
 08-201H (Rev. 11/16) 0

Alaska prefers the company use OPTins to file the Annual Premium Tax Report and pay all taxes and fees

A.

B. The due date for the Annual Premium Tax Report is March 1, 2017.  Include with the report the Schedule T and Alaska State Page.

1) Certificate of Compliance
2) Certificate of Deposit, showing deposits of at least $300,000
3) Certificate of Valuation, if any outstanding life policies or annuity contracts

A. Tax Payment.
B. Certificate of Authority continuation fee of $2,250.
C. Annual Statement filing fee of $100.

Other Important Notes:
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If you have any questions contact Rebecca Nesheim at (907) 465-2584 or rebecca.nesheim@alaska.gov

Foreign admitted companies also need to file the following certificates:  If the certificates are not available from state of domicile 
at time of submitting the tax report, they can be sent separately, preferably through OPTins.

The Premium Tax and Fees payment must be received on or before March 1, 2017, and preferably be paid through OPTins, 
otherwise by the Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit or credit payment method in order to avoid a penalty or the possible 
suspension of the Certificate of Authority per AS 21.09.210(g).  This applies to:

NOTE: Report written premium for the insurance of property or risks resident or located in Alaska as required by Alaska 
statute 21.09.210.  When a policy or contract covers property, subjects, or risks located or resident in more than one state, 
allocate premium and report the portion covering Alaska property, subjects, or risks

The penalty for paying the tax late is $50 per month plus five percent of the tax due each calendar month or part of a month during 
which the insurer fails to pay the full amount of the tax, or a portion of the tax, up to a maximum of $250 plus 25 percent of the tax due, 
and interest of one percent of the tax due each calendar month or part of a month until tax is paid.

If payment is not received by the Automated Clearing House (ACH) payment method, a penalty of 25 percent of the tax due will be 
assessed, with a minimum of $100 and maximum of $2,000.

Effective 7/1/13, a film production tax credit certificated under AS 43.98 may be claimed against your tax liability.  In order to claim the 
credit, you must have acquired a credit certificate issued by the Film Office, Alaska Department of Revenue.  Any unused credit may be 
carried forward but must be claimed before the expiration date on the certificate (six years from the date of issuance).  For more 
information about this credit, refer to AS 43.98.030.  This credit must be on the Alaska side of the retaliatory schedule.

If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the report and payment are due the next business day.  Postmarks by due date are 
acceptable.

Compliance with the required due dates for payments is determined by the date the ACH payment is received by OPTins or in the State 
of Alaska’s bank account.  Instructions to pay the state directly are available at:  
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/ins/INSACHDebit/ACHLoginScreen.aspx An ACH Debit payment will be rejected by the bank 
if the submission contains inaccurate information and the payer will be subject to a penalty if the subsequent payment is 
received after the due date.

Retaliatory:  Fees and taxes which would be imposed upon Alaska insurers under the laws of another state or foreign country are 
subject to retaliation in the aggregate.  Failure to pay retaliatory may result in suspension or revocation of the insurer’s Certificate of 
Authority.  Do not include producer licensing fees in the retaliatory calculation.  Do not include personal income taxes, ad valorem taxes 
on real or personal property, or special purpose obligations or assessments imposed by another state in connection with particular 
kinds of insurance other than property insurance.

Premium tax refunds must be requested by letter or email and include supporting documentation.

If the 2016 premium tax is $10,000 or more, the company is required to pay quarterly estimated premium tax during 2017.  The amount 
to be paid is 25% of the 2016 premium tax on or before May 31, August 31, and November 30.

The official premium tax/fees contact name, address, phone, fax, & email will change to the information on the report.

ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE
INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING ANNUAL STATEMENT AND PREMIUM TAX REPORT

See Annual Checklist for Annual Statement Instructions

Use the Tab key to navigate through the document to complete the annual premium tax report.

HEALTH INSURANCE COMPANY
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Domicile State NAIC #

Alaska C of A #

Email:
* Changing official record - see instructions

TAXES AND FEES
ACH TAX 

TYPE
ACH AMT 

TYPE

1. Premium Tax

(Schedule A) a. Net Premium 07130 "T" x 2.7% =

(Schedule A) b. Net Premium 07130 "T" x .08% =

2. Premium Tax Credit Carryover from 2015

3. Premium Tax Credit (Schedule B)
(Education, Film Production, and CHIA)

4. Retaliatory Fee (page 3, line 8) 07138 "F"
(only if greater than zero)

5. Net Tax (line 1 - 2 - 3 + 4)

6. Less amounts already paid in Alaska (quarterly tax payments, credits, etc.)

7. Net Tax Payable (if overpayment, please send written request for refund or
credit for tax year 2017 and do not include in line 10).

8. Certificate of Authority Continuation Fee 07130 "F" $2,250

9. Annual Statement Filing Fee 07130 "A" $100
10. Total Tax and Fees payable with report.  Minimum payable is $2,350.00

(lines 7 + 8 + 9)

Yes No
  Certificate of Compliance attached?
  Certificate of Deposit attached?

