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STATE OF ALASKA
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
DIVISION OF INSURANCE

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER D98-07

TO: Elizabeth A. Lang
Northwestern Risk Specialists, Inc.
520 Pike Street, Suite 2720
Seattle, WA 98101-4020

It has been determined by the Division of Insurance that you have engaged in
transacting a business of insurance in Alaska, or relative to a subject resident,
located or to be performed in Alaska. The transaction of a business of insurance
in Alaska is defined in AS 21.90.900(39), which states:

"transact” with respect to insurance includes

(A) solicitation and inducement;

(B) preliminary negotiationes;

(C) effectuation of a contract of insurance;

(D) transaction of matters subsequent to effectuation of the contract of
insurance and arising out of it.

In order to transact insurance in Alaska, a person must hold the appropriate
license. This is required by AS 21.27.010(a), which states:

Except as provided otherwise in this chapter, a person may not act as or
represent to be an insurance producer, managing general agent,
reinsurance intermediary broker, reinsurance intermediary manager,
surplus lines broker, or independent adjuster in this state or rclative to a
subject resident, located, or to be preformed in this state unless licensed
under this chapter. A person may not act as or represent to be a managing
general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, or reinsurance
intermediary manager representing an insurer domiciled in this state
regarding a risk located outside this state unless licensed by this state.

AS 21.27.440(a) states in part:
In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person that the director
determines under AS 21.06.170 - 21.06.240 has violated the provisions of
this chapter is subject to

(1) a civil penalty equal to the compensation promised, paid, or to be paid,
directly or indirectly, to a person in regard to each violation;
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(2) either a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation or a
civil penalty of not more than $25,000 for each violation if the director
determines that the person wilfully violated the provisions of this
chapter . . ..

AS 21.90.020 states:

A person determined by the director, following an appropriate
hearing as provided in AS 21.06.170 - 21.06.230, to have violated a
provision of this title or a regulation adopted under it, for which
violation a greater penalty is not provided in this title, is subject to
a civil penalty of not more than $2,500.

You are hereby ordered to cease and desist from transacting the business of
Insurance in this state since you do not hold the appropriate license. Continued
transaction of insurance in Alaska will be considered a gross and willful violation
and will be subject to appropriate administrative action, as well as possible
criminal remedies.

This order is effective immediately.

Dated at Anchorage, Alaska this 10th day of September, 1998.

\ K. Bur
Director /
Division of Insufance
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