SERVE ALASKA

State Service Commission serve.alaska@alaska.gov 907-269-4637

Commission Members

Dawn Grossmann

Community Based Organization Delta Junction

Kathleen Bugbee Vice Chair

Local Labor Organization Anchorage

Judy Bredberg

Education Representative Wasilla

Tracey Burke

Higher Education Representative Anchorage

Billie Joe Caldwell

Ex-Officio CNCS Corporate Representative Seattle, WA

Benjamin Clark

National Service Programs

Kathryn Dodge

Business Representative Fairbanks

Elaine Dahlgren Older Adults Service Programs Anchorage

Angelina Estrada-Burney Designee

Department of Commerce Anchorage

Melora Gaber

Designee Department of Education

Leona Grishkowsky

Business Representative Unalakleet

Benjamin Johnson

Community Based Organization

Becky Judd Youth Development Representative Anchorage

Wilson Justin Tribal Representative

Lebron McPhail

Chistochina

Education Representative Palmer

Denise Morris

Tribal Representative Chugiak

Rosemary Schneeberger Community Based Organization

Kirsten Vesel

Local Government Specialist . Seward

Jeffrey Wheaton K-12 Education Representative Anchorage

Ron Yeager

Individuals between 16-25 years Anchorage

Serve Alaska Meeting Minutes

The quarterly Serve Alaska Commission meeting was held on Wednesday, October 6, 2010, in the Atwood Building, Anchorage. Chairman Grossmann called the meeting to order at 8:40 a.m.

Roll Call - Commissioners present: Dawn Grossmann, Chair, Kirsten Vesel, Angelina Estrada Burney, Rory Schneeberger, Kathryn Dodge, Judy Bredberg, Elaine Dahlgren, Ron Yeager, Leona Grishkowsky, Billie Joe Caldwell, Becky Judd, Tracey Burke, Melora Gaber, Denise Morris and Ben Clark.

Excused Absence: Kathleen Bugbee, Vice Chair, Jeff Wheaton, Lebron McPhail, Ben Johnson, and Wilson Justin

Guests: Ruth Schoenleben, Bonnie Hughes, Joie Brown and Gary Ling Serve Alaska Staff: Nita Madsen, Margy Hughes and Colleen Stuvick A quorum was present.

Approval to adopt the meeting agenda: Chair asked for a motion to approve the meeting agenda as written. Commissioner Dahlgren moved. Commissioner Burke seconded. No discussion. Motion Passed.

Approval to adopt the August 6, 2010 Commission meeting minutes: Chair asked for a motion to approve the minutes as written. Commissioner Estrada-Burney moved. Commissioner Bredberg seconded. No discussion. Motion Passed.

Reports

Commissioners Dodge, Vesel and Grossmann gave trip reports about the New Commissioner Institute in Washington D.C.; Chairman Grossmann reported on behalf of the Executive Committee; reports by sub-grantees: Joel's Place, Nine Star, Sitka, RurAL CAP and SAGA; Commissioner Estrada-Burney reported on behalf of the Outreach/Communication Committee; no report from the Program or Resource/Finance Committee; staff reports from Nita Madsen, Executive Director; Margy Hughes Program Coordinator; Colleen Stuvick Administrative Assistant/Disability Coordinator.

New Business

Commissioner Grossmann asked for a motion to adopt the newly written vision statement. Commissioner Schneeberger moved. Commissioner Burke seconded. No discussion. Motion Passed. New Vision Statement: Serve Alaska is committed to fostering public and private partnerships to promote the ethics of volunteerism and service.

Chair asked for a motion to approve applying PDAT, Disability Placement and ADMIN Grant funds. Commissioner Dahlgren moved; Commissioner Burke seconded. No discussion. Motion Passed.

Old Business

- State Service Plan motion to adopt State Service Plan with corrections and inclusion of the newly adopted Vision Statement. Commissioner Dahlgren moved. Commissioner Grishkowsky seconded. No comments, changes or oppositions. Motion Passed.
- Serve Alaska Transition Plan is transferred to the Executive Committee for editing.

Serve Alaska Meeting Minutes (continued)

New Business

- Discussion on logistics for the Juneau Legislative Outreach.
- Nomination of Chairman and Vice Chairman Committee unanimously nominated Commissioner Grossmann to serve another term as Chairman and Commissioner Yeager to serve as Vice Chair. Commissioner Bredberg moved to close nominations. Commissioner Estrada-Burney seconded. Motion Passed.
- Fiduciary responsibility is now the responsibility of the Executive Committee

Executive Session convened at 4:30 PM and exited at 5:10 PM

Commissioner Grossmann asked for a motion to accept Request For Proposal (RFP) scoring process that no application will be forwarded to Corporation for National and Community Service if the overall application score is less than 80%. Commissioner Judd moved. Commissioner Gaber seconded. No discussion. **Motion Passed**.

The meeting adjourned at 5:15 P.M.