

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

August 25, 2015

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The division proposes increasing licensing fee amounts in order to comply with the statute listed above, as well as to continue to deliver its current level of service for the guide and transporter licensing program. Once FY15 financials are closed, this program is anticipated to reflect an operating deficit of nearly one million dollars.

Members of the Big Game Commercial Services reviewed the fee structure at the meeting held July 23, 2015. They supported an increase to existing fees and recommended introducing two new fees. The new fees are a responsible effort by board members to move the program out of its long-standing financial deficit position.

The division considered the members' recommendation and proposes the attached fee structure. A breakdown of the proposed fees is enclosed and located on the Board's web page at professionallicense.alaska.gov/BigGameCommercialServicesBoard. A list of questions and answers will be posted here, as well, so please check back to see if your concern or question has been addressed.

This fee proposal will enter a public comment period this week. The division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the division's Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee implementation in time for this winter's license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov. Please feel welcome to contact me with any questions at janey.hovenden@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

mufforenden

Janey Hovenden Director

Encl.

Register , 2015 **PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS**

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.230 is amended to read:

12 AAC 02.230. Big Game Commercial Services Board. (a) The following fees are established for registered and master guide-outfitters:

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, \$200;

(2) initial registered guide-outfitter qualification examination or retake

examination fee, \$125;

(3) game management unit examination fee for taking initial examination,

retaking examination, or adding game management units, **\$400** [\$390] per game management unit;

(4) registered or master guide-outfitter license fee, for all or part of the biennial

license period, **<u>\$850</u>** [\$650];

- (5) biennial registered or master guide-outfitter license renewal fee, **\$850** [\$650];
- (6) examination preparation packet for registered guide-outfitter, \$100;

(7) retired status license fee, \$300;

(8) hunt record activity report filing fee, \$50;

(9) guide use area registration fee, \$100.

(b) The following fees are established for Class-A assistant and assistant guides:

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, \$200;

(2) Class-A assistant and assistant guide license fee for all or part of the initial

biennial license period, <u>**\$410**</u> [\$360];

Register____,

2015 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

(3) Class-A assistant and assistant guide biennial license renewal fee, <u>\$410;</u>

[\$360.]

(4) retired status license fee, \$175.

(c) The following fees are established for transporter licenses:

- (1) nonrefundable application fee, \$200;
- (2) transporter license fee, for all or part of the biennial license period, <u>\$850</u>

[\$650];

(3) biennial transporter license renewal fee, **<u>\$850</u>** [\$650];

(4) transporter activity report filing fee, \$50.

(d) Under AS 08.54.770(e), the license fees for nonresidents are double the license fees
established in (a) – (c) of this section. (Eff. 3/6/86, Register 97; am 4/3/88, Register 105; am
3/25/89, Register 109; am 8/29/90, Register 115; am 2/25/93, Register 125; am 10/29/94,
Register 132; am 5/24/96, Register 138; am 10/19/96, Register 140; am 11/28/99, Register 152;
am 12/16/2001, Register 160; am 11/18/2006, Register 180; am 12/21/2007, Register 184; am
11/26/2009, Register 192; am 11/30/2013, Register 208; am __/___, Register ____)
Authority: AS 08.01.010 AS 08.01.100 AS 08.54.770

AS 08.01.065

2