STATE OF ALASKA
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
DIVISION OF INSURANCE

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER D94-21

TO: Richard E. Pedack

Seattle Specialty Insurance Services, Inc.

P.O. Box 1781

Snohomish, WA 98291-1781
It has been determined by the Division of Insurance that you have engaged in
transacting a business of insurance in Alaska, or relative to a subject resident,

located or to be performed in Alaska. The transaction of a business of insurance in

Alaska is defined in AS 21.90.900(39), which states:

"Transact" with respect to insurance includes

(A) solicitation and inducement;

(B) preliminary negotiations;

(C) effectuation of contract of insurance;

(D) transaction of matters subsequent to effectuation of the contract of

insurance and arising out of it.

In order to transact insurance in Alaska, a person must hold the appropriate license.

This is required by AS 21.27.010(a) which states:
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A person may not act as or represent to be an insurance producer, managing
general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, reinsurance intermediary
manager, surplus lines broker, or independent adjuster in this state or relative
to a subject resident, located or to be performed in this state unless licensed
under this chapter. A person may not act as or represent to be a managing
general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, or reinsurance intermediary
manager representing an insurer domiciled in this state regarding a risk located

outside this state unless licensed by this state.

AS 21.27.440(a) states:

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person that the director
determines under AS 21.06.170 - 21.06.240 has violated the provisions of this

chapter is subject to

(1) a civil penalty equal to the compensation promised, paid, or to be paid,

directly or indirectly, to a licensee in regard to each violation;
(2) either a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation or a civil

penalty of not more than $25,000 for each violation if the director determines

that the person willfully violated the provisions of this chapter; and
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(3) denial, nonrenewal, suspension or revocation of a license.

AS 21.90.020 states:

A person determined by the director, following an appropriate hearing as
provided in AS 21.06.170 - AS 21.06.230, to have violated a provision of this title
or a regulation adopted under it, for which violation a greater penalty is not

provided in this title, is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $2,500.

Since you do not hold the appropriate license and have been transacting thé
business of insurance in this state, you are hereby ordered to cease and desist from
further violation of Alaska Law. Continued transaction of insurance in Alaska will
be considered a gross and willful violation and will be subject to appropriate |

administrative action, as well as possible criminal remedies.

This order is effective immediately.

Dated at Juneau, Alaska this :Zﬁ day of August, 1994.

Dgxid J. Walsh, Director
Division of Insurance
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