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ALASKA DIVISION OF INSURANCE FILING CHECKLIST
Personal Automobile Insurance Forms

Section I – Required For All Filings 

POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Entire Contract in 
policy 

AS 21.42.150 
AS 28.20.440(f)(4) 
AS 28.22.111(3) 

The policy must contain the entire contract between the parties. 

The policy consists of the application, the policy, and all endorsements or 
riders. 

Applications must 
be filed 

AS 28.20.440(f)(4) 
AS 28.22.111(3) 
AS 21.42.120(a) 

Applications are considered part of the policy and must be filed. 

Form Numbers AS 21.42.160(d) 
3 AAC 31.250(a) 

Each form must have an identifying form number. When a change is made to a 
form the designating letters, figures, terms, or other unique identifier shall be 
changed. 

Section II – Check all Provisions that Apply 

POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Alaska Rule of Civil 
Procedure 82 

3 AAC 26.500 – 
.550 
Order 96-03 
Bulletin 96-04 
Supreme Court 
Case No. SP-5715 

A policy that limits coverage for attorney fees taxable against an insured under 
Alaska Rule of Civil Procedure 82 must satisfy the minimum standards of3 AAC 
26.500 – .550. Bulletin 96-04 provides sample notices. 

Therchik v. Grant Aviation, Inc. (7/25/2003 SP-5715) Alaska Supreme Court 
ruled that Civil Rule 82 notices must be "close to identical" to notices in Bulletin 
96-04. The notices provided with Bulletin 96-04 must be used. Replacement
notices may be submitted for review but you are required to demonstrate that
the sample notices do not meet the needs of your company.

Appraisal AS 21.96.035 

Motor vehicle policies must include an appraisal clause. The timeframes and 
appraisal process must be consistent with the statute. Each party must bear 
expenses and fees, not including counsel and adjusters’ fees, as determined by 
the umpire. Neither the rights of the insured nor the insurer are restricted. 
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POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Arbitration 

AS 09.43.300 – 
.595 
AS 21.96.020(f)(1) 
AS 21.42.130 
3 AAC 26.075 

Contracts entered into after January 1, 2005 must comply with the Revised 
Uniform Arbitration Act, including an Alaskan venue. 

Expenses and fees must be paid as determined by the arbitrator. 

See Regulation 3 AAC 26.075 for additional requirements 

Cancellation fee 
AS 21.36.255(a) 
AS 21.42.130 

If the insured cancels a policy, the insurer may charge a cancellation fee of not 
more than 7.5% of the unearned premium. A cancellation fee may not be 
charged unless the fee is clearly stated in the policy.  

A form that describes the cancellation fee only as the standard short rate will 
be disapproved. 

Cancellation 
notice for a 
personal 
insurance policy 

AS 21.36.220(a) 

If an insurer cancels, a written notice must be mailed to the named insured at 
least: 

• 10-day notice for suspension or revocation of driver’s license or motor
vehicle registration; 

• 20-day notice for nonpayment of premium.

If the insured is 70 years old or older, the policy should indicate that a 
cancellation notice will be sent to the named insured’s designee, if elected. 

Cancellation 
reasons 

AS 21.36.210 

The policy may only be cancelled by the insurer for: 

• nonpayment of premium;

• the suspension or revocation of the driver’s license or motor vehicle
registration during the policy period. 

These reasons do not apply to: (1) the failure to renew a policy, except policies 
that have been in effect for less than 12 months, or (2) a new business policy 
that has been in effect for less than 60 days at the time the cancellation notice 
is mailed. 

Claim Payment 3 AAC 26.070(a)(2) Undisputed portions of a first party claim must be paid within 30 working days. 
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POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Claim Settlement 
3 AAC 26.080 
Bulletin B15-11 

Total loss claims for motor vehicles may be settled by providing a comparable 
and available replacement vehicle or by making a cash settlement based on the 
actual cost to purchase a replacement vehicle. The actual cost to purchase a 
replacement vehicle bust be determined as described in regulation 3 AAC 
26.080 

Any deduction from the cost of a comparable motor vehicle, including 
deduction for salvage, must be fair and appropriate and fully explained to the 
claimant. 

