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TO:

STATE OF ALASKA

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

DIVISION OF INSURANCE

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER D96-11

Dean Pierce

Regional Accounts Manager

Native American Insurance Company
P.O. Box 100759

Anchorage, AK 99510

The Division of Insurance has determined that you have been engaged in
transacting a business of insurance in Alaska, or relative to a subject resident,
located or to be performed in Alaska without legal authority in violation of state
law. AS 21.03.010(a) states

All persons transacting a business of insurance in this state, or
relative to a subject resident, located or to be performed in this
state, shall comply with the applicable provisions of this title.

The transaction of a business of insurance in Alaska is defined in
AS 21.90.900(39), which states:

"transact” with respect to insurance includes:

(A) solicitation and inducement;

(B) preliminary negotiations;

(C) effectuation of a contract of insurance;

(D) transaction of matters subsequent to effectuation of the
contract of insurance and arising out of it.

In order to transact insurance in Alaska, a person must hold the appropriate
license. This is required by AS 21.27.010(a), which states:

Except as provided otherwise in this chapter, a person may not act
as or represent to be an insurance producer, managing general
agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, reinsurance intermediary
manager, surplus lines broker, or independent adjuster in this
state or relative to a subject resident, located, or to be performed in
this state unless licensed under this chapter. A person may not act
as or represent to be a managing general agent, reinsurance
intermediary broker, or reinsurance intermediary manager
representing an insurer domiciled in this state regarding a I'lSk
located outside this state unless licensed by this state.
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A person transacting insurance without a license and/or acting on behalf of a
nonadmitted insurer is subject to the following penalties.

AS 21.27.440(a) states in part:

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person that the
director determines under AS 21.06.170 -- 21.06.240 has violated
the provisions of this chapter is subject to . . .

(2) either a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each
violation or a civil penalty of not more than $25,000 for each
violation if the director determines that the person wilfully violated
the provisions of this chapter . . ..

AS 21.33.065 states:

(a) A person other than an insured, who in this state represents or
aids a nonadmilled insurer in violation of AS 21.33.037, is subject
to a civil penalty of not more than $50,000 in addition to applicable
criminal penalties and other penalties prescribed in this title.

(b) In addition to any other penalty provided, a person who
violates a provision of this chapter is subject to .a civil penalty of
not more than $10,000 for the first offense and not more than
$100,000 for each succeeding violation.

Since you do not hold the appropriate license and have been transacting the
business of insurance in this state, you are hereby ordered to cease and desist
from further violation of Alagka law. Continued transaction of insurance in
Alaska will be considered a gross and willful violation and will be subject to
appropriate administrative action, as well as possible criminal remedies.

This order is effective immediately.

Dated at Anchorage, Alaska thisgi day of August, 1996,

farianne K. Bl;ékﬁ}//
Director

Divigion of Insurance
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