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ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE FILING CHECKLIST 
Property & Casualty Forms 

 

 POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

 
Alaska Rule of Civil 
Procedure 82 

3 AAC 26.500-.550 
Order R96-03 
Bulletin 96-04 
 
Supreme Court 
Case No. SP-5715 

A policy that limits coverage for attorney fees taxable against an insured under 
Alaska Rule of Civil Procedure 82 must satisfy the minimum standards of 3 AAC 
26.500-3 AAC 26.550. Bulletin 96-04 provides sample notices. 

Therchik v. Grant Aviation, Inc. (7/25/2003) – Alaska Supreme Court ruled that 
Civil Rule 82 notices must be "close to identical" to notices in Bulletin 96-04. 
The notices provided with Bulletin 96-04 must be used. Replacement notices 
may be submitted for review, but you will be required to demonstrate that the 
sample notices do not meet the needs of your company. 

      

 Appraisal AS 21.96.035 

The time frames and appraisal process must be consistent with the statute. 
Each party must bear expenses and fees, not including counsel & adjusters’ 
fees, as determined by the umpire. Neither the rights of the insured nor the 
insurer are restricted. 

      

 Arbitration AS 09.43.300-.595 
3 AAC 26.075 

Contracts entered into after January 1, 2005 must comply with the Revised 
Uniform Arbitration Act, including an Alaskan venue. 

      

 Arbitration Fees AS 09.43.480(d) Arbitrator’s expenses and fees, along with other expenses, shall be paid as 
provided in the award. 

      

 Cancellation Fee AS 21.36.255(a) 

If the insured cancels a policy, the insurer may charge a cancellation fee of not 
more than 7.5% of the unearned premium. A cancellation fee may not be 
charged unless the fee is clearly stated in the policy. A statement that the 
cancellation fee will not exceed 7.5% does not satisfy this requirement. The 
exact amount of the fee must be stated. 

A form that describes the cancellation fee only as the standard short rate will 
be disapproved.  

      

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.26.500
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.26.550
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/11/pub/Consumers/Orders/Regulatory/1996/R96-03.pdf
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/11/pub/Bulletins/B96-04.pdf
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.26.500
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.26.500
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.26.550
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/11/pub/Bulletins/B96-04.pdf
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.96.035
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#09.43.300
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#09.43.595
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.26.075
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#09.43.480
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.255
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Cancellation Notice 
for a Business or 
Commercial Policy 

AS 21.36.220(b) 

If an insurer cancels, a written notice must be mailed to the insured and to the 
agent or broker of record at least: 

• 10-day notice for discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made by 
the insured, etc. (see statutes); 

• 20-day notice is for nonpayment of premium, etc. (see statutes); 

• 60-day notice before the effective date of the cancellation for any other 
reason. 

      

 
Cancellation Notice 
for a Personal 
Insurance Policy 

AS 21.36.220(a) 

If an insurer cancels, a written notice must be mailed to the named insured at 
least: 

• 10-day notice for discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made by 
the insured, etc. (see statutes); 

• 20-day notice for nonpayment of premium, etc. (see statutes); 

• 30-day notice before the effective date of the cancellation for any other 
reason. 

If the insured is 70 years old or older, the policy should indicate that a 
cancellation notice will be sent to the named insured’s designee, if elected. 

      

 Claim Payment 3 AAC 
26.070(a)(2) Undisputed portions of a first party claim must be paid within 30 working days.       

 
Claims-made-and-
reported 

AS 21.42.130 A claims-made policy may not require that claims be both made against the 
insured and reported to the company within the same annual policy period. 

      

 
Concealment, Fraud 
Or 
Misrepresentation 

AS 21.42.110 
 
 
 
 
AS 28.20.440(f)(1) 

All statements and descriptions in an application shall be considered to be 
representations and not warranties. 

A policy may be cancelled upon discovery of fraud or material 
misrepresentation; or may be rescinded upon discovery of fraud or material 
misrepresentation made in the application for insurance. 

Cancellation or rescission may not be possible for Auto Liability policies after 
injury or damage has occurred. 

      

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.220
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.220
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.26.070
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.26.070
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.130
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.110
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#28.20.440


 

 -3- Property & Casualty Forms Checklist - Rev. 6/17 

 POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

 Concurrent 
Causation 

AS 21.36.096 

Insurers may not deny a claim if a risk, hazard, or contingency insured against 
is the dominant cause of a loss and the denial occurs because an excluded risk, 
hazard, or contingency is also in a chain of causes but operates on a secondary 
basis. Language such as “regardless of any other cause which may have 
contributed concurrently or in any sequence with” appearing in exclusions or 
limitations violates this statute. 