The offer of a replacement vehicle must include all taxes, license fees, 
destination or delivery charges, and other fees incidental to transfer of 
ownership of the motor vehicle. 

Concealment, 
Fraud, or 
Misrepresentation 

AS 21.42.110 
AS 28.20.440(f)(1) 

All statements and descriptions in an application shall be considered to be 
representations and not warranties. 

A policy may be cancelled upon discovery of fraud or material 
misrepresentation; or may be rescinded upon discovery of fraud or material 
misrepresentation made in the application for insurance. 

Cancellation or rescission may not be possible for Auto Liability policies after 
injury or damage has occurred. 

Concurrent 
Causation 

AS 21.36.096 

Insurers may not deny a claim if a risk, hazard, or contingency insured against 
is the dominant cause of a loss and the denial occurs because an excluded risk, 
hazard, or contingency is also in a chain of causes but operates on a secondary 
basis. Language such as “regardless of any other cause which may have 
contributed concurrently or in any sequence with” appearing in exclusions or 
limitations violates this statute. 
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POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Credit information 
use 

AS 21.36.460(e),(f) 
Bulletin 18-08 

Reconsideration certification is required to be filed if credit will be used to 
underwrite or rate personal insurance coverage. 

AS 21.36.460(a) 
Bulletin 03-07 
Bulletin 03-11 
Bulletin 18-08 

Disclosure on application and at renewal: Use of the following language will 
constitute compliance with the notice provision of this statute: 

In connection with this application for insurance or notice of renewal, 
we will review your credit report or obtain or use a credit-based 
insurance score based on the information contained in your credit 
report. We may use this information to decide whether to insure you or 
how much to charge. 
If a third-party is used to calculate the insurance score, the notice must also 
include language similar to the following: 

We may use a third-party in connection with the development of your 
insurance score. 

Deductibles 
AS 28.20.440(b)(2) 
AS 28.22.101(d) 

Insurers may not allow an insured to assume any part of the required 
minimum amount of coverage. Accordingly, no deductible may be applied to 
liability coverages until after the minimum liability limits have been paid. 

Examination 
Under Oath 

AS 21.42.130 
An insured must be allowed to have legal representation present when 
examined under oath. 

Family Personal 
Injury Exclusions 
and other 
Passenger or 
Operator 
Exclusions 

Bulletin 99-07 
Bulletin 98-10 

Not providing liability coverage to any family member for bodily injury to any 
family member is a violation of AS 28.20.440(b), AS 28.22.101, and AS 
21.96.020. Similarly, blanket passenger or operator exclusions violate AS 
28.20.440(b), AS 28.22.101, and AS 21.96.020.  

Fungus, Mildew, 
and Mold 
exclusions 

AS 21.36.096 
Bulletin 04-07 

Coverage for fungus, mildew, or mold may not be excluded when it results 
from a covered cause of loss. See Bulletin 04-07 for additional requirements. 
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POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Intentional Acts 
Exclusion AS 21.36.430 

Coverage may not be refused, cancelled, denied, or premium increased based 
only on the fact that a person was a victim of domestic violence. 

Lawsuits Against 
Insurer 

AS 09.10.053 

No. SP-5877 
Kaiser v. Umialik 

No. SP-6016 
Brannon v. 
Continental Co. 

No. 6776 
McDonnell v. State 
Farm  

A person has three years to bring an action upon a contract. 

In Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co v. Sand Lake Lounge, Inc. (09/24/1973; No. 1780), 
the Alaska Supreme Court ruled that such a time limitation begins to run only 
after there has been a breach of contract such as a denial of a claim or failure 
to defend. A form that states the time limitation begins from the date of the 
occurrence or time of loss will be disapproved. 

The three year timeframe for bringing action upon a contract also applies to 
UM/UIM claims. 

Minimum Earned 
Premium AS 21.36.255(a)(2) 

A rating rule must be included in the rating manual for minimum earned 
premiums and the premium must be stated in the policy. 

