#### Serve Alaska

State Service Commission

serve.alaska@alaska.gov 907-269-4637

**Commission Members** 

# Dawn Grossmann

Community Based Organization Delta Junction

> Kathleen Bugbee Vice Chair

Local Labor Organization Änchorage

Judy Bredberg Education Representative Anchorage

> Tracev Burke Higher Education Anchorage

Billie Joe Caldwell

Ex-Officio CNCS Corporate Representative Seattle WA

> Benjamin Clark National Service Programs

Elaine Dahlgren Older Adults Service Program Anchorage

Angelina Estrada-Burney Designee Department of Commerce Anchorage

Melora Gaber Designee Department of Education Juneau

Leona Grishkowsky Business Representative Unalakleet

> Becky Judd Youth Development Anchorage

Wilson Justin Tribal Representative Chistochina

Lebron McPhail Education Representative Palmer

> **Denise Morris** Tribal Representative Chugiak

Kirsten Vesel Local Government Specialist Seward

Jeffrey Wheaton

K-12 Education Representative Anchorage

Ron Yeager Individuals between 16-25 years Anchorage

The quarterly Serve Alaska Commission meeting was held on Wednesday February 4, 2010, at in the Douglas Room of the Juneau Baranof Hotel. Chairman Grossmann called the meeting to order at 1:40 p.m.

Roll Call - Commissioners present: Dawn Grossmann, Chair, Kathleen Bugbee, Vice Chair, Lebron McPhail, Kirsten Vesel, Judy Bredberg, Elaine Dahlgren, Melora Gaber, Jeff Wheaton, Ron Yeager, Leona Grishkowsky, Billie Joe Caldwell, Becky Judd, Tracey Burk, and Ben Clark.

Excused Absence: Wilson Justin, Denise Morris, Angelina Estrada-Burney,

Absent: Nick Henderson

Guests: Faith Lee, Marylee Bates, Linda Setterberg, Ruth Schoenleben Serve Alaska Staff: Nita Madsen, Margy Hughes, and Colleen Stuvick

Quorum Present, Yes

Approval to adopt the meeting agenda: Chair asked for a motion to approve the meeting agenda as written. Commissioner Burke moved. Commissioner Grishkowsky seconded. Motion Passed.

Approval to adopt the October 7 & 8 2009 Commission meeting minutes: Chair asked for a motion to approve the minutes as written. Commissioner Judd moved. Commissioner Dahlgren seconded. Motion Passed.

## Reports

Reports were given by Chairman Dawn Grossmann, Kathleen Bugbee, lead, on behalf of the Resource/Finance Committee, Lebron McPhail, lead, on behalf of the Program Committee, Margy Hughes Program Coordinator, Colleen Stuvick Disability Coordinator/Administrative Assistant and Nita Madsen Executive Director. After the Executive Director's report, chair asked for a motion authorizing her to pursue additional Disability and Administrative grant funding. Commissioner Bredberg moved. Commissioner McPhail seconded. Motion Passed.

# **Unfinished Business**

Chair asked for a motion to have the Executive Committee put the Transition Plan together and moved forward. Commissioner Judd moved. Commissioner Burke seconded. Motion Passed.

### **New Business**

The next Commission meeting is a face to face on May 25 & 26, 2010 in Anchorage. The August 6<sup>th</sup> teleconference meeting is cancelled.

The meeting adjourned at 3:15 P.M.