      

 Entire Contract in 
Policy 

AS 21.42.150 The policy must contain the entire contract between the parties.       

 Examination Under 
Oath 

AS 21.42.130 An insured must be allowed to have legal representation present when 
examined under oath. 

      

 
Exempt Commercial 
Policy 

3 AAC 29.525-.530 
3 AAC 29.545 
Bulletin 05-06 

An exempt commercial policyholder must meet the standards in 3 AAC 29.545. 
An informational filing must be submitted no later than 30 days after the 
proposed effective date and must comply with the applicable requirements of 3 
AAC 29.500 - 550. 

      

 
Extended Reporting 
Period 

AS 21.42.130 

A claims-made policy must:  

• provide a 60 day automatic extended reporting period (ERP) at no charge,  

• allow 60 days in which to purchase optional ERP coverage, and 

• permit the purchase of optional ERP coverage for a period of at least 5 
years. 

      

 Form Numbers AS 21.42.160(d) 
3 AAC 31.250(a) 

Each form must have an identifying form number. When a change is made to a 
form the designating letters, figures, terms, or other unique identifier shall be 
changed. 

      

 Fungus, Mildew and 
Mold Exclusions 

AS 21.36.096 
Bulletin 04-07 

Coverage for fungus, mildew or mold may not be excluded when it results from 
a covered cause of loss. 

      

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.096
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.150
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.130
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.29.525
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.29.530
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.29.545
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/11/pub/Bulletins/B05-06.pdf
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.29.545
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.130
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.160
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/aac.asp#3.31.250
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.096
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/11/pub/Bulletins/B04-07.pdf
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 Lawsuits Against 
Insurer 

AS 09.10.053 
Supreme Court 
Case No. 1780 
Kaiser v. Umialik 
Ins. 
No. SP-5877 
Brannon v. 
Continental Cas.  
No. SP-6016  

A person has three years to bring an action upon a contract. 

In Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co v. Sand Lake Lounge, Inc. (09/24/1973), the Alaska 
Supreme Court ruled that such a time limitation begins to run only after there 
has been a breach of contract such as a denial of a claim or failure to defend. A 
form that states the time limitation begins from the date of the occurrence or 
time of loss will be disapproved. 

      

 Minimum Earned 
Premium 

AS 21.36.255(a)(2) Minimum earned premiums must be stated in the policy.       

 Non-Renewal AS 21.36.240 

A non-renewal notice must be sent at least: 

• 20 days before expiration of a personal insurance policy; and 

• 45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy. 

      

 Other Insurance AS 21.42.130 
Making a primary policy excess over any other applicable insurance is 
misleading and grounds for disapproval under AS 21.42.130.        

 Policy Contents AS 21.42.160 General policy content requirements such as names of parties to the contract, 
premium, conditions, etc. See the statute for details. 

      

 Proof Of Notice AS 21.36.260 

All notices must be mailed by first class mail to the last known address of the 
insured. A certificate of mailing, or certified mail receipt, must be obtained from 
the U.S. Postal Service or, the notice may be transmitted electronically if the 
insurer can obtain an electronic confirmation of receipt; a receipt from sending 
a Certified Mail letter is acceptable. Alternate methods of delivery may be used 
in addition to mailing or acceptable electronic transmittal, but cannot be used 
to replace the statutory requirement. 

      

 Renewal Notice 
With Altered Terms 

AS 21.36.235 

Notice must be given if the renewal premium is increased by more than 10% or 
if there is a material restriction or reduction in coverage at least: 

• 20 days before the expiration of a personal insurance policy; or 

• 45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy. 

      

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#09.10.053
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.255
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.240
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.130
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.130
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.160
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.260
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.235
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 Territory AS 21.42.130 The coverage territory must include Alaska.       

 Terrorism Forms Bulletin 08-01 Refer to the Bulletin for guidance.       

 
Time Limit on Filing 
Claims 

AS 21.42.130 
Supreme Court 
Case No. S-2408 

An insurer may not put a blanket limitation on the time in which an insured has 
to file claims. In Estes v. Alaska Insurance Guaranty Association (05/26/1989), 
the Alaska Supreme Court ruled that an insurer must show prejudice due to 
late reporting of a claim in order to be excused from meeting its obligations. 