Minimum Liability 
Coverages 

AS 21.96.020 
AS 28.22.101 
Bulletin 79-04 

An automobile liability policy must provide liability coverage with limits of at 
least: $50,000 per person for bodily injury (BI), $100,000 per accident for BI, 
$25,000 for property damage (PD).  

If BI and PD coverage are instead subject to a combined single limit (CSL), the 
minimum single limit equivalent is $125,000. Further, as noted in Bulletin 79-
04, all policies containing a CSL provision shall be considered to include the 
following provision: “that the limit of liability for such policies for a single 
accident shall not be exhausted until each of the legally required minimums for 
BI liability and for PD liability is paid, whether or not such payment causes the 
liability for the policy in question to exceed the stated amount.”  

Named Driver 
Exclusions 

AS 28.20.440(l) 
Bulletin 98-10 

Insurers must honor the request of the named insured to exclude an operator 
who is a resident of the household or relative. Exclusions of other drivers is not 
permitted to the extent it lowers coverage below the minimum required limits. 
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POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Non-Renewal AS 21.36.240 
A nonrenewal notice must be sent at least 20 days before expiration of a 
personal insurance policy. An insurer may fail to renew a personal policy only 
on the policy’s annual anniversary. 

Notice of Assigned 
Risk Plan Eligibility 

AS 21.36.250 

When a policy is cancelled, other than for nonpayment of premium, or is not 
renewed, notice must be given to the named insured of possible eligibility for 
insurance through the automobile assigned risk plan. This notice is not 
required to be filed under AS 21.42.120. 

Notice of Limited 
Motor Vehicle 
Insurance 

AS 21.36.465 
Bulletin 89-04 

Policies that provide only physical damage coverage and do not provide liability 
coverage as required by AS 28.22.101 (d) must contain this statement in bold 
type: This policy provides insurance only against damage to the motor 
vehicle. This policy does not insure against bodily injury, death, or 
property damage liability and does not satisfy the mandatory motor 
vehicle liability insurance requirements of AS 28.22.011. 

Other Insurance

Making a primary policy excess over any other applicable insurance is 
misleading and grounds for disapproval under AS 21.42.130. 

See AS 28.20.445 and AS 28.22.221 for priority of payment under Uninsured/
Underinsured Motorists coverage. See AS 21.96.020(f)(4) for priority of 
payment for coverage for rental vehicles. 

AS 21.42.130
AS 28.20.445
AS 28.22.221
AS 21.96.020(f)(4)
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POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Personal Vehicle 
Sharing Programs 
and Ride Sharing 

AS 21.96.020(f) 
AS 21.96.020(c) - 
(e) 

Vehicles rented by the insured via a personal vehicle sharing program (PVSP) 
are considered rental vehicles for purposes of AS 21.96.020(f)(2) -(4).  

Insured’s purchased UM/UIM coverage must be available in the case that the 
insured has other covered autos which are damaged as a result of another 
operator’s use of one of the insured’s covered autos. 

UM/UIM coverage for an insured as a pedestrian or when riding as a passenger 
may not be excluded simply because the UM/UIM vehicle is being operated in 
connection with a PVSP or ride-sharing service. 

Pre-judgment 
Interest 

AS 28.20.440(b)(2) 
AS 28.22.101(d) 

Pre-judgment interest may not reduce liability coverage below the minimum 
required limits, which are to be provided exclusive of interest and costs. 

Proof of Insurance AS 28.22.019 
All insureds must be provided with adequate proof of insurance as defined in 
AS 28.22.019(e). 

Proof of Notice AS 21.36.260 

All notices must be mailed by first class mail to the last known address of the 
insured. A certificate of mailing must be obtained from the U.S. Postal Service 
or, the notice may be transmitted electronically if the insurer can obtain an 
electronic confirmation of receipt; a receipt from sending a Certified Mail letter 
is acceptable. Alternate methods of delivery may be used in addition to mailing 
or acceptable electronic transmittal, but cannot be used to replace the 
statutory requirement. 

Renewal notice for 
increased 
premiums or 
altered terms 

AS 21.36.305(e) 
AS 21.36.235 

Notice must be given if the renewal premium is increased or if there is a 
material restriction or reduction in coverage at least 20 days before the 
expiration of a personal auto policy. 

