

 
Personal Accident Insurance 
Personal Accident Insurance offers coverage to the renter and passengers for medical 
bills resulting from a car crash.  If you have adequate health insurance and disability 
income insurance, or are covered by personal injury protection/medical payments 
coverage under your own car insurance, you will likely not need this additional 
insurance. 

 
Personal Effects Coverage 
Personal Effects Coverage provides for the theft of personal items inside the rental car.  
If you have a homeowners or renters insurance policy, it may cover this already; 
however, you should check your homeowners policy for specific coverages and 
limitations. If you frequently travel with expensive jewelry or sports equipment, it may 
be more cost-effective to purchase a floater under your home or renter’s insurance 
policies so the items are fully protected when you travel. 
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Rating Factors Insurance Companies Consider 

Year, Make, and Model of Vehicle 
Rates for vehicles are based on statistics compiled by the insurance industry.  These 
statistics include information such as the frequency of theft and accident claims, the cost to 
repair a vehicle, the size and type of vehicle, and their safety performance and history.  If 
you have the serial or vehicle identification number (VIN) for your vehicle, the quote you 
receive will be more accurate than one based solely on year, make, and model.  The VIN can 
indicate features such as the engine size, presence of anti-lock brakes, and whether your 
vehicle has four-wheel drive. 

Vehicle Usage 
Rates may vary based on whether your vehicle is used only for pleasure, used to drive back 
and forth to work, or used in the course of your business.  Each type of usage is defined in 
the policy and the terms used to describe usage may vary from company to company.  
Usage may also include the number of miles of your daily commute or an estimate of your 
annual mileage.  Because terminology differs between companies, it is better to describe 
the use of our vehicle and allow the person providing your quote to decide which term best 
fits your description.   

Names of All Owners and Operators of the Vehicle(s) in Your Household 
Some companies will also need the name of all members of your household who are old 
enough to drive.  The price of your policy may be based on information on all licensed 
drivers as well as all potential drivers. 

Alaska Statute 28.20.440(l) allows you the option of excluding a driver in your household 
from coverage.  Your insurance company may request that you do this if a driver on your 
policy has proven to be a greater risk than the other covered drivers.  You may have a young 
driver away at school without a vehicle and may exclude them from coverage in an effort to 
lower the cost of your policy.  Before excluding a driver from your policy, you may want to 
determine if there are less restrictive ways of removing someone from your policy. 

Physical Address 
Rates vary based on where you drive.  A resident of a small, remote community may be less 
likely to be involved in an accident than a resident of a large, urban community where there 
are more miles of road and many more vehicles on the road. 

Age, Sex, and Marital Status 
Insurance rates are based on statistics that each company has compiled.  For example, if 
statistics indicate that single men under the age of 25 have been found at fault in more 
accidents, the company will charge a higher rate for customers who fall in that category, 
because as a group, they will increase the need for funds to cover the expense of claims. 
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Driving History and License Status 
The company will need to know how long each person has been driving, any involvement in 
accidents, any moving violations, any suspensions and/or revocations of license, and if there 
is a need for a Financial Responsibility Filing (SR22).  Although the company will request a 
copy of your driving record if you apply for a policy, disclosing as much information as 
possible will make it more likely that your estimated price will match your actual price. 

Prior Insurance 
If you currently have an automobile insurance policy or have had a policy in the past, you 
will need to provide the name of the company, the dates that you were insured, and the 
liability coverage limits you carried.  Some companies may offer you a better price if you 
carried liability limits higher than the minimum required limits.  If you have not owned a 
vehicle, were not legally required to carry insurance, and have not violated the Alaska 
Mandatory Insurance Act, lack of prior insurance coverage may not be considered as a 
factor in rating your policy (Division of Insurance Order R93-5). 

Stability 
You may be asked for information related to the length of your employment in your current 
job or occupation and whether you own or rent your home.  While insurance companies are 
looking for stability, this information may also open the door to discounts based on your 
status as a homeowner or as a retired person. 
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Credit Information 
You may be asked to provide information regarding any bankruptcy, judgments, or credit 
problems.  The insurance company may ask your permission to obtain a credit report or will 
disclose to you that an insurance score will be used to complete the premium quote. 

An insurance score is a number or rating that is based in whole or in part on a consumer’s 
credit history.  Alaska law allows insurers to consider credit information in the selection of 
applicants and setting of rates.  Consumers may dispute the credit information that was 
used or request an exception for extraordinary life circumstances. Alaska law allows you to 
request reconsideration of an adverse action based in whole or in part on your credit 
history if the information on your credit report is in dispute.  More information on insurance 
scoring and credit scoring can be found on our website: insurance.alaska.gov. 