      

 
Unearned Premium 
Refund Insured 
Cancel 

AS 21.36.255 
The insurer must return any unearned premium: (a) within 45 days of receipt 
of a request for cancellation, or (b) the effective date of cancellation, whichever 
is later. 

      

 
Unearned Premium 
Refund Insurer 
Cancel 

AS 21.36.220(c) 
The unearned premium must be refunded before effective date of cancellation 
except for the reasons stated in AS 21.36.220(c)(1). Then the refund must be 
within 45 days after the notice of cancellation. 

      

 
 
Name (print):        Date:        
 
Signature:    
 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.130
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/11/pub/Bulletins/B08-01.pdf
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.42.130
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.255
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.220
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21.36.220

	The time frames and appraisal process must be consistent with the statute. Each party must bear expenses and fees, not including counsel & adjusters’ fees, as determined by the umpire. Neither the rights of the insured nor the insurer are restricted.
	Contracts entered into after January 1, 2005 must comply with the Revised Uniform Arbitration Act, including an Alaskan venue.
	Arbitrator’s expenses and fees, along with other expenses, shall be paid as provided in the award.
	     
	Undisputed portions of a first party claim must be paid within 30 working days.
	A claims-made policy may not require that claims be both made against the insured and reported to the company within the same annual policy period.
	All statements and descriptions in an application shall be considered to be representations and not warranties.
	A policy may be cancelled upon discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation; or may be rescinded upon discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made in the application for insurance.
	Cancellation or rescission may not be possible for Auto Liability policies after injury or damage has occurred.
	Insurers may not deny a claim if a risk, hazard, or contingency insured against is the dominant cause of a loss and the denial occurs because an excluded risk, hazard, or contingency is also in a chain of causes but operates on a secondary basis. Language such as “regardless of any other cause which may have contributed concurrently or in any sequence with” appearing in exclusions or limitations violates this statute.
	An insured must be allowed to have legal representation present when examined under oath.
	A claims-made policy must: 
	 provide a 60 day automatic extended reporting period (ERP) at no charge, 
	 allow 60 days in which to purchase optional ERP coverage, and
	Coverage for fungus, mildew or mold may not be excluded when it results from a covered cause of loss.
	A person has three years to bring an action upon a contract.
	     
	Minimum earned premiums must be stated in the policy.
	A non-renewal notice must be sent at least:
	 20 days before expiration of a personal insurance policy; and
	 45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy.
	Making a primary policy excess over any other applicable insurance is misleading and grounds for disapproval under AS 21.42.130. 
	General policy content requirements such as names of parties to the contract, premium, conditions, etc. See the statute for details.
	All notices must be mailed by first class mail to the last known address of the insured. A certificate of mailing, or certified mail receipt, must be obtained from the U.S. Postal Service or, the notice may be transmitted electronically if the insurer can obtain an electronic confirmation of receipt; a receipt from sending a Certified Mail letter is acceptable. Alternate methods of delivery may be used in addition to mailing or acceptable electronic transmittal, but cannot be used to replace the statutory requirement.
	The coverage territory must include Alaska.
	Refer to the Bulletin for guidance.

