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Alaska prefers the company use OPTins to file the Annual Premium Tax Report and pay all taxes and fees

A.

B.

C.

1) Certificate of Compliance

A. Tax Payment.
B. Certificate of Authority continuation fee of $2,250.
C. Annual Statement filing fee of $100.

Other Important Notes:

1

2
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6
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If you have any questions contact Rebecca Nesheim at (907) 465-2584 or rebecca.nesheim@alaska.gov

If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the report and payment are due the next business day.  Postmarks by due date are 
acceptable.

The Premium Tax and Fees payment must be received on or before March 1, 2017, and preferably be paid through OPTins, 
otherwise by the Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit or credit payment method in order to avoid a penalty or the possible 
suspension of the Certificate of Authority per AS 21.66.110(c).  This applies to:

Compliance with the required due dates for payments is determined by the date the ACH payment is received by OPTins or in the State 
of Alaska’s bank account.  Instructions to pay the state directly are available at:  
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/ins/INSACHDebit/ACHLoginScreen.aspx An ACH Debit payment will be rejected by the bank 
if the submission contains inaccurate information and the payer will be subject to a penalty if the subsequent payment is 

    

The penalty for paying the tax late is $50 per month plus five percent of the tax due each calendar month or part of a month during 
which the insurer fails to pay the full amount of the tax, or a portion of the tax, up to a maximum of $250 plus 25 percent of the tax due, 
and interest of one percent of the tax due each calendar month or part of a month until tax is paid.

See Annual Checklist for Annual Statement Instructions

If payment is not received by the Automated Clearing House (ACH) payment method, a penalty of 25 percent of the tax due will be 
assessed, with a minimum of $100 and maximum of $2,000.

ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE
INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING ANNUAL STATEMENT AND PREMIUM TAX REPORT

TITLE INSURANCE COMPANY

Within 30 days from filing the annual statement, a deposit with the director is required of 10 percent of the premiums received during the 
preceding year with a maximum of $50,000 until the accumulated deposits total $750,000.  

2) Certificate of Deposit, deposits must be at least $300,000

The due date for the Annual Premium Tax Report is March 1, 2017.  Include with the report the Schedule T and Exhibit of Premiums 
and Losses for Alaska

If the 2016 premium tax is $10,000 or more, the company is required to pay quarterly estimated premium tax during 2017.  The amount 
to be paid is 25% of the 2016 premium tax on or before May 31, August 31, and November 30.

The official premium tax/fees contact name, address, phone, fax, & email will change to the information on the report.

Retaliatory:  Fees and taxes which would be imposed upon Alaska insurers under the laws of another state or foreign country are 
subject to retaliation in the aggregate.  Failure to pay retaliatory may result in suspension or revocation of the insurer’s Certificate of 
Authority.  Do not include producer licensing fees in the retaliatory calculation.  Do not include personal income taxes, ad valorem taxes 
on real or personal property, or special purpose obligations or assessments imposed by another state in connection with particular kinds 
of insurance other than property insurance.

Effective 7/1/13, a film production tax credit certificated under AS 43.98 may be claimed against your tax liability.  In order to claim the 
credit, you must have acquired a credit certificate issued by the Film Office, Alaska Department of Revenue.  Any unused credit may be 
carried forward but must be claimed before the expiration date on the certificate (six years from the date of issuance).  For more 
information about this credit, refer to AS 43.98.030.  This credit must be on the Alaska side of the retaliatory schedule.

Premium tax refunds must be requested by letter or email and include supporting documentation.  
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Domicile State NAIC #

Alaska C of A #

Email:
* Changing official record - see instructions

TAXES AND FEES
ACH TAX 

TYPE
ACH AMT 

TYPE

1. Title Insurance Tax 07140 "T" x 1.0% =
(Schedule A) Gross Premium

2. Premium Tax Credit (Schedule B)

3. Retaliatory Fee (page 2, line 7) 07138 "F"
(only if greater than zero)

4. Net Tax (lines 1 - 2 + 3)

5. Less amounts already paid in Alaska (quarterly tax payments, credits, etc.)

6. Net Tax Payable (if overpayment, please send written request for refund or
credit for tax year 2017 and do not include in line 9).

7. Certificate of Authority Continuation Fee 07140 "F" $2,250

8. Annual Statement Filing Fee 07140 "A" $100
9. Total Tax and Fees payable with report.  Minimum payable is $2,350.00

(lines 6 + 7 + 8)

Yes No
Schedule T and Exhibit of Premums and Losses Attached?
Certificate of Compliance Attached?
Certificate of Deposit Attached?

SCHEDULE A.  TITLE INSURANCE COMPANY (AS 21.66.110)

GROSS PREMIUMS (Including as premium income received from guaranteed certificates of title
and other guarantees of the title during preceding calendar year covering property in Alaska)

I, , certify that I am the 
(Company Official)

of the above-named title insurance company and that the premium tax report is a complete, true and correct statement of all
premiums and fees on business written by said company during the year ending December 31, 2016, on insurance of
property or risks resident or located in Alaska.

For official use only:
COC____  COD____

(Title)

Signature

Fax:

ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE

Mailing Address                                                                                 City, State, Zip Code

TITLE INSURANCE COMPANY

Contact Name and Address, if different than above * Phone:

Company Name

2016 PREMIUM TAX REPORT AND CONTINUATION OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY

Must be submitted on or before March 1, 2017
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SCHEDULE B.  TITLE INSURANCE COMPANY PREMIUM TAX CREDIT CALCULATION
The total credits claimed cannot be more than the tax liability

a. Cash Contribution to Educational Institutions (AS 21.96.070)

1. Total Amount of Contribution

2. 50 Percent of first $100,000 of Contributions

3. 100 Percent of next $200,000 of Contributions

4. 50 Percent of the contributions exceeding $300,000

5. Education Premium Tax Credit  up to $5,000,000 (lines 2 + 3 + 4)

6. Tax Liability (line 1, on page 1)

7. Educational Premium Tax Credit
NOTE: Include copy of check or other Limited to the lower of $5,000,000 or tax liability 

verification of contribution.

b. Film Production Tax Credit (AS 43.98)

8. Amount of Film Production Tax Credit 

9. Tax Liability (line 1, on page 1)

10. Film ProductionTax Credit

NOTE: Provide original film production tax (lesser of lines 8 or 9)

credit certificate TOTAL PREMIUM TAX CREDITS ALLOWED
(lines 7 + 10, limited to the tax liability)

NET PREMIUMS SUBJECT TO TAX: Alaska
State of 
Domicile

1 Title Premium
a. Title Tax Rate 1%
b. Title Premium Tax (line 1 x line 1a)

2 Premium Tax Credit

3 Annual Statement Filing Fee $100

4 Certificate of Authority Continuation Fee $2,250

5 Other Taxes and Fees.  Explanation: N/A
Attach explanation, if additional space needed

6 Total Taxes and Fees (lines 1b - 2 + 3 + 4 + 5)

7 Retaliatory Fee (line 6 State of Domicile minus Alaska)
     (Do not include on page 1 if negative amount)

RETALIATORY SCHEDULE
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