Register , 2016 **PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS**

Chapter 56. Board of Marine Pilots.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 56.029(2) is amended to read:

(2) show that the applicant has held a valid deputy marine pilot license in Alaska for a minimum of three [CALENDAR] years while remaining eligible for license renewal during this period of service without use of the familiarization trips under AS 08.62.120; (Eff. 11/1/93, Register 128; am 5/29/96, Register 138; am 3/21/99, Register 149; am 10/24/2002, Register 164; am 10/25/2002, Register 164; am 9/12/2006, Register 179; am 5/26/2007, Register 182; am 1/29/2009, Register 189; am __/__/, Register ___)

Authority: AS 08.62.040 AS 08.62.100

12 AAC 56.205(b) is repealed and readopted to read:

(b) Except as provided in (d) of this section,

(1) in Akutan of the Western Alaska Region, an agent, owner, or master of a vessel shall inform the appropriate pilot organization of a vessel movement at least 48 hours before the movement in order to provide sufficient time for a pilot to arrive at the vessel by the available means of transportation. A pilot will be considered unavailable for service only if the 48-hour notice required by this subsection is given and a pilot does not show up at the vessel to render service. If the agent, owner, or master of a vessel requests a pilot, and the pilot attempts to reach the vessel but cannot do so within 48 hours due to factors beyond the pilot's control, and the vessel then leaves without the pilot, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the actual expenses incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel. If the 48-hour notice is

1

not given as required by this subsection and a pilot is not able to reach the vessel to render pilot services, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the transportation costs incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel and the pilotage charge and all other charges that would have been incurred had the pilot reached the vessel and provided pilotage services;

(2) in the Pribilof Islands, Port Clarence, and the Kuskokwim Bay Region of the Western Alaska Region, an agent, owner, or master of a vessel shall inform the appropriate pilot organization of a vessel movement at least 96 hours before the movement in order to provide sufficient time for a pilot to arrive at the vessel by the available means of transportation. A pilot will be considered unavailable for service only if the 96-hour notice required by this subsection is given and a pilot does not show up at the vessel to render service. If the agent, owner, or master of a vessel requests a pilot, and the pilot attempts to reach the vessel but cannot do so within 96 hours due to factors beyond the pilot's control, and the vessel then leaves without the pilot, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the actual expenses incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel. If the 96-hour notice is not given as required by this subsection and a pilot is not able to reach the vessel to render pilot services, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the transportation costs incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel and all other charges that would have been incurred had the pilot reached the vessel and provided pilotage services;

(3) in all other locations of the Western Alaska Region, an agent, owner, or master of a vessel shall inform the appropriate pilot organization of a vessel movement at least 72 hours before the movement in order to provide sufficient time for a pilot to arrive at the vessel by the available means of transportation. A pilot will be considered unavailable for service only if the 72-hour notice required by this subsection is given and a pilot does not show up at the

2

vessel to render service. If the agent, owner, or master of a vessel requests a pilot, and the pilot attempts to reach the vessel but cannot do so within 72 hours due to factors beyond the pilot's control, and the vessel then leaves without the pilot, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the actual expenses incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel. If the 72hour notice is not given as required by this subsection and a pilot is not able to reach the vessel to render pilot services, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the transportation costs incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel and the pilotage charge and all other charges that would have been incurred had the pilot reached the vessel and provided pilotage services.

(Eff. 11/7/93, Register 128; am 4/7/95, Register 134; am 8/9/97, Register 143; am 5/31/2000, Register 154; am 2/12/2005, Register 173; am __/__/, Register ____) Authority: AS 08.62.040 AS 08.62.190

12 AAC 56.960(d) is amended to read:

(d) If a vessel piloted by a state licensed pilot is involved in a collision, allision, or grounding [GOES AGROUND, COLLIDES WITH ANOTHER VESSEL OR DOCK, MEETS WITH ANY CASUALTY, OR IS DAMAGED IN ANY WAY], the pilot shall, no later than 72 hours after returning ashore after the incident, file with the marine pilot coordinator an incident report as described in 12 AAC 56.965. The marine pilot coordinator will, in the coordinator's discretion, investigate the reported incident.

(Eff. 6/11/71, Register 38; am 6/19/74, Register 50; am 5/12/78, Register 66; am 7/24/83, Register 87; am 12/26/86, Register 100; am 8/29/87, Register 103; am 7/26/90, Register 115; am 11/7/93, Register 128; am 5/17/95, Register 134; am 6/16/96, Register 138; am 1/23/99, Register

3

Register ______ 2016 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

149; am 3/15/2002, Register 161; am ___/___, Register ____)

Authority: AS 08.62.040 AS 08.62.160

12 AAC 56.990(a)(34) is amended to read:

(34) "year" as used in AS 08.62.093(b) means the same as year in 46 C.F.R.

10.103, elsewhere, year means 365 days;

(Eff. 6/11/71, Register 38; am 6/19/74, Register 50; am 5/12/78, Register 66; am 7/24/83,

Register 87; am 12/26/86, Register 100; am 8/29/87, Register 103; am 7/26/90, Register 115; am

5/13/92, Register 122; am 4/7/93, Register 126; am 10/2/93, Register 127; am 7/15/95, Register

135; am 6/16/96, Register 138; am 6/17/96, Register 138; am 1/23/99, Register 149; am 3/21/99,

Register 149; am 5/31/2000, Register 154; am 3/15/2002, Register 161; am 10/24/2002, Register

164; am 5/26/2007, Register 182; am 1/29/2009, Register 189; am 11/4/2009, Register 192; am

10/28/2010, Register 196; am __/__/___, Register ____)

Authority: AS 08.62.040 AS 08.62.160