

of ALASKA

ALASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Online Instructions

Initial Application for Associate Broker by Endorsement License

PLEASE READ the application instructions, statutes, and regulations before completing your application. Please retain this information for future reference. YOU MUST HOLD A PERMANENT LICENSE TO PRACTICE AS AN ASSOCIATE BROKER IN ALASKA.

The following items must be on file before you will be considered for Associate Broker License by Endorsement:

1. LICENSE HISTORY/CERTIFICATION

A license history/certification from each jurisdiction where you hold or have ever held a Real Estate license. At least one jurisdiction must reflect licensure at the Associate Broker or Broker level, and that license must be <u>current and active</u> on the date your Alaska application is considered "complete." License histories/certifications MUST be sent directly from another licensing authority to the Alaska Real Estate Commission. License histories/certifications cannot be accepted directly from applicants [12 AAC 64.059(f)(4) and 12 AAC 64.061(b) and (c)].

2. AFFIDAVIT OF EXPERIENCE

Proof that you worked as a licensee for at least 36 months within the immediate 60 months prior to obtaining your initial Associate Broker or Broker license in another jurisdiction. An Affidavit of Licensee Experience (#08-4168, page 5 of 6) signed by your supervising broker(s) confirming licensee experience must be submitted. However, if documented evidence reflecting licensee experience is confirmed on the license history documentation (required in number 1 above) the affidavit is not required [AS 08.88.171(b)].

3. EXAM

Exam score sheet verifying proof of passing the "Alaska" portion of the Broker exam. Exam scores are <u>valid ONLY for six</u> <u>months from the date of exam</u>. You <u>must</u> have a complete application filed with the Alaska Real Estate Commission prior to expiration of the exam scores. For information and the application for examination, contact Pearson VUE at 1800-274-5992 or <u>www.pearsonvue.com</u> [AS 08.88.171(b), AS 08.88.263(1) and 12 AAC 64.059(f)(2) and (3)].

4. EDUCATION

Proof of Broker education equivalent to the 30 hours required in 12 AAC 64.063(b) or 30 hours of an Alaska approved broker education course. Copies of your education certificates or a transcript is required. In accordance with 12 AAC 64.063(a)(2), these hours <u>must</u> have been completed within <u>24 months</u> immediately preceding the date of application. You <u>must</u> have a complete application filed with the Alaska Real Estate Commission prior to the expiration of the education. Education topics are listed in 12 AAC 64.063(b).

5. ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE

Proof/verification of E & O Insurance coverage. Proof/verification of E & O Insurance coverage is required under AS 08.88.172.

6. ALASKA REAL ESTATE LAW

Evidence of completing a 6-hour course on Alaska's Real Estate Law [12 AAC 64.059(f)(6)]. In accordance with 12 AAC 64.063(a)(2), all real estate education courses used to qualify for initial licensure must have been completed within the <u>24 months</u> immediately preceding the date of the application.

For a list of approved schools go to: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateCommission under the Education link/Real Estate Schools (PDF). Education certificates are <u>valid ONLY for 24 months from the date the course was completed</u>.

7. BROKER INFORMATION

A completed Employing Broker Information page (#08-4168, page 6 of 6) is required under AS 08.88.291.

LICENSE STATUS:

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on January 31 of EVEN -numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record.

"YES" RESPONSES:

A "Yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "Yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and closing court documentation.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the Division's website at *ProfessionalLicense*. *Alaska*. *gov* under License Search.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the Division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

RANDOM AUDIT:

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form. Please note that licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov* or contact the Division for a copy of the form.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the Commission's website: *ProfessionalLicense*. *Alaska*. *Gov/RealEstateCommission*

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to:

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST

Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

P.O. Box 110806

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Real Estate Commission

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 Phone: (907) 269-8160 Email: RealEstateCommission@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateCommission

Complete **ONLY** the top part of this form. The past supervising broker where you worked as a real

Verification of Real Estate Licensee Experience

Applicant: Complete ONLY the top part of this form. The past supervising broker where you worked as a real estate licensee prior to becoming an associate broker must submit this form.					
Applicant Name:					
Applicant Address:					
License Number:			State of Licensure:		
Dates of Employment:	From:				
Applicant Signature:			Date of Signature:		
Employer : Complete this form and return directly to the Real Estate Commission at the letterhead address.					
Employer Name:			Title:		
Company Name:			Phone Number:		
Company Address:					
Information about the above-named applicant's employment:					
Dates of Employment:	From:	To:			
Total Months Worked:					
Employer Signature:			Date:		



THE STATE of ALASKA

ASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Real Estate Commission

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 Phone: (907) 269-8160 Email: RealEstateCommission@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/RealEstateCommission

Employing Broker Information

Applicant Name:					
PART I Business Information (Required)					
Business Name:					
Real Estate Office License Number:					
Business Mailing Address:					
PART II Broker Information (Required)					
Employing Broker Printed Name:					
Broker License Number:		Broker Phone Number:			
Broker Signature:		Date:			
PART III Associate Broker Information (Required only if working in a branch office)					
Associate Broker Printed Name:					
Associate Broker License Number:					
Associate Broker Signature:		Date:			