

Commission Call Meeting Minutes
December 19, 2012 from 9:00 am – 12:00 noon
Atwood Building at 550 West 7<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 1770, Anchorage, Alaska

#### Call to Order

Chair Grossmann called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

### Roll call and determination of quorum

**Present:** Kirsten Franklin-Temple, Dawn Grossmann, Denise Morris, Elaine Dahlgren, Joelle Hall, Justin Fantasia, Kate Powers, Kirsten Vesel, Leona Grishkowsky, Steve Ricci and Tracey Burke

# A quorum was established.

**Excused Absent:** Linda McDevitt and Kathryn Dodge

Absent: Barb Nickels, Lebron McPhail, Jeff Wheaton, and Melora Gaber

Guest: Assistant Commissioner Roberta Graham

Director of Boards & Commissions Jason M. Hooley

Corporation for National & Community Service State Program Office: Cat Koehn

Staff present: Nita Madsen, Margy Hughes and Jane Ramos AmeriCorps VISTA present: Tenaya Lamon-Anderson

#### Introduction of guest present

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Assistant Commissioner Roberta Graham introduced herself.

Office of the Governor, Director of Boards and Commissions Jason Hooley came in and announced that a new member is coming in soon.

# Approval to adopt the meeting agenda

Chair asked for a motion to amend the written meeting agenda deleting Staff Report from Grants Administrator, Patricia O'Neil due to her resignation from Serve Alaska. Commissioner Hall moved to approve the amended agenda. Commissioner Vesel seconded. **Motion Passed** unanimously.

# Approval of the September 10, 2012 Commission meeting minutes

Chair called for a motion to approved the September 10, 2012 Commission Meeting Minutes. Commissioner Hall moved for a motion to approve the minutes as written. Commissioner Burke seconded. **Motion Passed** unanimously.

### Chair Report

**Commissioner Grossmann** – *no written report.* 

The Chair shared RFP deadline changes to the Commission.

# **Standing Committee Reports**

**Commissioner Grossmann** reported on behalf of the Executive Committee; no written report.

**Commissioner Ricci** reported on behalf of the Legislative Committee; no written report.

#### **Task Force/Sub-Committee Reports**

**Commissioner Morris** reported on behalf of the Disability Committee; no written report.

**Commissioner Vesel** reported on behalf of the Financial Task Force Committee; no written report.

# **CNCS Alaska State Program Office Report**

Kirsten Franklin-Temple reported on behalf of the CNCS; no written report.

#### **Election of New Chair and Vice Chair**

Chair Grossmann in the absence of the Nominating Committee asked for names of Commissioners approached to Chair and Vice Chair the Commission. Commissioner Morris made a motion for Commissioner Vesel to be Chair and Commissioner Hall to be Vice Chair. Commissioner Dahlgren seconded. Roll Call Vote made.

# Motion Passed unanimously.

Following the motion passing, Chair Grossmann passed the gavel to the new Chair.

### Staff Reports

**Executive Director - Nita Madsen** report attached.

# **Program Coordinator – Margy Hughes** no written report.

Margy shared the RFP schedules, webinars, applicants, and compliance issues.

Disability Coordinator/Admin Asst – Jane Ramos report attached.

#### VISTA Report

Tenaya Lamon-Anderson; report attached.

### **Next Steps**

Chair Vessel shared the Next Commission Meeting Dates all via teleconference from 9 am-12 noon:

- February 7<sup>th</sup>
- May 8<sup>th</sup>

#### Adiournment

Commissioner Morris moved to adjourn the meeting and seconded by Commissioner Hall. The **Motion Carried** unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 12:00 pm.