I, , certify that I am the 
(Company Official)

of the above-named insurance company and that the premium tax report is a complete, true and correct statement of all
premiums and fees on business written by said company during the year ending December 31, 2016, on insurance of
property or risks resident or located in Alaska.

For official use only:
COC____  COD____

Signature

(Title)

Must be submitted on or before March 1, 2017

Company Name

ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE
2016 PREMIUM TAX REPORT AND CONTINUATION  OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY

Contact Name and Address, if different than above * Phone: Fax:

HEALTH INSURANCE COMPANY

Mailing Address                                                                                City, State, Zip Code
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SCHEDULE A. HEALTH INSURERS (AS 21.09.210)

a.

1. Total Direct Life Premiums (exclude premium amount exceeding $100,000
for an individual life policy) 

2. Total Accident & Health Premiums 

3. Total Property & Casualty Premiums

4. Premiums paid by application of dividends 

5. Other Considerations (excluding annuities which are not taxable)
(explain on separate sheet)

TOTAL DIRECT PREMIUMS FOR RISKS RESIDENT OR LOCATED IN ALASKA

DEDUCTIONS:

6. Policy Dividends 

7. Medicare Premiums not subject to state tax

8. Federal Employees Health Benefits Program Premium

9. Premiums that are exempt from premium tax per 21.09.210(i):

a. Name of Governmental Agency:

         Life Premiums:

         Health Premiums:

b. Name of Governmental Agency:

         Life Premiums:

         Health Premiums:

Total premiums paid by Governmental Agencies:
TOTAL DEDUCTIONS

a. NET PREMIUMS

b.
insurance where the policy year premium for each life policy exceeds
$100,000) (First $100,000 of policy premium must be included in line a.1.)

b. NET PREMIUMS

* To receive lower rate, report must include a list of each individual life policy with a policy year premium exceeding
$100,000.  Include the policy number, policyholder name, insured name, effective date, premium amount, face amount, 
and date premium payments received.

GROSS WRITTEN PREMIUM:

* Individual Life Premiums over $100,000 (for policies of individual life 

NOTE: Report written premium for the insurance of property or risks resident or located in Alaska as required by 
Alaska statute 21.09.210.  When a policy or contract covers property, subjects, or risks located or resident in more 
than one state, allocate premium and report the portion covering Alaska property, subjects, or risks
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SCHEDULE B. HEALTH INSURERS PREMIUM TAX CREDIT CALCULATION
The total credits claimed cannot be more than the tax liability

a. Cash Contribution to Educational Institutions (AS 21.96.070)
1. Total Amount of Contribution
2. 50 Percent of first $100,000 of Contributions
3. 100 Percent of next $200,000 of Contributions

4. 50 Percent of the contributions exceeding $300,000

5. Education Premium Tax Credit  up to $5,000,000 (lines 2 + 3 + 4)

6. Tax Liability (lines 1a & 1b, on page 1)
7. Educational Premium Tax Credit

NOTE: Include copy of check or other Limited to the lower of $5,000,000 or tax liability 

verification of contribution.

b. Comprehensive Health Insurance Association (CHIA) Assessment (AS 21.55.220)

8. 2015 Assessment Amount

9. 50 Percent of the Assessment

10. Tax Liability (lines 1a & 1b, on page 1)

11. Premium tax credit carryover from 2015

12. Current year CHIA Premium Tax Credit 

Available premium tax credit carryover to 2017 (lesser of line 9 or 10)

c. Film Production Tax Credit (AS 43.98)

13. Amount of Film Production Tax Credit 

14. Tax Liability (lines 1a & 1b, on page 1)

15. Film ProductionTax Credit

NOTE: Provide original film production tax (lesser of lines 13 or 14)

credit certificate TOTAL PREMIUM TAX CREDITS ALLOWED
(lines 7 + 12 + 15, limited to the tax liability)

NET PREMIUMS SUBJECT TO TAX: Alaska State of 
Domicile

1. Life & Accident and Health & Property Net Premiums *

a. Premium Tax Rate 2.70%

b. Premium Tax (line 1 x line 1a)

2. Annuity Net Premiums NOT TAXED 

a. Premium Tax Rate N/A

b. Premium Tax (line 3 x line 3a) N/A

3. Premium Tax Credit (Schedule B, lines a.7 + c.15 only)

4. Annual Statement Filing Fee $100

5. Certificate of Authority Continuation Fee $2,250

6. Other Taxes and Fees:  Explanation: N/A
Attach explanation, if additional space needed

7. Total Taxes and Fees (lines 1b + 2b -3 + 4 + 5 + 6)

8.
(Do not include on page 1 if negative amount)

* Exclude premium amount exceeding $100,000 for an individual life policy

Retaliatory Fee (line 7 State of Domicile minus Alaska)

RETALIATORY SCHEDULE
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