

ALASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Business Licensing Section Street: State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor Mail: PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2550 • Fax: (907) 465-2974 Website: BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov

## **Business License: 30-Day Allowable Change**

Per AS 43.70.030(e)-(f), a business license owner may request a new business license within 30 calendar days after the issuance of the original license to make small changes to a license.

If the ONLY change is one of the following, then you may notify this office by submitting a different form.

- Business physical and/or mailing address changes only, then submit by fax or mail: **Business License: Change of Address**, form 08-4054, instead of this form.
- NAICS Codes change only, then submit by fax or mail: Business License: Change of NAICS Codes, form 08-4731, instead of this form.

# IMPORTANT: <u>If</u> this request meets the qualifications <u>and</u> is filed for record <u>then</u> a NEW business license number will be issued and the original business license will be cancelled.

To Qualify:

- 1. This form must be received in this office within exactly 30 calendar days after a new business license has been issued;
- 2. The change is small and to correct a non-substantive error; and
- 3. The change is not a substantive change.

Allowed:

Not Allowed:

- The legislative intent of AS 43.70.030(e)-(f) is to allow the following:
  - · Change of address Example: transposed numbers in an address.
  - Information erroneously place in the wrong part of a license application by the applicant *Example: Owner's first and last names were reversed.*
  - Error in entry by applicant, including spelling error, identification of trade, service, profession or activity — Example: Small spelling error that does not change content or meaning, such as correcting misspelling of "shpo" to "shop".

The legislative intent of AS 43.70.030(e)-(f) is to <u>NOT allow</u> the following:

- Substantive changes Example: Changing essential words, such as "shop" to "boutique".
- · Changes in the name of the business [per 12 AAC 12.050(a)(1)].
- Changes in the name(s) of the business owner(s) [per 12 AAC 12.050(a)(2).

For more information go to www.BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov and click on Changes to Business Licenses FAQs and Legislature's Letter of Intent.

For additional questions regarding allowable changes to a business license within 30 calendar days, email: BusinessLicense@Alaska.Gov

Online filing is not available for this form. Submit this form by fax or mail. Do not email this form or payment.

**Processing Time**: Standard processing time from March-September is 10-15 business days. During heavy business license filing seasons, October-February, the processing time will be delayed. Filings are reviewed in date order received. We do not offer expediting services.





*Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing* 

**Business Licensing Section** Street: State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor Mail: PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-2550 • Fax: (907) 465-2974 Website: *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov* 

# **Business License: 30-day Allowable Change**

### AS 43.70.030(e)-(f) and 12 AAC

### IMPORTANT:

- Extremely time-sensitive: A request for a change <u>must be received and date-stamped in this office within</u> <u>exactly 30 calendar days after the new business license was issued</u> for this request to be considered.
- If this request meets the qualifications <u>and</u> is filed for record, <u>then</u> a NEW business license number will be issued and the original business license will be cancelled.

No Fee:	There is no fee associated with this filing.	\$0.00
1. Business Lie	cense Name: Must exactly match name as it appears before allowable change.	
Business License	e Name:	
Business License	e Number ( <i>mandatory</i> ):	
2. Incorrect Inf	ormation:	
3. Correct Info	rmation:	
4. Reason why	the original information is incorrect:	

BUS

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

#### 5. Signature:

The request for a 30-day allowable change to this business license must be signed by the owner of the business.

- If the business is a sole proprietor, then the sole individual owner must sign.
- If the business is a partnership, then one of the owning partners must sign.
- If the business is owned by an entity, then the signer must be on the record with this office as an authorized signer for the owning entity and identify their signing authority, such as: corporation President or LLC member. Example: John Doe, President of owning entity XYZ Incorporated.

By my signature below, I declare under the penalty of perjury that the information provided on the application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge:

Signature of Owner:	Date:
Printed Name of Owner:	
Title of Owner:	(Provide title based on the type of organization, such as; Sole Proprietor, Partner, or President of <owner entity="" name="">, etc.)</owner>

Select one of the following options for after the filing has	Additional Fee: \$5 per copy If you want this office to mail a copy of the updated business license, Submit to this office, <i>Business License: Certificate Copy Request</i> (form 08-4080), along with the appropriate fees.
been processed:	Free: Print a copy of the updated business license from the web at: www.BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov

Potential Business Impact:
You are strongly encouraged to research and consider any business impact prior to requesting a change. For example, your professional license, if applicable, with this division; banking; insurance; and your business registration with other agencies such as local government, municipalities, federal government, IRS, etc.
If you require further assistance, you are advised to seek the services of an attorney or other qualified professionals such as a CPA.