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DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
Main: 907.465.2550 

Fax: 907.465.2974 

June 17, 2016 
 
 
Dear licensees and interested parties: 
 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.”   

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and has determined that fee increases are necessary to 
comply with the statute listed above: to bring the program sustainably out of deficit and to continue to deliver 
the current level of service of the chiropractic licensing program.  Program expenses have slowly been 
depleting its surplus for several years, and the program will be in deficit by the end of this fiscal year.  The 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners reviewed the fee analysis at its May 20, 2016, meeting and recommended 
changes which the Division took under advisement.  The proposed fees amounts are enclosed and can also 
be found on the Board’s web page 
at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.aspx
.   

In 2006, the program licensing fees were $730 per biennium.  In 2008, the fees decreased to $500 and 
decreased again in 2010 to the fee amounts in existence today.  The proposed increase in fees is still lower 
than the 2006 license fee.  Barring any unforeseen circumstances, this increase will stabilize the program and 
prevent the need for an even larger increase later. 

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested 
parties to comment on this proposal through the division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information 
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments 
received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the 
regulations in part or in its whole.    

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.  
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during this fall’s license renewal. 

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period.  Comments 
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811 
or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov.  

Sincerely,  

Janey Hovenden 
Director 
 
Encl. 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.aspx
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.aspx
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov
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6/2/16 Draft 1 

 Chapter 02.  General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)   
 
12 AAC 02.150 is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.150. Board of Chiropractic Examiners.  (a) The following fees are 

established for chiropractors:  

(1)  application fee for  

   (A)  initial license, $250 [$150];  

   (B)  locum tenens permit, $250 [$50];  

   (C)  any courtesy license, $250 [$50];  

(2)  license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $600 [$450];  

(3)  biennial license renewal fee, $600 [$450];  

(4)  temporary permit fee, $150 [$100];  

(5)  examination fee, $200 [$100];  

(6)  locum tenens permit fee, $150 [$100];  

(7)  inactive license fee, $150 [$100];  

(8)  retired status license fee, $150 [$100];  

(9)  specialty designation fee, $50 [$25];  

(10)  fee for any courtesy license, $150 [$100];  

(11)  continuing education course approval fee, $125 [$50];  

(12)  continuing education course change approval fee, $50 [$25];  

(13)  delayed renewal penalty fee, $100 [$50].  

(b)  The peer review fee charged to a complainant is $50.  (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100; 
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am 10/1/88, Register 107; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 10/29/94, Register 132; am 11/15/96, 

Register 140; am 2/21/97, Register 141; am 11/27/98, Register 148; am 1/14/2001, Register 157; 

am 6/17/2001, Register 158; am 6/13/2002, Register 162; am 11/15/2002, Register 164; am 

8/20/2004, Register 171; am 10/15/2004, Register 172; am 12/12/2008, Register 188; am 

1/29/2009, Register 189; am 11/21/2010, Register 196; am 11/28/2010, Register 196; am 

___/___/____, Register ____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.062  AS 08.01.100  AS 08.20.185 

AS 08.01.065  AS 08.20.180 
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