Department of Commerce, Community,
and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND

PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110806

Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Main: 907.465.2550

Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

Notice of Proposed Changes to Occupational Licensing Fees for Professions
Regulated by the Board of Marine Pilots in the Regulations of the Department
of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Proposed Regulations - FAQ
Aungust 2022

1. Why are new fees being proposed?

By law, fees must be analyzed annually and set to approximately recover the cost of program
operations. Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to
determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections
related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that
an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department
shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations ... to implement the adjustments.”

The division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a decrease in licensing fee amounts
for the marine pilot licenses to comply with AS 08.01.065. The analysis reflected the need to
decrease the fees to prevent the accumulation of large surplus. The proposed fee amounts are
enclosed and can also be found on the program’s web page at
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/marinepilot

2. What are the proposed fees?

The fees proposed will be a decrease in the license and renewal fees for marine pilots and deputy
marine pilots.

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND
BRACKETED)] indicate language being deleted.

12 AAC 02.240. Board of Marine Pilots. The following fees are established for all license and
registration categories of marine pilots and vessel agents:
(1) nonrefundable application fee for
(A) initial deputy marine pilot license, including the application fee for the
regional comprehensive local knowledge examination, $300;
(B) core examination, extension of route examination, marine pilot
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license, vessel agent registration, VLCC endorsement, or tonnage upgrade, $100;

(2) marine pilot license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $700 [$1,500],
which will be waived by the department if the applicant is upgrading from a deputy marine pilot license and
has paid the deputy marine pilot license fee for the same biennial license period,;

(3) biennial marine pilot license renewal fee, $700 [$1,500];

(4) vessel agent registration fee for all or part of the initial biennial registration period, $500;

(5) biennial vessel agent renewal fee, $500;

(6) core examination fee, $500;

(7) deputy marine pilot license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $700
[$1,500];

(8) biennial deputy marine pilot license renewal fee, $700 [$1,500];

(9) regional comprehensive local knowledge examination fee, $500;

(10) extension of route examination fee, $200.

3. How are the estimated costs determined?

AS 08.01.065 requires a// costs of regulating the profession to be borne by its licensees. The proposed
fees are based on known and anticipated costs.

4. What do licensing fees pay for?

The agency must create, publish, and manage licensing application forms and fees, which entail
adherence to the state’s recordkeeping, security, payment, and refund policies and procedures.

* Requirement of licensees to meet professional fitness standards, which are evaluated by the
license examiner and referred to the agency’s investigative unit if necessary for further
review.

* Enforcement of disciplinary sanctions available to the agency if a licensee violates the state
licensing statutes or regulations or an individual practices the profession without a license.
Because state law requires all costs of a licensing program to be borne by the licensees of
that program (AS 08.01.065), any investigative, attorney, or appeal expenses of the state will
be recovered in the licensing fee.

5. When will the new fees be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Division
Director for consideration. The Division Director may adopt the regulation as written/publicly
noticed, may amend and adopt them, or choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed
regulations in part or in its whole. After Department action, the adopted regulations goes to
Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves ot disapproves
regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect
on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.
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Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov so it
can be added.
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