Serve Alaska

State Service Commission
serve.alaska@alaska.gov
907-269-4637

Commission Members

Dawn Grossmann Chair

Community Based Organization
Delta Junction

Kathleen Bugbee Vice Chair Local Labor Organization

Local Labor Organization Anchorage

Judy Bredberg

Education Representative Anchorage

Tracey Burke Higher Education Anchorage

Billie Joe Caldwell Ex-Officio

Ex-Officio CNCS Corporate Representative Seattle, WA

Benjamin Clark National Service Programs

Elaine DahlgrenOlder Adults Service Program

Anchorage

Angelina Estrada-Burney Designee Department of Commerce Anchorage

Melora Gaber Designee

Designee
Department of Education

Leona Grishkowsky Business Representative Unalakleet

Becky Judd Youth Development

Anchorage Wilson Justin

Tribal Representative Chistochina

Lebron McPhail Education Representative Palmer

Denise Morris Tribal Representative Chugiak

Kirsten Vesel Local Government Specialist Seward

Jeffrey Wheaton K-12 Education Representative

Anchorage

Ron Yeager Individuals between 16-25 years Anchorage

Serve Alaska Meeting Minutes

The quarterly *Serve Alaska* Commission meeting was held on Wednesday May 26, 2010, in RurAL CAP's library. Chairman Grossmann called the meeting to order at 8:40 a.m.

Roll Call - Commissioners present: Dawn Grossmann, Chair, Kathleen Bugbee, Vice Chair, Lebron McPhail, Kirsten Vesel, Angelina Estrada Burney, Judy Bredberg, Elaine Dahlgren, Jeff Wheaton, Ron Yeager, Leona Grishkowsky, Billie Joe Caldwell, Becky Judd, Tracey Burk, Wilson Justin and Ben Clark.

Excused Absence: Nita Madsen, Denise Morris and Melora Gaber Guests: Ruth Schoenleben, Bonnie Hughes, Joie Brown and guest speaker John Moller Serve Alaska Staff: Margy Hughes and Colleen Stuvick A quorum was present.

Guest Speaker, John Moller, Rural Advisory, gave a report and extended greetings from Governor Parnell.

Approval to adopt the meeting agenda: Chair asked for a motion to approve the meeting agenda as written. Commissioner Bugbee moved. Commissioner Grishkowsky seconded.

Motion Passed.

Approval to adopt the February 4, 2010 Commission meeting minutes: Chair asked for a motion to approve the minutes as written. Commissioner Estrada-Burney moved. Commissioner Dahlgren seconded. **Motion Passed.**

Reports

Chairman Grossmann asked each Commissioner to send a Thank You card to the Legislator they met with in Juneau last February.

Reports were given by Angelina Estrada-Burney on the First Lady's Volunteer of the Year Awards, Kathleen Bugbee on behalf of the Resource/Finance Committee; Angelina Estrada-Burney on behalf of the Outreach/Communications Committee; Lebron McPhail on behalf of the Program Committee; Margy Hughes Program Coordinator and Colleen Stuvick Disability Coordinator/Administrative Assistant.

New Business

Calendared Commission Meetings for 2011:

- January 31st @ noon through February 2nd in Juneau for Legislative Outreach
- In January meet telephonically to vote on approving grants for federal submission.
- May 11th 8:30am 4:30pm Anchorage face to face
- August 10th tentatively 8:30am 4:30pm Anchorage face to face
- November 9th 8:30am 4:30pm Anchorage face to face

Possibilities and Partnerships presented by Commissioner Judd; request for action was withdrawn.

New Commissioner Institute in Washington D.C., September 13-16, 2010. Commissioners Clark, Vesel, Judd, Dahlgren and Grossmann would like to attend.

Old Business

Transition Plan – still in committee, no report State Service Plan – tabled until next meeting Adopt-A-Program – sign and return to staff the Annual Affidavit

The meeting adjourned at 2:40 P.M.