

## Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF INSURANCE

P.O. Box 110805 Juneau, AK 99811-0805 Main: 907.465.2515 Fax: 907.465.3422

September 19, 2024

To All Risk Retention Groups doing business in the State of Alaska:

Re: Instructions for Annual Statement Filing, Annual Continuation Form and Annual Premium Tax Report

The Alaska Division of Insurance is accepting the electronic filing with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) to meet the filing requirement of an annual financial statement for all risk retention groups. No paper annual statement should be sent to the Alaska Division of Insurance. The annual statement is due to the NAIC by March 1, 2025.

Pursuant to Alaska Regulation 3 AAC 24.060, a risk retention group registration is valid from January 1 through December 31 of each year. To maintain the registration, the application for continuation of registration must be filed with payment of the \$200 service of process continuation fee by December 31. Failure to submit the continuation form and fee by January 31 of the year for which registration is sought will result in discontinuation of registration as of the prior December 31. A registrant who submits the continuation form and fee after January 31 will be required to reapply as a new registrant and pay the initial registration fee of \$1,000.00 as required by 3 AAC 31.060(a)(13).

The forms are located on the web at: <u>https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/ins/Insurers.aspx</u> > Annual Filings & Taxes > Risk Retention Group. If the company contacts or service of process have changed, at the same website under Amendments are the respective contact forms to file. Or you may change the contacts yourself using SBS for Organizations. You will need a PIN to access the application. If you need a PIN, please contact me.

The preference of the Division of Insurance is for the risk retention group to file the annual continuation form, Annual Premium Tax Report with payments as well as the new contact information electronically in OPT*ins*. If that is not an option, please mail to:

<u>By USPS</u>: Alaska Division of Insurance PO Box 110805 Juneau, AK 99811-0805

or

Other than USPS: Alaska Division of Insurance 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor State Office Bldg Juneau, AK 99801

If you would like to pay by credit card and email the form, please send the form to me at <u>rebecca.nesheim@alaska.gov</u>. An email will be sent back with a payment link.

Let me know if you have questions.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Nesheim Tax Auditor