

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

February 9, 2016

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The Division proposes an increase in licensing fee amounts in order to comply with the statute listed above, as well as to continue to deliver its current level of service for the social worker licensing program. Although there was a minor increase in fees in 2014, the program expenses have continued to use up its surplus for several years and ended FY2015 in a deficit position.

The Board of Social Worker Examiners reviewed the fee analysis at a teleconference meeting on February 2, 2016 and made recommendations to increase certain fees. The Division took under advisement those recommendations; a breakdown of the proposed fees is enclosed and located on the Board's web page at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/SocialWorkExaminers.aspx. It is the desire of both the Board and the Division that the program is out of deficit, and remains so, before the 2018 Sunset Audit administered by Legislative Audit.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the division's Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during this season's license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

Janey Hovenden

Director

Encl.

Register	2016	PROFESSIONAL	REGULATIONS
INCEISICI	, 2010	INOTEBBIONAL	NEGULATION

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.155 is amended to read:

- **12 AAC 02.155. Board of Social Work Examiners.** (a) The following fees are established for social workers:
 - (1) application fee for initial license, **\$100** [\$60];
- (2) clinical social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, **\$400** [\$300];
- (3) master social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, \$350 [\$300];
- (4) baccalaureate social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, \$300;
 - (5) biennial clinical social worker license renewal fee, **\$400** [\$300];
 - (6) biennial master social worker license renewal fee, \$350 [\$300];
 - (7) biennial baccalaureate social worker license renewal fee, \$300;
 - (8) temporary license fee, \$75 [\$60].
- (b) Notwithstanding 12 AAC 02.020 and 12 AAC 02.030, the initial license renewal fee for a clinical social worker, master social worker, or baccalaureate social worker in (a)(5) (7) of this section will not be prorated, except as provided in 12 AAC 02.030(a)(1).
- (c) The following fees are established for submission of social worker continuing education courses for approval under 12 AAC 18.220:
 - (1) initial continuing education course submittal fee, **\$100** [\$60];

Register ,	2016	PROFESSIONAL	REGULAT	CIONS

(2) continuing education course resubmittal fee, \$50 [\$30]. (Eff. 5/4/90, Register 114; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 4/20/96, Register 138; am 4/11/98, Register 146; am 5/5/99, Register 150; am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 8/12/2001, Register 159; am 6/13/2002, Register 162; am 6/1/2006, Register 178; am 6/11/2010, Register 194; am 5/18/2014, Register 210; am ___/____, Register _____)

Authority: AS 08.01.065 AS 08.95.110 AS 08.95.125

AS 08.95.030 AS 08.95.120