To obtain your credit history, you may be asked to supply your date of birth, social security 
number, and current or prior address.  Details of your credit report are usually not provided 
to the company, but a credit score, insurance score, or rating is assigned to you based on 
information contained in your credit report.  More information on insurance scoring and 
credit scoring can be found on our website: insurance.alaska.gov.  

The credit report vendor used by the insurance company may not be the same one recently 
used by your bank or loan company, so periodically reviewing the information on file with 
all three credit report vendors is a good idea.  Under the Fair and Accurate Credit 
Transactions Act you may now obtain one free credit report per year at 
www.annualcreditreport.com or by calling 1-877-322-8228.  

http://www.insurance.alaska.gov/
http://www.insurance.alaska.gov/
http://www.annualcreditreport.com/
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Common Discounts  
Providing complete and accurate information is the best way to guarantee that your premium 
quote will truly reflect your unique situation and that you will be quoted a fair price.  By 
knowing about possible discounts, you may be able to transform a fair price into a better price.  
Here are some common discounts you might want to ask about: 
 

Multiple Vehicle 
 Most companies offer this to customers who insure more than one vehicle with them. 

 
Good Driver 

Some companies reward drivers who have been accident or violation free for a number 
of years. 

 
Driver Education / Safety Courses 

Successful completion of an accredited course may help offset the higher cost of 
insuring a young driver.  

 
Good Student / Distant Student 

High school and college students may earn a discount by maintaining a certain scholastic 
record, which may vary by company.  If your child is a student at a school away from 
your home and does not have a vehicle available for use, there may be a discount 
available to reflect the decreased possibility of a loss. 

 
Senior Citizen / Retired Driver 

Sometimes this discount is based on having reached a certain age or it may be given 
upon attaining a designated age and no longer being a daily commuter.  Additionally, 
Alaska law requires companies to give a discount to drivers over the age of 55 who 
voluntarily complete a motor vehicle accident prevention course approved by the 
Department of Administration. 

 
Safety Devices / Anti-Theft Devices 

If you provided the vehicle identification number, it is likely that items such as airbags, 
automatic seat belts, and anti-lock brakes were identified at that time.  But there may 
be additional discounts available for alarm systems and other safety features. 

 
Homeowners Discount / Multiple Policy Discount 

You may receive a discount for owning your home, but may be required to provide 
proof of homeowners insurance as verification.  If you have your homeowners or 
renters policy with the same company, you may qualify for an additional discount. 
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Your Responsibilities  
An automobile insurance policy is a legal contract.  It explains your rights and responsibilities 
and those of the insurance company.  Keep your policy in your home files and know the name 
of your insurer. 
 
You should read your policy and be sure you understand it.  If you have questions about your 
insurance policy, contact your insurance agent or company. 
 
When you buy auto insurance, you’ll receive a complete policy with declarations and applicable 
endorsements.  If you don’t receive a policy within 30 days, contact the insurance company.  If 
you need a company’s toll-free number, check their website, call your agent, or contact the 
Alaska Division of Insurance. 
 
 
Other helpful tips: 

• Pay the premium on time.  Some insurers do not accept late payments.  If an insurer 
accepts your payment late, it may increase your premium at renewal. 

• Your full premium is due when your policy starts, which is usually every six months.  
Many insurance companies will let you pay monthly.  To do this, you will likely pay an 
extra fee. 

• Keep your proof-of-insurance card in your car at all times. 
• Keep a file of all paperwork you completed online or received in the mail and signed, 

including the policy, changes to your policy, renewal notices, correspondence, copies of 
advertisements, premium payment receipts, notes of conversations, and any claims 
submitted. 

• Maintain your vehicle.  You are responsible for its upkeep and repair (including 
maintenance) to keep it in good condition.   
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Claims 
Do you know what your automobile policy covers?  Read the policy thoroughly so that you 
know what is covered, how much is covered, and what is excluded.  Your policy will also contain 
information on how to contact the company in the event of a loss. 
 
