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TO: A1l Insurers and Licensed Alaska
Agents and Brokers

SUBJECT: Mandatory Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance

In 1985, the Alaska Legislature adopted a mandatory motor vehicle liabil-
ity insurance law. That legislation contained a sunset provision which
repealed the mandatory features of the Taw on January T, 1989.

With the enactment of Chapter 108, SLA 1989, SCS CSHB 44 (FIN) am S, -this
law has been reinstated. It is effective June 14, 1989. An owner or
operator of a motor vehicle must have Tiability insurance when the motor
vehicle is driven or moved on a highway, vehicular way, or a public park-
ing place. Penalties are provided for noncompliance with the Taw. In-
surers and producers are urged to review the new Taw to assure an under-
standing of its content. This bulletin is not intended to present a
comprehensive explanation of the new Taw.

The new law differs from the previous mandatory motor vehicle liability
insurance Taw. Some of the changes are as follows:

0 an emergency service volunteer who operates, during the course
of and within the scope of responding to an emergency, a motor
vehicle not owned by the volunteer is not considered an operator;

0 suspension of a motor vehicle license is not mandatory for
failure to comply if a person: (1) is involved in an accident
that results in damage only to the person's own property in an
amount less than $1,000.00; (2) no Tater than 15 days after the
accident the person provides proof of insurance that complies
with AS 28.20.400; and (3) the person establishes a preponder-
ance of evidence showing failure to have automobile Tiability
insurance in effect as required by this chapter was due to
circumstances beyond the control of the person; and
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0 an insured must certify that Tiability insurance is in place at
the time of annual registration of the vehicle insured. "Cer-
tify" means to indicate by check-off on the vehicle registration
form prescribed by the Department of Public Safety, Division of
Motor Vehicles, the existence of a policy of insurance if the
policy is required at the time, and the intention to continue
the policy or obtain a policy as required.

In addition to the mandatory motor vehicle 1iability insurance Tlaw, this
legislation adds a number of new features effective on January 1, 1990.
The following are required:

0 that an insurance policy that provides coverage only against
property damage to a motor vehicle and not Tiability coverage
under AS 28.22.071(d) contain the following statement in bold
type face "This policy provides insurance only against damage
to this vehicle. This policy does not insure against bodily
injury, death, or property damage liability and does not satisfy
the mandatory motor vehicle Tiability requirement under
AS 28.22.011.";

0 that an automobile Tiability insurance policy must provide that
all expenses and fees, not including counsel fees or adjuster
fees, incurred because of arbitration or mediation shall be pa1d
by whom as determined by the arbitrator;

) that an automobile 1iability insurance policy must provide lia-
bility coverage in the amount set out in AS 28.22.101(d) for
motor vehicles rented in the United States or Canada by a person
under the policy;

0 that an automobile Tiability insurance policy must provide
physical damage coverage for motor vehicles rented in the United
States or Canada, if the policy provides for physical damage
coverage. If the insured declines physical damage coverage, the
insurer shall offer physical damage coverage for rented vehi-
cles; and

0 that an insurance company offering automobile Tiability insur-
ance shall offer a short-term policy valid for not more than
seven days. The coverage for the short-term policy must be
comparable to coverage available for longer terms.
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Done this $ day of \JorV , 1989.

L o,

Paul RolTer, Director
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