## Register \_\_\_\_\_\_ 2016 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

## Chapter 40. State Medical Board.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted. Complete new sections are not underlined.)

12 AAC 40.967(26) is amended to read:

(26) failing to report to the board, no later than 30 days after

(A) the effective date of the action, any criminal charges by a law

enforcement agency, or any disciplinary action against the licensee taken by another

licensing jurisdiction, health care entity, or **regulatory** [LAW ENFORCEMENT] agency;

(B) the date of conviction, any conviction of a crime referred to in

AS 08.64.326(a)(4);

(Eff. 3/16/2000, Register 153; am 9/5/2002, Register 163; am 4/2/2004, Register 169; am

10/14/2006, Register 180; am 7/25/2008, Register 187; am 9/9/2010, Register 195; am 5/8/2013,

Register 206; am \_\_\_/\_\_\_, Register \_\_\_\_)

AS 08.01.070 AS 08.64.100 AS 08.64.326 Authority:

12 AAC 40 is amended by adding a new section to read:

12 AAC 40.981. Federal licensure exemptions for persons who practice in an Alaska tribal health program. (a) A person who practices medicine, podiatry, or osteopathy, or who practices as a physician assistant or mobile intensive care paramedic, in an Alaska tribal health program must be licensed by the board unless they notify the board that they are practicing under another license in accordance with section 221 of 25 U.S.C. § 1621t (Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, 2010). Notice required under this section must be received within 14 days of employment at an Alaska tribal health program, and must include:

(1) proof of a current active license in another state;

(2) proof of employment by a tribal health program that is operating under an

Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act agreement with the federal Indian Health Service.

(b) A person practicing under the exemption may not practice elsewhere in the state, however infrequently, and may not practice beyond the scope of the other state license.

(c) The board shall notify the licensing board or authority of the other state license, and any other appropriate state and federal authorities, of any complaints, investigations, violations, sanctions, or other adverse actions. (Eff. \_\_\_/\_\_\_, Register \_\_\_\_)

Authority: AS 08.64.107 AS 08.64.170 AS 08.64.313