	PAGE A policy that limits coverage for attorney fees taxable against an insured under Alaska Rule of Civil Procedure 82 must satisfy the minimum standards of 3 AAC 265003 AAC 26550 Bulletin 9604 provides sample notices Therchik v Grant Aviation Inc 7252003  Alaska Supreme Court ruled that Civil Rule 82 notices must be close to identical to notices in Bulletin 9604 The notices provided with Bulletin 9604 must be used Replacement notices may be submitted for review but you will be required to demonstrate that the sample notices do not meet the needs of your company: 
	PAGE The time frames and appraisal process must be consistent with the statute Each party must bear expenses and fees not including counsel  adjusters fees as determined by the umpire Neither the rights of the insured nor the insurer are restricted: 
	PAGE Contracts entered into after January 1 2005 must comply with the Revised Uniform Arbitration Act including an Alaskan venue: 
	PAGE Arbitrators expenses and fees along with other expenses shall be paid as provided in the award: 
	PAGE If the insured cancels a policy the insurer may charge a cancellation fee of not more than 75 of the unearned premium A cancellation fee may not be charged unless the fee is clearly stated in the policy A statement that the cancellation fee will not exceed 75 does not satisfy this requirement The exact amount of the fee must be stated A form that describes the cancellation fee only as the standard short rate will be disapproved: 
	PAGE If an insurer cancels a written notice must be mailed to the insured and to the agent or broker of record at least  10day notice for discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made by the insured etc see statutes  20day notice is for nonpayment of premium etc see statutes  60day notice before the effective date of the cancellation for any other reason: 
	PAGE If an insurer cancels a written notice must be mailed to the named insured at least  10day notice for discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made by the insured etc see statutes  20day notice for nonpayment of premium etc see statutes  30day notice before the effective date of the cancellation for any other reason If the insured is 70 years old or older the policy should indicate that a cancellation notice will be sent to the named insureds designee if elected: 
	PAGE Undisputed portions of a first party claim must be paid within 30 working days: 
	PAGE A claimsmade policy may not require that claims be both made against the insured and reported to the company within the same annual policy period: 
	PAGE All statements and descriptions in an application shall be considered to be representations and not warranties A policy may be cancelled upon discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation or may be rescinded upon discovery of fraud or material misrepresentation made in the application for insurance Cancellation or rescission may not be possible for Auto Liability policies after injury or damage has occurred: 
	PAGE Insurers may not deny a claim if a risk hazard or contingency insured against is the dominant cause of a loss and the denial occurs because an excluded risk hazard or contingency is also in a chain of causes but operates on a secondary basis Language such as regardless of any other cause which may have contributed concurrently or in any sequence with appearing in exclusions or limitations violates this statute: 
	PAGE The policy must contain the entire contract between the parties: 
	PAGE An insured must be allowed to have legal representation present when examined under oath: 
	PAGE An exempt commercial policyholder must meet the standards in 3 AAC 29545 An informational filing must be submitted no later than 30 days after the proposed effective date and must comply with the applicable requirements of 3 AAC 29500 550: 
	PAGE A claimsmade policy must  provide a 60 day automatic extended reporting period ERP at no charge  allow 60 days in which to purchase optional ERP coverage and  permit the purchase of optional ERP coverage for a period of at least 5 years: 
	PAGE Each form must have an identifying form number When a change is made to a form the designating letters figures terms or other unique identifier shall be changed: 
	PAGE Coverage for fungus mildew or mold may not be excluded when it results from a covered cause of loss: 
	PAGE A person has three years to bring an action upon a contract In Firemans Fund Ins Co v Sand Lake Lounge Inc 09241973 the Alaska Supreme Court ruled that such a time limitation begins to run only after there has been a breach of contract such as a denial of a claim or failure to defend A form that states the time limitation begins from the date of the occurrence or time of loss will be disapproved: 
	PAGE Minimum earned premiums must be stated in the policy: 
	PAGE A nonrenewal notice must be sent at least  20 days before expiration of a personal insurance policy and  45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy: 
	PAGE Making a primary policy excess over any other applicable insurance is misleading and grounds for disapproval under AS 2142130: 
	PAGE General policy content requirements such as names of parties to the contract premium conditions etc See the statute for details: 
	PAGE All notices must be mailed by first class mail to the last known address of the insured A certificate of mailing or certified mail receipt must be obtained from the US Postal Service or the notice may be transmitted electronically if the insurer can obtain an electronic confirmation of receipt a receipt from sending a Certified Mail letter is acceptable Alternate methods of delivery may be used in addition to mailing or acceptable electronic transmittal but cannot be used to replace the statutory requirement: 
	PAGE Notice must be given if the renewal premium is increased by more than 10 or if there is a material restriction or reduction in coverage at least  20 days before the expiration of a personal insurance policy or  45 days before the expiration of a business or commercial policy: 
	PAGE The coverage territory must include Alaska: 
	PAGE Refer to the Bulletin for guidance: 
	PAGE An insurer may not put a blanket limitation on the time in which an insured has to file claims In Estes v Alaska Insurance Guaranty Association 05261989 the Alaska Supreme Court ruled that an insurer must show prejudice due to late reporting of a claim in order to be excused from meeting its obligations: 
	PAGE The insurer must return any unearned premium a within 45 days of receipt of a request for cancellation or b the effective date of cancellation whichever is later: 
	Name print: 
	Date: 
	PAGE The unearned premium must be refunded before effective date of cancellation except for the reasons stated in AS 2136220c1 Then the refund must be within 45 days after the notice of cancellation: 
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