Rental Vehicles 
AS 
21.96.020(f)(2)-(4) 
Bulletin 89-04 

Liability coverage at limits no less than 50/100/25 must be extended to 
vehicles rented in the United States and Canada by a person insured under the 
policy. Physical damage coverage for a rental vehicle must be provided if the 
policy includes physical damage coverage. If the policy does not include 
physical damage coverage, the insurer must offer physical damage coverage 
for rental vehicles. Coverage for rental vehicles is subject to the order of 
priority specified in AS 21.39.020(f)(4). 
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POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Required 
Provisions 

AS 21.96.020 
AS 28.20.440 
AS 28.22.101 

In addition to the minimum liability coverage, a motor vehicle policy must: 

• list all covered vehicles – owner policy;

• include Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage at limits no less than the
minimum liability coverage, unless the insured has waived coverage as
provided in AS 28.20.445(e)(3) or AS 28.22.201(a)(3);

• provide liability coverage for use of nonowned vehicles – operator policy;

• must state the name and address of the named insured, the coverages, the
premium charges, the policy period, and limits of liability;

• policies certified as proof of financial responsibility must contain an
agreement that coverage is subject to the provisions of AS 28.20.010 – AS
28.20.640.

Senior Discount 
AS 21.96.025 
3 AAC 29.380-395 

Insurers must notify eligible applicants and renewal business in writing that a 
“senior discount” premium reduction is available. This notice is not required to 
be filed under AS 21.42.120, but must comply with Regulations 3 AAC 29.380-
395. 

Short-term policy 
AS 21.96.020(g) 
Bulletin 02-12 
Bulletin 96-03 

Insurers must offer a short-term policy for a term of no more than seven days. 

UM/UIM selection/ 
rejection forms 

AS 21.96.020(c)-
(e) 

A copy of your selection/rejection form must be submitted for review. 

UM/UIM Third 
Party Damage 
Recovery 

Bulletin 99-01 
Policy provisions allowing insurers to retain amounts received from third 
parties before full recovery by the insured are misleading and in violation of AS 
21.42.130. 

Unearned 
Premium refund 
insured cancel 

AS 21.36.255 
The insurer must return any unearned premium within 45 days of receipt of a 
request for cancellation or the effective date of cancellation, whichever is later. 
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POLICY 
PROVISION REFERENCE COMMENTS PAGE # 

Unearned 
Premium refund 
insurer cancel 

AS 21.36.220(c) 

The unearned premium must be refunded before effective date of cancellation 
except for the reasons stated in AS 21.36.220(c)(1). Then the refund must be 
made within 45 days after the notice of cancellation. Nonpayment of premium 
is insurer cancellation.  

Uninsured Vehicle 
accident 

AS 28.20.445(f) 
AS 28.22.201(b) 

There is no statutory burden placed upon the insured to report a hit and run 
accident within a specific time frame. The insurer may not limit UM/UIM 
coverage only for those instances in which the accident was reported within 24 
hours. 

Uninsured/ 
Underinsured 
Motorists 
(UM/UIM) 
Coverage 

AS 21.96.020 
AS 28.20.445(e)(3) 
AS 28.22.201 
AS 28.20.445(i) 

UM/UIM Bodily Injury and Property Damage coverage must be offered 
separately, initially and at each renewal, at the following limits: 

Bodily Injury 

• limits equal to the Liability limits of the policy;

• except for certain types of policies [see AS 21.96.020(c)(2)], various
specific limits if greater than the Liability limits of the policy.

other limits at the insurer’s option. 

Property Damage 

• $25,000 per accident with $250 deductible

• other limits and deductibles at the insurer’s option

The insured may reject coverage in writing, in whole or in part, and coverage 
may not be included in a renewal or replacement policy unless the insured 
requests coverage in writing. 

Beginning January 1, 2019, policies must clearly state that UM/UIM coverage 
provides coverage for the insured for injuries sustained as a pedestrian or 
bicyclist by a motor vehicle. 

Name (print): Date: 

Signature:  
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