SERVE ALASKA

State Service Commission serve.alaska@alaska.gov 907-269-4637

Commission Members

Dawn Grossmann

Community Based Organization Delta Junction

Kathleen Bugbee Vice Chair

Local Labor Organization Anchorage

Judy Bredberg

Education Representative Wasilla

Tracey Burke

Higher Education Representative Anchorage

Billie Joe Caldwell Ex-Officio

CNCS Corporate Representative Seattle, WA

Benjamin Clark National Service Programs

Kathryn Dodge

Business Representative Fairbanks

Elaine Dahlgren Older Adults Service Programs

Anchorage Angelina Estrada-Burney

Designee Department of Commerce

Melora Gaber

Designee Department of Education

Leona Grishkowsky

Business Representative Unalakleet

Benjamin Johnson

Community Based Organization

Becky Judd Youth Development Representative Anchorage

Wilson Justin Tribal Representative Chistochina

Lebron McPhail

Education Representative Palmer

Denise Morris Tribal Representative Chugiak

Rosemary Schneeberger Community Based Organization

Kirsten Vesel Local Government Specialist . Seward

Jeffrey Wheaton K-12 Education Representative Anchorage

Ron Yeager

Individuals between 16-25 years Anchorage

Serve Alaska Meeting Minutes

The quarterly Serve Alaska Commission meeting was held via teleconference on Friday August 6, 2010. Chairman Grossmann called the meeting to order at 10:10 a.m.

Roll Call - Present: Dawn Grossmann, Chair, Kirsten Vesel, Judy Bredberg, Elaine Dahlgren, Melora Gaber, Angelina Estrada-Burney, Rory Schneeberger, Jeff Wheaton, Leona Grishkowsky, Kathryn Dodge, and Becky Judd.

Excused Absence: Kathleen Bugbee, Ben Clark, Lebron McPhail, Tracey Burk, Billie Joe Caldwell and Ron Yeager

Absent: Wilson Justin, Denise Morris, Benjamin Johnson

Serve Alaska Staff: Nita Madsen, Margy Hughes, and Colleen Stuvick Quorum Present, Yes

Approval to adopt the meeting agenda: Chair asked for a motion to approve the meeting agenda as written. Commissioner Dahlgren moved. Commissioner Bredberg seconded. Motion Passed.

Approval to adopt the May 26, 2010 Commission meeting minutes: Chair asked for a motion to approve the minutes as written. Commissioner Dahlgren moved. Commissioner Estrada-Burney seconded. Motion Passed.

Staff was asked to move forward with planning the Commission Meeting and Legislative Outreach in Juneau on January 31, February 1 & 2, 2011.

Reports

Commissioners Wheaton, Bredberg and Estrada-Burney gave trip reports about the National Conference of Volunteerism and Service; Chairman Grossmann on behalf of the Executive Committee; Commissioner Estrada-Burney on behalf of the Outreach/Communications Committee; Margy Hughes on behalf of the Program Committee; Nita Madsen Executive Director, Colleen Stuvick Disability Coordinator/Administrative Assistant and Margy Hughes Program Coordinator; the action item is tabled until the October 6, 2010 Commission Meeting.

Old Business

- State Service Plan Chair will email Commissioners asking for volunteers to sit on a workgroup to develop, review, draft and finalize the Plan. Chair Grossmann and Commissioner Estrada-Burney volunteered.
- Transition Plan still in committee, no report
- New Commissioner Institute Commissioners Estrada-Burney, Vesel and Dahlgren are planning to attend. Commissioner Dodge is an alternate.
- Alaska Municipal League Annual Local Government Conference November 15-19, 2010, in Juneau. Chair asked for a motion to attend, participate and support his event. Commissioner Dahlgren moved. Commissioner Judd seconded. Vote to attend was unanimous. Motion Passed.
- October 6 & 7, 2010 Commission Meeting & Training schedule was finalized.

The meeting adjourned at 12 p.m.