r	
1	STATE OF ALASKA
2	DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
3	
4	DIVISION OF INSURANCE
5	
6	CEASE AND DESIST ORDER D94-09
7	
8	TO: Ms. Brenda Mantz
9	The McLaughlin Company
10	1725 DeSales St., N.W.
11	Washington, DC 20036
12	
13	
14	It has been determined by the Division of Insurance that you have engaged in
15	transacting a business of insurance in Alaska, or relative to a subject resident,
16 17	located or to be performed in Alaska. The transaction of a business of
18	insurance in Alaska is defined in AS 21.90.900(39), which states:
10	
20	"Transact" with respect to insurance includes
21	(A) solicitation and inducement;
22	(B) preliminary negotiations;
23	(C) effectuation of contract of insurance;
24	
25	(D) transaction of matters subsequent to effectuation of the contract of
26	insurance and arising out of it.

In order to transact insurance in Alaska, a person must hold the appropriate license. This is required by AS 21.27.010(a) which states:

A person may not act as or represent to be an insurance producer, managing general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, reinsurance intermediary manager, surplus lines broker, or independent adjuster in this state or relative to a subject resident, located or to be performed in this state unless licensed under this chapter. A person may not act as or represent to be a managing general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, or reinsurance intermediary manager representing an insurer domiciled in this state regarding a risk located outside this state unless licensed by this state.

AS 21.27.440(a) states:

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person that the director determines under AS 21.06.170 - 21.06.240 has violated the provisions of this chapter is subject to

(1) a civil penalty equal to the compensation promised, paid, or to be paid, directly or indirectly, to a licensee in regard to each violation;

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

(2) either a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation or a civil penalty of not more than \$25,000 for each violation if the director determines that the person willfully violated the provisions of this chapter; and

(3) denial, nonrenewal, suspension or revocation of a license.

AS 21.90.020 states:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

A person determined by the director, following an appropriate hearing as provided in AS 21.06.170 - AS 21.06.230, to have violated a provision of this title or a regulation adopted under it, for which violation a greater penalty is not provided in this title, is subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$2,500.

Since you do not hold the appropriate license and have been transacting the business of insurance in this state, you are hereby ordered to cease and desist from further violation of Alaska Law. Continued transaction of insurance in Alaska will be considered a gross and willful violation and will be subject to appropriate administrative action, as well as possible criminal remedies.

This order is effective immediately.

Dated at Juneau, Alaska this \_\_\_\_\_\_ \_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 1994. MIN David J. Walsh, Director Division of Insurance STATE OF ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DIVISION OF INSURANCE P.O. BOX 110805 JUNEAU, ALASKA 99811-0805 (907) 465-2515