The following guidelines should assist you as you work with your insurance company to report 
and resolve a claim: 

• Telephone your insurance agent or claims office as soon as possible.  Ask what forms or 
documents will be needed to support your claim.  Although many claims are now filed 
electronically, you may need to supply supporting documents such as medical receipts, 
auto repair bills, and a copy of the police report. Many insurers have an application for 
your mobile device that can help you file a claim.  You can also access a helpful checklist 
to carry in your vehicle at https://www.insureuonline.org/auto_accident_checklist.pdf  

• Promptly supply any information your insurance company needs.  Cooperate in its 
investigation, settlement, or defense of any claim. 

• Keep records of all your expenses.  Emergency expenses you incurred as a result of an 
automobile accident may be covered under your policy. 

• Keep copies of all your documents.  Store copies of all your accident-related documents 
with your other important papers. 

 
What to do if you are in an accident 
If you’re involved in an accident you should exchange information with the other driver(s).  Get 
their name, address, phone numbers, and their insurance company’s name and phone number.  
This information is on the proof-of-insurance card.  If you can’t get this information, write down 
their driver’s license number and license plate number to give to your insurance company.  Be 
prepared to share the same information about yourself with the other driver.  
 

• Call 911 if someone is injured. 
• If your car is drivable, move it out of traffic. 
• Get this important information at the accident scene: 

o The other car’s make, model, year, and license plate number. 
o Witnesses’ names and contact information. 
o The name, badge number, and contact information for the officer who comes to 

the accident.  Ask the officer the report number and when/where to get the 
accident report. 

o The date, time, and exact location of the accident, with notes of skid marks, 
weather and road conditions.  Take photos or sketch a diagram of the accident 
scene. 

• If your car is damaged by a hit-and-run driver or is stolen, promptly call the police. 
 

 
 

https://www.insureuonline.org/auto_accident_checklist.pdf
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What to Do if you Can’t Get Coverage 
Have you been unable to obtain automobile insurance? 
You may be eligible for coverage under the Alaska Automobile Insurance Plan (Assigned Risk).  
The plan assigns applicants to private insurance companies doing business in Alaska. 
For more information, ask your agent or call AIPSO at 800-227-4659. 
 

Words to Know  
 

Actual Cash Value (ACV) In automobile insurance, actual cash value is equivalent to 
a vehicle’s pre-loss market value. 

 
Adjuster 
A person or firm who is employed by the insurance company (or contracted by the 
company) and is responsible for investigating and determining the value of your loss. 

 
Binder 
A temporary proof of insurance that is only valid for the number of days indicated on 
the binder or until the actual insurance policy is issued, which ever time period is 
shorter. 

 
Cancellation 
The termination of your insurance coverage at any time other than at a policy 
anniversary date. 

 
Deductible 
The amount you pay when you have a claim before your insurance company begins 
payment. 

 
Proof of loss 
A formal statement made by the insured to the insurance company providing sufficient 
information concerning the loss that the company uses to determine its liability under 
the policy. 

 
Underwriting 
The process of examining, accepting, or rejecting an individual or group for insurance 
coverage, and classifying those accepted into categories based on their risk in order to 
charge an appropriate premium. 
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About the Alaska Division of Insurance 
The Alaska Division of Insurance is a state agency headed by the Director of Insurance.  The 
most important function of the division is consumer protection, which includes oversight of the 
financial conditions of insurance companies.  As insurance needs have grown, the need to assist 
Alaska consumers has also grown. 
 
There are two offices; one is located on the 9th floor of the State Office Building in Juneau, and 
the other is located on the 15th floor of the Atwood Building in Anchorage. 
 

Contact Us: www.insurance.alaska.gov  
 

Juneau Mailing     Anchorage Mailing 
PO Box 110805     550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1560 
Juneau, AK  99811-0805    Anchorage, AK  99501-3597 
Main Phone (907) 465-2515    Main Phone (907) 269-7900 
Fax (907) 465-3422     Fax (907) 269-7910 
TDD (907) 465-5437     TDD (907) 465-5437 
 
 

Contact Consumer Services 
Our Consumer Services section can answer general questions and help if you are having 
problems with your insurance company or agent.  We enforce Alaska insurance laws and 
investigate potential violations.   
 
Our Consumer Services Office is located in Anchorage; (907) 269-7900 or (800) 467-8725 (in-
state, outside Anchorage). 
 
 

Visit our Website 
Answers to many of your questions and additional guidance may be available on 
our website: www.insurance.alaska.gov.   
 
You can also review our annual reports regarding specific insurance companies, obtain contact 
and certificate of authority information regarding certain companies, find laws and statutes, 
and review breaking insurance news. 
 
 
 

 
 

http://www.insurance.alaska.gov/
http://www.insurance.alaska.gov/
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