
 



BULLETIN B 01-03 

TO: Alaska Domestic Insurance Companies 

RE: Filing Requirements for Insurance Company Financial Statements  

AS 21.09.200 and 21.09.205 require that each authorized insurer file a financial statement 

under the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ annual or quarterly statement 

instructions. The statutes require the annual statement to be filed before March 2 of each 

year. The quarterly statements are due 60 days after the end of each quarter.  

The financial statements must be received in a clear and readable format. The NAIC annual 

statement instructions specifically require the following:  

. . . printed statements or copies produced by some duplicating process, in lieu 

of handwritten or typewritten statements on the actual blanks required by this 

department, will be accepted if: (1) bound in covers similar in color to the 

required blank; (2) printed or duplicated by a process resulting in permanent 

black characters on a good grade of paper of light color; and (3) such 

statements and all supporting schedules contain all the information required, 

with the same headings and footnotes, and are of the same size and 

arrangement, page for page, column for column, and line for line, as in the 

required blank, unless the company is otherwise instructed.  

It is important to follow these directions closely in order to comply with 

Alaska law.  

The financial statement filings must also be complete at the time they are filed with the 

division. They must have the appropriate original signatures as required by AS 21.09.200 and 

the NAIC statement instructions. All financial statements must have two signatures, one of 

those being the signature of either the president or vice president and the second signature 

being the secretary. If the insurer is a reciprocal insurer, the statement must be signed under 

oath by the attorney-in-fact. The instructions for original signatures included in the NAIC 

Annual Statement Instructions for the jurat page must be followed. In addition, the financial 

statements must include all supplemental pages required as of the filing date. The division 

will not consider a financial statement properly filed if it is submitted without the appropriate 

original signatures, properly notarized, or without the necessary supplemental pages.  

Compliance with due dates for the financial statements is based on the postmark date of the 

filing. It is imperative that the filer be able to confirm through independent evidence that the 

financial statement was mailed to the division by the due date.  

AS 21.09.200 and 21.09.205 provide for fines for noncompliance with the annual or 



quarterly statement filing requirements. If a financial statement is postmarked after the due 

date or received in an incomplete or unreadable form, it will be considered not filed and the 

$100 per day penalty will be assessed. The statutes do not allow the director discretion in 

applying the penalty.  

Please contact (907) 269-7903 if you have any questions about financial statement filings.  

Dated: January 11, 2001  

 
Robert A. Lohr 

Director 



 

 


