

## Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

May 20, 2016

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The Division proposes an increase in licensing fee amounts in order to comply with the statute listed above, as well as to continue to deliver its current level of service for the Acupuncturist licensing program. The program has been in deficit since 2012 and the deficit is anticipated to grow to (\$40,000) by FY2017 if no fee changes are made. In addition, there has not been a fee change since 2007 when the license fee was reduced from \$200 to the current \$50. The proposed increase will still not get the program out of deficit until the FY2018/2019 renewal cycle. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the proposed increase will stabilize the program for the foreseeable future and will prevent the need for an even larger increase later.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the division's Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during the upcoming license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

Janey Hovenden

Director

Encl.

Register,	2016 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
Cl	napter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.
	and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED] indicate language being deleted.
12 AAC 02.108 is an	nended to read:
12 AAC 02.1	<b>08. Acupuncturists.</b> The following fees are established for acupuncturists:
(1) ap	oplication fee for initial license, <b>\$200</b> [\$50];
(2) lic	cense fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, \$225 [\$50];
(3) bi	ennial license renewal fee, <u>\$225</u> [\$50]. (Eff. 5/20/92, Register 122; am
5/28/93, Register 126	5; am 9/11/94, Register 131; am 7/25/96, Register 139; am 8/10/2000,
Register 155; am 8/20	6/2004, Register 171; am 7/20/2006, Register 179; am/,
Register)	

AS 08.06.030

AS 08.06.100

**Authority:** 

AS 08.01.010

AS 08.01.065